Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Learning Centre

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Toolkit

Decoding Political Cartoons

by Charles Hou

Political cartoons usually appear on the editorial page of your daily newspaper. They generally deal with events or issues currently in the news and are, in essence, visual editorials. Like the writer of an editorial, the cartoonist is trying to make a point.

When you look at a political cartoon produced many years ago you are seeing it out of its original context. In order to "get it" you will likely need some background information from classroom discussion, a textbook or your own research. Once you have a general idea of the topic at hand you can start to decode the message the cartoonist is trying to convey.

Cartoon image L'IMMIGRATION
L'Immigration

Cartoonists use a variety of techniques to get a message across. To illustrate some of these techniques we will refer to two 19th-century cartoons on the topic of Canadian-American relations. Cartoon A, "Ce bon Mr. Lincoln", was published in Montréal in 1865, during the American Civil War of 1861-1865. Cartoon B, "Uncle Sam and His Boys," was published in Montréal in 1870. It deals with the threat of cross-border raids by the Fenians, a group of radical Irish Americans who sought to harm Great Britain by attacking Canada from bases in the United States.

Cartoon A

Cartoon image, CE BON MR. LINCOLN
Ce bon Mr. Lincoln

Caricature is the primary technique of the political cartoonist, who often exaggerates an individual's unique characteristics to make them easily recognizable. There is no mistaking the tall, thin, bearded figure of American president Abraham Lincoln in cartoon A or the tall, top-hatted figure of "Uncle Sam" in cartoon B. Viewers at the time would have no trouble identifying the smaller, toque-wearing figure in the upper right hand corner of cartoon A as the stereotypical French Canadian Jean-Baptiste.

Cartoon B

Cartoon image, UNCLE SAM AND HIS BOYS
Uncle Sam and His Boys

Another very important technique is the use of analogy, in which one event is represented by another. In cartoon A Lincoln (sitting on the American White House) and Jean-Baptiste (sitting on the Canadian Parliament Buildings) appear to be engaged in the childhood game "king of the castle" while Canadian soldiers stand guard on a wall separating the two countries. In cartoon B one of the marauding Fenians is tearing down a fence separating Canada and the United States as a perplexed Uncle Sam looks on.

Cartoonists sometimes use words (titles, captions, name tags, balloon comments or dialogue) to help the viewer. In cartoon A Lincoln's perch in Washington is labeled "Le Capitole" and the Canadian railway, which is important in the cartoon, is labeled "Inter Colonial Railway." The dialogue underneath the cartoon makes it clear that the Canadians do not trust the Americans' intentions. In cartoon B the cartoonist labels the two countries and the border between them, and the title and caption point out Uncle Sam's problem in controlling his "boys."

While words help to convey the message, political cartooning is a visual art and the cartoonist strives to present often complex situations in a visual form. Besides the use of caricature and analogy there are a number of other tricks of the trade.

Cartoon image, A HARD HAND TO BEAT
A Hard Hand to Beat

Facial expression and body language can be used as signs to communicate ideas. In cartoon A the Canadian Jean-Baptiste thumbs his nose at Lincoln as soldiers on the Canadian side work to fortify the border between the two countries. The Canadians are obviously determined not to fall victim to an American attack. The American White House, the Canadian Parliament Buildings, the American and Canadian flags, and the Union and Canadian hats the soldiers on the two sides are wearing are symbols that help to identify the two nations. The quill pen Lincoln is holding symbolizes his stated peaceful intentions (since he's not holding a weapon) while the telescope shows that he has his eye on Canada. Lincoln's exaggerated size suggests the much greater power of the United States. The many tents behind him represent the vast size of the American army at the end of the American Civil War.

In cartoon B the Irish American Fenians are stereotyped as drunken brawlers and the Canadians are portrayed as peaceful and industrious farmers. The large figure of Uncle Sam, and the knife in his hand, suggests the power of the American government to deal with the problem, while the rocking chair suggests their reluctance to act. In some cases a cartoonist may use shading to indicate the "good guys" (light) and the "bad guys" (dark).

Cartoon image, WRECKERS OF INDUSTRY
Wreckers of Industry

When you look at a political cartoon you should consider the biases of the cartoonist. The cartoonist, after all, is trying to make a point. When and where was the cartoon published, and in what type of publication? Who is portrayed in a favourable manner and who is not? Cartoons A and B were both published in Montréal and both display a strong national bias in favour of Canada. Cartoons can display a number of other biases as well (such as political, religious, racial or ethnic, vocational, economic or gender biases).

