Centennial - Expo 67 - Library and Archives Canada
 Library and Archive Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Français | Help     Canada  
 Home > Browse Selected Topics > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu
  Important Notices | Proactive Disclosure  

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

expo67: A Virtual Experience
   History    Pavilions    Activities    Special Guests    News Report    Legacy    Canada's Centennial
 

CANADA'S CENTENNIAL CELEBRATIONS

In 1967, Canada celebrated its centennial year. Activities were planned all across the country. A festive air swept across the nation, as people realized the historic importance of the celebrations taking place throughout the year. The Canada Festival, for example, offered a whole series of shows, promoting upcoming artists in music, dance and the theatre. Most activities were held, appropriately enough, in Ottawa, where a magnificent sound and light show projected onto the Parliament Buildings recounted events in Canada's history.

Some of the organizers were concerned that centennial festivities would be upstaged by the magnitude of Expo 67, and so the two events were linked. The official Expo 67 guide devoted several pages to the centennial. On July 1, Canada was given a full celebration at Expo where visitors to the Canada pavilion enjoyed a piece of an enormous birthday cake. The Confederation Train, which featured a number of exhibitions about Canada, ended its tour in Montreal, after travelling through all of the provinces. Expo 67 was also one of the stops for the RCMP's Musical Ride, and Queen Elizabeth II visited the site as part of centennial celebrations. During this memorable year, all roads led to Montreal.

See movie (RealPlayer)

 



   



Site Map
Research
Links
Credits





Souvenirs Online
Games
Virtual
Visit
Teaching
Material

Centenaire - Expo 67 - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archive Canada English | Aide     Canada  
 Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > Expo 67 - Flash > Menu
  Avis importants | Divulgation proactive  

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

expo67: une expérience virtuelle
   Historique    Pavillons    Activités    Invités d'honneur    Revue
de presse
   Héritage    Centenaire
du Canada
 

CÉLÉBRATIONS DU CENTENAIRE DU CANADA

En 1967, le Canada célèbre avec éclat le centenaire de sa Confédération. Aux quatre coins du pays, des activités vont bon train. Un air de fête s'empare de la population, consciente de vivre des moments historiques à travers des célébrations qui vont se dérouler tout au long de l'année. Le Festival du Canada, par exemple, présente une grande série de spectacles et encourage la relève artistique dans les domaines de la musique, de la danse et du théâtre. La plupart des activités ont cependant lieu, comme il se doit, à Ottawa. Un somptueux spectacle son et lumière ayant pour toile de fond les édifices du Parlement canadien et relatant des épisodes de l'histoire du pays y est présenté.

Certains organisateurs craignent toutefois que les fêtes du centenaire ne soient éclipsées par l'ampleur d'Expo 67. Il faut donc établir des liens entre les deux événements. Le guide officiel de l'exposition consacre donc plusieurs pages au centenaire. Le premier juillet, le Canada est fêté en grand à l'Expo, où un énorme gâteau d'anniversaire est distribué aux visiteurs du pavillon canadien. Le train de la Confédération, qui présente diverses expositions sur le Canada, termine son périple à Montréal après avoir traversé toutes les provinces. Expo 67 est aussi l'un des points d'arrêt du Carrousel de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. La reine Élisabeth II y fait une visite dans le cadre des festivités du centenaire. En cette année mémorable, tous les chemins mènent à Montréal.

Voir un film (RealPlayer)

 




 



Plan du site
Recherche
Liens
Réalisation





Souvenirs Jeux
en ligne
Visite
virtuelle
Matériel
pédagogique