Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Joseph ("Joey") Smallwood

Photograph: Hon. Joseph Roberts Smallwood, 1954

Source

Hon. Joseph Roberts Smallwood, 1954.

(December 24, 1900 - December 18, 1991)

Reporter, radio personality, and farmer, Joey Smallwood's passion for union with Canada was a major factor in bringing Newfoundland into Confederation in 1949. He held the office of premier for nearly 25 years after union, and continues to be a controversial figure to this day. He also produced The Book of Newfoundland, and began the Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Joseph Roberts Smallwood was born in Gambo, Newfoundland, the son of Charles Smallwood and Mary Devanna. When he was five months old, his family moved to St. John's, where he grew up in abject poverty. He attended neighbourhood day schools, and later Bishop Feild College, but dropped out before completing his studies. At the age of 15 he became a printer's apprentice at the St. John's Plaindealer, and spent the next few years gaining experience as a reporter with various papers. In 1920, he moved to New York City, where he worked for the New York Call, a socialist newspaper. He also met Clara Oates, whom he married in 1925. Soon after, he returned to Newfoundland to act as a union organizer; he founded the newspaper Labour Outlook before joining the staff of the St. John's Daily Globe. After that paper went bankrupt, Smallwood travelled to England in 1926, before returning to Newfoundland and settling at Corner Brook where he founded the Humber Herald.

His first venture into politics was in 1928, when he planned to run as a Liberal candidate for Humber. However, when the party leader Sir Richard Squires expressed an interest in that same seat, Smallwood stepped aside to act as district campaign manager. His successes were rewarded with an appointment as a justice of the peace. After the election he returned to St. John's, founding the Liberal newspaper The Watchdog and becoming a confidant of Squires. A supporter of the suspension of responsible government, Smallwood ran unsuccessfully as a Liberal candidate for Bonavista South in 1932. After that election, he acted as an adviser for the remaining two Liberal members in the legislature, F. Gordon Bradley and Roland Starkes.

After the suspension of responsible government, Smallwood moved from St. John's to Bonavista, where he tried to establish the Fishermen's Cooperative Union. By 1936 he had returned to St. John's, and begun compiling the first two volumes of The Book of Newfoundland. He also began writing the column "From the Masthead" in the St. John's Daily News, using the byline "The Barrelman." This column evolved into the radio program of the same title, which aired on the government radio station VONF (Voice of Newfoundland) from 1937 to 1943. In 1939, he established a pig farm on the outskirts of St. John's, moving it to Gander in 1943.

Smallwood's second chance at a political career came with the announcement of the National Convention in 1946. He was elected as a delegate for Bonavista Centre. Convinced that Confederation was the means for Newfoundland's salvation, he wasted no time in asserting these views in a speech to the Convention on October 28, 1946. He used radio broadcasts of the Convention proceedings to further the cause of Confederation, and his own prominence, across the island. He was a member of the first Ottawa delegation, sent to inquire about union possibilities. By the time the delegation returned to Newfoundland late in 1947, he had solidified his position as a Confederation leader. Smallwood was a major force behind the movement to include Confederation as a referendum option. During the referendum campaign, he was a key figure, acting as editor of The Confederate, the Confederate Association's campaign newspaper. He was also a member of the negotiating team sent to Ottawa to create the final terms of union, and was invited to be the leader of the first provincial government in 1949.

In the provincial election in May of that year, Smallwood and the Liberal party won a decisive victory. He remained premier for almost the next quarter-century. As minister for economic development, he had almost total control over industrialization and development in the province. Unfortunately, many of the development efforts were failures, suffering from a combination of poor timing and poor planning.

In 1968, Smallwood announced his retirement as Liberal leader. However, two weeks after a leadership convention was announced, he gave notice of his intention to seek the job again. He won, in a battle that caused many in the party to throw their support behind the Progressive Conservatives. After an election loss to the Conservatives in 1971, Smallwood again announced his intention to retire, officially giving up the leadership on January 18, 1972, and his seat in the legislature soon thereafter. Two years later he changed his mind once again. After a failed attempt to win back the leadership, Smallwood formed the Liberal Reform party, which won four seats in the 1975 election. He rejoined the Liberals in 1977, but resigned his seat for the third (and final) time in June of that year.