Once you have looked critically at a cartoon you can try to interpret it. Cartoon A shows that Canadians at the time feared American expansionist tendencies. There were plans to build an inter-colonial railway so that British troops could be brought in to defend Canada against an American invasion. Cartoon B also deals with Canadian fear of an American invasion and suggests that Uncle Sam should take action against the Fenians.

In summary, when you look at a political cartoon you should take the following steps: seek out the necessary background knowledge, determine the issue being considered, study the devices the cartoonist has used, identify any possible biases and try to interpret the cartoon. In short, what is the cartoon about, what techniques does the cartoonist use, and what does it all mean?

Cartoon image, NOW THEN, ALL TOGETHER!
Now then, all together!

You may wish to practice decoding some of the accompanying cartoons, or others that can be found in the sources listed under "Further Reading."

Further Reading

The Art of Decoding Political Cartoons: A Teacher's Guide, by Charles and Cynthia Hou. Vancouver: Moody's Lookout Press, 1998. 72 p.

Great Canadian Political Cartoons 1820 to 1914, by Charles and Cynthia Hou. Vancouver: Moody's Lookout Press, 1997. 232 p.

Great Canadian Political Cartoons 1915 to 1945, by Charles and Cynthia Hou. Vancouver: Moody's Lookout Press, 2002. 232 p.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Centre d'apprentissage

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Boîte à outils

Interpréter les caricatures politiques

par Charles Hou

Les caricatures politiques apparaissent d'habitude à la page éditoriale de votre journal quotidien. Elles portent surtout sur des événements ou des problèmes d'actualité et sont essentiellement des éditoriaux visuels. Tout comme le rédacteur d'un éditorial, le caricaturiste essaie de faire valoir un point de vue.

Quand vous regardez une caricature politique réalisée il y a plusieurs années, vous la voyez hors de son contexte original. Pour en saisir le sens, vous aurez probablement besoin de plus d'informations que vous obtiendrez par discussion en classe, par consultation d'un manuel ou par recherche personnelle. Une fois que vous avez une idée générale du sujet traité, vous pouvez décoder le message que le caricaturiste essaie de transmettre.

Image de Caricature, L'IMMIGRATION
L'Immigration

Les caricaturistes font appel à diverses techniques pour faire passer leur message. Pour illustrer certaines de ces techniques, nous allons examiner deux caricatures politiques du XIXe siècle portant sur les relations entre le Canada et les États-Unis. La caricature A, « Ce bon Mr. Lincoln », a été publiée à Montréal en 1865, durant la guerre de Sécession de 1861-1865. La caricature B, « Uncle Sam and His Boys », a paru à Montréal en 1870. Elle traite de la menace de raids de notre côté de la frontière par les Fenians, groupe radical d'Américains d'origine irlandaise tentant de s'en prendre à la Grande-Bretagne en attaquant le Canada à partir de bases situées aux États-Unis.

Caricature A

Image de Caricature, CE BON MR. LINCOLN
Ce bon Mr. Lincoln

La caricature est la principale technique des caricaturistes politiques. Ils exagèrent souvent les caractéristiques propres à une personne pour rendre celle-ci facilement reconnaissable. Dans la caricature A, on reconnaît immédiatement le président américain Abraham Lincoln dans le grand et mince personnage barbu ou, dans la caricature B, l'Oncle Sam dans le grand personnage à chapeau haut-de-forme. Les lecteurs de l'époque auraient aussi identifié très facilement le personnage portant une tuque dans le coin supérieur droit de la caricature A comme étant Jean-Baptiste, le stéréotype du Canadien français.

Caricature B

Image de Caricature, UNCLE SAM AND HIS BOYS
Uncle Sam and His Boys

Une autre technique très importante, l'analogie, consiste à représenter un événement par un autre événement. Dans la caricature A, Lincoln (assis sur la Maison-Blanche américaine) et Jean-Baptiste (assis sur le Parlement canadien) ont l'air de deux enfants qui jouent à savoir qui est le plus grand, alors que des soldats canadiens montent la garde sur un mur séparant les deux pays. Dans la caricature B, un Fenian en maraude abat une clôture qui sépare le Canada des États-Unis sous l'œil perplexe de l'Oncle Sam.

Les caricaturistes emploient parfois des mots (des titres, des légendes, des insignes d'identité, des commentaires dans une bulle ou un dialogue) pour aider le lecteur. Dans la caricature A, l'artiste a écrit « Le Capitole » sous le siège de Lincoln à Washington et le chemin de fer canadien, élément important de cette caricature, porte l'étiquette « Inter Colonial Railway ». Le dialogue sous la caricature montre clairement que les Canadiens se méfient des intentions des Américains. Dans la caricature B, l'auteur de la caricature a écrit le nom des deux pays et de la frontière qui les sépare, alors que le titre et la légende montrent que l'Oncle Sam a de la difficulté à contrôler ses « boys ».

