Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Learning Centre

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Toolkit

Looking at Old Maps: The World Through the Eyes of Early Mapmakers

By Jeffrey Murray, Senior Archivist, Library and Archives Canada

Old maps, especially those produced in the 16th and 17th centuries when cartography (mapmaking) in Europe was getting serious, are often filled with delightful images of the new continents. For modern-day viewers, some of these images are bizarre because mixed in with fairly realistic depictions of wildlife and scenes of Native life are sea monsters and other imaginary creatures. While this mixture of artwork may seem strange, it actually tells us a lot about the perceptions of early cartographers (mapmakers) who were learning about new lands beyond Europe's borders.

Image of an enlarged section of the map entitled North America, 1715 Image of a map entitled North America, 1715

Figure 1. In this 1715 map, British mapmaker Herman Moll gives life to Europe's imagined higher intelligence of the beaver. They walk erect and divide their work into European trades: beaver woodsmen cut trees; carpenters trim them into usable lengths; porters carry material to the dam; masons construct the actual dam; and in the background, doctors treat exhausted workers.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 21061)

 

Cartographers who mapped the new lands were faced with huge areas of terra incognita (Latin for "unknown lands"), and had to somehow fill in the blank spaces. "The less familiar the country, the more blank spaces there were to be filled and the greater the need to convey its characteristic features by means of drawings,"1 wrote the late Leo Bagrow, one of Europe's most respected scholars of early maps, in his History of Cartography. The solution of the mapmakers was to fill the gaps in their masterpieces with drawings of plants, animals and Indigenous peoples, going beyond strict mapmaking to provide an impression of the region's geography.

Image of a map entitled La Nuova Francia, 1556

Figure 2. In 1556 the Venetian mapmaker Giacomo Gastaldi completely filled the interior parts of Atlantic Canada with highly imaginative views of the landscape and its people. Without this artwork, there would have been little for Gastaldi to map, since most of the region was still unknown to Europeans.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 52408)

Few cartographers saw first-hand the regions they were expected to map. Only the more fortunate had access to dried animal skins or Native artifacts and even fewer to a live plant or animal. Most had to rely on written travelogues (diaries of journeys) and second-hand accounts. This may explain why many of their drawings have an uneven sense of scale -- beavers might be portrayed as large as bears, for example -- or a loose grip on reality -- like an opossum with its pouch up around its shoulders instead of between its hips.

Image of an enlarged section of the map entitled Ocenunus Occidentalis, 1541 Image of a map entitled Ocenunus Occidentalis, 1541

Figure 3.  Because early cartographers had to rely mostly on written accounts, it is no wonder they sometimes drew animals that are difficult for us to recognize today, like this opossum from a 1541 map of South America.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 10027)

Cartographers over-used some animal species and ignored others; they showed a lot of larger mammals, as well as some birds and reptiles. To look at some of the maps, you might think only deer, bear, beaver, muskrat and fox populated the North American forests. Wilma George, formerly a zoologist at Oxford University, argues that this is because these animals were the ones most often noted in explorers' journals, and further, that "the abundant large animals provided a more striking contrast with home than insects and snails which must, however, have been much in evidence."2

But George does not explain why some species of large animals were hardly ever drawn on maps. The North American bison, for example, never became a cartographer's favourite, despite its abundance and uniqueness to the region. Could it be that mapmakers were just interested in showing species that had an obvious economic importance to Europe? Bison had no value to Europeans until the mid-19th century, when mapmakers no longer drew wildlife on their maps. Even when bison do make an appearance, as in Johann Baptist Homann's 1720 map of the Mississippi, the animal appears more like a docile milk cow than a wild beast of the plains.

