Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Bonspiel!
The History of Curling in Canada

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Curling Into Canada

The House (after 1850)

The Development of Curling as a Canadian Sport and How It Shaped and Was Shaped by Canadian Culture

Curling was well established in eastern Canada by 1850. In the early years, curling had its roots in Quebec. However, southern Ontario became the center of Canadian curling for most of the 19th century as a result of Scottish settlement in Ontario and the growth of railways. Curling continued to grow in the East after 1850, and in 1879 organized curling began in Prince Edward Island when the Caledonian Club of Charlottetown was formed. Scott Russell, in his book, Open House: Canada and the Magic of Curling has a chapter called "The Island Way," in which he provides historic and recent information on curling in Prince Edward Island.

Photogravure titled CURLING ON THE LAKES, NEAR HALIFAX by Henry Buckton Laurence, 1867

Curling on the Lakes, Near Halifax by Henry Buckton Laurence, 1867

Source

The sport began its quick move to Western Canada after 1850. Vera Pezer, in The Stone Age: A Social History of Curling on the Prairies, explains that curling, more than any other game, became well established on the Prairies so quickly because of the railway and the Scots who rode on it. She notes (p. 1-2) that "curling defines the character and spirit of the Prairies and its people. Its requirements of self-discipline, persistence, patience, and co-operation parallel the qualities of early settlers, and it has been linked with every aspect of prairie life -- political, religious, and commercial."

The Manitoba Curling Club was started in 1876 but ceased operation in 1884. The Granite Club was founded in 1881 in Winnipeg and became very influential, setting the standard for other clubs in the West, including the use of granite stones. In 1874 the Ontario Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club was formed and Manitoba followed suit in 1888, forming the Manitoba Branch. This Branch stimulated inter-club competition and by the following year there were 17 clubs, from Calgary and Edmonton and east to Port Arthur.

The use of granite stones became the norm. Field stones ("stones" cut from logs) and irons had been used for a while but gave way to granite. The colder weather on the Prairies resulted in thicker ice, which allowed holes to be dug, and hacks (footholds at each end of the ice) replaced crampits (iron foot-boards laid on the ice or attached to the feet).

In 1879 curling began in Prince Albert and Battleford, in Saskatchewan. In Alberta the first curling club was in Lethbridge in 1887, followed by Calgary and Edmonton in 1888. In 1889 the first Winnipeg Bonspiel was held; this bonspiel became the leading curling event in Canada until the Brier began in 1927. When the Scottish curlers visited in 1903, the Winnipeg Bonspiel and the Industrial Exhibition were the two major events of the year in Winnipeg. There was a report that a sitting of the Manitoba Legislature had to be cancelled for lack of a quorum because so many members were at the bonspiel. Bonspiels soon followed in Calgary and Edmonton and in other cities and towns. Bonspiels became the most popular forms of competition early in the 1900s and remained so even after the Brier was established.

In British Columbia, the first curling club was organized at Golden in 1894. In 1895 Golden and Kaslo joined the Manitoba Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club. Curl BC's The History of Curling in British Columbia describes 100 years of curling in British Columbia, from 1895 to 1995. The authors mention that "the development of curling in British Columbia was 90 years behind Eastern Canada because of the delayed settlement of the west and the construction of the transcontinental railway system." (p. 13) Bonspiels were important forms of competition and the British Columbia Bonspiel ran for 65 years.

Bonspiels continued to grow in size and popularity on the Prairies from 1925 to 1950, as they did elsewhere in Canada, although the Depression and the Second World War hurt many clubs. Bonspiels and the existence of curling clubs helped to get people through the long prairie winters. For curlers, curling itself was social and recreational and helped them keep up morale during difficult times. Neighbours often dropped by the rink to watch curling and to play cards. The curling rink became a social centre for both curlers and non-curlers.

Women's curling began in earnest in the 1890s. The Montreal Ladies Curling Club was organized in Montréal in 1894. This club may have been the first of its kind in the world; the Royal Caledonian Curling Club in Scotland did not admit women until 1895. In January 1900 the first intercity curling bonspiel took place between women from Montréal and Québec. Women's curling grew slowly and it was only in 1912 that Ontario ladies' clubs were recognized by the Ontario Curling Association. Women's curling grew in the 20th century in all provinces.

