Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Sir Charles Tupper

Photograph: Hon. Charles Tupper

Source

Hon. Charles Tupper.

(July 2, 1821 - October 30, 1915)

The longest-surviving Father of Confederation, Charles Tupper was leader of the Nova Scotia delegates at all three Confederation conferences. In the years following union, he held a number of high political offices, including that of High Commissioner to London. He also holds the dubious distinction of being Canada's shortest-serving prime minister.

Charles Tupper was born in Amherst, Nova Scotia, the son of Charles Tupper and Miriam Lockhart. He studied at Horton Academy (now Acadia University) before going on to study medicine at the University of Edinburgh, becoming a doctor in 1843. Upon returning to Nova Scotia, he established his medical practice at Amherst. He began another practice at Halifax in 1859, also serving at the city and provincial hospitals. He was president of the Medical Society of Nova Scotia in 1863, and was the first president of the Canadian Medical Association from 1867 to 1870. Throughout his political career, he continued to cultivate his medical image, establishing practices at both Ottawa and Toronto, and keeping his medical bag beneath his seat in the House of Commons. He was married to Frances Morse on October 8, 1846.

Tupper first ran for office as a Conservative in Nova Scotia in 1855, winning a hotly contested election in Cumberland County against Joseph Howe (although his own party fared less well). He worked hard to improve the party's fortunes, gradually taking over from James William Johnston as leader. His efforts were repaid with the collapse of the Liberal government in 1857. When the Conservatives took office, Tupper became provincial secretary, a position he held until 1860. During this time, he initiated discussions with New Brunswick and the Canadas regarding the Intercolonial Railway. After a brief period in opposition, the Conservatives were returned to power in 1863. Following another term as provincial secretary, Tupper took over the office of premier from Johnston on May 11, 1864.

Tupper was by this time a supporter of British North American union, believing it would benefit Nova Scotia, and himself. He headed the delegations to the Charlottetown Conference and Québec Conference, and felt confident that there would be no trouble in passing the Québec Resolutions. When he did meet with opposition to the proposals, he was able to forestall a legislative vote until the last possible minute. He assured the people that he would attempt to obtain better financial terms for the province during the London Conference.

With the passage of the British North America Act [http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/const/index.html], Tupper entered federal politics. Because of regional representation concerns, he did not receive a cabinet post in the new Canadian government. He refused a position with the Intercolonial Railway Commission, as he wished to maintain his influence and credibility in Nova Scotia. He spoke frequently in the House of Commons on issues affecting his home province. In 1868, he was sent to London to counteract Joseph Howe's latest petition against Confederation. He was eventually able to win Howe over to the side of union with a promise of "better terms" for Nova Scotia.

Tupper held a number of cabinet posts until November of 1873, when the Pacific Scandal caused the collapse of the government. While he himself was not implicated in the scandal, he staunchly defended those who were, and was one of the strongest opposition voices in the House of Commons. When the Conservatives returned to power in 1878, Tupper became minister of public works. This ministry was split in 1879, with Tupper taking over the ministry of railways and canals. It was while he was in charge of this ministry that Tupper oversaw the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR); he also funded the expansion of the Welland Canal, and advocated expansion of many local railway lines.

Controversy over construction of the CPR strained relations between John A. Macdonald and Tupper during this time, leading Tupper to accept an appointment as High Commissioner to London (at first unpaid; later, after May 1884, with a salary). He returned to Canada at Macdonald's request for the 1886 election, in part to combat the resurgence of Nova Scotia secessionism led by William Fielding. With the Conservative victory came a position as the minister of finance in 1887.

In 1888, Tupper was made a baronet, and returned to his position as High Commissioner. As commissioner he was a vocal advocate for Canada, travelling the length of the British Isles promoting emigration to his home country, as well as Canada's commercial and agricultural interests. He gained increasing power at the highest levels of British society, taking an active role in international negotiations on behalf of both countries.

Tupper's prominence in the Conservative party led many to regard him as the natural successor after Macdonald's death in 1891, but a variety of factors kept him from the post. It was not until 1896, when Mackenzie Bowell was forced to resign over the Manitoba Schools Question, that Tupper at last attained the party leadership, and the post of prime minister. However, the schools question also proved to be Tupper's undoing. He was forced to dissolve the government after just ten weeks, and the Conservative party was defeated in the election held later that year. While in opposition, Tupper worked hard to rebuild the party. He also tried to use the Boer War issue to undermine the Liberal government, to no avail. After the Conservative defeat in the election of 1900, Tupper resigned as leader.

