Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Cool Canada

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Incredible Inventions

Road Lines

Inventor: John D. Millar (dates unknown)

Today, drivers know to stay in their own lane or on their side of the dividing line. Imagine the confusion and inevitable accidents if there were no lines to keep cars from veering over to the wrong side of the road. It's hard to believe that road lines haven't been around as long as traffic itself. Incredibly, there was no such thing as road lines before 1930. Before then, drivers sometimes stuck evergreen boughs into the snow to mark lanes and depended on horns and sleigh bells to warn oncoming traffic.

Photograph of a danger sign on a road in Winona, Ontario, 1922

Source
Danger sign on a road in Winona, Ontario, May 21, 1922

Photograph of a car and truck involved in an accident, with onlookers standing nearby and men assessing the damage, 1929

Source
Automobile accident on a road without lines, 1929

In 1930, John D. Millar, an engineer working for the Ontario Department of Transport thought up the idea of painting lines on roads. The world's first lines were painted on a portion of highway near the Ontario/Quebec border. This innovation caught on quickly and within three years white lines were a common standard throughout North America. Over time, double, dashed, yellow and other lines were added to send various messages to drivers. With today's vehicular congestion, people owe a lot to this Canadian for keeping traffic organized and predictable. If it weren't for Millar's idea, driving would be a lot like the bumper car ride at amusement parks, but without the fun!

References

Bowers, Vivien. Only in Canada!: from the Colossal to the Kooky. Toronto: Owl Books, 2002.

Penny, Laura. "White Lines", Saturday Night Magazine, 2000.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un Canada cool

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Des inventions incroyables

Les lignes sur la chaussée

Inventeur : John D. Millar (dates inconnues)

Aujourd'hui, les automobilistes peuvent déterminer s'ils conduisent dans la bonne voie ou du bon côté de la route. Imagine la confusion et le nombre d'accidents inévitables qui se produiraient s'il n'y avait pas de lignes sur la chaussée empêchant les conducteurs de rouler dans la mauvaise voie. Il est difficile de croire que les lignes sur la chaussée sont apparues bien après les voitures et la circulation. Pourtant, il n'y avait aucune ligne sur la chaussée avant 1930. Auparavant, les conducteurs traçaient parfois les voies en disposant des branches de conifères dans la neige, et ils avertissaient les véhicules venant en sens inverse de leur présence en se servant de klaxons et de grelots.

Photo d'un panneau indicateur de danger au bord d'une route, à Winona, en Ontario, en 1922

Source
Panneau indicateur de danger au bord d'une route, à Winona, en Ontario, le 21 mai 1922

Photo montrant une voiture et un camion qui sont entrés en collision, et, autour, des curieux et des hommes en train d'évaluer les dommages, en 1929

Source
Accident de voiture dans une rue sans lignes, en 1929

En 1930, John D. Millar, un ingénieur du ministère des Transports de l'Ontario, a eu l'idée de peindre des lignes sur la chaussée. Les premières lignes de l'histoire ont été peintes sur un tronçon d'autoroute près de la frontière entre le Québec et l'Ontario. Cette invention s'est répandue rapidement : trois ans plus tard, les lignes blanches sur la chaussée étaient devenues la norme partout en Amérique du Nord. Au fil du temps, on a commencé à peindre des lignes doubles, des lignes pointillées, des lignes jaunes et d'autres types de lignes, qui fournissent diverses indications aux conducteurs. Compte tenu de l'encombrement des routes de nos jours, les conducteurs doivent une grande reconnaissance à ce Canadien, grâce à qui ils peuvent circuler de façon ordonnée et prévoir leurs manœuvres. Sans l'idée de Millar, la circulation routière ressemblerait à un tour d'autos tamponneuses au parc d'attractions, le plaisir en moins!

Références

Bowers, Vivien. Only in Canada!: from the Colossal to the Kooky, Toronto, Owl Books, 2002.

Penny, Laura. « White Lines », Saturday Night Magazine, 2000.