In the years after the Second World War, many new curling clubs were constructed and bonspiels offered bigger prizes to competitors. In Quebec and Ontario inter-club competition was easier because Quebec switched over to granite stones in the 1950s. T. Howard Stewart donated "100 or more pairs of granite stones to such clubs as might desire them" (RCCC Canadian Branch Minutes of the Granite Curling Association, 1924-31, Feb. 27, 1924, vol. 9, p. 1-2) Clubs were quick to take him up on the offer.

A decision was made to amalgamate the Canadian Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club and the Granite Curling Association. This led to the adoption of granite stones in Quebec in the 1950s and to the standardization everywhere of stones used in curling.

Curling became more mainstream as time went on. Curling for juniors and little rock curlers, seniors and other groups became part of the curling scene. Wheelchair curling and curling for the visually and hearing impaired began in Canada and elsewhere. The media became more interested in the sport and curling games were broadcast on television.

Curling's popularity is evident in the fact that it has made its way into literary works and popular culture. In Max Braithwaite's The Night We Stole the Mountie's Car, for example, chapter 9 is entitled "You Can't Curl All Night." A literary manuscript contains a song for curlers called The Roarin' Game. Bowser & Blue, a musical duo, have "The Curling Song" in their The Illustrated Canadian Songbook, and films such as Men with Brooms have made Canadians more familiar with curling.

 
 
 

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Bonspiel!
L'histoire du curling au Canada

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

L'essor du curling au Canada

Maison (après 1850)

L'évolution du curling à titre de sport canadien, ses répercussions sur la culture et l'influence de cette dernière sur le jeu

En 1850, le curling s'était déjà taillé une place de choix dans l'est du Canada. Bien qu'il ait pris naissance au Québec, c'est le sud de l'Ontario qui en est devenu le centre pendant la plus grande partie du XIXe siècle, en raison de l'arrivée de nombreux Écossais dans la province et de l'expansion des chemins de fer. Le sport continué sa montée vers l'est, et en 1879, il s'organise à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard par le biais de la création du Caledonian Club de Charlottetown. Dans un livre appelé Open House: Canada and the Magic of Curling, Scott Russell intitule un de ses chapitres « The Island Way » (la manière insulaire) et y décrit l'histoire et l'état actuel du curling dans cette province.

Photogravure intitulée CURLING ON THE LAKES, NEAR HALIFAX, de Henry Buckton Laurence, 1867

Curling on the Lakes, Near Halifax, de Henry Buckton Laurence, 1867

Source

C'est également à partir de 1850 que le sport commence sa migration vers l'ouest. Vera Pezer, dans The Stone Age: A Social History of Curling on the Prairies, explique que plus que tout autre jeu, le curling s'est rapidement enraciné dans les Prairies à cause des trains et des Écossais qui les empruntaient. Elle écrit même que ce jeu a défini la nature et l'esprit des gens de la région (p. 1 et 2). Selon l'auteur, l'autodiscipline, la persévérance, la patience et la coopération requises par le curling caractérisaient en effet les pionniers du centre du Canada, liées qu'elles étaient à tous les aspects - politiques, religieux et commerciaux - de la vie dans les Prairies.

Au Manitoba, un club est formé en 1876, mais il ferme ses portes en 1884. En 1881, on fonde le Granite Club à Winnipeg, lequel devient très influent auprès des autres clubs de l'ouest, notamment au chapitre de l'utilisation de pierres en granit. Après la mise sur pied en 1874 de la filiale ontarienne du Royal Caledonian Curling Club, on crée celle du Manitoba en 1888. Or, en encourageant les compétitions entre clubs, cette dernière a favorisé la constitution de 17 nouvelles entités, de Calgary à Edmonton jusqu'à Port Arthur dans l'est.

C'est à partir de ce moment que les pierres en granit deviennent la norme et que disparaissent les galets en bois ou en fer utilisés jusque-là. Les températures plus froides des Prairies produisant une glace plus épaisse, on se met à y creuser des appuis-pieds, et les blocs de départ remplacent peu à peu les étriers d'antan (plaques en fer déposées sur la glace ou fixées aux souliers).

En 1879, le curling apparaît à Prince Albert et à Battleford en Saskatchewan. En Alberta, le premier club est formé à Lethbridge en 1887, suivi de ceux de Calgary et d'Edmonton en 1888. En 1889, on organise le premier bonspiel de Winnipeg, lequel deviendra le tournoi le plus couru au Canada jusqu'à l'arrivée du Brier en 1927. Lors de la visite de curleurs écossais en 1903, ce bonspiel est, avec la foire industrielle de cette année-là, l'un des deux événements les plus importants de la ville. On rapporte même qu'une session de la législature manitobaine a dû être annulée faute de quorum, puisque de nombreux membres étaient à la compétition. D'autres bonspiels sont bientôt organisés à Calgary, à Edmonton et ailleurs. Au début du XXe siècle, ces tournois deviennent la forme de compétition la plus populaire, et le demeurent même après l'institution du Brier.

