Bid to Hold the World's Fair in Montreal - History - Expo 67 - Library and Archives Canada
 Library and Archive Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Français | Help     Canada  
 Home > Browse Selected Topics > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu > History
  Important Notices | Proactive Disclosure  

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

expo67: A Virtual Experience
   History    Pavilions    Activities   Special Guests   News Report    Legacy   Canada's Centennial




BID TO HOLD THE WORLD'S FAIR IN MONTREAL

Where does a bid for a World's Fair come from? Is it a stroke of genius? Sometimes perhaps, but more often than not it requires a great deal of thought and determination. In the case of Expo 67, a number of people, apparently in the 1950s, put forward the idea of holding the World's Fair in Montreal to mark Canada's centenary. The idea was publicly expressed by Senator Mark Drouin on August 25, 1958, which was Canada Day at the World's Fair in Brussels. From then on, Mayor Sarto Fournier was keen on the idea and the Montreal city council passed a resolution asking the Executive Board to develop a bid for Montreal to host the fair.

In the two years that followed, the City of Montreal, with the help of Montreal's business community and the Government of Quebec, continued to lobby the federal government for its support. The government of Prime Minister John Diefenbaker officially endorsed the bid in February 1960. The federal government would provide $20 million, the Quebec government would provide $15 million while the City of Montreal would spend $5 million.

The Government of Canada submitted Montreal's bid to the International Exhibitions Bureau (IEB) in Paris in March 1960. The candidates in the running were Canada, Austria and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR). The hopeful delegation included Robert Campbell-Smith, trade commissioner at the Canadian Embassy in Paris, James A. Roberts, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce of Canada, Paul Beaulieu, Quebec Minister of Trade, and Mayor of Montreal Sarto Fournier. At the request of the USSR, the vote was delayed to May 5, 1960.

A new delegation was making the trip to Paris again on May 1, 1960, when Austria withdrew Vienna's bid. The new delegation was headed by William Hamilton, Postmaster General, and included in particular Pierre Sévigny, Associate Minister of National Defence, Minister Paul Beaulieu, trade commissioner Robert Campbell-Smith and Mayor Sarto Fournier. After a close vote, Moscow won in the fifth round by sixteen votes to fourteen. What a tremendous disappointment it was for the Canadian delegation.

Two years later there was a dramatic turnaround. Montreal got a second chance when the City of Moscow withdrew in April 1962. In May of that year, the IEB unanimously decided to award the World's Fair to Canada and not to accept any further bids until November 13, when it was scheduled to meet. Jean Drapeau, elected as Mayor of Montreal in October 1960, and the Liberal government of Jean Lesage in Quebec City were delighted. Through Minister Pierre Sévigny, the Diefenbaker government once again endorsed Montreal's bid. On November 13, 1962, the new Canadian delegation finally had cause to celebrate: Montreal was officially awarded the 1967 World's Fair.




Site Map
Research
Links
Credits





Souvenirs Online
Games
Virtual
Visit
Teaching
Material

Projet d'une exposition universelle à Montréal et mise en candidature - Historique - Expo 67 - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archive Canada English | Aide     Canada  
 Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu > Historique
  Avis importants | Divulgation proactive  

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

expo67: une expérience virtuelle
   Historique    Pavillons    Activités    Invités d'honneur   Revue
de presse
   Héritage    Centenaire
du Canada




PROJET D'UNE EXPOSITION UNIVERSELLE À MONTRÉAL ET MISE EN CANDIDATURE

Un projet d'exposition universelle, ça vient d'où? D'un éclair de génie? Parfois peut-être, mais le plus souvent c'est un travail de réflexion qui demande beaucoup de détermination. Dans le cas d'Expo 67, il semble que plusieurs personnes au cours des années 50 évoquent l'idée de tenir une exposition universelle à Montréal pour souligner le centenaire du Canada. Toutefois, c'est le 25 août 1958, lors de la journée du Canada à l'exposition universelle de Bruxelles, que cette idée est exprimée publiquement par le sénateur Mark Drouin. Dès lors, le maire Sarto Fournier est emballé et le conseil municipal de Montréal vote une résolution demandant au Comité exécutif de poursuivre les démarches pour que la ville obtienne la tenue de l'exposition.

Durant les deux années qui suivent, la ville de Montréal, avec l'appui du milieu d'affaires montréalais et du gouvernement du Québec, continue d'aller de l'avant pour convaincre le gouvernement canadien de lui accorder son appui. Le gouvernement du premier ministre John Diefenbaker officialise ce soutien en février 1960. Le palier fédéral fournira 20 millions de dollars et le gouvernement du Québec débloquera 15 millions, alors que la Ville de Montréal dépensera 5 millions.

Le gouvernement canadien présente la candidature de Montréal au Bureau international des expositions (BIE), à Paris, en mars 1960. Les candidats en lice sont le Canada, l'Autriche et l'Union des républiques socialistes soviétiques (URSS). Composée entre autres de Robert Campbell-Smith, conseiller commercial de l'ambassade du Canada à Paris, de James A. Roberts, sous-ministre du Commerce du Canada, de Paul Beaulieu, ministre du Commerce au gouvernement du Québec, et du maire de Montréal, Sarto Fournier, la délégation canadienne est remplie d'espoir. Cependant, le vote est reporté au 5 mai suivant à la demande de l'URSS.

Une nouvelle délégation reprend la route pour Paris le 1er mai 1960, au moment où l'Autriche renonce à présenter la candidature de Vienne. Cette délégation est dirigée par William Hamilton, ministre des Postes, et comprend notamment Pierre Sévigny, ministre associé de la Défense nationale, le ministre Paul Beaulieu, le conseiller commercial Robert Campbell-Smith, ainsi que le maire Sarto Fournier. Après un vote serré, Moscou l'emporte au cinquième tour par seize voix contre quatorze. Pour les membres de la délégation canadienne, la déception est immense.

Deux ans plus tard, coup de théâtre ! Une seconde chance se manifeste pour Montréal lorsque la ville de Moscou se désiste en avril 1962. En mai de la même année, le BIE décide à l'unanimité de réserver l'exposition universelle pour le Canada et de n'accepter aucune autre candidature avant le 13 novembre, date à laquelle il doit se réunir. Jean Drapeau, élu maire de Montréal en octobre 1960, et le gouvernement libéral de Jean Lesage à Québec sont pour leur part très enthousiastes. Par la voix de son ministre Pierre Sévigny, le gouvernement Diefenbaker accorde de nouveau son soutien à la candidature de Montréal. Le 13 novembre 1962, la nouvelle délégation canadienne peut enfin se réjouir : Montréal obtient officiellement l'exposition universelle de 1967.




Plan du site
Recherche
Liens
Réalisation





Souvenirs Jeux
en ligne
Visite
virtuelle
Matériel
pédagogique