Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Bonspiel!
The History of Curling in Canada

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Curling Into Canada

The Hogline (1760-1850)

The Early Development of the Sport as it Crossed into Canada

Curling was brought to Canada from Scotland and some curling was played informally before 1800. The generally accepted story is that the 78th Fraser Highland Regiment melted cannonballs to make iron curling "stones" and that they curled at the city of Québec in 1759-1760.

Quebec has had a long tradition of using iron curling stones as a substitute for granite. This came about because there were problems getting granite stones from Scotland. The iron stones were made at a forge in Trois-Rivières, Quebec. John Kerr, in his History of Curling, says that these stones were shaped like huge teakettles, weighed 46 to 65 pounds each and were owned by the clubs.

Watercolour painting titled CURLING ON THE DON RIVER, TORONTO, 1836

Curling on the Don River, Toronto, 1836

Source

Quebec and the Ottawa Valley used iron stones in regular play up until about 1955, when they were replaced by granite stones, thus putting Quebec in step with other parts of Canada and the rest of the world. The use of iron rather than granite was a sore point and caused problems in organizing games and bonspiels (tournaments) for Quebec teams. The Ladies Curling Association of the Canadian Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club held annual competitions for the Lady Tweedsmuir Trophy, and irons continued to be used in this competition up until and including 1953.

The first curling club in Canada was formed in Montréal in 1807 by 20 merchants and they used irons exclusively. The Montreal Curling Club has been operating continuously since then and will celebrate its 200th anniversary in 2007. Its history is documented in The Montreal Curling Club, 1807-1907. This club took part in the very first inter-city game in Canada against the Québec Curling Club in Trois-Rivières, about halfway between the cities of Montréal and Québec, in 1835. Québec won and Montréal had to pay for the dinner (the opposite of the present-day custom). There was no whisky available and there were complaints about having to drink wine and champagne.

Watercolour painting titled CURLING IN HIGH PARK, TORONTO, 1836

Curling in High Park, Toronto, 1836

Source

After the inauguration of the Montreal Curling Club in 1807, clubs were formed in Kingston in 1820, the city of Québec in 1821 and Halifax in 1824, and other clubs were to follow. The Toronto Curling Club was founded in 1836 and in 1840 James Bicket of that club published the first Canadian Manual on Curling. The manual included remarks on the history of the game as well as the constitution of the Toronto Curling Club.

The establishment of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club in Edinburgh was very important for Canadian curling because it helped to standardize the game. Quebec clubs quickly joined the Scottish club as the Canadian Branch in 1841. This led to a standardization of the game in Canada, except of course for the continued use of both iron and granite stones. Ontario clubs joined the Canadian Branch later on. The decision to join the Royal Caledonian Curling Club meant that Canadians maintained close ties with the "mother club" in Edinburgh.

Gerald Redmond in his thesis, The Scots and Sport in Nineteenth Century Canada, suggests that there were many reasons for the success of curling in Canada. He comments on Canada's favourable climate, plenty of water, the widespread settlement of enthusiastic Scots, the formation of clubs, the high-class patronage of the sport and the willingness of the Scots to open their sport to other nationalities. Redmond notes that throughout the centuries that curling was played in Scotland, it was renowned for its democratic tendencies. (p. 142) This was noticeable in Canada as well, particularly in the military clubs where people of different ranks played together.

In Curling in Ontario, 1846-1946, John A. Stevenson reports that in 1841 there were two military clubs in Montréal, the 71st Regiment (now the Highland Light Infantry) and a regiment of Dragoon Guards, and that they challenged the Montreal Curling Club. Doug Maxwell, in Canada Curls, comments (p. 55) that "curling in Canada has always been aligned, historically, with the military, and their early offshoot, the police force."

Before 1850 there were no railways and the roads were poor. This made it difficult to arrange games with teams from distant cities. Three days had to be allowed for teams from Toronto and Hamilton to play a match in the other city -- only 50 miles apart. The Toronto and Scarborough clubs met more regularly as they were not far apart.

Ink drawing titled CURLING, TORONTO by James Edward Alexander, 1843

Curling, Toronto by James Edward Alexander, 1843

Source

Curling games were played in Central and Atlantic Canada before curling clubs were formally set up. Curling was introduced into the Toronto area about 1825 and there were games between Toronto and Scarborough by 1830. Scottish immigrants were the curling pioneers in these areas of Canada. Many of them were stonemasons and made their own curling stones from granite boulders left behind by ice and removed from fields as they were cleared for farming. According to David B. Smith in Curling: An Illustrated History, wooden 'stones' were often used in Upper Canada, especially by curlers in Galt, until conventional stones were available. They were usually cut from a maple or birch tree trunk and shaped. A band of iron was fastened around the middle to prevent splitting and to add weight.

During this period, games were played outdoors and only gradually did clubs build wooden buildings to eliminate the need for snow removal during games. The early buildings were more like sheds and; later buildings also protected the ice against thaws. The Royal Montreal Curling Club was the first club in British North America to build an indoor rink, in 1838.

