News Reports - Expo 67 - Library and Archives Canada
 Library and Archive Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Français | Help     Canada  
 Home > Browse Selected Topics > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu
  Important Notices | Proactive Disclosure  

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

expo67: A Virtual Experience
   History    Pavilions    Activities    Special Guests    News Report    Legacy    Canada's Centennial

NEWS REPORT

From its early days, a great deal has been written about Expo 67. Some journalists and even some politicians were initially opposed to the fact that the event would be held during Canada's centennial year. Others saw this as yet another opportunity to celebrate and strengthen our national unity. The appointment of the first commissioner general, Paul Bienvenu, and of deputy commissioner general Cecil Carsley, in 1963, also caused quite a stir. These two then stepped down, faced with an almost insurmountable workload and because they were unable to agree on where to hold the event. Moreover, the World Fair held in New York in 1964 and 1965 was disappointing in many ways and led some Canadian journalists to fear the worst for the event in Montreal. As well, the name Expo 67 did not meet with unanimous approval as it was feared that the public would not understand it.

The development of the site on the islands (Sainte-Hélène and Notre-Dame) was often viewed as a slightly crazy idea and the costs of such an undertaking put many people off. Everyone made predictions, often pessimistic ones. Progress on the site, the number of visitors who would visit Montreal, the effectiveness of the advertising and the availability of sufficient accommodations for tourists were all topics of debate. The Mayor of Montreal, Jean Drapeau, was the key figure journalists associated most closely with Expo 67, and so he was most often the target of attacks or congratulations, in spite of the fact that a large team was at work on Expo.

One year before the official opening, on April 27, 1966, several newspapers produced a special issue about the event. Pierre Dupuy, the commissioner general, was even invited by the newspaper Le Devoir to submit an editorial. Media scepticism apparently abated as soon as it became clear that Expo would be ready on schedule, either in late 1966 or early 1967. The enthusiasm of the American press tipped the scales. The confirmed representation of sixty or so countries; the largest opera, theatre and dance companies; the most prestigious orchestras and the biggest names on the national and international arts scenes no doubt contributed to this shift in opinion.


In spite of a few problems, such as the shortage of accommodation, the lack of restaurant services and the public transportation strike, most Canadian journalists gave Expo 67 positive press during the six months it was open. Newspapers not only reported on the tremendous success of the event, but also on the ever-increasing number of visitors who rushed to Man and His World. Montreal's La Presse newspaper even coined a new word for visitors to Expo: Expovores! Very apt indeed!

 

 


News Headlines

"In Expo
Canada came of age
"
The Globe and Mail

"In Praise of
the World Festival
"
The Winnipeg Free Press

"Expo Runs Out Of Time Sunday - But The Smell
Of Success Will Linger On
"
The Winnipeg Free Press

"Expo-an eye-popping visit
for Ottawa students
"
The Ottawa Citizen

"Expo 67"
The Calgary Herald

"Expo Triumph"
The Calgary Herald

"Colorful ceremonies bring Expo 67 to an end"
The Leader-Post, Regina

"Expo 67 was success beyond wildest dreams"
The Leader-Post, Regina

"Expo: a season for all men"
The Edmonton Journal

"This is Expo's Great Flaw"
The Telegraph Journal, Saint John

"The police worked,
but had it easy
"
("Sans chômer, les policiers ont eu la partie belle")
La Presse, Montréal

"Expo revealed a people with
great intellectual potential
"
("L'Expo a révélé un peuple qui a d'immenses possibilités intellectuelles")
La Presse, Montréal

"Expo gave Canada
its confidence back
"
(L'Expo 67 a redonné confiance au Canada")
Le Soleil, Québec

"A Permanent Expo"
(L'Expo permanente")
Le Soleil, Québec

"Curtain falls on
Montreal's love affair
"
The Montreal Star

"Whose? His? Hers?
No, Expo Is Mine!
"
The Montreal Star

"Good-bye Expo,
and Thank You
"
("Adieu et Merci, Expo")
Journal de Montréal

"Expo will have been useless if we forget its lessons!"
("L'Expo aura été inutile si nous ne profitons pas de ses leçons!")
Journal de Montréal

 





Site Map
Research
Links
Credits





Souvenirs Online
Games
Virtual
Visit
Teaching
Material

Revue de presse - Expo 67 - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archive Canada English | Aide     Canada  
 Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu
  Avis importants | Divulgation proactive  

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

expo67: une expérience virtuelle
   Historique    Pavillons    Activités    Invités d'honneur    Revue
de presse
   Héritage    Centenaire
du Canada

REVUE DE PRESSE

Dès ses premiers balbutiements, Expo 67 fait couler beaucoup d'encre. Certains journalistes, et même des politiciens, voient d'abord d'un mauvais œil le fait que cet événement se déroule la même année que le centenaire de la Confédération canadienne. D'autres, au contraire, y voient une occasion de plus de célébrer et d'affermir l'unité nationale. En 1963, le choix du premier commissaire général, Paul Bienvenu, et du sous-commissaire général, Cecil Carsley, suscite une vague de protestations; ceux-ci démissionnent toutefois par la suite devant la charge de travail trop grande qui les attend et parce qu'ils ne s'entendent pas sur le choix du site de l'Expo. D'autre part, l'exposition internationale de New York, en 1964 et 1965, déçoit à bien des points de vue et pousse certains journalistes canadiens à craindre le pire pour l'exposition universelle de Montréal. Enfin, le titre Expo 67 ne fait pas l'unanimité car on croit que le public ne le comprendra pas.

