Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Confederation for kids

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.


Saskatchewan and Alberta

Entered Confederation: 1905

The land that now forms Saskatchewan and Alberta was originally part of the Northwest Territories. By the beginning of the 1900s, many people wanted this to change. The leader of the Territories was F. W. G. Haultain. He and others had several reasons to want to create new provinces:

  • The economy had changed. Instead of just the fur trade, it now included farming, logging, mining and the railway. Many people were coming into the territory to work in these new industries. They believed this larger population deserved the same kind of government as in Ontario, Quebec and the other provinces.
  • They could not afford everything that the people needed, such as schools. By forming new provinces, they would be able to collect taxes and pay for these things.
Oats from a new land, Alberta (A Swede homesteader, 1919)

Oats from a new land, Alberta (A Swede homesteader, 1919)

Previous | Next