Tupper's remaining years were spent at Bexleyheath, England at the home of his married daughter, with frequent trips back to Canada to visit his sons. He was appointed to the British Privy Council in 1907, and also served on the committee of the British Empire League. His wife's death in 1912 was a severe blow, and he outlived her by only three years.

Sources

Buckner, Phillip.  --  "Tupper, Sir Charles".  --  Dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Ed. Ramsay Cook.  --  Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1998.  --  Vol. 14, p. 1014-1023.

Farr, D. M. L.  --  "Tupper, Sir Charles".  --  Canadian encyclopedia  year 2000 edition.  --  Ed. James H. Marsh.  --  3rd print ed.  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 2396.

"Tupper, Sir Charles".  --  Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Ed. W. Stewart Wallace.  --  4th ed.  --  Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978.  --  P. 842.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Sir Charles Tupper

Photo : L'honorable Charles Tupper

Source

L'honorable Charles Tupper

(2 juillet 1821 - 30 octobre 1915)

De tous les Pères de la Confédération, Charles Tupper est celui qui a vécu le plus longtemps. Il a été à la tête des délégués de la Nouvelle-Écosse aux trois conférences qui devaient mener à la Confédération. Au cours des années qui suivent la Confédération, il occupe un certain nombre de postes gouvernementaux importants, dont celui de haut-commissaire à Londres. Il a aussi le triste honneur d'avoir eu le plus court mandat de premier ministre du Canada.

Charles Tupper naît Amherst (Nouvelle-Écosse). Il est le fils de Charles Tupper et de Miriam Lockhart. Il étudie à la Horton Academy (aujourd'hui l'Acadia University), puis s'inscrit à la faculté de médecine de l'University of Edinburgh. Il devient médecin en 1843. De retour en Nouvelle-Écosse, il ouvre un cabinet à Amherst. Il en ouvre un autre à Halifax en 1859, et il pratique aussi dans les hôpitaux de la ville et de la province. En 1863, il est nommé président de la Medical Society of Nova Scotia. Il sera également le premier président de l'Association médicale canadienne, de 1867 à 1870. Pendant toute sa carrière politique, il ne cesse de cultiver son image de médecin en établissant des cabinets à Ottawa et à Toronto de même qu'en gardant toujours sa valise de médecin sous son siège à la Chambre des communes. Il épouse Frances Morse le 8 octobre 1846.

En 1855, C. Tupper se présente pour la première fois aux élections sous la bannière du Parti conservateur. Il gagne cette élection, chaudement disputée, dans la circonscription de Cumberland, contre Joseph Howe (bien que son propre parti y ait été bien moins populaire que lui). Il s'efforce de refaire une popularité au Parti et en remplace graduellement le chef, James William Johnston. Ses efforts sont récompensés par la chute du gouvernement libéral, en 1857. Lorsque les conservateurs prennent le pouvoir, C. Tupper est nommé secrétaire provincial, et il le restera jusqu'en 1860. Au cours de ce mandat, il entame des discussions avec le Nouveau-Brunswick et les deux Canadas au sujet du chemin de fer Intercolonial. Après une brève période dans l'opposition, les conservateurs reviennent au pouvoir en 1863. C. Tupper assume un second mandat au poste de secrétaire provincial puis, le 11 mai 1864, il remplace J. W. Johnston dans la fonction de premier ministre.

C. Tupper est alors en faveur de l'union de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Il est convaincu qu'elle avantagera la Nouvelle-Écosse et qu'il en profitera lui-même. Il est à la tête des délégations à la Conférence de Charlottetown et à la Conférence de Québec, et il est persuadé que les Résolutions de Québec passeront très facilement. Lorsqu'il se heurte à de l'opposition relativement aux propositions, il réussit à retarder le vote de la législation jusqu'à la dernière minute. Il promet aux personnes présentes qu'il essaiera d'obtenir de meilleures conditions financières pour la province à la Conférence de Londres.

