Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Learning Centre

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Toolkit

A Tale from the Map Vault

By Jeffrey Murray, Senior Archivist, Library and Archives Canada

One of the first maps I acquired for Library and Archives Canada was a colourful wall map of Quebec by a well-known Montréal company. After it sat in the map vault for a while, I noticed that it contained a serious mistake -- or at least, what I thought was a mistake. For some reason, the publisher had failed to show the Labrador border. In fact, all of Labrador was included as part of Quebec. I immediately wondered how a respectable company could make what I thought was such an obvious mistake, and I questioned whether the Archives should keep such map.

Image of a map entitled Le Quebec d’aujourd’hui, 1985

Figure 1. Although all other boundaries are clearly shown on this 1985 map of Quebec, the border with Labrador -- in fact any mention of Labrador -- has been omitted. However, a more recent edition of the map now includes the Quebec-Labrador border.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 86240; source: Les Éditions Jules Châtelain Inc. Reproduced with the permission of Les Éditions Brault et Bouthillier Inc.).

When I pointed out the problem to a co-worker, I was astounded when he suggested that it was probably not a mistake. He explained that there has been a long-standing dispute over the Labrador-Quebec border. Since the company that made the map sold most of its products in Quebec, it had probably designed the map to reflect the opinions of one side in the dispute.

Just so I would not get smug about my discovery, my co-worker showed me other maps that also presented opinions and ideas, rather than facts. He pointed to railway maps from the early 1900s that had been distributed to tourists and immigrants. The maps failed to show competing railway services and seemed to pretend that their competition did not exist.

Even government maps are not immune to twisting the truth. My colleague pulled out old topographic maps that clearly located municipal dumps -- dumps that later editions of the same maps showed as parks or parts of subdivisions without any mention that they had been built on reclaimed land.

Image of a map entitled Traversing the Great Wheat Region, 1881

Figure 2. In this 1881 map, the Canadian Pacific Railway tried to make western lands seem more inviting for settlement by suggesting that it was adequately serviced by rail. The map draws the viewer's attention to a completed transcontinental rail line, but the lack of station stops west of Swift Current suggests otherwise. The map also shows branch railways feeding into the main CPR line that were not opened until years later.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 11868)

I was speechless. I had always been taught that maps were faithful representations of the earth's surface, and yet here were maps that were full of lies!

We tend to think of maps as honest portraits of the ground beneath our feet, about as trustworthy as a family photograph. It is easy for corporations and governments to take advantage of this trust to pass along mistruths. But of course, the public's perception of maps could not be more wrong. "The image on a map is drawn by human hands, controlled by operations in a human mind,"1 wrote the American geographer John Kirkland Wright in 1942. When we stop to think about it, we realize it is inevitable that maps are subject to distortion by the people who make them and that these distortions can be used to influence public opinion.

Image of a map entitled Alaska, 1898

Figure 3. This map of Yukon Territory and Alaska was distributed at the height of the Klondike gold rush in 1898. It was designed to stimulate the public's excitement for the unlimited potential of the region. The map is coloured a bright yellow and all the unexplored river valleys are labelled "gold fields". These enhancements made the area appear to be paved in gold when in fact there was only one field (albeit a very rich field) outside Dawson City.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 78696)

In most cases, the distortions are necessary. The world is round and a map is flat. There is simply no way to put a round surface onto a flat piece of paper without introducing distortion. Mapmakers (also called cartographers) can choose a projection that preserves either the shape of a landmass or its relative size, but they cannot do both in the same map. What is more, the earth's surface is simply far too complicated for a mapmaker to reproduce all of it together. For this reason, all maps are selective in what they show; they offer a partial view of reality in order to help the user see what is important.

Road widths on highway maps, for example, are always drawn at a larger scale than that used for the rest of the map. Sometimes the line thickness will exaggerate the real width of the road by as much as 100 times. Most mapmakers will also ignore many of the features in the landscape that the road passes through -- the swamps, hills, and fields -- so as to simplify the map and not confuse the reader with a lot of details. If highway maps were not enhanced in this fashion, the roads would be un-noticeable and the map would be useless as a guide to travellers. This is the contradiction faced by every mapmaker: to present a useful picture of the earth's surface, every good map must tell what Professor Mark Monmonier of Syracuse University calls "little white lies."

