Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Cartoons and Caricatures

Annexation versus Confederation

Canada has always had close and complex ties with its neighbour, the United States of America. In the decades immediately before and after Confederation, the possible annexation of British North American territories to the United States preoccupied citizens on both sides of the border. Cartoonists took advantage of the political and cultural symbolism of the annexation movement to produce insightful illustrated commentaries.

Caricature: Dropping a Hint

Source

"Dropping a Hint"

Colonel Gugy, MP, was a prominent member of the Opposition under the Baldwin-Lafontaine Ministry, but announced his withdrawal from that position during the heated scenes that followed the Rebellion Losses riots. He is regarded as having been the progenitor of the Liberal-Conservative Party of the present time. The cartoon conveys the insinuation that Colonel Gugy sympathized with the Annexation movement, which was the sensation of the day.

Caricature: The Annexation Engine

Source

"The Annexation Engine"

This was another attack upon the Annexation sentiment that prevailed in Lower Canada. Punch's idea was that if Annexation were ever realized its first effect would be to rob the French-Canadians of the special privileges they enjoyed under British rule. The artist's conception of Brother Jonathan ('Jonathan' was the term used by the British to refer to the United States) is somewhat unusual.

Caricature: Pawning the Flag

Source

"Pawning the Flag"

Mr. Benjamin Holmes was one of the Members for Montreal in the first Parliament after the Union, and was amongst the most active public men of the time. In 1849 he was an advocate of Annexation, and subsequently voted for the reception of an address in favour of Canadian independence. His Annexation proclivities are satirized in the cartoon, which represents him as pawning the British flag to Brother Jonathan.

Caricature: The Eagle and the Fawn

Source

"The Eagle and the Fawn"

A piece of excusable self-glorification on the part of Mr. Punch, who was 'truly loyal' from first to last. Here he dashes forth upon his charger to rescue the Canadian fawn from the talons of the designing American eagle.

Caricature: Cross Roads

Source

"Cross Roads"

Charles Tupper was a warm advocate of Confederation, and did more than any other public man to induce his native province, Nova Scotia (Acadia), to enter the union in 1867. Joseph Howe, a much greater statesman than Tupper, and a man of vast influence, was amongst the opponents of the measure in question, and was suspected of a preference for Annexation to the United States. In the cartoon the Province is represented as halting between the two opinions, and the loyal artist takes pains to point out that the advantages are all in the way that leads 'to Ottawa.'

Caricature: A Pertinent Question

Source

"A Pertinent Question"

This cartoon faithfully reflected the sentiments of the Canadian people on the subject of Annexation. While it is true that there is no general feeling in favour of the change indicated, there is an appreciable absence of the unfriendly feeling toward the United States that was generally cherished at this time.

Caricature: Uncle Sam Kicked Out

Source

"Uncle Sam Kicked Out"

The anti-Annexation sentiment that has always prevailed in Canada is presented with considerable 'force' in this picture.

Caricature: From Halifax to Vancouver

Source

"From Halifax to Vancouver"

The project of an all-rail route from the Atlantic to the Pacific on Canadian territory had begun to be put forth. The incredulity attributed to Uncle Sam in the cartoon was fully shared by many more immediately interested parties. The year 1886, however, saw the feat accomplished.

Caricature: Waiting for the Cat to Jump

Source

"Waiting for the Cat to Jump"

This cartoon gives an intimation that the views of Mr. Luther H. Holton on the subject of Canada's future destiny were not perfectly clear and fixed. In this Mr. Holton was by no means singular among our public men. The insinuation that he was a blind follower of public opinion does him less than justice.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Caricatures politiques

Annexion ou confédération

Le Canada a toujours entretenu des liens étroits et complexes avec son voisin du Sud, les États-Unis d'Amérique. Dans les décennies qui précèdent la Confédération et celles qui lui succèdent, la possible annexion des territoires de l'Amérique du Nord britannique aux États-Unis préoccupe les citoyens des deux côtés de la frontière. Puisant au mouvement d'annexion un symbolisme politique et culturel, les caricaturistes produisent des commentaires illustrés des plus perspicaces.