Smallwood's later years were devoted to the production of the Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. The first two volumes were published in 1981 and 1984, respectively. The project soon ran into financial difficulties that were aggravated when Smallwood suffered a stroke in 1984. The image of Smallwood being served with a writ in 1987 for unpaid bills concerning the Encyclopedia drew nationwide attention, and gave new life to the project. By 1988, the J. R. Smallwood Foundation was established in order to complete the publication of the work, and to establish the Smallwood Institute of Newfoundland Studies at Memorial University. Smallwood did not live to see the completion of the Encyclopedia, dying at his home in St. John's.

Sources

Baker, Melvin.  --  "Smallwood, Joseph Roberts".  --  Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.  --  Ed. Cyril F. Poole.  --  St. John's, Nfld. : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1994.  --  P. 208-215

Cuff, Robert H. E. ; Harrington, Michael F.  --  "Smallwood, Joseph Roberts".  --  Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography.  --  Ed. Michael F. Harrington.  --  St. John's, Nfld. : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990.  --  P. 316-319

Gwyn, Richard J.  --  "Smallwood, Joseph Roberts".  --  The Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Ed. James H. Marsh. - 3rd print ed.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 180-2181

"Smallwood, Hon. Joseph Roberts".  --  Canadian who's who.  --  Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1991.  --  Vol. 26, P. 948

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Joseph (« Joey ») Smallwood

Photo : L'honorable Joseph Roberts Smallwood, 1954

Source

L'honorable Joseph Roberts Smallwood, 1954

(24 décembre 1900 - 18 décembre 1991)

Reporteur, personnalité de la radio et agriculteur, Joey Smallwood se passionne pour l'unité avec le Canada, ce qui constitue un facteur important dans l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération, en 1949. Il sera premier ministre pendant près de 25 années après la Confédération et continue d'être, à ce jour, un personnage controversé. Il rédigera également un livre intitulé The Book of Newfoundland et entamera l'encyclopédie intitulée Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Joseph Roberts Smallwood naît à Gambo (Terre-Neuve). Il est le fils de Charles Smallwood et de Mary Devanna. Lorsqu'il a cinq mois, sa famille déménage à St. John's, où il grandit dans la pauvreté absolue. Il va à l'école dans son quartier, puis plus tard au Bishop Feild College, mais abandonne ses études avant d'avoir terminé. À 15 ans, il devient apprenti à l'impression au Plaindealer de St. John's et passe les quelques années suivantes à acquérir de l'expérience en journalisme auprès de divers journaux. En 1920, il déménage à New York, où il travaille pour le New York Call, un journal socialiste. Il rencontre aussi Clara Oates, qu'il épouse en 1925. Peu après, il revient à Terre-Neuve et devient organisateur syndical; il fonde le journal Labour Outlook avant de se joindre à l'équipe du Daily Globe de St. John's. Après la faillite du journal, J. Smallwood voyage en Angleterre, en 1926, avant de revenir à Terre-Neuve et de s'installer à Corner Brook, où il fonde le Humber Herald.

Il se lance en politique en 1928; il projette de se présenter comme candidat du Parti libéral dans la circonscription de Humber. Toutefois, lorsque le chef du Parti, sir Richard Squires, montre de l'intérêt pour la même circonscription, J. Smallwood lui cède la place et devient directeur de campagne régional. On récompense ses réussites en le nommant juge de paix. Après les élections, il revient à St. John's, fonde le journal libéral The Watchdog et devient candidat de Richard Squires. Partisan de la suspension du gouvernement responsable, J. Smallwood se présente sans succès comme candidat du Parti libéral dans Bonavista-Sud, en 1932. Après l'élection, il sera conseiller des deux membres libéraux qui restent dans la législature, F. Gordon Bradley et Roland Starkes.

Après la suspension du gouvernement responsable, J. Smallwood quitte St. John's pour Bonavista, où il tente d'établir un syndicat de pêcheurs, le Fishermen's Cooperative Union. En 1936, il retourne à St. John's et entreprend la rédaction des deux premiers volumes de l'ouvrage The Book of Newfoundland. Il commence également à s'occuper de la rubrique « From the Masthead » (Du haut du mât), qu'il signe « The Barrelman » (L'homme de vigie), dans le Daily News de St. John's. Cette rubrique devient une émission de radio portant le même titre, diffusée sur les ondes de la station gouvernementale Voice of Newfoundland, de 1937 à 1943. En 1939, il met sur pied une ferme porcine en périphérie de St. John's, qu'il déménage à Gander en 1943.

