Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Learning Centre

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Toolkit

Analytical Writing

By Michael Petrou, journalist

There are two main types of analytical writing in newspapers: editorials and opinion columns.

Editorials are usually printed on one page, towards the back of a newspaper's front section. In tabloid-style newspapers, which are smaller and consist of only one section, the editorial page can be found towards the end of the news pages. The page is usually labeled "Editorials," but is easy to recognize because it also often contains a large editorial cartoon in the top right corner of the page.

Opinion columns are often found on the page opposite the editorial page. The page is usually labeled "Opinions" or "Comment." Opinion columns may be found elsewhere in the newspaper as well, especially on the page preceding the editorial page. Opinion columns are usually labeled as such, to separate them from news reports.

The main difference between analytical writing and news reports is that editorials and opinion columns are subjective rather than objective. This means that they express an opinion or make an argument. A news report, for example, might list various mistakes that a politician has committed. It would not however, go on to state that because of these mistakes the politician should resign. An editorial or an opinion column, however, may do exactly this.

When reading an editorial or an opinion column, it is helpful to imagine that the writer is engaged in a debate with his or her readers. The writer is trying to persuade you or convince you that a certain point of view is the correct one. There are, however, important differences between editorials and opinion columns.

An editorial is generally written on behalf of the entire newspaper. It represents the point of view of not just the writer, but of the newspaper at large. In reality, of course, not everyone at the paper will agree with any given editorial. But in principle, an editorial speaks for the newspaper as an institution, not just the person who has written it.

There are two types of editorials: consensus editorials and signed editorials.

Consensus editorials are not signed by the author, so it is impossible for the reader to know who wrote the editorial. This is to emphasize the collective argument that is being made on behalf of the newspaper. Typically, four or five senior editors from the newspaper's editorial board will meet to discuss the editorial topic. After they have reached a consensus, one of the senior editors, often the editorial page editor, will write the editorial on their behalf.

The stand that the editorial board takes in the editorials may be influenced to a degree by the owner or publisher of the newspaper, but the publisher and owner rarely take part in the day-to-day editorial board meetings.

Signed editorials are similar to consensus editorials, with the exception that the author is clearly identified with a byline and often with a small photograph as well. Signed editorials are usually written by a senior editor, sometimes the editor-in-chief. As they run on the editorial page and are written by senior members of the editorial board, signed editorials carry the weight of the newspaper as an institution behind them, but they are generally understood to reflect the views of the individual author. Signed editorials, as opposed to consensus editorials, are much more common in French-language newspapers in Canada than they are in English ones.

It is important to note that in a typical newspaper office journalists who write news reports and journalists who write or discuss editorials, never work in the same area. This is because of the fundamental difference between editorials and news reporting: news reporting is supposed to be objective and editorials are meant to express an opinion. The physical division in a newsroom is symbolic of this difference. It also prevents news reporters from knowing what stand an upcoming editorial might take on an issue they are writing about, which could influence how their report is written.

Opinion columns, like editorials, express an opinion; but the opinion expressed belongs solely to the column's author, not to the newspaper or to the editorial board. In fact, it is quite common for an opinion column to argue against an opinion expressed in an editorial in the same newspaper.

Opinion columns might be written by columnists who are employed by the newspaper, or by guest writers who have some expertise to share or a specific argument to make. Politicians and others in the public eye will also frequently write opinion columns -- to refute accusations made against them, to test ideas and to express themselves to potential voters who might not otherwise pay attention to them.

When evaluating editorials and opinion columns, pay attention to whether the arguments made are supported by evidence. A good writer will back up his or her arguments with examples. If there are obvious counter-arguments, these should also be addressed and dealt with.

Ultimately, however, the best way to judge an opinion column is to imagine that the writer is a trial lawyer making a closing argument and that the readers are sitting on the jury. If the writer is able convince the readers that his or her point of view is correct, or can even make them reconsider their previously held opinions, the column or editorial may be considered a success.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Centre d'apprentissage

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Boîte à outils

Les textes d'analyse

par Michael Petrou, journaliste

On peut lire dans les journaux des textes d'analyse qui se classent en deux catégories principales : les éditoriaux et les chroniques.

D'ordinaire, on imprime l'éditorial sur une seule page, vers la fin du premier cahier du journal. Dans les tabloïdes (journaux plus petits faits d'un seul cahier), l'éditorial paraît vers la fin des pages de nouvelles. La page s'intitule « Éditorial », mais on la reconnaît facilement parce qu'elle comporte souvent, dans le coin supérieur droit, une grande caricature.

