Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

William Henry Steeves

Photograph of William Henry Steeves

Source

William Henry Steeves

(May 20, 1814 - December 9, 1873)

William Henry Steeves was a successful businessman as well as an able politician. As an advocate of Confederation and a loyal colleague of Samuel Leonard Tilley, Steeves was an important participant during volatile decades of political reform in New Brunswick.

William Henry Steeves was born at Hillsborough, New Brunswick, where his German great-grandfather, Heinrich Stief, had settled five decades earlier. He attended school and founded his business ventures in Hillsborough, and in time the Steeves Brothers firm grew into a lumber export company with representatives in Liverpool, England. Steeves relocated to Saint John, where he attained prominence in his commercial and political endeavours. He married another descendant of Heinrich Stief, Mary Steeves, and had six children.

Steeves was elected to the New Brunswick House of Assembly in 1846 and reelected in 1850. He supported political reforms that would bring responsible government to the colony, including specific measures to make members of the Legislative Council more accountable. He was unable to realize these reforms when he became a member of the Council in 1851, and refused to accept a position in the traditionalist government of Edward Barron Chandler. The government of Charles Fisher, which came to power in 1854, did advance the cause of reform and Steeves accepted a position as the government's surveyor general. He soon resigned, however, because his participation in the Legislative Assembly since 1851 had been by appointment, rather than by election.

In 1855 Steeves accepted a new appointment as the chairman of the Department of Public Works. This role lasted only until the following year, when the government of Fisher and Tilley was defeated. Another shift in power in 1857 returned Steeves to his position at Public Works, and he remained in place there until 1861. He continued to contribute as a member of Tilley's administration until widespread opposition to Confederation led to the fall of the government in 1865.

Steeves found value in both the Confederation and Maritime Union options, and he served as a New Brunswick delegate at the Charlottetown and Québec City conferences. After Confederation, Steeves was appointed to the Canadian Senate, and became a spokesperson for improvements in the treatment of the mentally ill.

Source

Spray, W. A. -- "Steeves, William Henry". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography online [online]. -- [Cited December 13, 2004]. -- Access: www.biographi.ca/EN/ShowBio.asp?BioId=39400

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

William Henry Steeves

Photo de William Henry Steeves

Source

William Henry Steeves

(20 mai 1814 - 9 décembre 1873)

Politicien compétent, partisan de la confédération et homme d'affaires couronné de succès, William Henry Steeves est un dévoué collaborateur de Samuel Leonard Tilley. Il a contribué de façon marquante à la réforme politique qu'a connue le Nouveau-Brunswick durant des décennies mouvementées.

Né à Hillsborough, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où s'était installé son arrière-grand-père Heinrich Stief à son arrivée d'Allemagne, cinquante ans auparavant, Steeves fréquente l'école de Hillsborough, ville où il entreprend par la suite ses premières aventures en affaires. Son entreprise, la Steeves Brothers, se consacre, avec le temps, à l'exportation du bois et ouvre un bureau à Liverpool, en Angleterre. Puis Steeves déménage à Saint-Jean, où ses activités politiques et commerciales font de lui un homme en vue. Il se marie avec une autre descendante de Heinrich Stief, Mary Steeves, avec qui il a six enfants.

Steeves est élu en 1846 à la Chambre d'assemblée du Nouveau-Brunswick, puis réélu en 1850. Il soutient les réformes politiques qui veulent faire du gouvernement de la colonie un gouvernement responsable, dont des mesures visant à imposer aux membres du Conseil législatif l'obligation de rendre compte. Devenu membre du Conseil en 1851, il ne peut réaliser ces réformes et refuse un poste dans le gouvernement traditionaliste d'Edward Barron Chandler. En 1854, le gouvernement de Charles Fisher, partisan de ces réformes, prend le pouvoir. Steeves accepte alors le poste d'arpenteur général, mais il démissionne rapidement, parce qu'il occupe, depuis 1851, à l'Assemblée législative, un poste auquel il a été nommé, mais non élu.

En 1855, Steeves, nommé président au ministère des Travaux publics, accepte le poste, mais l'occupe un an seulement, car le parti que dirige Fisher est battu. En 1857, lors d'un nouveau renversement du pouvoir, Steeves reprend ses fonctions aux Travaux publics et conserve son poste jusqu'en 1861. Il reste un membre actif dans le gouvernement de Tilley jusqu'à sa chute, provoquée en 1865 par un vaste mouvement d'opposition à la confédération.

Pour Steeves, la confédération offre autant d'intérêt qu'une union des provinces maritimes. Il participe, à titre de délégué, aux conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec. Après l'instauration de la Confédération, Steeves est nommé au Sénat canadien et devient le porte-parole qui travaille à améliorer les traitements donnés aux personnes atteintes de maladie mentale.

Source

Spray, W. A. -- « Steeves, William Henry ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 13 décembre 2004]. -- Accès : www.biographi.ca/FR/ShowBio.asp?BioId=39400