Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Maps: 1667-1999

To help you get a clearer picture of British North America's territorial evolution, this section provides a series of maps that recount important moments in Canada's history. These maps cover the period from the French colonial era of the seventeenth century to the creation of Nunavut in 1999.

Source

The map descriptions provided below have been reproduced from the original maps.

First successful French settlements in North America: Port Royal (1606), and Québec (1609). English settlements in Virginia begins (1606-07). French and English territorial claims overlap Acadia. Acadia is recognized as French possession by the Treaty of Breda (1667). A Royal Charter (1670) grants sole trading rights in Hudson Bay drainage basin to the Hudson's Bay Co.

By the Treaty of Paris (1763), eastern North America becomes British territory except St-Pierre and Miquelon Islands (France). British colonial governments for Quebec, Newfoundland (with Île d'Anticosti and Îles de la Madeleine), Nova Scotia (including present-day N.B. and P.E.I.). Hudson's Bay Co. still administers Rupert's Land. Louisiana is ceded to Spain by France.

Following the Constitutional Act, Quebec is divided into Upper and Lower Canada (1791). Spain cedes Louisiana back to France (1800). U.S.A. purchases Louisiana (1803).

The Province of Canada is formed by uniting Upper and Lower Canada (1840). The international boundary from the Rocky Mountains to the Pacific is described by the Oregon Treaty (1846). The northern portion of the Oregon Territory is called New Caledonia, a name used by Simon Fraser in 1806. The Hudson's Bay Co. is granted Vancouver's Island to develop a colony (1849).

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Canada are united in a federal state, the Dominion of Canada, by the British North America Act (July 1, 1867). The province of Canada is divided into Ontario and Quebec. The United States of America proclaims the purchase of Alaska from Russia (June 20).

The North-West Territories (Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory) are acquired by Canada by the Hudson's Bay Company. From part of them Manitoba is created as the fifth province.

British Columbia joins the Dominion of Canada as the sixth province.

Prince Edward Island enters Confederation as the seventh province.

Boundaries are changed in the Districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin, Ungava, Franklin and Yukon (1897). The District of Yukon becomes a Territory separate from the North-West Territories (1898). Quebec boundaries are extended north.

Alberta and Saskatchewan are created as provinces to make a total of nine provinces in the Dominion of Canada (1905). The district of Keewatin is transferred back to the Northwest Territories. Due to changes in adjoining areas the boundaries of the Northwest Territories are redefined (1906).

At its own request, after a plebiscite, Newfoundland enters the Confederation as the tenth and most recent province of the Dominion of Canada.

Nunavut became Canada's third territory April 1, 1999. For the first time since the entry of Newfoundland into Confederation fifty years ago, the internal boundaries of Canada have changed.

Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Cartes : 1667-1999

Afin de vous aider à visualiser l'évolution territoriale de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, vous trouverez dans cette section présente une série de cartes relatant les moments importants de l'histoire « canadienne ». La période chronologique couverte va de la période coloniale française au XVIIe siècle jusqu'à la création du Nunavut en 1999. 

Sources

Les descriptions de carte données ci-dessous reprennent textuellement les textes qui accompagnent les cartes originales.

Premier succès de colonie française en Amérique du Nord. Port Royal (1606) Québec (1608). Début des colonies anglaises en Virginie (1606-07). L'Acadie est reconnue comme possession française par le traité de Bréda (1667). Une charte royale (1670) accorde à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson le commerce du bassin de la baie d'Hudson.

Par le traité de Paris (1763), l'est de l'Amérique du Nord devient territoire britannique sauf les îles St-Pierre et Miquelon (France). Gouvernements coloniaux britanniques pour Québec, Terreneuve (avec île d'Anticosti et le îles de la Madeleine), Nouvelle-Écosse (englobant le N.-B. et l'Î.-P.-É. actuels). La France cède la Louisiane à l'Espagne.

Après l'Acte constitutionnel, Québec est divisé en Haut-Canada et Bas-Canada (1791). L'Espagne remet la Louisiane à la France (1800). Les États-Unis d'Amérique achètent la Louisiane (1803).

La Province du Canada est établie en réunissant le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada (1840). La frontière internationale est délimitée à partir des Montagnes Rocheuses jusqu'au Pacifique par le traité d'Orégon (1846). La partie nord du Territoire d'Orégon est appelée Nouvelle-Calédonie, nom employé par Simon Fraser en 1806. La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson reçoit l'île de Vancouver pour y établir une colonie (1849).

Le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Canada s'unissent pour former un État fédéral, le Dominion du Canada (Acte de l'Amérique britannique du Nord, 1er juillet, 1867). La Province du Canada est divisée en Québec et Ontario. Les États-Unis d'Amérique proclament avoir acquis l'Alaska de la Russie (20 juin).

Le Canada acquiert les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (Terre de Rupert et Territoire du Nord-Ouest) de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. On en détache une partie pour former le Manitoba à titre de cinquième province.

La Colombie-Britannique se joint au Canada à titre de sixième province.

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard entre dans la Confédération à titre de septième province.

On modifie les frontières des districts de Mackenzie, Keewatin, Ungava, Franklin et Yukon (1897). Retenant les même frontières, le District du Yukon est constitué en territoire séparé (1898). Le frontières du Québec sont poussées plus au nord.

L'Alberta et la Saskatchewan sont créées provinces, portant à neuf le nombre total de provinces (1905). Le District de Keewatin est de nouveau annexé aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. À cause des changements dans les régions avoisinantes les frontières des Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont redéfinies (1906).

Sur sa propre demande, par suite d'un plébiscite, Terre-Neuve entre dans la Confédération à titre de dixième et plus récente province du Dominion du Canada.

C'est le 1er avril 1999 que le Nunavut est devenu le troisième territoire du Canada. Jamais les frontières intérieures du pays n'avaient été retouchées depuis l'entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération canadienne, il y a de cela cinquante ans.

Next