Image of an enlarged section of the map entitled Amplissiama regionis Mississippi, 1720 Image of a map entitled Amplissima regionis Mississipi, 1720

Figure 4.  A very docile bison (or buffalo) and its Native herders (lower right) are a central feature of this 1720 map by Johann Baptist Homann.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 24544)

By the early 17th century, terra incognita was shrinking and cartographers had to make room on their maps for new geographical information. They gradually moved their drawings of nature out into decorative borders. They also began using symbols to portray ideas about nature like the changing of the seasons, the differences in the continents, and the classical Greek belief that all matter is composed of four elements -- earth, fire, water and air.

Image of a map entitled Nova Totius Terrarum Orbis, 1641

Figure 5. In this 1641 map, representations of fire and air are spaced across the top of the map sheet -- closer to the heavens -- and water and earth across the bottom.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 27678)

To illustrate these things, cartographers turned to classical Greek and Roman mythology. For example, it is not unusual to find Bacchus, the god of wine, representing one of the seasons by his involvement in grape collecting or wine making, both autumn activities in Europe. Or to find Neptune, god of the seas, sitting in a chariot made of seashells and representing the element water; or to find an "Indian" princess, complete with feathered headdress, spears and arrows, representing the wild and untamed Americas.

Image of a map entitled Mappe-Monde Geo-Hydrographique, 1686

Figure 6. The classical Roman figures used by Gerard Valck in this 1686 map would have been familiar to educated Europeans of the day: spring, represented by Flora (upper left), the Roman goddess of flowers, is planting a field; Bacchus (lower left), god of the vine, engages in the fall grape harvest.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 27710)

Image of a map entitled Orbis Terrae compendiosa descriptio, 1592

Figure 7. In this 1592 map a scantly clad America (lower left) is pictured seated on an exceptionally large armadillo. In other maps, America will sometimes be associated with alligators and iguanas.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 8142)

Image of a map entitled Nova et Accuratissima Totius Terrarum Orbis, 1664

Figure 8. In 1664 Joan Blaeu used the age of his characters (bottom, left to right) to reflect the seasons: spring is a youthful woman with flowers; summer is a woman crowned with grain; autumn is a mature woman with a fall harvest; and winter is an old man warming himself by a fire.
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 108622)

It would be too simplistic, however, to assume that the cartographer's illustrations of nature served no other purpose than nice-looking filler for uncharted lands. At least one geographer, the late Brian Harley, took issue with jumping to such quick conclusions. He said that much of the illustration of the North American landscape actually looked a lot like what you'd find on maps of Europe from the same time.

Had the European cartographers, for lack of information, filled the empty American landscape with the symbols that were most familiar to them? Or was the similarity a subconscious act to make the new lands appear less scary to potential investors and settlers?

Image of a map entitled Poli Arctici, 1715

Figure 9. This 1715 map is highly suggestive of European attitudes towards the polar regions. It is completely surrounded by scenes from the Arctic whaling industry, a reminder of the fortunes to be made in this inhospitable land
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 21059)

Harley sided with the second view. When Europe's nobility looked at these maps, instead of foreign lands, they saw a landscape populated with ordinary wildlife. As if to make the new lands seem even less unusual, the entire map was framed with a European engraving style and often showed no sign of Native ownership. Terra incognita appears as an empty territory waiting to be divided up and filled by the nations of Europe. Harley pointed out that maps like these went along with the colonial attitude that Europe had a right to take over and govern lands outside their borders. In other words, their maps are ethnocentric images: a licence for the appropriation of the territory depicted.

Image of an enlarged section of the map entitled North America, 1714 Image of a map entitled North America, 1714

Figure 10. In the title panel (upper left) of this 1714 map, George Willdey surrounded an Indian princess -- the personification of America  -- with exotic New World riches: sugar cane, tobacco (in box), pineapple, an alligator and a pot of gold. Mercury, a symbol of commerce, helps support a miniature of King George I
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 24606)

