Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

People

Edward Whelan

Photograph: Plaque at Charlottetown, to Hon. Edward Whelan

Source

Plaque at Charlottetown, to Hon. Edward Whelan.

(1824 - December 10, 1867)

Edward Whelan was a journalist, politician, and noted orator. He was one of Prince Edward Island's delegates to the Québec Conference, and was the only prominent Liberal supporter of Confederation from the Island.

Edward Whelan was born in Ballina, County Mayo, Ireland. The exact date of his birth is not known, and much of his early life remains a mystery. He was the son of a British infantryman. After receiving a very basic education at Ballina and in Scotland, he and his mother emigrated to Halifax -- possibly due to the death of his father. It is believed they arrived in the city in 1831. In Halifax, he enrolled in St. Mary's school, and apprenticed in the printing office of Joseph Howe, who became a major influence. At the age of 18, he left Howe's shop to become editor of the Irish Catholic newspaper, the Register. He also made a name for himself as a talented orator. In 1843, Whelan moved to Charlottetown, where he founded his own paper, the Palladium, and developed a reputation as an outspoken, reform-minded journalist. He married twice, first to Mary Weymouth in 1845 (d. 1845) and then to Mary Major Hughes in 1850.

Whelan's political career began in 1846 when he was elected to the Island assembly as a member for St. Peters. Both in the assembly and in his newspaper, the Examiner (established in 1847), Whelan agitated for reform, first of the absentee landlord system, then of the political system in general. By the time responsible government was achieved in 1851, Whelan was second only to George Coles amongst the Liberals. At age 27, he was made a member of the Executive Council. He became the Queen's printer (a position he held until 1859), and temporarily suspended the Examiner to begin production of the Royal Gazette. For much of the next decade he was an impassioned defender of Liberal policies on issues such as land reform and education, until the party was finally defeated in 1859.

When discussion of British North American union began in the 1860s, the Liberal party generally was opposed to the idea, as was most of Prince Edward Island. A notable exception was Whelan. In 1864, during the Charlottetown Conference, Whelan declared his support of union as a way to free the Island from the control of the Colonial Office, and as a means of solving the absentee landlord question. He was made a delegate to the Québec Conference. Afterwards, he promoted union in the pages of the Examiner. His support of the idea found little backing in the assembly. At the same time, his criticism of the Tenant League cost him the support of many Irish Catholic voters.

When the Liberals regained power in 1867, Whelan was once again named the Queen's printer, a position that required him to resign his seat and run again. He did so, but suffered his first electoral defeat. He blamed it in part on the local clergy. His health quickly deteriorated after the loss, and he died before the year was out.

Sources

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Whelan, Edward". -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Ed. James H. Marsh. -- 3rd print ed. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 2502.

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- "Whelan, Edward". -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1976. -- Vol. 9, p. 828-835.

"Whelan, Edward". -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Ed. W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4th ed. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 881-882.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Personnalités

Edward Whelan

Photo : Plaque se trouvant à Charlottetown et rendant hommage à l'honorable Edward Whelan

Source

Plaque se trouvant à Charlottetown et rendant hommage à l'honorable Edward Whelan.

(1824 - 10 décembre 1867)

Edward Whelan est un journaliste, un politicien et un orateur bien connu. Il est l'un des délégués de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard à la Conférence de Québec et le seul des partisans libéraux d'importance, en faveur de l'union, à provenir de l'Île.

Edward Whelan naît à Ballina (comté de Mayo), en Irlande. On ne connaît pas la date exacte de sa naissance et on en sait très peu sur les premières années de sa vie. Il est le fils d'un fantassin britannique. Après avoir reçu une instruction très sommaire à Ballina et en Écosse, sa mère et lui émigrent à Halifax -- peut-être à cause de la mort de son père. On croit qu'ils sont arrivés à Halifax en 1831. Là, il s'inscrit à l'école St. Mary's, et il devient apprenti à l'imprimerie appartenant à Joseph Howe, qui aura une grande influence sur lui. À 18 ans, il quitte l'atelier de Howe pour devenir rédacteur en chef du Register, un journal catholique irlandais. Son don d'orateur lui permet également de se faire connaître. En 1843, E. Whelan déménage à Charlottetown, où il fonde son propre journal, le Palladium, et se fait une réputation de journaliste au franc parler et aux convictions réformistes. Il se marie deux fois, d'abord avec Mary Weymouth en 1845 (décédée en 1845), puis avec Mary Major Hughes en 1850.

La carrière politique d'Edward Whelan commence en 1846. Il est élu à l'assemblée de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard comme député de St. Peters. À l'Assemblée comme dans son journal, l'Examiner (fondé en 1847), E. Whelan milite en faveur de réformes, d'abord du système régissant les propriétaires terriens non résidents, puis du système politique en général. À l'établissement du gouvernement responsable, en 1851, il n'y a que George Coles qui le surpasse, chez les libéraux. À 27 ans, il entre au Conseil exécutif. Il devient imprimeur de la Reine (poste qu'il occupera jusqu'en 1859) et suspend temporairement l'Examiner pour lancer la Royal Gazette. Pendant presque toute la décennie qui suivra, il se fera l'ardent défenseur des politiques libérales sur des questions telles que la réforme agraire et l'éducation, jusqu'à ce que le Parti libéral perde finalement les élections en 1859.

Lorsqu'on commence à discuter de l'union de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, dans les années 1860, le Parti libéral est, en règle générale, opposé à l'idée, comme l'est la majorité de la population de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. E. Whelan est la grande exception à la règle. En 1864, à la Conférence de Charlottetown, il déclare qu'il appuie l'union, qu'il voit comme un moyen d'affranchir l'Île du ministère des Colonies et de régler la question des propriétaires terriens non résidents. Il est nommé délégué à la Conférence de Québec. Par la suite, il fait la promotion de l'union dans les pages de l'Examiner. Son appui à l'idée n'a que peu d'écho à l'Assemblée. Du même coup, sa critique de la Tenant League (Ligue des fermiers à bail) lui coûte l'appui de nombreux électeurs irlandais catholiques.

Lorsque les libéraux reprennent le pouvoir en 1867, E. Whelan est nommé imprimeur de la Reine une nouvelle fois, mais ce poste l'oblige à quitter son siège et à se présenter de nouveau. C'est ce qu'il fait, mais il subit sa première défaite électorale, qu'il attribue en partie au clergé de la région. Sa santé se détériore peu après la défaite, et il meurt avant la fin de l'année.

Sources

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Whelan, Edward ». -- Canadian encyclopedia : year 2000 edition. -- Sous la direction de James H. Marsh. -- 3e édition sur papier. -- Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 1999. -- P. 2502

Robertson, Ian Ross. -- « Whelan, Edward ». -- Dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de Francess G. Halpenny. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1976. -- Vol. 9, p. 828-835

« Whelan, Edward ». -- Macmillan dictionary of Canadian biography. -- Sous la direction de W. Stewart Wallace. -- 4e édition. -- Toronto : Macmillan of Canada, 1978. -- P. 881-882