Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - The Learning Centre

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Toolkit

News Reporting

By Michael Petrou, journalist

News stories most often appear in the front section of a newspaper, although many newspapers also have "City" or "International" sections that also contain news reports.

A news article will usually begin with a headline that explains what the story is about in a few words and tries to grab the reader's attention. "Premier vows to freeze university tuition fees," is an example of a headline that might run above a story about promises a politician made to students during an election speech.

Beneath the headline usually appears the name of the reporter who has written the story. This is called the byline, because it is often written as "By: John Smith." However, many newspapers simply print the reporter's name, often in bold typeface and slightly above the body of the article.

The byline is often followed by something called a dateline. This identifies where and sometimes when, the story was written. If a newspaper has a reporter in Baghdad, for example, the name of the city will be printed, often in bold typeface, at the beginning of the story.

The main purpose of a news story is to report the news in an objective manner. This means that the author of the news story should not include his or her own opinions in the article. The author should tell the reader what has occurred, but should stick to the facts. For example, if a reporter is writing about a man whose store was forced to close because of bankruptcy, the reporter should not write that the store owner deserved to go out of business because he was rude to his customers or because he charged too much for the goods that he sold. To give another example, an objective journalist reporting on how a university spends its money cannot write that the university should spend less money on professors' salaries and more on varsity sports teams or lab equipment. These are the reporter's personal opinions and they do not belong in a news story.

It is quite acceptable, however, for a reporter to quote other people's opinions in a story. A news story written about a university's budget may, for example, contain several quotes from students who say they think the money spent on staff salaries is wasted. But a good news report must be balanced. In other words, in the university budget story, the reporter must give the university's administration a chance to explain why they have decided to increase professors' salaries but not to increase funding for varsity sports teams.

Most news stories revolve around some sort of conflict -- conflicts involve opposing opinions. All of the sides involved in the conflict must be given a chance to have their say. If this does not happen, the news report is neither balanced nor fair. In reality, however, it is almost impossible for a news story to be completely objective, no matter how hard the reporter tries to make it so. There are many factors in a news story that can imply bias, either intentionally or not.

Let's take the example of a news story about a university's budget. Consider the following two ways in which the first few paragraphs of a hypothetical news story about the budget might be written:

Example One

University of Canada principal John Doe yesterday pledged to spend "whatever it takes" to attract top scholars to the university and to prevent existing professors from leaving for higher-paying jobs elsewhere.

At a news conference in which he outlined spending plans for the upcoming year, Mr. Doe announced a 10 per cent salary increase for all tenured professors and set aside an additional two million dollars for new hires.

"If we want to maintain our position as a world-class university, we need to employ the best professors," Mr. Doe said. "And that costs money."

Example Two

Students at the University of Canada were outraged yesterday to hear that the university plans to increase the amount of money it pays its professors, but has no plans to fund additional scholarships for students and will not increase funding to university sports teams.

"I'm disgusted," said Student Council president Jane Smith. "Too many talented high school students can't afford to come here the way it is. Without more money for scholarships, it will just get worse."

John Jones, a varsity hockey player, said he was disappointed to learn the university will not pay to repair the stands at the university ice rink, which he says are "falling apart."

Both of the above stories are written about the same fictional event and both might be factually correct. However, the first example highlights the opinion of the university's principal, while the second highlights the opinions of two angry students. The results are two very different news stories written about the same topic. This is an example of bias that often exists in news reports, even when the reporter's opinions are not openly expressed.

When reading newspapers, it is a good idea to compare how different newspapers have covered the same event. Often you will notice similar biases affecting how the reports are written. Pay attention to who is quoted in the news article. Have all sides been given a chance to give their side of the story? Is one side quoted at length and the other almost not at all?

Language is also very important. A news reporter should try to use neutral language, but not all words are neutral. A suicide bomber in the Middle East, for example, might be called a "fighter" in one news report and a "terrorist" in another. Both terms are accurate, but neither is strictly neutral.

Even the placement of an article in a newspaper is revealing. If an article is run on the front page of the newspaper beneath a large headline, this suggests the topic of the news report is important and should be read. If, on the other hand, a much shorter article on the same topic is run near the back of a newspaper, the implication is that the article is not as important as the stories that appear on the newspaper's front page.

When evaluating news reports, read the articles closely and carefully. Ask yourself: is the article accurate? Is it fair?

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Centre d'apprentissage

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Boîte à outils

Les nouvelles

par Michael Petrou, journaliste

Les nouvelles paraissent le plus souvent dans la première section du journal, même si plusieurs journaux ont parfois une section intitulée « Affaires municipales » ou « International », laquelle contient aussi des nouvelles.

D'habitude, un article de nouvelles commence par un gros titre qui indique le sujet en quelques mots et cherche à capter l'attention du lecteur. « Le premier ministre promet de geler les frais universitaires » est un exemple de gros titre sous lequel on peut lire une nouvelle relatant les promesses faites aux étudiants pendant un discours électoral.

Sous le gros titre apparaît d'ordinaire le nom du journaliste qui a écrit l'article. Cette ligne porte le nom de signature :ex. Par Jean Tremblay. Cependant, plusieurs journaux impriment simplement le nom de l'auteur, souvent en caractères gras, légèrement au-dessus du texte.

La signature est généralement suivie de l'indication du lieu où l'article a été écrit et quelquefois de la date. Ainsi, si un journal envoie un reporteur à Bagdad, le journal imprimera le nom de la ville, souvent en caractères gras, au début de l'article.