En Colombie-Britannique, le premier club fait son apparition à Golden, en 1894; l'année suivante, il se joint, avec celui de Kaslo, à la filiale manitobaine du Royal Caledonian Curling Club. L'association britanno-colombienne a par ailleurs publié un document intitulé The History of Curling in British Columbia relatant 100 ans d'histoire de ce sport dans la province, soit de 1895 à 1995. Les auteurs y expliquent que si l'évolution du curling en Colombie-Britannique a accusé un retard de 90 ans par rapport à l'est du Canada, c'est parce que l'ouest n'a pas été peuplé aussi rapidement et que la construction d'un chemin de fer transcontinental a tardé (p. 13). Tel que mentionné plus tôt, les bonspiels constituaient une forme importante de compétition; cette province en a tenu pendant 65 ans.

Entre 1925 et 1950, les bonspiels continuent de gagner en ampleur et en popularité dans les Prairies comme ailleurs au pays, et ce, malgré le tort fait aux clubs par la crise et la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ces tournois, de même que l'existence de clubs, aidaient les gens à traverser les longs hivers du Canada central. Pour les curleurs, le jeu lui-même revêtait un caractère à la fois social et récréatif et contribuait à maintenir leur moral pendant les périodes difficiles; leurs voisins s'arrêtaient souvent pour les regarder et jouer aux cartes. Les installations de curling sont ainsi devenues un lieu de rencontre, tant pour les joueurs que pour les observateurs.

Vers 1890, c'est au tour du curling féminin de prendre son essor. En 1894, on forme à Montréal un club à l'intention des femmes. Ce club pourrait bien avoir été le premier de ce genre au monde, puisque le Royal Caledonian Curling Club d'Écosse n'a pas été ouvert aux dames avant 1895. C'est en janvier 1900 qu'on assiste au premier bonspiel féminin entre les villes de Montréal et de Québec. Le curling féminin est cependant lent à se développer, et ce n'est qu'en 1912 que les clubs s'adressant aux femmes sont enfin reconnus par l'association ontarienne. Au cours du XXe siècle, la version féminine du sport prend graduellement sa place dans toutes les provinces.

Dans les années suivant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, de nombreux clubs voient le jour, et les bonspiels sont assortis de prix de plus en plus intéressants. Les compétitions entre équipes de l'Ontario et du Québec se facilitent à mesure que ce dernier adopte les pierres en granit. Un dénommé T. Howard Stewart a même fait don de plus d'une centaine de paires de pierres de granit aux clubs qui en désiraient (RCCC Canadian Branch Minutes of the Granite Curling Association, 1924-31, le 27 février 1924, vol. 9, p. 1 et 2); ceux-ci n'ont pas tardé pas à manifester leur intérêt.

C'est la fusion de la filiale canadienne du Royal Caledonian Curling Club et de la Granite Curling Association qui mène finalement à l'adoption du granit au Québec au cours des années 1950 et, par le fait même, à la normalisation des pierres utilisées partout au pays.

Au fil du temps, le curling devient de plus en plus populaire. On assiste à l'éclosion d'équipes juniors, de « petites pierres », d'aînés, etc. Le curling pour personnes en fauteuil roulant ou ayant des déficiences visuelles ou auditives voit le jour au Canada comme ailleurs. Les médias s'intéressent davantage au sport et les matchs sont graduellement télédiffusés.

L'engouement pour le curling se manifeste même dans les ouvrages littéraires et la culture populaire. Le 9e chapitre du livre The Night We Stole the Mountie's Car, de Max Braithwaite porte par exemple le titre « You Can't Curl All Night » (vous ne pouvez curler toute la nuit); un manuscrit contient une chanson à l'intention des curleurs intitulée The Roarin' Game; le duo musical Bowser & Blue ont inclus un hymne au curling dans The Illustrated Canadian Songbook et des films comme Quatre gars et un balai ont permis aux Canadiens de mieux se familiariser avec le sport.

 
 
 
 

Droits d'auteur/Sources