Image of a map entitled The North Atlantic Trading Company, ca. 1900

Figure 4. The North Atlantic Trading Company -- a company promoting immigration to Canada -- printed this map on the back of a promotional leaflet in the early 1900s. The map shrinks the North Atlantic to about half of its real size (in this map it is not even as wide as North America). By bringing the two continents closer together, the company no doubt hoped that Canada would appear more accessible and more inviting to prospective immigrants from Europe.
(Library and Archives Canada, C-75836)

What really surprised me, though, was how easily dishonest mapmakers can manipulate these little white lies to suit the needs of one group over another. Just by changing the way a map's symbols, scale, and projection are presented, some "realities" can be improved and others buried, and certain ideas suggested to the reader that might not otherwise occur.

Take colours for example. Maps of the British Empire traditionally show all the member countries in "British red." But today, red also has a strong connection with communism. If mapmakers in non-communist parts of the world want to create a negative impression about certain countries or suggest that a region may be unfriendly, they will frequently colour them red. In the 1970's, a Canadian organization used this technique to show the countries hostile to Israel. It coloured all the Arab states surrounding Israel a bright red. This method of manipulation is very effective because it is impossible for a reader to look at the map without taking in the symbols (such as colour) and their associated messages.

Image of a map entitled One Hundred Years Old, 1955

Figure 5. Produced in 1955 by the Canadian General Electric Company, this map commemorates the industrial development that would carry Canada to its 1967 centennial. Many of the projects shown relate to the massive consumption of electricity, suggesting the Company may have had its own interests in mind when compiling the map.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 25081; source: General Electric Canada.Reproduced with the permission of General Electric Canada Inc.)

Because it is so easy to distort a map to suit a certain group's needs, and because people tend to accept these images as the truth, you can find deceptive maps almost anywhere: in magazines, posters, postage stamps, newspapers and textbooks, as well as on television. "People trust maps," explains Mark Monmonier, "and intriguing maps attract the eye as well as connote authority. Naïve citizens willingly accept as truth maps based on a biased and sometimes fraudulent selection of facts." 2 In other words, a distorted map is a valuable propaganda tool; it lets you convey certain ideas about the world under the guise of communicating objective geographic information. When the user shares the views of the mapmaker, the bias in maps can be very difficult to identify. But when the mapmaker's values differ from the user's, the resulting map can cause confusion, as the Labrador-less map did for me.

Image of a map entitled Upside Down World Map, 1999

Figure 6. Countries in the southern hemisphere are beginning to question conventional standards used by cartographers. They feel that European mapmakers committed an act of imperialism in the 17th century when they began placing their own continent at the top and centre of the page. This upside down map tries to redress this imbalance by standing the world on what we usually think of as its head. When confronted by such unconventional images, the subjectivity in maps becomes more apparent.
(Library and Archives Canada, e002414675; source: Terralink International Limited. Reproduced with the permission of Terralink)

With mass communication now playing such a vital role in society, any group that uses maps to support its ideas not only becomes better known but ultimately may attain better access to the distribution of power, prestige and wealth. So it is not surprising that the ideas transmitted through maps are not random, but are deeply connected with the interests of certain parts of society.

If mapmakers were more willing to discuss the messages that are hidden in their maps, the public would be better able to "read between the lines" and evaluate maps on their own. There is a fine distinction between the "white lies" normally tolerated in good maps and the distortions that are used to persuade and deceive. Perhaps no map should ever be looked at in isolation without consideration for the broader aims of those who made it.

In the end, I decided to keep the Labrador-less map of Quebec. Although controversial, it reflects the perceptions of its maker and the times in which we live. It will surely have historical interest in years to come. Furthermore, it illustrates perfectly that there is a lot more to maps than meets the eye.

Notes

1. John Kirkland Wright, "Map Makers are Human." Human Nature in Geography: Fourteen Papers, 1925-1965 (Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1966: 33).

2. Mark Monmonier, How to Lie with Maps (Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 1991: 87).

Test Yourself: Truth, Lies & Opinion

Perhaps you should take a second look at the road maps that you keep stashed in the glove compartment of your car, or the atlas that sits on the bookshelf in your study. Chances are, the maps have been distorted to some extent. This section presents a selection of maps from the collections of Library and Archives Canada where the distortions deliberately attempt to influence the viewer's opinion.

Are there any deceptions?

To help you, the "Hint" button provides some background on the map, specifically who the mapmaker was and when the map was created. The "Answer" button provides a detailed explanation of how the mapmaker distorted the image to present a biased message.