Clubs in existence before 1850 include the Royal Montreal Curling Club (1807), Kingston (1820), the city of Québec (1821), Halifax (1824), Fergus (1834), West Flamborough (1835), Milton (1835), Toronto (1836), Galt (1838), Guelph (1838), Hamilton (1838), Scarborough (1839), Dragoon Guards at Chambly (1841), 71st Regiment, now called the Highland Light Infantry (1841), Montreal Thistle Club (1842), Paris Curling Club (1843), London Curling Club (1847), and the Caledonia in Montréal (1850). The Fergus Curling Club claims that it has operated every year since it was established in 1834, making it the oldest continuously operating curling club in Ontario.

In the Atlantic Provinces, in addition to the Halifax Curling Club (1824), David B. Smith, in Curling: An Illustrated History, reports (p. 132) that there was reference to curling in Albion Mines and Pictou, Nova Scotia, in the 1840s. The New Caledonian Curling Club in Pictou was formed in 1852. In New Brunswick, the Fredericton Curling Club was organized in 1854 and other clubs soon followed. Alan O. Garcelon's book on New Brunswick curling, New Brunswick Curling Records, documents curling in that province up to the present. Curling has been enjoyed in Newfoundland since the 1830s, when it was initially played on Quidi Vidi Lake. In Newfoundland, a curling club was started in St. John's in 1843. By 1850, clubs were established in all Eastern provinces except Prince Edward Island. Ontario was the centre of curling in Canada. The next stage would see curling expand to the West.

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Bonspiel!
L'histoire du curling au Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

L'essor du curling au Canada

Ligne de jeu (1760-1850)

Les premiers balbutiements du curling au Canada

Le curling, emprunté à l'Écosse, était déjà joué de façon informelle au Canada avant 1800. On reconnaît généralement que plus tard, le 78e régiment des Highlanders de Fraser faisait fondre des boulets de canon pour en faire des « pierres » de fer utilisées dans des joutes à Québec en 1759 et en 1760.

De tels galets métalliques, fabriqués dans une forge de Trois-Rivières, ont longtemps été employés au Québec en remplacement des pierres de granit, lequel était difficile à importer de l'Écosse. Dans un livre intitulé History of Curling, John Kerr raconte qu'ils ressemblaient à d'énormes théières, pesaient entre 21 et 30 kilogrammes et appartenaient aux clubs.

Aquarelle intitulée CURLING ON THE DON RIVER, TORONTO, 1836

Curling on the Don River, Toronto, 1836

Source

Jusqu'en 1953, l'association féminine de la filiale canadienne du Royal Caledonian Curling Club utilise ces « fers » dans le cadre des compétitions annuelles pour le trophée Lady Tweedsmuir. Tant au Québec que dans la vallée de l'Outaouais, on s'en sert régulièrement jusque vers 1955, quand elles sont enfin remplacées par leurs équivalents en granit, ramenant ainsi ces régions au même niveau que le reste du Canada et du monde. L'utilisation de pierres métalliques était en effet problématique quand venait le temps d'organiser des parties et des bonspiels (tournois) avec des équipes québécoises.

Le premier club de curling au Canada est formé à Montréal en 1807 par 20 marchands, qui n'utilisent encore que des galets de fer. Ce club célébrera en 2007 son 200e anniversaire d'activité continue; on peut lire le début de son histoire dans un document intitulé The Montreal Curling Club, 1807-1907. Ce sont par ailleurs ses membres qui jouent en 1835 la toute première partie entre villes canadiennes contre le club de Québec à Trois-Rivières, à mi-chemin entre les deux cités. L'équipe de Québec ayant gagné, celle de Montréal a dû défrayer les coûts du souper (à l'opposé de la tradition actuelle). Fait à noter, forcés de boire du vin et du champagne, les joueurs se sont plaints de l'absence de whisky.

Aquarelle intitulée CURLING IN HIGH PARK, TORONTO, 1836

Curling in High Park, Toronto, 1836

Source

Après l'inauguration du club de Montréal, d'autres entités prennent forme à Kingston (1820), à Québec (1821), à Halifax (1824) et ailleurs. Le club de Toronto est fondé en 1836, et un de ses membres, James Bicket, publie en 1840 le premier manuel sur le curling portant simplement le nom de Canadian Manual on Curling. Ce guide pratique comprend notamment des remarques sur l'histoire du jeu de même que de la constitution du club de Toronto.

L'établissement du Royal Caledonian Curling Club à Édimbourg a été très important pour le curling canadien en ce qu'il a contribué à la normalisation du sport. Les clubs du Québec se sont rapidement associés à l'organisation écossaise en créant une filiale canadienne en 1841. Cette association a permis d'uniformiser les éléments du jeu, mises à part les pierres, qui étaient encore soit en fer, soit en granit. Les clubs ontariens se sont joints à la filiale canadienne plus tard. Ce faisant, les entités du pays ont pu maintenir des liens étroits avec le club fondateur écossais.