If the hand of the mapmaker is indeed guided by subconscious motives, then many of these maps can be seen more as advertisements than as portrayals of a new landscape. Champlain's 1612 map of New France, for example, offers a visual panorama of Canada's wealth: beaver, foxes, deer, and other animals hint at the potential of the fur trade, while the abundant sea life, forests, and fruits allude to the diversity of the country's natural resources. In reality, Champlain's map is a clever but unconscious act to get support for future investment and expeditions. "The map makes a political statement," points out map collector Joe Armstrong, "it is ... the work of ... a skilful psychologist [and] promoter."3

Image of a map entitled Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse, 1612

Figure 11. In his 1612 map of New France, Samuel de Champlain cleverly incorporated a variety of the region's plants and animals, together with scenes of Native life. The map emphasizes the diversity and extensiveness of Canada's natural wealth. In many respects, it is an invitation to potential investors and settlers
(Library and Archives Canada, NMC 6327)

No matter how they are interpreted, there is no denying that the maps produced during Europe's great age of exploration are magnificent: a unique blend of science and art that has seldom been equalled. However, you will rarely see these masterpieces in museums and galleries, because art historians write them off as unimportant and scientists see them only as quaint relics. Nonetheless, early maps can be very revealing about the world in which they were created.

Notes

1. Leo Bagrow, History of Cartography, London: C.A. Watts & Co., 1964: 215

2. Wilma George, Animals and Maps, London: Secker and Warbug, 1969: 25

3. Joe C.W. Armstrong, From Sea Unto Sea: Art and Discovery Maps of Canada, Scarborough, Ont.: Fleet/Lester & Orpen Dennys, 1982: 7

Further Reading

Animals and Maps, by Wilma George. London: Secker and Warbug, 1969. 235 p.

  • George provides a fascinating look at all the beasts (some strange, others not so strange) that early European mapmakers incorporated into their maps. This book iswritten for adults.

The Road to There: Mapmakers and Their Stories, by Val Ross. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2003. 146 p.

  • Ross presents a popularized history of the world's greatest mapmakers. She begins with the portolan charts of the ancients and ends with NASA's space probes. Written for juveniles, The Road to There is a fascinating, well-illustrated history.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Centre d'apprentissage

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Boîte à outils

Étude des vieilles cartes : le monde vu par les cartographes d'autrefois

par Jeffrey Murray, archiviste de cartes, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Les vieilles cartes, surtout celles que les cartographes ont produites aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, époque où la cartographie (l'art de dessiner des cartes) en Europe devenait une activité sérieuse, sont souvent remplies de beaux dessins inspirés des nouveaux continents. Pour les observateurs d'aujourd'hui, certains de ces dessins paraissent bizarres parce qu'ils mélangent des représentations passablement réalistes de la faune et des scènes de la vie locale montrant des monstres marins et autres créatures imaginaires. Si ces agencements peuvent nous paraître étranges, ils nous en disent long sur les perceptions qu'avaient les cartographes d'autrefois au sujet des nouvelles terres découvertes au-delà des frontières de l'Europe.

Agrandissement d'une section de la carte intitulée « North America, 1715 » Image d'une carte intitulée « North America, 1715 »

Figure 1. Dans cette carte datant de 1715, le cartographe britannique Herman Moll, fidèle à l'idée qui circulait en Europe à cette époque selon laquelle les castors étaient doués d'une intelligence supérieure, insuffle la vie aux castors. Il les représente debout en train d'effectuer des tâches réparties selon les métiers européens : les castors bûcherons abattent les arbres, les castors charpentiers les taillent en longueurs utiles, les castors porteurs transportent les matériaux au barrage, les castors maçons construisent le barrage et, à l'arrière-plan, les castors médecins soignent les travailleurs épuisés.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 21061)

Les cartographes qui dressaient les cartes de nouvelles terres avaient de grands espaces de terra incognita (« terres inconnues » en latin) et devaient trouver le moyen de remplir ces grands espaces vides. « Moins un pays était connu, plus il y avait d'espaces en blanc à remplir et plus il devenait nécessaire d'en donner les caractéristiques au moyen de dessins 1 » [traduction libre], a écrit le regretté Leo Bagrow, un des experts des anciennes cartes les plus réputés d'Europe, dans son livre History of Cartography. La solution du cartographe consistait à remplir les espaces libres sur leurs cartes avec des dessins de plantes, d'animaux et d'indigènes, et à aller au-delà de la simple cartographie en donnant une idée de ce que pouvait être la géographie de la région.

