Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Cartoons and Caricatures

Atlantic Antics

The development of Confederation in Canada's Atlantic region spanned almost a century, and stimulated an equally broad range of creative commentary from regional and national cartoonists. Although Newfoundland and the Maritime provinces each brought a unique perspective to the issue of Confederation, the economic, social and political concerns evident in these cartoons reveal common preoccupations with such matters as responsible government, annexation and general political mischief.

Caricature, THE HAPPY PAIR, John A. Macdonald and Joseph Howe

Source

"The Happy Pair" (John A. Macdonald and Joseph Howe)

In the interest of promoting closer relations amongst the colonies of British North America, Thomas D'Arcy McGee organized a visit to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick by a delegation of Canadian politicians and journalists for the late summer of 1864. Newspapers of the time were particularly amused by the "Hodge Podge dinner" held for the delegates.

Caricature, A GAME OF SEE-SAW

Source

"A Game of See-Saw"

A game of see-saw: fickleness exhibited by the Maritime Provinces. The battle over Confederation was fought in the newspapers as well as in the legislature.

Caricature, SCARING THE MARITIME HORSE

Source

"Scaring the Maritime Horse"

Charles Tupper demonstrates his control over Maritime political issues. Grip, November 24, 1877.

Caricature, TAXES UNDER CONFEDERATION

Source

"Taxes under Confederation"

Union with Canada was often regarded as a solution to existing problems rather than as a desirable end in and of itself. Furthermore, Newfoundlanders could observe no clear benefits for the Maritime colonies that had joined.

Caricature, THE MERCHANTS AND RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT

Source

"The Merchants and Responsible Government"

Despite the hopes of Newfoundland's responsible government supporters, the London delegation got a cold reception from the British government, which balked at promising any substantial amount of financial assistance if the island chose independence.

Caricature, TWO VIEWS OF RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT

Source

"Two Views of Responsible Government"

For Newfoundland, which was suffering economic difficulties after a bank crash, union with Canada gained an attractive financial aspect.

Caricature, THE BRIDGE TO PROSPERITY

Source

"The Bridge to Prosperity"

The strong American presence during the Second World War caused Canada to renew its interest in inviting Newfoundland to join Confederation.

Caricature, A QUEER FISHERMAN!

Source

"A Queer Fisherman!"

While Confederation is generally regarded as a positive event for Newfoundland, many feel that its execution should have been far different. There have even been suggestions of a conspiracy to force Newfoundland into Confederation.

Caricature, THE ROAD TO CONFEDERATION 1

Source

"The Road to Confederation 1"

The fiftieth anniversary of Newfoundland's inclusion in Confederation, in 1999, provided many people with an opportunity for reflection on how Newfoundland has fared within the union. Many newspapers published stories about those who had witnessed the Confederation campaign.

Caricature, THE ROAD TO CONFEDERATION 2

Source

"The Road to Confederation 2"

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Caricatures politiques

Bouffonneries de l'Atlantique

Le projet de confédération dans le Canada atlantique s'échelonne sur près d'un siècle et suscite un vaste éventail de commentaires créatifs des caricaturistes régionaux ou nationaux. Bien que Terre-Neuve et les provinces Maritimes aient adopté des points de vue différents sur la question de la confédération, les enjeux économiques, sociaux et politiques caricaturés révèlent des préoccupations communes liées à l'instauration d'un gouvernement responsable, à l'annexion et, de façon générale, à la mauvaise conduite généralisée des politiciens.

Caricature intitulée THE HAPPY PAIR, John A. Macdonald et Joseph Howe

Source

« The Happy Pair » (L'heureux couple : John A. Macdonald et Joseph Howe)

Afin de favoriser l'établissement de relations plus étroites entre les colonies de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, Thomas D'Arcy McGee organise la visite d'une délégation de politiciens et de journalistes canadiens en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick, à la fin de l'été 1864. Les journaux de l'époque se montrent particulièrement amusés par le « Hodge Podge dinner » (Le repas de ragoût) qu'on réserve aux délégués.

Caricature intitulée A GAME OF SEE-SAW

Source

« A game of see-saw »

Le jeu de bascule : l'inconstance dont font preuve les provinces maritimes. La lutte en faveur ou contre l'union se fait dans les journaux en plus de se mener à la législature.

Caricature intitulée SCARING THE MARITIME HORSE

Source

« Scaring the Maritime Horse »

Charles Tupper démontre sa maîtrise des enjeux politiques dans les colonies maritimes. Grip, 24 novembre 1877

Caricature intitulée TAXES UNDER CONFDERERATION

Source

« Taxes under Confederation »

L'union avec le Canada est souvent considérée comme une solution aux problèmes existants plutôt qu'une fin souhaitable en soi. De plus, les Terre-Neuviens ne voient pas d'avantages évidents pour les colonies maritimes qui se sont déjà confédérées.

Caricature intitulée THE MERCHANTS AND RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT

Source

« The Merchants and Responsible Government »

Malgré les espoirs des partisans du gouvernement responsable à Terre-Neuve, le gouvernement britannique accueille froidement la délégation envoyée à Londres; il refuse de promettre toute aide financière importante dans le cas où l'île choisirait l'indépendance.

Caricature intitulée TWO VIEWS OF RESPONSIBLE GOVERNMENT

Source

« Two Views of Responsible Government »

Pour Terre-Neuve, qui éprouve des difficultés économiques à la suite d'un krach bancaire, l'union avec le Canada offre des perspectives financières très intéressantes.

Caricature intitulée THE BRIDGE TO PROSPERITY

Source

« The Bridge to Prosperity »

La forte présence des Américains pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale pousse le Canada à inviter de nouveau Terre-Neuve à se joindre à la Confédération.

Caricature intitulée A QUEER FISHERMAN!

Source

« A Queer Fisherman! »

Alors qu'on considère généralement la Confédération comme un événement positif pour Terre-Neuve, plusieurs pensent que cela aurait dû se passer différemment. Certains parlent d'une conspiration pour obliger Terre-Neuve à entrer dans la Confédération.

Caricature intitulée THE ROAD TO CONFEDERATION 1

Source

« The Road to Confederation 1 »

Le cinquantième anniversaire de l'adhésion de Terre-Neuve à la Confédération, en 1999, a donné à bien des gens l'occasion de réfléchir sur la façon dont Terre-Neuve a passé au sein de la Confédération. Plusieurs journaux ont publié des histoires sur ceux et celles qui ont été les témoins de la campagne sur la Confédération.

Caricature intitulée THE ROAD TO CONFEDERATION 2

Source

« The Road to Confederation 2 »

Précédent | Suivant