La seconde occasion que Joseph Smallwood a de faire carrière en politique vient avec l'annonce de la convention nationale, en 1946. Il est élu délégué de Bonavista-Centre. Convaincu que la Confédération représente le salut pour Terre-Neuve, il s'empresse de faire valoir son point de vue dans un discours prononcé lors de la rencontre, le 28 octobre 1946. Il diffuse les délibérations de la convention à la radio afin de faire avancer la cause de la Confédération et de mousser sa propre importance dans l'île. Il est membre de la première délégation d'Ottawa, qui va se renseigner sur la possibilité d'union. Le temps que la délégation revienne à Terre-Neuve, à la fin de 1947, il a raffermi sa position de chef de file pour ce qui est de la Confédération. Il est l'une des forces dominantes du mouvement qui veut proposer la Confédération comme option référendaire. Pendant la campagne référendaire, il joue un rôle déterminant en publiant The Confederate, le journal de la campagne menée par la Confederate Association. Il est également membre de l'équipe de négociation envoyée à Ottawa pour établir les conditions définitives de l'union, et il est invité à diriger le premier gouvernement provincial, en 1949.

Aux élections provinciales de mai de la même année, J. Smallwood et le Parti libéral remportent une victoire décisive. Il sera premier ministre pendant presque un quart de siècle. Comme ministre du Développement économique, il a presque carte blanche relativement à l'industrialisation et au développement de la province. Malheureusement, de nombreux efforts de développement se soldent par des échecs, en raison des effets conjugués de moments mal choisis et de mauvaises planifications.

En 1968, J. Smallwood annonce sa retraite comme chef libéral. Toutefois, deux semaines après la communication annonçant le congrès d'investiture, il fait connaître son intention de briguer de nouveau le poste. Il remporte la victoire, dans une lutte qui incite de nombreux membres du Parti à passer au Parti progressiste-conservateur. Après une défaite au profit des conservateurs en 1971, J. Smallwood annonce de nouveau sa retraite; il abandonne officiellement la direction du Parti le 18 janvier 1972 de même que son siège à la législature peu de temps après. Deux années plus tard, il se ravise une fois de plus. Après avoir tenté vainement de reprendre la direction, il forme le Parti libéral réformiste, qui remporte quatre circonscriptions aux élections de 1975. Il se rallie de nouveau au Parti libéral en 1977, mais démissionne pour la troisième (et dernière) fois en juin de la même année.

Joseph Smallwood consacre les dernières années de sa vie à la rédaction de l'ouvrage Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador. Les deux premiers volumes sont publiés en 1981 et en 1984 respectivement. Le projet connaît bientôt des difficultés financières qui empirent quand Joseph Smallwood est victime d'un accident vasculaire cérébral en 1984. L'image de J. Smallwood se faisant assigner en justice, en 1987, pour comptes impayés concernant l'Encyclopedia, attire l'attention de tout le pays et redonne vie au projet. En 1988, la J. R. Smallwood Foundation est mise sur pied afin de terminer la publication du travail et de fonder le Smallwood Institute of Newfoundland Studies à la Memorial University. J. Smallwood ne vivra pas suffisamment longtemps pour voir l'achèvement de l'Encyclopedia. Il meurt chez lui, à St. John's.

Sources

Baker, Melvin.  --  « Smallwood, Joseph Roberts ».  --  Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador.  --  Sous la direction de Cyril F. Poole.  --  St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1994.  --  P. 208-215

Cuff, Robert H. E. ; Harrington, Michael F.  --  « Smallwood, Joseph Roberts ».  --  Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador biography.  --  Sous la direction de Michael F. Harrington.  --  St. John's (Terre-Neuve) : Harry Cuff Publications Ltd., 1990.  --  P. 316-319

Gwyn, Richard J.  --  « Smallwood, Joseph Roberts ».  --  The Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Sous la direction de James H. Marsh.  --  3e édition sur papier  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 2180-2181

« Smallwood, Hon. Joseph Roberts ».  --  Canadian who's who.  --  Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1991.  --  Vol. 26, p. 948