Image d'une carte intitulée « La Nuova Francia, 1556 »

Figure 2. En 1556, le cartographe vénitien Giacomo Gastaldi a complètement rempli l'intérieur du Canada atlantique de dessins très originaux du paysage et de ses habitants. Sans ce travail d'artiste, Gastaldi aurait eu très peu d'éléments à mettre sur sa carte, puisque les Européens n'avaient pas encore exploré la plus grande partie de la région.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 52408)

Peu de cartographes ont vu de leurs propres yeux les régions qu'ils devaient représenter sur carte. Seuls les plus fortunés avaient accès à des peaux d'animaux séchées ou à des objets culturels, ou encore plus rarement à des plantes ou à des animaux vivants. La plupart des cartographes devaient se fier à des rapports écrits (récits de voyage) et à des récits de seconde main. C'est peut-être ce qui explique pourquoi de nombreux dessins ne respectent pas l'échelle de grandeur -- par exemple, des castors de la taille d'un ours -- ou sont sans rapport avec la réalité -- comme un opossum dont la poche est à la hauteur des épaules plutôt qu'au niveau des hanches.

Agrandissement d'une section de la carte intitulée « Ocenunus Occidentalis, 1541 » Image d'une carte intitulée « Ocenunus Occidentalis, 1541 »

Figure 3. Comme les cartographes anciens s'appuyaient surtout sur des comptes rendus écrits pour dresser leurs cartes, il n'est pas étonnant qu'ils aient dessiné des animaux que nous avons du mal à reconnaître aujourd'hui, tel cet opossum de l'Amérique du Sud sur une carte de 1541.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 10027)

Les cartographes ont surutilisé certaines espèces animales et en ont ignoré d'autres; ils aimaient montrer les plus gros mammifères ainsi que des oiseaux et des reptiles. À regarder certaines des cartes, on croirait que la forêt nord-américaine ne contenait que des cerfs, des ours, des castors, des rats musqués et des renards. Wilma George, anciennement zoologiste à l'Université Oxford, explique que c'est parce qu'on citait le plus souvent ces animaux dans les récits des explorateurs et que « la représentation des gros animaux permettait de créer un contraste plus frappant avec la réalité européenne que les insectes ou les escargots qui, pourtant, devaient aussi être omniprésents 2 ».

Mais cette théorie de Wilma George n'explique pas pourquoi les cartographes dessinaient rarement certains gros animaux sur les cartes. Le bison d'Amérique du Nord, par exemple, n'a jamais été l'animal préféré des cartographes, malgré son abondance et son caractère unique à la région. Se pourrait-il que les cartographes n'aient été intéressés à montrer que les espèces ayant une importance économique évidente pour l'Europe? Le bison n'a eu aucune valeur pour les Européens jusqu'au milieu du XIXe siècle, époque où les cartographes ne dessinaient plus d'animaux sur leurs cartes. Même lorsqu'il est représenté, comme sur la carte du Mississippi de 1720 de Johann Baptist Homann, le bison ressemble beaucoup plus à une vache laitière docile qu'à une redoutable bête sauvage des plaines.