[Traduction libre]

Caricature : Dropping a Hint

Source

« Dropping a Hint ».

Le colonel Gugy, député, est l'une des figures dominantes de l'opposition dans le cabinet Baldwin-Lafontaine. Il annonce cependant qu'il abandonne son poste après le tumulte qui a suivi les émeutes engendrées par l'adoption de la Loi d'indemnité. On le considère comme le fondateur du Parti libéral-conservateur actuel. La caricature laisse entendre que le colonel Gugy favorisait l'annexion aux États-Unis. Cette caricature a été la sensation du jour.

Caricature : The Annexation Engine

Source

« The Annexation Engine ».

Cette caricature représente une autre attaque contre la tendance en faveur de l'annexion régnant au Bas-Canada. M. Papineau en est le personnage principal et, selon M. Punch, les premiers contrecoups de l'annexion seraient de faire disparaître tous les privilèges dont jouissent les Canadiens français sous l'égide britannique. La façon dont l'artiste conçoit Jonathan (terme utilisé par les Britanniques pour désigner les États-Unis) est assez remarquable.

Caricature : Pawning the Flag

Source

« Pawning the Flag ».

M. Benjamin Holmes est l'un des représentants de Montréal au sein du premier Parlement de l'Union, et un des hommes publics les plus actifs de son époque. En 1849, il défend l'annexion. Son penchant pour l'annexion est caricaturé ici à la perfection, alors qu'on le voit en train de déposer en gage le drapeau britannique entre les mains de Jonathan.

Caricature :  The Eagle and the Fawn

Source

« The Eagle and the Fawn ».

Un moment d'auto-glorification pardonnable de la part de M. Punch, « vraiment loyal » du début à la fin. On le voit ici chargeant sur sa monture pour sauver le faon canadien des griffes d'un aigle américain déterminé.

Caricature :  Cross Roads

Source

« Cross Roads ».

Le Dr (maintenant sir) Charles Tupper, ardent défenseur de la Confédération, fait plus que tout autre homme public pour convaincre la population de sa province natale, la Nouvelle-Écosse (Acadie), d'entrer dans l'Union en 1867. L'hon. Joseph Howe, homme d'État d'une grande influence et beaucoup plus prestigieux que Tupper, compte parmi les opposants au projet d'union; on le soupçonne d'avoir une préférence pour l'annexion aux États-Unis. Dans cette caricature, on voit la province hésitant devant l'alternative. L'artiste loyal s'efforce de lui montrer que tous les avantages se trouvent sur le chemin menant « à Ottawa ».

Caricature : A Pertinent Question

Source

« A Pertinent Question ».

La caricature reproduit fidèlement l'opinion générale des Canadiens à propos de l'annexion. Même si la population n'est pas nécessairement emballée par les changements proposés, on y décèle très peu d'animosité envers les États-Unis, sentiment répandu à cette époque.

Caricature : Uncle Sam Kicked Out

Source

« Uncle Sam Kicked Out ».

La tendance contre l'annexion, toujours présente au Canada, est représentée avec « force » sur cette illustration.

Caricature : From Halifax to Vancouver

Source

« From Halifax to Vancouver ».

Le projet d'une voie ferrée s'étendant de l'Atlantique au Pacifique sur le territoire canadien commence à faire du chemin. Plusieurs personnes, touchées de près par cette aventure, partagent avec l'Oncle Sam l'incrédulité qu'on lui prête sur cette caricature. Le projet devient toutefois un fait accompli en 1886.

Caricature : Waiting for the Cat to Jump

Source

« Waiting for the Cat to Jump ».

Cette caricature montre que le point de vue de M. Luther H. Holton sur la destinée du Canada ne semble pas tout à fait clair et précis. À ce propos, M. Holton n'est en rien différent de bon nombre de nos hommes publics. L'hypothèse suggérant qu'il ne fait que suivre l'opinion publique ne lui rend pas tout à fait justice.

Précédent | Suivant