Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché

Photograph: Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché

Source

Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché.

(September 5, 1795 - July 30, 1865)

Étienne-Paschal Taché had two careers, representing two very distinct periods of his life. From 1812 to 1841, he was a physician, and from 1841 to 1865, a politician. Because he died before 1867, his name is often forgotten when speaking of Confederation. All the same, he participated in every important political event under the Union.

Étienne-Paschal Taché did not participate in the armed rebellions of 1837 and 1838. He attended conferences and organized meetings. He was called a patriot who became a man of compromise when the Act of Union was adopted in 1841.

Taché entered active political life with the first elections under the Union. In 1841, he was elected the member for the riding of L'Islet. From 1841 to 1846, he remained in the background of the major political debates and spoke little in the House of Assembly. But when Taché gave a speech in 1846 on the need to establish a militia in Lower Canada, his colleagues took notice. Only two months after his speech, the Draper-Papineau government named him deputy adjutant-general of the militia, responsible for reorganizing the Lower Canadian armed forces. In 1848, Taché was appointed to the Executive Council and named chief commissioner of public works in the La Fontaine-Baldwin government. From 1848 to 1857, he participated in every government. If Taché was considered a patriot in 1837 and 1838, in the late 1850s, he joined forces with Augustin-Norbert Morin and Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine to fight against the radicalism of the "parti rouge."

In 1855-1856, Taché formed a government with Allan Napier MacNab. Under this government, he was prime minister of Lower Canada. When MacNab was forced to resign, Taché chose John A. Macdonald to form a new government until 1857. This coalition was the first sign of an alliance between Liberals in Lower Canada and Conservatives in Upper Canada.

Taché tired of political life and left active involvement in the elections of 1857. He took advantage of this hiatus to found the newspaper Le Courrier du Canada with Hector-Louis Langevin. It was in this paper that Taché presented his vision of confederation, a topic growing in popularity in the intellectual and political circles of both Canadian provinces. At Governor Monck's invitation, Taché returned to politics and, again with John A. Macdonald, formed a government that lasted only a month. This failure was absolute proof that United Canada's political system was not working.

In 1864, Étienne-Paschal Taché helped create the Great Coalition. He remained a member of government, and although he agreed with the principles of the federal project, he was aware of the negative effect it might have on Lower Canada. He chaired the Québec Conference and was responsible for promoting the 72 Resolutions to the Legislative Council, while John A. Macdonald presented them to Parliament.

Source

Désilet, Andrée. -- "Taché, sir Étienne-Paschal." -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. IX. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983. -- P. 855-860.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché

Photo : Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché

Source

Sir Étienne-Paschal Taché.

(5 septembre 1795 - 30 juillet 1865)

Étienne-Paschal Taché aura deux carrières, représentant deux étapes bien distinctes de sa vie. De 1812 à 1841, il est médecin; de 1841 à 1865, il est politicien (il meurt avant d'avoir vu la réalisation de la Confédération). Ce départ prématuré fait en sorte qu'on oublie souvent d'associer son nom à la Confédération. Pourtant, il a pris part à tous les événements politiques importants qui ont eu lieu sous le régime de l'Union.

Lors des rébellions de 1837 et de 1838, É.-P. Taché ne participe pas aux luttes armées. Il assiste à des congrès et organise des assemblées. On l'a qualifié de « patriote » qui, au moment de l'Acte d'Union, en 1841, s'est transformé en homme de compromis.

É.-P. Taché entre en politique active aux premières élections tenues sous le régime de l'Union. En 1841, il est élu député de la circonscription de L'Islet. De 1841 à 1846, il reste à l'arrière-plan des grands débats politiques et parle peu à la Chambre d'assemblée. Mais lors d'un discours prononcé en 1846, où il fait valoir la nécessité d'établir une milice dans le Bas-Canada, É.-P. Taché se fait remarquer. À peine deux mois après avoir prononcé ce discours, le gouvernement Draper/D.-B. Papineau le nomme adjudant-général adjoint de la milice, avec la responsabilité de réorganiser les forces armées du Bas-Canada. En 1848, É.-P. Taché est nommé au Conseil exécutif ainsi que commissaire en chef des travaux publics dans le gouvernement La Fontaine-Baldwin. De 1848 à 1857, il participe à tous les gouvernements. Si on pouvait considérer É.-P. Taché comme un « patriote » en 1837 et 1838, en cette fin de décennie 1850, il mène, avec Augustin-Norbert Morin et Sir Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine, une lutte contre le radicalisme des « rouges ».

En 1855-1856, É.-P. Taché forme le gouvernement avec Allan Napier MacNab. À ce titre, il est premier ministre du Bas-Canada. Lorsque Allan Napier MacNab est contraint de démissionner, É.-P. Taché choisit John A. Macdonald pour former le nouveau gouvernement jusqu'en 1857. Cette coalition est le premier signe de l'alliance entre les libéraux du Bas-Canada et les conservateurs du Haut-Canada.

Fatigué, É.-P. Taché se retire de la politique active aux élections de 1857. Il profite de ce recul pour fonder, avec Hector-Louis Langevin, le journal Le Courrier du Canada. C'est dans ce journal qu'il présente sa vision de la Confédération, dont on parle de plus en plus dans les sphères intellectuelles et politiques des deux provinces canadiennes. Sur l'invitation du gouverneur Monck, É.-P. Taché revient à la politique et forme, de nouveau avec John A. Macdonald, un gouvernement qui ne survit qu'un mois. Cet échec est la preuve absolue que le système politique du Canada-Uni ne fonctionne pas.

En 1864, É.-P. Taché participe à la création de la Grande Coalition. Il demeure membre du gouvernement car, même s'il est d'accord avec les principes du projet fédéral, il est conscient des effets néfastes qu'il peut avoir sur le Bas-Canada. Il préside la Conférence de Québec et il est responsable de la promotion des 72 résolutions au Conseil législatif, tandis que John A. Macdonald joue le même rôle à l'Assemblée législative.

Source

Désilet, Andrée. -- « Taché, sir Étienne-Paschal ». -- Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. -- Vol. IX. -- [Québec] : Presses de l'Université Laval, 1983. -- P. 855-860