L'aménagement du site des Îles (Notre-Dame et Sainte-Hélène) est souvent décri comme un projet un peu fou et les coûts d'une telle entreprise suscitent bien des craintes. Les prédictions, souvent pessimistes, vont bon train. On s'interroge sur l'avancement des travaux, le nombre de visiteurs qui se rendront à Montréal, l'efficacité de la publicité et la disponibilité suffisante de logements pour les touristes. Le maire de Montréal, Jean Drapeau, est la personnalité phare que les journalistes associent le plus à Expo 67 : c'est lui qu'on se plaît le plus souvent à attaquer ou à féliciter, malgré le fait qu'une grande équipe travaille à l'Expo.

Le 27 avril 1966, un an avant l'ouverture officielle, plusieurs journaux consacrent un numéro spécial à l'événement. Pierre Dupuy, commissaire général, est même invité par Le Devoir à rédiger un éditorial. Il semble que la méfiance des médias s'atténue dès lors qu'ils réalisent que l'Expo sera prête dans les délais, soit à la fin de 1966 ou au début de 1967. Il faut dire que l'enthousiasme de la presse américaine contribue à faire pencher la balance. La présence confirmée d'une soixantaine de pays, des plus grandes troupes d'opéra, de théâtre et de danse, des orchestres les plus prestigieux et de grands noms de la scène artistique nationale et internationale y est évidemment pour quelque chose dans ce changement d'attitude.


Malgré quelques pépins, comme la pénurie de logements, l'insuffisance des services de restauration et la grève des services de transport en commun, la plupart des journaux canadiens font bonne presse à Expo 67 au cours de ses six mois d'existence. Devant l'immense succès de cet événement marquant, ils avancent d'ailleurs des chiffres de plus en plus élevés quant au nombre total de visiteurs qui auront foulé la Terre des hommes. La Presse de Montréal invente même un néologisme fort approprié pour qualifier les visiteurs de l'Expo : les Expovores!


 


Manchettes de journaux

"C'est à travers l'Expo que le Canada est devenu adulte"
("In Expo Canada Came of Age")
The Globe and Mail

"On fait l'éloge du Festival mondial"
("In Praise of the World Festival")
The Winnipeg Free Press

"L'Expo arrive à sa fin - Mais le succès restera dans l'air"
("Expo Runs Out Of Time Sunday--But The Smell Of Success Will Linger On")
The Winnipeg Free Press

"L'Expo-une expérience éblouissante pour des étudiants d'Ottawa"
("Expo-an eye-popping visit for Ottawa students")
The Ottawa Citizen

"Expo 67"
The Calgary Herald

"Le triomphe d'Expo"
("Expo Triumph")
The Calgary Herald

"Des cérémonies colorées marquent la fin d'Expo 67"
("Colorful ceremonies bring Expo 67 to end")
The Leader-Post, Régina

"Expo 67 fut un succès plus grand qu'on l'avait imaginé"
("Expo 67 was a success beyond wildest dreams")
The Leader-Post, Régina

"Expo : une saison pour tous"
("Expo: a season for all men")
The Edmonton Journal

"Voici le plus gros défaut d'Expo"
("This is Expo's Great Flaw")
The Telegraph Journal, Saint John

"Sans chômer, les policiers ont eu la partie belle"
La Presse, Montréal

"L'Expo a révélé un peuple qui a d'immenses possibilités intellectuelles "
La Presse, Montréal

"L'Expo 67 a redonné confiance au Canada"
Le Soleil, Québec

"L'Expo permanente "
Le Soleil, Québec

"Le rideau se ferme
sur l'histoire d'amour
de Montréal
"
("Curtain falls on Montreal's love affair")
The Montreal Star

"À qui l'Expo? À lui? À elle? Non, l'Expo est à moi!"
("Whose? His? Hers? No, Expo Is Mine!")
The Montreal Star

"Adieu et Merci, Expo"
Journal de Montréal

"L'Expo aura été inutile si nous ne profitons pas de
ses leçons!
"
Journal de Montréal

 





Plan du site
Recherche
Liens
Réalisation





Souvenirs Jeux
en ligne
Visite
virtuelle
Matériel
pédagogique