Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Canadian Confederation

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Documents

Confederation Day!

The following article is from:
The Globe Monday, July 1, 1867, vol. 24, no. 156, supplement, p. 4, col. 1

The Union of the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, under the new Constitution, takes effect today. We heartily congratulate our readers on the event, and fervently pray that all the blessings anticipated from the measure, by its promoters, may be fully realized.

So far as the people of Upper Canada are concerned, the inauguration of the new Constitution may well be heartily rejoiced over as the brightest day in their calendar. The Constitution of 1867 will be famous in the historical annals of Upper Canada, not only because it brought two flourishing Maritime States into alliance with the Canadas, and opened up new markets for our products, and a direct railway route to the Atlantic through British territory, but because it relieved the inhabitants of Western Canada from a system of injustice and demoralization under which they had suffered for a long series of years.

The unanimity and cordiality with which all sections of the people of Canada accept the new Constitution, gives the happiest omen of its successful operation. And, assuredly, if the people of the United Provinces are true to themselves and exercise a persistent and careful control over all public proceedings, there is not a shadow of doubt as to success. The only danger that threatens us is, lest the same men who have so long misgoverned us, should continue to misgovern us still, and the same reckless prodigality exhibited in past years should be continued in the future; but this we do not fear. We firmly believe, that from this day, Canada enters on a new and happier career, and that a time of great prosperity and advancement is before us.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - La Confédération canadienne

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Documents

Jour de la Confédération!

Article tiré de :
The Globe Le lundi 1er juillet 1867, vol. 24, no 156 (supplément), p. 4, col. 1

[Traduction libre]

C'est aujourd'hui que, suivant la nouvelle Constitution du pays, prend effet l'union des provinces du Canada, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Nous félicitons sincèrement nos lecteurs de cet événement et prions ardemment pour que tous les bienfaits anticipés par les promoteurs de l'union se réalisent.

L'inauguration de la nouvelle Constitution est sans aucun doute le jour le plus réjouissant qui fera date dans la vie des gens du Haut-Canada. La Constitution de 1867 deviendra célèbre dans les annales historiques du Haut-Canada, non seulement parce qu'elle aura permis l'alliance des deux Canadas et de deux États maritimes florissants, l'ouverture de nouveaux marchés pour nos produits et une ligne de chemin de fer directe traversant le territoire britannique vers l'Atlantique; mais aussi parce qu'elle soulagera les habitants de l'Ouest du Canada de l'injustice et du découragement dont ils ont souffert pendant de trop nombreuses années.

L'esprit d'unanimité et de sympathie dans lequel toutes les classes de la population du Canada accueillent la nouvelle Constitution augure bien de son succès. Et, assurément, si la population des provinces unies est sincère et exerce un contrôle constant et attentif sur les affaires publiques, il n'y a nulle ombre d'un doute sur son succès futur. Le seul danger qui nous menace est de voir les mêmes hommes qui nous ont mal gouvernés pendant si longtemps continuer de le faire et la prodigalité caractéristique du passé se perpétuer; mais cela ne nous effraie pas. Nous croyons fermement qu'à partir d'aujourd'hui le Canada commence une vie nouvelle plus heureuse et qu'il entre dans une ère de grande prospérité et de progrès.