Agrandissement d'une section de la carte intitulée « Amplissima regionis Mississipi, 1720 » Image d'une carte intitulée « Amplissima regionis Mississipi, 1720 »

Figure 4. Un des principaux dessins de cette carte de Johann Baptist Homann, produite vers 1720, montre un bison très docile et ses gardiens indigènes (en bas à droite).
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMCnbsp;24544)

Dès le début du XVIIe siècle, les terra incognita rétrécissaient et les cartographes possédaient de plus en plus de nouvelles informations géographiques à insérer sur leurs cartes. Ils ont donc déplacé progressivement leurs dessins de la nature vers les bordures décoratives. Ils ont également commencé à se servir de symboles pour représenter des idées sur la nature telles que les saisons, les différences entre les continents et la croyance grecque classique selon laquelle toute la matière se compose de quatre éléments -- la terre, le feu, l'eau et l'air.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Nova Totius Terrarum Orbis, 1641 »

Figure 5. Sur cette carte de 1641, le cartographe a représenté le feu et l'air dans le haut de la carte -- plus près du ciel -- et l'eau et la terre dans le bas de la carte.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 27678)

Pour illustrer ces sujets, les cartographes se sont tournés vers la mythologie grecque et romaine. Par exemple, il n'est pas rare de voir Bacchus, le dieu du vin, représentant une des saisons par sa participation aux vendanges ou à la fabrication du vin, deux activités d'automne en Europe, ou de trouver Neptune, le dieu de la mer, assis sur un chariot fait de coquillages et représentant l'élément eau, ou encore de trouver une « princesse indienne », avec coiffure de plumes, arc et flèches, représentant les Amériques sauvages et indomptées.

Image d'une carte intitulée « Mappe-Monde Geo-Hydrographique, 1686 »

Figure 6. Les Européens instruits de l'époque connaissaient bien les figures de la mythologie romaine qu'a utilisées Gerard Valck sur cette carte en 1686. Le printemps est représenté par Flora (en haut à gauche), la déesse romaine des fleurs, qui sème un champ; l'automne l'est par Bacchus (en bas à gauche), le dieu du vin, qui fait les vendanges.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 27710)

Image d'une carte intitulée « Orbis Terrae compendiosa descriptio, 1592 »

Figure 7. Sur cette carte de 1592, la personnification de l'Amérique, America (en bas à gauche), très légèrement vêtue, est assise sur un tatou d'une taille exceptionnelle. L'Amérique est parfois associée aux alligators et aux iguanes.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 8142)

Image d'une carte intitulée « Nova et Accuratissima Totius Terrarum Orbis, 1664 »

Figure 8. En 1664, Joan Blaeu représentait les saisons par l'âge des personnages qu'il dessinait (en bas, de gauche à droite) : le printemps, par une jeune femme entourée de fleurs; l'été, par une femme portant une couronne de graminées; l'automne, par une femme d'âge mûr avec sa récolte; l'hiver, par un vieillard se réchauffant auprès du feu.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 108622)

Il serait toutefois trop simpliste de supposer que les illustrations de la nature des cartographes n'avaient d'autre but que de remplir de façon agréable les régions inexplorées. Au moins un géographe, feu Brian Harley, refusait de sauter à une telle conclusion. Il a dit que l'illustration du paysage nord-américain ressemblait à bien des égards à ce qu'on retrouvait sur les cartes européennes de la même époque. Se pourrait-il que les cartographes européens aient, à défaut d'information, rempli le paysage américain de symboles qui leur étaient familiers? Ou la similitude découlait-elle d'un acte inconscient de donner aux nouvelles terres un aspect moins inquiétant pour les investisseurs et les colons potentiels?

Image d'une carte intitulée « Poli Arctici, 1715 »

Figure 9. Cette carte de 1715 est très révélatrice des attitudes européennes envers les régions polaires. Elle est complètement entourée de scènes de l'industrie baleinière dans l'Arctique. La carte rappelait aux investisseurs européens les fortunes à réaliser dans cette terre inhospitalière.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 21059)

Harley soutient la seconde hypothèse. Lorsque la noblesse européenne examinait ces cartes, elle voyait, au lieu des terres étrangères, des paysages peuplés d'une faune connue. Pour rendre ces nouvelles terres encore moins particulières, les caricaturistes encadraient toute la carte de gravures européennes en ne tenant pas compte souvent que ces terres appartenaient aux Autochtones. La terra incognita apparaît comme un territoire inhabité que les nations d'Europe pouvaient se diviser et habiter. Harley précise que les cartes de ce genre reflètent l'attitude colonialiste de l'Europe, qui s'accordait le droit de prendre possession et de gouverner des terres à l'extérieur de ses frontières. Autrement dit, leurs cartes constituent des images ethnocentriques : un permis pour s'approprier les territoires illustrés.

