Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Documents

Black Newspapers

Voice of the Fugitive | Provincial Freeman


The following article is from:
Voice of the Fugitive, March 12, 1851

Image: Title banner of newspaper "Voice of the Fugitive"

INTRODUCTION

In introducing the Voice of the Fugitive to its patrons, the rules of propriety, as well as a long established custom, make it our duty to set forth some avowal of the principles by which we shall be governed in its editorial management..

We expect... to advocate the cause of human liberty in the true meaning of that term. We shall advocate the immediate and unconditional abolition of chattel slavery everywhere, but especially on American soil. We shall also persuade... every oppressed person of color in the United States to settle in Canada, where the laws make no distinction among men, based on complection, and upon whose soil "no slave can breathe"...

We shall oppose the annexation of Canada to the United States to the fullest extent of our ability, while that Government continues to tolerate the abominable system of human slavery.

We shall from time to time endeavor to lay before our readers the true condition of our people in Canada, of their hopes and propects for the future - and while we intend this to be a mouth piece for the refugees, yet we mean to speak out our sentiments as a freeman upon all subjects that come within our sphere...


The following article is from:
Provincial Freeman April 25, 1857

THE DUTIES OF COLORED MEN IN CANADA

What are the duties of colored men in these Provinces, who have been forced here from American despotism and oppression? We shall answer this question as frankly and at the same time, as sincere (sic) as we think its importance demands. Well then! we live in a government that knows no caste in its political organization. All men stand on the broad platform of equality before the laws, and are alike cared for by Her Majesty's government. It is as true now as it was when Curran spoke those immortal words.

No matter what complexion incompatible with Liberty, an Indian or an African man may have burnt upon him, the moment he sets his foot upon British soil he is free.

...From this pleasing picture we turn to its contrast, the Republican government of the United States.

And what are its recent decisions upon questions involving the liberty of her entire colored population. Why? that none but white men were intended to be recognized as citizens in the political structure of the government. That negroes constitute the exceptions; that they have no rights under her laws; are aliens and outcasts on her shores...We owe everything to the country of our adoption and nothing to that miserable, contemptible, despotism the government of the United States.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Documents

Les journaux noirs

Voice of the Fugitive | Provincial Freeman


Article tiré de :
Voice of the Fugitive, 12 mars 1851

Image: En-tête du journal « Voice of the Fugitive »

INTRODUCTION

[Traduction libre]

Afin de bien faire connaître à nos lecteurs le mandat du Voice of the Fugitive, les lois de la bienséance ainsi que la vieille tradition établie nous obligent à dévoiler les principes qui dirigeront la rédaction de ce journal.

Nous entendons... défendre la liberté de l'homme au sens propre de ce terme. Nous défendons l'abolition mondiale, immédiate et inconditionnelle, de « l'esclave-chose », et plus spécialement en Amérique. Nous tenterons de convaincre tous les opprimés de couleur vivant aux États-Unis de venir s'installer au Canada, une terre où les lois n'établissent aucune différence fondée sur la couleur de la peau, et où « aucun esclave ne respirera »...

Nous nous opposerons, du mieux qu'il nous sera possible, à l'annexion du Canada aux États-Unis tant et aussi longtemps que le gouvernement américain continuera de tolérer les atrocités de l'esclavage.

De temps à autre, nous nous efforcerons de faire connaître à nos lecteurs les véritables conditions, les espoirs et les projets de notre peuple au Canada. Ce journal servira de porte-parole aux réfugiés, mais nous nous réservons le droit de nous exprimer ouvertement, en hommes libres, sur tous les sujets qui nous toucheront.


Article tiré de :
Provincial Freeman 25 avril 1857

LES DEVOIRS DES HOMMES DE COULEUR AU CANADA

[Traduction libre]

Quels sont les devoirs des hommes de couleur dans ces provinces, eux qui ont été forcés de s'y installer à cause du despotisme américain et de l'oppression?

Nous répondrons franchement à cette question et aussi sincèrement que l'importance de la situation l'exige. Eh bien! Nous vivons dans un État où le gouvernement ne fait pas de caste dans son organisation politique : tous les hommes sont égaux devant la loi et traités avec le même égard par le gouvernement de Sa Majesté. Cela demeure vrai aujourd'hui, tout comme lorsque Curran a prononcé ces paroles historiques :

Peu importe la couleur, incompatible avec la liberté, qui teint la chair d'un Indien ou d'un Africain, dès qu'il pose le pied en sol britannique, c'est un homme libre.

...Après cette agréable perspective, regardons-en maintenant une toute autre, celle du gouvernement républicain des États-Unis.

Voyons quelles sont les dernières décisions à propos de la liberté de la population de couleur. Pourquoi nul autre que l'homme blanc ne peut-il être reconnu comme citoyen selon la structure politique de ce gouvernement? Pourquoi les nègres sont-ils rejetés et n'ont-ils aucun droit devant la justice? Pourquoi les considère-t-on comme des intrus et des parias? [...] Nous devons tout à notre patrie d'adoption et rien à ce misérable, méprisable et tyrannique gouvernement des États-Unis.