Image of a map entitled Air Offensive against Germany, ca. 1942

Figure 7. "Allied air offensive against Germany."
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 86740)

Hint | Answer

Image of a map entitled Triangle Tour of British Columbia, ca. 1927

Figure 8. "The triangle tour of British Columbia"
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 126592)

Hint | Answer

Image of a map entitled The Arab Lie about Israel, 1973

Figure 9. "Visual proof of the Arab lie about Israel 'aggression'"
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 88006)

Hint | Answer

Image of a map entitled The British Empire, 1893

Figure 10. "The British Empire map of the world on Mercator's projection"
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 16992)

Hint | Answer

Image of a map entitled Britons, Behold Your Empire, ca. 1906

Figure 11. "The world-wide possessions of the British people."
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 8207)

Hint | Answer

Image of a map entitled The English Empire in North America, 1755

Figure 12. "A new and accurate map of the English Empire in North America representing their rightful claim as confirm'd by charters, and the formal surrender of their Indian friends, likewise the encroachments of the French with the several forts they have unjustly erected herein."
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 21053)

Hint | Answer

Further Reading

How to Lie With Maps, by Mark Monmonier. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996. 207 p.

  • With tongue-in-cheek, Monmonier shows his readers how mapmakers can make small changes and turn their maps into instruments of persuasion. This book is written for adult readers.

Lie of the Land: The Secret Life of Maps, by April Carlucci and Peter Barber. London: The British Library, 2001. 64 p.

  • This exhibition catalogue presents thirty maps from the collections of The British Library and discusses in detail their hidden messages.

"The Map Is the Message," by Jeffrey S. Murray. The Geographical Magazine. Vol. 59, No. 5. P. 237-241.

  • Murray provides a brief overview on how cartographers can manipulate a map's scale, projection and symbols to present a biased image. The article is written for adult readers.

The Road to There: Mapmakers and Their Stories, by Val Ross. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2003. 146 p.

  • Ross presents a popularized history of the world's greatest mapmakers. She begins with the portolan charts of the ancients and ends with NASA's space probes. Written for a juvenile audience, The Road to There is a fascinating, well-illustrated history.

All About Maps
http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/100/205/301/ic/cdc/allaboutmaps/main.htm

  • This website is an introduction to the art and science of mapmaking. The site is written for a juvenile audience.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Centre d'apprentissage

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Boîte à outils

Histoire de la chambre forte des cartes

par Jeffrey Murray, archiviste de cartes, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Une des premières cartes que j'ai acquises pour Bibliothèque et Archives Canada était une belle carte colorée du Québec produite par une compagnie bien connue de Montréal. Elle se trouvait dans la chambre forte des cartes depuis un certain temps quand j'ai remarqué une grave erreur -- ou, du moins, ce que je croyais être une erreur. Pour une raison quelconque, l'éditeur avait oublié de montrer la frontière du Labrador. En réalité, tout le Labrador était inclus dans le Québec. Je me suis immédiatement demandé comment une compagnie respectable avait pu faire ce que je croyais être une erreur flagrante et si Bibliothèque et Archives Canada devait conserver cette carte.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Le Quebec d’aujourd’hui, 1985 »

Figure 1. Même si toutes les frontières sont clairement marquées sur cette carte du Québec de 1985, la frontière avec le Labrador -- en réalité, toute mention du Labrador -- a été omise. Toutefois, une édition plus récente de la carte inclut à présent la frontière Québec-Labrador.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 86240; source : Les Éditions Jules Châtelain Inc. Reproduction autorisée par Les Éditions Brault et Bouthillier Inc.)

Quand j'ai souligné le problème à un collègue, j'ai été étonné d'apprendre que, selon lui, ce n'était probablement pas une erreur. Il m'a expliqué qu'il y a une dispute continue au sujet de la frontière Labrador-Québec. Parce que la compagnie qui produisait la carte vendait la plupart de ses produits au Québec, elle avait probablement dessiné une carte qui reflétait l'opinion d'un côté de la dispute.

Pour éviter que je ne m'enfle la tête avec ma découverte, mon collègue m'a montré d'autres cartes qui présentaient des opinions et des idées, plutôt que des faits. Il a attiré mon attention sur des cartes de chemin de fer du début des années 1900 qui avaient été distribuées aux touristes et aux immigrants. Ces cartes ne montraient pas les services de chemin de fer offerts par d'autres compagnies et semblaient prétendre que la concurrence n'existait pas.