Une fois l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique [http://lois.justice.gc.ca/fr/const/index.html] adopté, Charles Tupper se lance dans l'arène politique fédérale. Comme cela cause des problèmes de représentation régionale, il n'obtient pas de poste ministériel dans le nouveau gouvernement du Canada. Il refuse le poste qu'on lui offre à la Commission du chemin de fer Intercolonial, car il tient à sauvegarder l'influence et la crédibilité dont il jouit en Nouvelle-Écosse. À la Chambre des communes, il fait souvent état des problèmes qui affectent sa province. En 1868, on l'envoie à Londres pour qu'il s'oppose à la toute dernière pétition de Joseph Howe contre la Confédération. Il réussit finalement à gagner J. Howe à l'idée de l'union en lui promettant que la Nouvelle-Écosse obtiendra de « meilleures conditions ».

C. Tupper occupe plusieurs postes ministériels jusqu'en 1873, lorsque le scandale du Pacifique fait tomber le gouvernement. Bien que n'étant pas impliqué lui-même dans ce scandale, il défend ardemment ceux qui le sont. En fait, il est l'une des voix les plus fortes de l'opposition à la Chambre des communes. Lorsque les conservateurs reprennent le pouvoir en 1878, C. Tupper est nommé ministre des Travaux publics. En 1879, on divise ce ministère, et C. Tupper est chargé du ministère des Chemins de fer et des Canaux. Au cours de ce mandat, il supervise l'achèvement du Canadien Pacifique (CP); il finance aussi le prolongement du canal Welland et encourage celle de nombreuses lignes de chemin de fer locales.

La controverse qui règne à cette époque au sujet de la construction du CP nuit aux relations entre John A. Macdonald et Charles Tupper. Celui-ci accepte donc le poste de haut-commissaire à Londres (au début, il n'est pas rémunéré; à partir de mai 1884, toutefois, il le sera). À la demande de John A. Macdonald, il revient au Canada pour se présenter aux élections de 1886, en partie pour combattre la recrudescence du mouvement de sécession mené par William Fielding en Nouvelle-Écosse. En 1887, lorsque le Parti conservateur reprend le pouvoir, il est nommé ministre des Finances.

En 1888, C. Tupper est fait baronnet et il reprend son poste de haut-commissaire. À ce titre, il se fait le porte-parole du Canada. Il se rend de part et d'autre du Royaume-Uni pour encourager les gens à émigrer dans son pays natal de même que pour promouvoir les intérêts commerciaux et agricoles du Canada. Il devient toujours plus influent dans les hautes sphères de la société anglaise, et il participe activement à des négociations internationales au nom des deux nations.

Charles Tupper est si influent au sein du Parti conservateur que bien des gens le considèrent comme le successeur tout naturel de John A. Macdonald, lorsque celui-ci décède en 1891. Mais plusieurs facteurs l'empêchent d'obtenir ce poste. Finalement, en 1896, lorsque Mackenzie Bowell est forcé de démissionner à cause de la question des écoles du Manitoba, il devient chef du Parti, puis premier ministre. Toutefois, la question des écoles cause également la perte de C. Tupper. Après dix semaines seulement, il est forcé de dissoudre le gouvernement, et le Parti conservateur perd les élections tenues plus tard cette année-là. Alors qu'il est dans l'opposition, C. Tupper s'efforce de rebâtir le Parti. Il essaie aussi de se servir de la question de la guerre des Boers pour ébranler le gouvernement libéral, mais sans succès. Lorsque les conservateurs perdent les élections de 1900, C. Tupper démissionne de son poste de chef du Parti.

Charles Tupper passe ses dernières années à Bexleyheath, en Angleterre, dans la famille de sa fille; il revient souvent au Canada pour rendre visite à ses fils. En 1907, il est nommé au Conseil privé de Londres. Il siège aussi au comité de la British Empire League. La mort de son épouse, en 1912, est un coup terriblement dur pour lui, et il ne lui survit que trois ans.

Sources

Buckner, Phillip.  --  « Tupper, Sir Charles ».  --  Dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Sous la direction de Ramsay Cook.  --  Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1998.  --  Vol. 14, p. 1014-1023

Farr, D. M. L.  --  « Tupper, Sir Charles ».  --  Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition.  --  Sous la direction de James H. Marsh.  --  3e édition sur papier  --  Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999.  --  P. 2396

« Tupper, Sir Charles ».  --  Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography.  --  Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace.  --  4e édition.  --  Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978.  --  P. 842