Si les mots aident à comprendre le message, la caricature politique est avant tout un art visuel et le caricaturiste s'efforce de présenter des situations, souvent complexes, sous forme visuelle. Outre la caricature et l'analogie, les artistes se servent de plusieurs autres astuces du métier.

Image de Caricature, A HARD HAND TO BEAT
A Hard Hand to Beat

L'expression faciale et le langage corporel contribuent à communiquer des idées. Dans la caricature A, le Canadien Jean-Baptiste fait un pied de nez à Lincoln, alors que les soldats du côté canadien travaillent à fortifier la frontière entre les deux pays. Il est évident que les Canadiens sont déterminés à ne pas être victimes d'une attaque américaine. La Maison-Blanche américaine, le Parlement canadien, les drapeaux américain et canadien et les chapeaux distinctifs que portent les soldats de chaque côté de la frontière sont des symboles qui aident à identifier les deux nations. La plume que Lincoln tient dans sa main symbolise les intentions pacifiques qu'il dit avoir (puisqu'il ne porte aucune arme), alors que le télescope montre qu'il surveille ce qui se passe au Canada. La taille exagérée de Lincoln suggère la puissance supérieure des États-Unis. Les nombreuses tentes derrière lui représentent la puissante armée américaine à la fin de la guerre de Sécession.

Dans la caricature B, les Fenians américains d'origine irlandaise sont stéréotypés comme des ivrognes bagarreurs, alors que les Canadiens sont dépeints comme des fermiers paisibles et industrieux. La figure imposante de l'Oncle Sam et le couteau qu'il tient dans sa main donnent à penser que le gouvernement américain a le pouvoir de régler le problème, alors que la berceuse laisse entendre qu'il est peu empressé d'intervenir. Dans certains cas, un caricaturiste peut utiliser des ombres pour distinguer les « bons » (en clair) des « méchants » (en foncé).

Image de Caricature, WRECKERS OF INDUSTRY
Wreckers of Industry

Quand vous regardez une caricature politique, vous devriez tenir compte des partis pris du caricaturiste. Après tout, le caricaturiste s'efforce de faire valoir son point de vue. Où et quand la caricature a-t-elle été publiée et dans quel genre de publication? Qui est représenté sous un angle favorable et qui ne l'est pas? Les caricatures A et B ont toutes deux été publiées à Montréal. Elles montrent toutes deux un sentiment fortement nationaliste en faveur du Canada. Les caricatures peuvent présenter d'autres partis pris (des préjugés politiques, religieux, raciaux ou ethniques, professionnels, économiques ou sexuels).

Une fois que vous avez examiné de façon critique une caricature, vous pouvez essayer de l'interpréter. La caricature A montre que les Canadiens craignaient à l'époque les tendances expansionnistes des Américains. On planifiait la construction d'un chemin de fer intercolonial permettant de transporter des troupes britanniques afin de défendre le Canada contre une invasion américaine. La caricature B traite aussi de la crainte des Canadiens d'être envahis par les Américains. Elle suggère que l'Oncle Sam prenne des mesures contre les Fenians.

En somme, quand vous regardez une caricature politique, vous devriez suivre les étapes suivantes : obtenir les renseignements nécessaires sur le contexte, déterminer la question qui est traitée, étudier les moyens qu'a utilisés le caricaturiste, déceler les partis pris possibles et tenter d'interpréter la caricature. Bref, il faut déterminer quel est le sujet de la caricature, quelles sont les techniques utilisées et quelle est la signification de l'ensemble.

Image de Caricature, NOW THEN, ALL TOGETHER!
Now then, all together!

Vous pouvez vous exercer à décoder certaines des caricatures qui accompagnent ce texte ou d'autres caricatures que vous pourrez trouver dans les sources indiquées sous « Autres lectures ».

Autres lectures

The Art of Decoding Political Cartoons: A Teacher's Guide de Charles et Cynthia Hou, Vancouver, Moody's Lookout Press, 1998, 72 p.

Great Canadian Political Cartoons 1820 to 1914 de Charles et Cynthia Hou, Vancouver, Moody's Lookout Press, 1997, 232 p.

Great Canadian Political Cartoons 1915 to 1945 de Charles et Cynthia Hou, Vancouver, Moody's Lookout Press, 2002, 232 p.