Même certaines cartes du gouvernement n'hésitent pas à déformer la vérité. Mon collègue m'a fait voir de vieilles cartes topographiques montrant clairement l'emplacement de dépotoirs municipaux -- dépotoirs qui, dans des versions plus récentes de la même carte, sont indiqués comme étant des parcs ou des parties de lotissements sans aucune mention disant qu'il s'agit de terrains récupérés.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Traversing the Great Wheat Region, 1881 »

Figure 2. Dans cette carte de 1881, le chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique s'est efforcé de rendre les terres de l'Ouest plus invitantes à la colonisation en suggérant qu'elles étaient bien desservies par voie ferrée. La carte attire l'attention sur une ligne transcontinentale complétée, mais l'absence de gares à l'ouest de Swift Current suggère autre chose. La carte montre aussi des lignes secondaires reliées à la ligne principale qui n'ont été ouvertes que plusieurs années plus tard.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 11868)

J'étais bouche bée. Moi qui avais toujours pensé que les cartes étaient des représentations fidèles de la surface de la terre, j'apprenais maintenant que les cartes étaient pleines de mensonges!

Nous avons tendance à penser que les cartes sont des représentations honnêtes du sol sous nos pas, aussi fiables qu'un portrait de famille. Il est donc facile pour les compagnies et les gouvernements de profiter de cette confiance pour faire passer des faussetés. Évidemment, la perception du public au sujet des cartes est erronée. « L'image sur une carte est dessinée par des mains humaines contrôlées par les opérations d'un cerveau humain 1 » [traduction libre], a écrit le géographe américain John Kirkland Wright en 1942. Quand on prend le temps de réfléchir, on se rend compte qu'il est inévitable que ceux qui produisent des cartes les déforment et que ces déformations peuvent être utilisées pour influencer l'opinion publique.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Map of Alaska, 1898 »

Figure 3. Cette carte du Yukon et de l'Alaska a été distribuée à l'apogée de la ruée vers l'or du Klondike, en 1898. Elle a été conçue dans le but de stimuler l'enthousiasme du public à l'égard des possibilités illimitées de la région. La carte en jaune brillant marque toutes les rivières inexplorées comme des « champs aurifères ». Ces indications donnent l'impression que toute la contrée était couverte d'or quand, en réalité, il n'y avait qu'un seul champ aurifère (très riche, à vrai dire) à l'extérieur de Dawson City.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 78696)

Dans la plupart des cas, il s'avère nécessaire de déformer les éléments d'une carte. Le monde est une sphère et une carte est plate. Il n'existe tout simplement aucun moyen de reproduire une surface ronde sur une feuille plate sans introduire une distorsion. Les dessinateurs de cartes (aussi appelés cartographes) peuvent choisir une projection qui préserve soit la forme de la masse terrestre, soit sa taille relative, mais qui ne peut faire les deux sur la même carte. De plus, la surface de la terre est tout simplement beaucoup trop compliquée pour qu'un cartographe puisse tout reproduire sur une seule carte. Pour cette raison, toutes les cartes sont sélectives dans ce qu'elles montrent; elles offrent une vue partielle de la réalité de manière à aider l'observateur à voir ce qui est important.

Par exemple, la largeur des routes sur une carte routière est toujours dessinée sur une plus grande échelle que celle qu'on utilise pour le reste de la carte. Parfois, l'épaisseur de la ligne exagère d'environ 100 fois la largeur réelle de la route. La plupart des cartographes laisseront de côté également plusieurs des caractéristiques du terrain que les routes traversent -- les marais, les collines et les champsafin de simplifier la carte et d'éviter de pas créer de la confusion chez l'utilisateur en donnant trop de détails. Si les cartes routières n'exagéraient pas la largeur des routes, celles-ci seraient presque invisibles sur les cartes et rendraient la carte d'aucune utilité pour guider les voyageurs. C'est la contradiction que doivent résoudre tous les cartographes : présenter une image utile de la surface de la terre. Toute bonne carte doit dire ce que Mark Monmonier, professeur à l'Université de Syracuse, appelle de « petits mensonges pieux ».

