Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

John Robson

Photograph: John Robson

Source

John Robson.

(March 14, 1824 - June 29, 1892)

John Robson was a newspaperman and politician who supported British Columbia joining Confederation. He served as the province's premier from 1871 to 1873, and from 1882 to 1892.

John Robson was born in Perth, Upper Canada (now Ontario), the son of John Robson and Euphemia Richardson. Robson attended grammar school before becoming a merchant. In 1859, he joined the Fraser River Gold Rush to British Columbia. Although he proved unsuccessful as a prospector, he stayed on in the New Westminster area to become the editor of the newspaper the British Columbian, founded in 1861 (he would buy the paper a year later). Robson married Susan Longworth in 1854.

Like his contemporary and rival on Vancouver Island, Amor De Cosmos, Robson used the British Columbian to criticize the upper class of New Westminster, though he believed it cost him a printing contract with the government. He was once thrown in jail by a judge for printing a letter hinting that the judge had taken bribes, an action which only seemed to increase Robson's popularity in the colony. In 1869, he moved the newspaper's offices to Victoria. By that summer, the paper had been purchased by the Daily British Colonist, which Robson joined as political editor.

Robson also pursued a career in politics, serving as a member of the New Westminster Council (municipal) from 1863 to 1867, and as a member of the Legislative Council of British Columbia from 1866 to 1870. As a supporter of Confederation, he joined Amor De Cosmos in the Confederation League in 1868. That September, he was a delegate to the Yale Conference, where resolutions were passed in favour of responsible government and Confederation. In 1870, as a member of the Legislative Council, Robson took part in the Great Confederation Debate in the provincial assembly. He was opposed to Clause 15, a negotiating term that stated British Columbia could enter Confederation without responsible government institutions.

Governor Anthony Musgrave initially asked Robson to be a part of British Columbia's delegation to negotiate union with Canada in 1870. Musgrave then changed his mind and asked Robson to step aside in favour of John Sebastian Helmcken. Robson was bitterly disappointed at not being included in the delegation. He sent Henry Seelye to Ottawa to report on the negotiations for the paper and to lobby for responsible government.

After Confederation, Robson served in the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia from 1871 to 1875 and then again from 1882 to 1892. He was premier from 1889 to 1892. He was ahead of his time as a proponent of female suffrage, but he remained opposed to enfranchising some ethnic groups. While still premier, he travelled to England in 1892 to discuss an imperial loan and immigration matters. On June 20, he caught his little finger in the door of a cab. Blood poisoning set in and he died nine days later.

Sources

British Columbia and Confederation. -- Ed. George Shelton. -- Victoria : Morriss Printing Co. Ltd., 1967. -- 250 p.

Roy, Patricia E. -- "Robson, John". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 2030.

Roy, Patricia E. -- "Robson, John". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 914-919.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

John Robson

Photo : John Robson

Source

John Robson.

(14 mars 1824 - 29 juin 1892)

John Robson, journaliste de la presse écrite et politicien, est en faveur de l'entrée de la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération. Il sera premier ministre de la province de 1871 à 1873 et de 1882 à 1892.

John Robson naît à Perth, dans le Haut-Canada (maintenant l'Ontario). Il est le fils de John Robson et d'Euphemia Richardson. Il fait des études au lycée avant de devenir marchand. En 1859, il participe à la ruée vers l'or du Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. Bien qu'il n'aboutisse à rien comme chercheur d'or, il demeure dans la région de New Westminster et devient rédacteur en chef du journal British Columbian, fondé en 1861 (il en sera propriétaire un an plus tard). John Robson épouse Susan Longworth en 1854.

Comme son contemporain et rival sur l'île de Vancouver, Amor De Cosmos, John Robson se sert du British Columbian pour critiquer la classe supérieure de New Westminster même si, selon lui, cette critique lui fait perdre un contrat d'impression auprès du gouvernement. Il est envoyé en prison par un juge pour avoir imprimé une lettre dans laquelle il laissait entendre que le juge avait accepté un pot-de-vin. Cette déclaration ne fait, semble-t-il, qu'accroître sa popularité dans la colonie. En 1869, il déménage les bureaux du journal à Victoria. À l'été, le Daily British Colonist achète son journal, et John Robson se joint à la nouvelle équipe à titre de rédacteur en chef en matière de vie politique.

John Robson fait également carrière en politique, d'abord comme membre du conseil municipal de New Westminster, de 1863 à 1867, puis comme membre du Conseil législatif de la Colombie-Britannique, de 1866 à 1870. Comme il est partisan de la Confédération, il se joint à Amor De Cosmos dans la Confederation League, en 1868. En septembre de la même année, il est délégué au congrès d'Yale, où se votent des résolutions en faveur du gouvernement responsable et de la Confédération. En 1870, en sa qualité de membre du Conseil législatif, il participe au grand débat sur la Confédération à l'Assemblée provinciale. Il s'oppose à l'article 15, une des conditions de négociation qui stipule que la Colombie-Britannique peut entrer dans la Confédération sans que ses institutions soient régies par le principe du gouvernement responsable.

Le gouverneur Anthony Musgrave invite d'abord John Robson à faire partie de la délégation de la Colombie-Britannique chargée d'aller négocier les conditions de l'union avec le Canada, en 1870. Mais il change d'avis et lui demande de céder sa place à John Sebastian Helmcken. John Robson est amèrement déçu de ne pas être du groupe. Il envoie le lobbyist Henry Seelye à Ottawa pour le tenir au courant des négociations, qu'il rapporte dans son journal, et pour faire des pressions en faveur du gouvernement responsable.

Après la Confédération, John Robson occupe un siège à l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique de 1871 à 1875, et de nouveau de 1882 à 1892. Il sera premier ministre de 1889 à 1892. Il est en avance sur son temps pour ce qui est de donner le droit de vote aux femmes, mais il reste opposé à l'idée d'accorder le droit de vote à certains groupes ethniques. Pendant qu'il est premier ministre, en 1892, il se rend en Angleterre pour discuter d'un emprunt impérial et de questions d'immigration. Le 20  juin, il se coince le petit doigt dans la portière d'un taxi. Il succombera neuf jours plus tard à un empoisonnement de sang causé par cet accident.

Sources

British Columbia and Confederation. -- Sous la direction de George Shelton. -- Victoria : Morriss Printing Co. Ltd., 1967. -- 250 p.

Roy, Patricia E. -- « Robson, John ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 2030

Roy, Patricia E. -- « Robson, John ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1990. -- Vol. 12, p. 914-919