Les chroniques sont publiées dans la page en regard de la page éditoriale; cette page s'intitule « Opinions » ou « Chroniques », afin que les articles qui y paraissent se distinguent des nouvelles. Il arrive aussi qu'on place ces articles ailleurs dans le journal, en particulier dans la page précédant l'éditorial.

Si l'on cherche à rendre les nouvelles de façon objective, les chroniques et les éditoriaux sont au contraire subjectifs, c'est-à-dire qu'ils expriment un point de vue ou présentent un débat sur un sujet donné. Ainsi, la nouvelle dressera la liste de diverses bévues commises par un politicien, mais il ne saurait être question que son auteur y déclare qu'en raison de ses erreurs le politicien devrait démissionner; de tels commentaires peuvent par contre être écrits dans un éditorial.

Quand on lit un éditorial ou une chronique, il est intéressant d'imaginer que l'auteur engage un débat avec son ou ses lecteurs. En effet, le journaliste cherche à convaincre ses lecteurs de la pertinence de son point de vue. Éditoriaux et chroniques sont cependant très différents.

L'éditorial représente d'ordinaire l'opinion collective du journal, et non pas uniquement celle de l'auteur. Bien entendu, tous les employés du journal ne partagent pas l'ensemble des opinions émises dans les éditoriaux, mais, en principe, l'éditorial représente le journal comme institution et ne reflète pas seulement la pensée de la personne qui l'a écrit.

Les éditoriaux se classent en deux catégories : les éditoriaux signés et ceux qui résultent d'un consensus.

L'auteur d'un éditorial qui résulte d'un consensus ne signe pas son article; aussi est-il impossible au lecteur de savoir qui l'a écrit. Ce choix renforce le caractère collectif du débat lancé au nom du journal. D'habitude, quatre ou cinq rédacteurs chevronnés, membres du comité de rédaction, se réunissent pour discuter du sujet de l'article. Lorsqu'ils arrivent à un consensus, l'un des rédacteurs, souvent l'éditorialiste, écrit l'article au nom de tous.

Le comité de rédaction doit parfois tenir compte, dans le choix des éditoriaux, de l'avis du propriétaire ou de l'éditeur du journal, mais il est rare que les propriétaires ou les éditeurs participent aux réunions quotidiennes du comité.

Les éditoriaux signés s'apparentent aux éditoriaux de consensus, sauf que l'auteur est clairement indiqué par une signature et que souvent une petite photo de lui paraît aussi. D'habitude, un rédacteur chevronné ou même l'éditeur en chef rédige cet article. Imprimé sur la page éditoriale et écrit par des membres chevronnés du comité de rédaction, l'éditorial signé a le poids d'un article émis par le journal en tant qu'institution, mais on a tendance à y voir un texte qui émet le point de vue d'un seul auteur. Au Canada, les éditoriaux signés sont davantage publiés dans les journaux de langue française que dans la presse anglophone.

Il est important de souligner que, dans les locaux de la presse, les journalistes qui écrivent des nouvelles et ceux qui discutent des éditoriaux ou les produisent ne travaillent habituellement pas dans les mêmes bureaux. Cette division de l'espace symbolise la différence fondamentale entre la nouvelle, de nature objective, et l'éditorial, qui exprime une opinion. Elle empêche également que les journalistes de nouvelles soient informés des points de vue qui seront émis dans les éditoriaux à venir, car cela pourrait influencer leur façon d'aborder leur article.

Les chroniques, comme les éditoriaux, comportent un point de vue, mais il s'agit du point de vue du chroniqueur, et il n'engage pas le journal ni le comité de rédaction. De fait, il arrive souvent que chroniqueur et éditorialiste s'affrontent dans des articles publiés dans le même journal.

Ce sont des chroniqueurs à l'emploi du journal, ou encore des collaborateurs invités, qui sont spécialistes d'une question ou qui ont un débat à proposer, qui rédigent les chroniques. Des politiciens ou des personnalités très en vue écriront aussi souvent des chroniques, soit pour réfuter des accusations portées contre eux, ou pour vérifier l'accueil réservé à certaines idées, ou encore pour s'adresser à des électeurs potentiels qui autrement ne leur accorderaient pas d'attention.

Lorsqu'on analyse un éditorial ou une chronique, il faut vérifier si des preuves viennent appuyer les arguments avancés. Un bon journaliste fondera son débat sur des exemples. Si des arguments contraires semblent évidents, l'auteur doit aussi les aborder.

En fin de compte, pour bien évaluer une chronique, il faut voir le rédacteur comme un avocat qui, dans un procès, présente son discours final, et s'imaginer faire partie du jury qui l'écoute. Si l'auteur réussit à convaincre le lecteur, et l'amène même à reconsidérer l'opinion qu'il avait sur ce sujet, la chronique ou l'éditorial constitue une réussite.