Image d'une carte intitulée « The North Atlantic Trading Company, ca. 1900 »

Figure 4. La North Atlantic Trading Company -- compagnie faisant la promotion de l'immigration au Canada -- a imprimécette carte à l'endos d'un dépliant publicitaire du début des années 1900. La carte réduit la largeur de l'Atlantique Nord à environ la moitié de sa largeur réelle (sur cette carte, elle n'est pas aussi large que l'Amérique du Nord). En rapprochant ainsi les continents, la compagnie espérait sans doute que le Canada paraîtrait plus accessible et plus invitant aux Européens songeant à émigrer.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, C-75836)

Mais ce qui m'a vraiment surpris, c'est de voir comment des cartographes malhonnêtes pouvaient modifier ces déformations pour favoriser les intérêts d'un groupe aux dépens d'un autre groupe. En changeant tout simplement la présentation des symboles, de l'échelle et de la projection d'une carte, il est possible de donner plus de poids à certaines réalités et d'en cacher d'autres, et de suggérer au lecteur des idées qu'il n'aurait pas autrement.

Prenons la couleur, par exemple. Les cartes de l'Empire britannique montraient, par convention, tous les pays membres de l'Empire en « rouge britannique  ». Mais, aujourd'hui, le rouge est fortement associé au communisme. Si des cartographes dans les pays non communistes du monde veulent donner une impression négative de certains pays ou laisser entendre qu'une région n'est pas une région amie, ils ont souvent recours à la couleur rouge pour les représenter. Au cours des années 1970, une organisation canadienne a utilisé cette technique pour montrer les pays hostiles à Israël. Elle a coloré en rouge vif tous les États arabes entourant Israël. Cette méthode de manipulation est très efficace parce que le lecteur ne peut regarder une carte sans tenir compte des symboles (comme la couleur) et des messages qu'ils transmettent.

Image d'une carte intitulée « One Hundred Years Old, 1955 »

Figure 5. Produite en 1955 par la société General Electric du Canada, cette carte commémore le développement industriel devant mener le Canada à la célébration de son centenaire en 1967. Plusieurs des projets indiqués sur la carte se rattachent à une énorme consommation d'électricité, laissant supposer que la société avait probablement ses propres intérêts à cœur lorsqu'elle a préparé cette carte.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 25081; source : General Electric Canada. Reproduction autorisée par General Electric Canada Inc.)

Parce qu'il est tellement facile de fausser une carte pour satisfaire les attentes d'un groupe et parce que les gens ont tendance à considérer ces images comme des vérités, il existe des cartes trompeuses à peu près partout : dans les magazines, sur des affiches, sur des timbres, dans les journaux et les manuels et à la télévision. « Les gens font confiance aux cartes, explique Mark Monmonier, et des cartes fascinantes attirent l'œil tout en évoquant l'autorité. Les gens crédules acceptent volontiers comme exactes des cartes fondées sur des faits déformés et quelquefois totalement faux. 2 » [traduction libre] Autrement dit, une carte déformée peut être un puissant outil de propagande; elle permet de communiquer certaines idées au sujet du monde sous le couvert de la communication d'informations géographiques objectives. Quand l'utilisateur partage les vues du cartographe, il peut avoir de la difficulté à déceler les erreurs que contiennent les cartes. Mais quand les valeurs de l'utilisateur diffèrent de celles du cartographe, la carte produite peut être source de confusion comme ce fut le cas pour moi avec la carte excluant le Labrador.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Upside Down World Map, 1999 »

Figure 6. Les pays de l'hémisphère Sud commencent à remettre en question les normes conventionnelles qu'utilisent les cartographes. Ils sont d'avis que les cartographes européens ont posé un geste impérialiste au XVIIe siècle lorsqu'ils ont commencé à placer leur propre continent en haut et au centre de la page. Cette carte renversée essaie de redresser cette situation en plaçant l'hémisphère occidental sur ce qu'on s'est habitué à considérer comme sa tête. En regardant des images aussi inusitées, on s'aperçoit que les cartes sont subjectives.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, e002414675; source : Terralink International Limited. Reproduction autorisée par Terralink)

Les communications de masse jouant maintenant un rôle de premier plan dans la société, tout groupe qui se sert des cartes pour appuyer ses idées a la possibilité non seulement de mieux se faire connaître, mais aussi d'avoir un meilleur accès à la distribution du pouvoir, du prestige et de la richesse. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que les idées que transmettent les cartes ne sont pas l'effet du hasard, mais plutôt celui des intérêts de certaines parties de la société.