Agrandissement d'une section de la carte intitulée « North America, 1714 » Image d'une carte intitulée « North America, 1714 »

Figure 10. Dans le titre de cette carte de 1714 (en haut à gauche), George Willdey a entouré une princesse indienne -- la personnification de l'Amérique -- d'éléments exotiques qui faisaient la richesse du Nouveau Monde : la canne à sucre, le tabac (dans la boîte), les ananas et un alligator. Mercure, symbole du commerce, aide à soutenir une miniature du roi George I.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 24606)

Si la main du cartographe était vraiment guidée par des motifs inconscients, plusieurs de ces cartes peuvent être perçues plus comme des annonces que des représentations d'un nouveau territoire. Par exemple, la carte de la Nouvelle-France préparée par Champlain en 1612 offre un panorama visuel de la richesse du Canada : les castors, les renards, les cerfs et autres animaux font allusion à la traite des fourrures, alors que l'abondance de la vie marine, des forêts et des fruits souligne la diversité des ressources naturelles du pays. En réalité, la carte de Champlain résulte d'un effort astucieux mais inconscient effectué en vue d'obtenir du soutien pour faire de futurs investissements et entreprendre des expéditions. « La carte, selon le collectionneur Joe Armstrong, est ... l'œuvre ... d'un habile psychologue [et] promoteur 3. »

Image d'une carte intitulée « Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse, 1612 »

Figure 11. Samuel de Champlain a incorporé astucieusement la flore et la faune de la région et des scènes représentant la vie des Autochtones dans cette carte de 1612 de la Nouvelle-France. La carte fait ressortir la diversité et l'ampleur des richesses naturelles du Canada. À plusieurs points de vue, c'est une invitation aux investisseurs et aux colons potentiels.
(Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, NMC 6327)

Quelle que soit l'interprétation qu'on en fasse, on ne peut nier le fait que les cartes produites au cours de la période des grandes explorations européennes sont magnifiques : un mélange unique de science et d'art rarement égalé. Cependant, ces chefs-d'œuvre sont rarement exposés dans les musées ou les galeries d'art parce que les historiens de l'art ne leur accordent aucune importance et les scientifiques les considèrent comme des reliques surannées. Néanmoins, ces cartes d'autrefois peuvent être très révélatrices du monde dans lequel elles ont été créées.

Notes

1. Leo Bagrow, History of Cartography, Londres, C.A. Watts & Co., 1964, p. 215.

2. Wilma George, Animals and Maps, Londres, Secker and Warburg, 1969, p. 25.

3. Joe C.W. Armstrong, From Sea Unto Sea: Art and Discovery Maps of Canada, Scarborough (Ont.), Fleet/Lester & Orpen Dennys, 1982, p. 7.

Autres lectures

Animals and Maps de Wilma George, Londres, Secker and Warbug, 1969, 235 p.

  • Wilma George jette un regard intéressant sur toutes les bêtes (certaines qui sont étranges, d'autres qui ne le sont pas tellement) que les premiers cartographes européens ont incorporé dans leurs cartes. Ce livre s'adresse à un public adulte.

The Road to There: Mapmakers and Their Stories de Val Ross, Toronto, Tundra Books, 2003, 146 p

  • Val Ross présente une histoire popularisée des plus grands cartographes au monde. Elle commence par les cartes de portulan des anciens et termine par les sondes spatiales de la NASA. Écrit pour un jeune auditoire, The Road to There est une histoire fascinante et bien illustrée.