Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Cool Canada

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Canadian Giants

Anna Swan (1846-1888)

Anna Swann was born in 1846 at Mill Brook, Nova Scotia. At age five, she was 4 feet 8 inches (142 cm) tall and weighed over 100 pounds (45 kg). At 22, she weighed 352 pounds (160 kg) and was 7 feet 6 inches (228 cm) tall.

In 1862, Anna was offered a job with P.T. Barnum that paid $1,000 a month and provided a private tutor so Anna could continue her studies. Anna was on display at the American Museum in New York. As the only female giant in the world at the time, Anna attracted large crowds. When a fire broke out in the museum in 1865, Anna nearly burned to death. The stairway was blocked by flames and she could not fit through the windows. Fortunately, museum employees smashed the wall around a third floor window, then lifted Anna to safety using a block and tackle with 18 men holding the rope.

Photograph of Anna Swan, standing beside a woman of average height

Source
Anna Swan with a woman of average height

Photograph of Anna Swan and her husband beside a man of average height, between 1878 and 1888

Source
Anna Swan and her husband, Martin van Buren Bates with a man of average height, between 1878 and 1888

While crossing the Atlantic Ocean for a European tour, Anna met Kentucky giant Martin Van Buren Bates. They married in England on June 17, 1871 and toured together as the world's largest married couple, giving command performances for Queen Victoria and the then Prince of Wales. Returning to North America, Anna's husband built them a house in Ohio with 14-foot ceilings and furniture made to measure. Though the couple had a daughter, and later a son, both children were abnormally large and neither infant survived. Anna died of tuberculosis in 1888.

References

Anna Swan: Nova Scotia's Remarkable Giantess. SchoolNet Digital Collections, Industry Canada.
http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/200/301/ic/can_digital_collections/aswan/index.htm
(accessed February 23, 2005).

The Nova Scotia Giantess Archive. Centre for History and New Media.
http://chnm.gmu.edu/lostmuseum/searchlm.php?function=find&exhibit=giantess&browse=giantess
(accessed February 23, 2005).

"Swan, Anna Haining (Bates)." Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online.
http://www.biographi.ca
(accessed February 23, 2005).

"Swan, Anna Haining." The Canadian Encyclopedia. Edmonton: Hurtig Publishers, 1985, p. 1777.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Un Canada cool

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Des gens et des objets gigantesques

Anna Swan (1846-1888)

Anna Swann est née en 1846 à Mill Brook, en Nouvelle-Écosse. À l'âge de cinq ans, elle mesurait déjà 1,42 m et pesait plus de 45 kg. À 22 ans, elle avait atteint 160 kg et mesurait 2,28 m.

En 1862, P.T. Barnum lui a offert un emploi à 1000 $ par mois, en plus de lui fournir un professeur privé afin qu'elle puisse poursuivre ses études. Son travail consistait à être exposée à l'American Museum de New York. Comme elle était la seule femme géante au monde à cette époque, Anna attirait les foules. En 1865, un incendie s'est déclaré à l'intérieur du musée. Anna a failli y perdre la vie, car les flammes obstruaient l'escalier et les fenêtres étaient trop petites pour qu'elle puisse y passer. Heureusement, des employés du musée ont enfoncé le mur entourant une fenêtre du troisième étage et ont transporté Anna en lieu sûr au moyen d'une poulie et d'une corde retenue par 18 hommes.

Photo montrant Anna Swan en compagnie d'une femme de taille normale

Source
Anna Swan en compagnie d'une femme de taille normale

Photo d'Anna Swan et de son mari, prise entre 1878 et 1888, posant à côté d'un homme de taille normale Source
Anna Swan et son mari Martin van Buren Bates entre 1878 et 1888 en compagnie d'un homme de taille normale

En traversant l'océan Atlantique pour aller faire une tournée en Europe, Anna a rencontré le géant Martin Van Buren Bates, du Kentucky. Ils se sont mariés en Angleterre le 17 juin 1871 et ont entrepris une tournée ensemble à titre de plus grands mariés au monde. Ils ont défilé devant la reine Victoria, et plus tard devant le prince de Galles, à leur demande. À leur retour en Amérique du Nord, le mari d'Anna leur a construit une maison en Ohio, dotée de plafonds de plus de 4 m de hauteur et de meubles faits sur mesure. Le couple a eu une fille, puis un garçon, mais les deux enfants, nés démesurément grands, n'ont pas survécu. Anna est décédée de la tuberculose en 1888.

Références

Centre for History and New Media. The Nova Scotia Giantess Archive.
(Disponible en anglais seulement)
http://chnm.gmu.edu/lostmuseum/searchlm.php?function=find&exhibit=giantess&browse=giantess
(Consulté le 14 mars 2005)

Collections numérisées de Rescol, Industrie Canada. Anna Swan: Nova Scotia's Remarkable Giantess.
(Disponible en anglais seulement)
http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/200/301/ic/can_digital_collections/aswan/index.htm
(Consulté le 14 mars 2005)

« Swan, Anna Haining (Bates) », Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne.
www.biographi.ca
(Consulté le 15 mars 2005)

« Swan, Anna Haining », L'encyclopédie du Canada, Montréal, Stanké, 1987, p. 1887.