Si les cartographes étaient plus disposés à discuter des messages qui se trouvent dans leurs cartes, le public serait en mesure de « lire entre les lignes » et d'évaluer la carte objectivement. Il y a une différence subtile entre les « mensonges pieux » qu'on tolère normalement sur les bonnes cartes et les déformations utilisées pour persuader et tromper. On ne devrait peut-être jamais regarder une carte sans tenir compte des buts plus larges de ceux qui l'ont produite.

J'ai finalement décidé de garder la carte du Québec sans Labrador. Malgré la controverse qui y est attachée, elle reflète les perceptions de son créateur et la période dans laquelle nous vivons. Elle aura certainement un intérêt historique dans les années à venir. De plus, elle montre clairement que les cartes contiennent des messages cachés.

Notes

1. John Kirkland Wright, « Map Makers are Human », Human Nature in Geography: Fourteen Papers, 1925-1965, Cambridge (Mass.), Harvard University Press, 1966, p. 33.

2. Mark Monmonier, How to Lie with Maps, Chicago, The University of Chicago Press, 1991, p. 87.

Mettez vos connaissances à l'épreuve : vérité, mensonge et opinion

Vous devriez peut-être examiner de plus près les cartes routières rangées dans le coffre à gants de l'auto ou l'atlas sur la tablette de votre bibliothèque. Il est probable que les cartes contiennent certaines déformations. Cette section vous présente un choix de cartes, extraites de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, dans lesquelles les déformations tentent délibérément d'influencer l'opinion de l'utilisateur.

Pouvez-vous trouver les mensonges?

Pour vous aider, le bouton « Indice » vous donne des renseignements sur la carte, l'auteur de la carte et l'année de sa production. Le bouton « Réponse » vous explique en détail comment le cartographe a déformé l'image pour présenter un message partial.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Air Offensive against Germany, ca. 1942 »

Figure 7. « Offensive aérienne des Alliés contre l'Allemagne. » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 86740)

Indice | Réponse

Image d'une carte intitulée « Triangle Tour of British Columbia, ca. 1927 »

Figure 8. « La tournée triangulaire de la Colombie-Britannique. » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 126592)

Indice | Réponse

Image d'une carte intitulée « The Arab Lie about Israel, 1973 »

Figure 9. « Preuve visuelle que les Arabes mentent au sujet de l'« agression » d'Israël. » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 88006)

Indice | Réponse

Image d'une carte intitulée « The British Empire, 1893 »

Figure 10. « La carte de l'Empire britannique sur projection de Mercator. » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 16992)

Indice | Réponse

Image d'une carte intitulée « Britons, Behold Your Empire, ca. 1906 »

Figure 11. « Les possessions mondiales des Britanniques. » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 8207

Indice | Réponse

Image d'une carte intitulée « The English Empire in North America, 1755 »

Figure 12. « Une nouvelle carte, exacte celle-ci, de l'Empire britannique en Amérique du Nord représentant son droit légitime, confirmé par des chartes, la reddition formelle de ses amis ainsi que les empiétements des Français par l'érection injustifiée de plusieurs forts » [traduction libre]
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 21053)

Indice | Réponse

Autres lectures

How to Lie With Maps de Mark Monmonier, Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 1996, 207 p.

  • Sur un ton humoristique, Monmonier montre à ses lecteurs comment les cartographes peuvent apporter de légères modifications à une carte afin d'en faire un instrument de persuasion. Ce livre est écrit pour un auditoire adulte.

Lie of the Land: The Secret Life of Maps d'April Carlucci et Peter Barber, Londres, The British Library, 2001, 64 p.

  • Ce catalogue d'exposition présente trente cartes tirées des collections de la British Library et expose en détail leurs messages cachés.

« The Map Is the Message » par Jeffrey S. Murray, The Geographical Magazine, vol. 59, no 5, p. 237-241.

  • Murray présente un rapide survol des moyens à la disposition des cartographes pour manipuler l'échelle d'une carte, sa projection et ses symboles dans le but de présenter une image faussée. L'article s'adresse à un auditoire adulte.

The Road to There: Mapmakers and Their Stories de Val Ross, Toronto, Tundra Books, 2003, 146 p.

  • Ross présente une histoire popularisée des plus grands cartographes du monde. Elle commence par les cartes de portulan des anciens et termine par les sondes spatiales de la NASA. Écrit pour un jeune auditoire, The Road to There est une histoire fascinante et bien illustrée.