Un article de nouvelle vise d'abord à rapporter une nouvelle de manière objective, c'est-à-dire que le journaliste ne donnera pas son opinion dans l'article qu'il écrit. Il doit seulement informer le lecteur de ce qui s'est produit en s'en tenant aux faits. Par exemple, si un journaliste annonce qu'un magasin a fermé en raison d'une faillite, il ne peut écrire que ce n'est que justice, car le propriétaire rudoyait les clients ou qu'il vendait trop cher sa marchandise. Voici un autre exemple : un journaliste objectif qui indique à ses lecteurs comment une université répartit ses dépenses ne peut suggérer que l'université en question devrait réduire le budget alloué aux salaires des professeurs et augmenter le financement des équipes sportives ou les fonds affectés à l'équipement des laboratoires. Ces points de vue sont ceux du journaliste; ils ne peuvent être rapportés dans une nouvelle.

Par contre, le journaliste peut citer l'opinion d'autrui. Ainsi, dans un article traitant du budget d'une université, il peut citer plusieurs étudiants qui déclarent que, selon eux, le montant affecté à la masse salariale est gaspillé. Mais un bon article établira un équilibre; ainsi, dans l'histoire du budget universitaire, le journaliste doit aussi donner aux administrateurs l'occasion d'expliquer pourquoi ils ont choisi d'augmenter le salaire des professeurs et non le financement des équipes sportives.

La plupart des nouvelles tournent autour d'une sorte de conflit, et qui dit conflit dit opinions divergentes. Toutes les parties engagées dans le différend doivent avoir une chance de s'exprimer, et si cela n'a pas lieu, la nouvelle n'est ni juste ni équilibrée. Mais en réalité, il est impossible de parvenir à une parfaite objectivité, peu importe les efforts du journaliste en ce sens. Les nouvelles comportent de nombreux facteurs qui prêtent au parti pris, qu'il soit intentionnel ou non.

Reprenons l'exemple de la nouvelle portant sur le budget universitaire. Observez, dans les deux textes suivants, les deux manières d'écrire les premiers paragraphes d'une hypothétique nouvelle sur ce sujet.

Premier exemple :

Le recteur de l'Université du Canada, Jean Untel, s'est engagé hier à « dépenser les sommes requises » pour attirer dans son établissement les plus grands spécialistes et retenir les professeurs en place qui pourraient accepter ailleurs des postes mieux rémunérés.

Au cours d'une conférence de presse pendant laquelle il a présenté les grandes lignes d'un plan budgétaire pour les années à venir, M. Untel a annoncé que les salaires des professeurs titulaires seraient augmentés de dix pour cent, et qu'une somme additionnelle de deux millions de dollars serait réservée à l'engagement de nouveaux professeurs.

« Si nous voulons continuer d'être classés parmi les universités les plus réputées au monde, nous devons faire appel aux meilleurs professeurs, a déclaré M. Untel, et ils coûtent cher. »

Second exemple :

Hier, les étudiants étaient furieux à l'annonce que l'Université du Canada projette d'augmenter le salaire des professeurs, mais n'a pas prévu octroyer de nouvelles bourses aux étudiants, ni augmenter le financement des équipes sportives universitaires.

« Je suis dégoûtée, a déclaré hier Carole Tremblay, présidente de l'Association des étudiants. Au sortir du collège, trop d'étudiants ne peuvent, à l'heure actuelle, fréquenter l'université. Si l'on n'augmente pas les sommes attribuées aux bourses, la situation va empirer. »

Jean Dubois, qui joue dans l'équipe universitaire de hockey, se dit déçu que l'institution n'ait pas accordé les fonds nécessaires à la réparation des gradins de la patinoire, qui, selon lui, « tombent en ruine ».

Les deux récits ci-dessus racontent le même événement fictif, et les deux pourraient relater des faits avec exactitude. Mais le premier met en relief l'opinion du recteur de l'université, alors que le second présente le point de vue de deux étudiants en colère. Il en résulte deux nouvelles différentes sur le même sujet qui illustrent les partis pris souvent présents dans les nouvelles, même si le journaliste n'exprime pas explicitement son opinion.

Il est intéressant, lorsqu'on lit les nouvelles, de voir comment divers journaux couvrent un même événement. Vous remarquerez souvent que de semblables partis pris teintent la rédaction. Notez qui est cité dans l'article. Tous les intervenants ont-ils eu la chance de s'exprimer? Le journaliste cite-t-il en détail l'une des parties, et l'autre presque pas?

L'utilisation faite de la langue est aussi essentielle. Un journaliste de nouvelles devrait user d'une langue neutre, mais tous les mots ne le sont pas. L'auteur d'un attentat-suicide à la bombe au Moyen-Orient, par exemple, peut porter le nom de « combattant » dans un article, et celui de « terroriste » dans un autre. Les deux termes sont exacts, mais aucun n'est neutre.

Même l'emplacement de l'article dans le journal peut être révélateur. Ainsi, un article présenté en première page, sous un gros titre, indique l'importance accordée au sujet. Cela sous-entend qu'il est important de lire cet article. Par ailleurs, s'il paraît, sur la page arrière du journal, un article plus court sur le même sujet, c'est qu'on ne lui attache pas autant d'importance.

Afin d'analyser une nouvelle, il faut lire attentivement l'article. Demandez-vous si l'article est exact, et s'il est équitable.