Gerald Redmond, dans sa thèse intitulée The Scots and Sport in Nineteenth Century Canada, suggère de nombreuses raisons justifiant le succès du curling au Canada. Il parle notamment d'un climat favorable, de l'abondance de plans d'eau, de la formation de clubs, des riches amateurs, ainsi que de l'enthousiasme des Écossais arrivant en nombre au pays ou désireux d'ouvrir leur sport national aux gens d'autres nationalités. Redmond note en outre que pendant les siècles pendant lesquels on a joué au curling en Écosse, le sport était renommé pour ses tendances démocratiques (p. 142). Or, ce penchant s'est également manifesté au Canada, plus particulièrement dans les clubs militaires, au sein desquels des personnes de divers grades pouvaient en effet jouer ensemble.

Dans un ouvrage intitulé Curling in Ontario, 1846-1946, John A. Stevenson raconte qu'en 1841, il existait deux clubs militaires à Montréal, soit celui du 71e régiment (maintenant connu sous le nom du Highland Light Infantry) et celui du régiment des Dragoon Guards, lesquels ont tous les deux fait concurrence au club de Montréal. De son côté, Doug Maxwell, auteur de Canada Curls, fait remarquer qu'au Canada, le curling a toujours suivi l'histoire des forces armées et de leurs pendants civils, les forces policières (p. 55).

Avant 1850, les routes étant peu praticables et les chemins de fer, inexistants, il est difficile d'organiser des tournois entre villes éloignées. Il faut par exemple prévoir trois jours pour un match entre les équipes de Toronto et d'Hamilton, pourtant séparées d'à peine 80 kilomètres. Les clubs de Toronto et de Scarborough se rencontrent plus souvent, étant moins distants l'un de l'autre.

Dessin à l'encre intitulé CURLING, TORONTO, de James Edward Alexander, 1843

Curling, Toronto, de James Edward Alexander, 1843

Source

Au centre du Canada et dans la région atlantique, on joue également au curling avant la formation de clubs organisés. On trouve les premières traces du jeu à Toronto vers 1825, et on sait que des parties sont disputées contre Scarborough dès 1830. Dans ces régions, ce sont les immigrants écossais qui sont les pionniers en la matière. Bon nombre d'entre eux sont maçons et fabriquent leurs propres pierres à partir de blocs de granit laissés par les glaciers dans les champs qu'il faut dégager pour l'agriculture. Selon David B. Smith, dans Curling: an Illustrated History, avant l'arrivée des galets conventionnels, on se servait souvent de « pierres » en bois dans le Haut-Canada, surtout dans la région de Galt. Ces pierres étaient habituellement taillées dans l'érable ou le bouleau, puis encerclées d'un ruban de fer en leur centre pour éviter le fendage et leur ajouter du poids.

À cette époque, les parties sont jouées à l'extérieur. Ce n'est que plus tard que les clubs construisent des bâtiments en bois pour éviter d'avoir à déneiger leurs surfaces de jeu. Au début, ces bâtiments ressemblent davantage à des hangars, mais plus tard, ils protègent aussi les pistes contre le dégel. En 1838 le club Royal Montréal est le premier en Amérique du Nord britannique à construire un terrain intérieur.

Parmi les clubs formés avant 1850, on compte le Royal Montréal (1807), ceux de Kingston (1820), de Québec (1821), d'Halifax (1824), de Fergus (1834), de West Flamborough (1835), de Milton (1835), de Toronto (1836), de Galt (1838), de Guelph (1838), d'Hamilton (1838), de Scarborough (1839), des Dragoon Guards à Chambly (1841) et du 71e régiment, maintenant appelé le Highland Light Infantry (1841), ainsi que le Montreal Thistle Club (1842), le club de Paris (1843), le club de London (1847) et le Caledonia à Montréal (1850). Le club de Fergus se targue notamment d'opérer chaque année depuis sa fondation en 1834, ce qui en fait le plus ancien club en activité continuelle en Ontario.

Dans les provinces atlantiques, en plus du club d'Halifax (1824), David B. Smith écrit dans son ouvrage Curling: an Illustrated History qu'on parle du jeu aux mines d'Albion et à Pictou, en Nouvelle-Écosse, dès les années 1840 (p. 132). Toujours à Pictou, on forme le New Caledonian Curling Club en 1852. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, on assiste à l'apparition du premier club, celui de Fredericton, en 1854, bientôt suivi de plusieurs autres. Dans un livre traitant du curling New Brunswick Curling Records, Alan O. Garcelon dresse l'historique du sport dans cette province jusqu'à ce jour. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, on joue au curling depuis les années 1830 sur le lac Quidi Vidi; un club est fondé à St. John's en 1843. En 1850, des clubs sont créés dans toutes les provinces de l'est, sauf l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. L'Ontario est alors le centre du curling au Canada, mais le sport s'étendra bientôt vers l'ouest.

Droits d'auteur/Sources