Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes

Activism

Intro

October 18, 1999 marked the 70th anniversary of the "Persons Case", a very significant affair in the history of women's rights in Canada. In 1927, the "Famous Five", Irene Parlby, Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Henrietta Muir Edwards and Louise Crummy McKinney, petitioned for a Supreme Court of Canada interpretation on whether the term "qualified persons" in section 24 of the British North America Act, 1867, included women as persons eligible for appointment to the Senate. After the Court ruled that the term did not include female persons, the petitioners requested that an appeal be sent to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in England. On October 18, 1929, the Committee overturned the decision of the Supreme Court and ruled that "qualified persons" in section 24 did include women and that women were "eligible to be summoned to and become members of the Senate of Canada" (Dominion Law Reports [1930] 1 DLR).

In honour of this anniversary, Library and Archives Canada has prepared biographies of the "Famous Five", together with other women activists who have worked to improve various aspects of the lives of all Canadian women: working conditions, health care, child care, marital rights, political rights and representation, educational and professional opportunities, etc. As politicians, journalists, doctors, union organizers, founders and members of numerous women's and other social organizations, these women have followed diverse paths. However, they share, throughout their long and active lives, a dedication to achieving equality and justice and a commitment to helping others, be they women, men or children, both inside and outside Canada.

In October 2009, to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the "Persons Case," the Senate of Canada posthumously designated Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Irene Parlby, Louise Crummy McKinney and Henrietta Muir Edwards as Honorary Senators.

Biographies

Journalist, women's rights activist
Medical director of the first birth control clinic in Canada
Broadcaster, journalist, senator
Journalist, social activist
Politician, women's rights activist
Social and community activist
Journalist, women's rights activist
Teacher, unionist
Pioneer Quebec Feminist
Native women's rights activist
Social activist, radio host
Environmental Activist
Suffragist, politician
Politician, women's rights activist
Feminist, Journalist, Activist
Social activist, author
Union activist, reformer
Politician, farm women's leader
Union organizer, social activist
Inuit leader, Activist, 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Nominee

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes

Militantisme

Intro

Le 18 octobre 1999 marque le 70e anniversaire de l'affaire « personne », une cause très importante dans l'histoire des droits des femmes au Canada. En 1927, les « Célèbres cinq », Irene Parlby, Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Henrietta Muir Edwards et Louise McKinney, ont demandé à la Cour suprême du Canada d'interpréter le sens du mot « personne » de l'article 24 de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique de 1867 afin de savoir si les femmes étaient reconnues en tant que personnes pouvant être nommées au Sénat. À la suite du jugement de la Cour établissant que le terme « personne » n'incluait pas les femmes, les requérantes ont demandé que l'on fasse parvenir un appel au Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé d'Angleterre. Le 18 octobre 1929, le Comité judiciaire a renversé la décision de la Cour suprême pour statuer que le terme « personne » de l'article 24 incluait les femmes et qu'elles étaient « admissibles à être appelées par le Sénat canadien et à en devenir membre ». (Dominion Law Reports [1930] 1 DLR).

En l'honneur de cet anniversaire, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a préparé des biographies des « Célèbres cinq », en même temps que d'autres femmes militantes qui ont oeuvré à l'amélioration de divers aspects de la vie des femmes canadiennes tels que les conditions de travail, les soins de santé, la garde des enfants, les droits matrimoniaux, les droits politiques et la représentation, le droit à l'éducation et à l'accès aux professions et ainsi de suite. En tant que politiciennes, journalistes, médecins, organisatrices syndicales, fondatrices et membres de nombreuses organisations pour femmes et d'organismes sociaux, ces femmes ont suivi diverses voies. Par contre, elles ont toutes fait preuve, au cours de leur longue vie active, de détermination dans la poursuite de leur objectif d'égalité et de justice et d'un engagement à aider les autres, qu'il s'agisse de femmes, d'hommes ou d'enfants, au Canada et ailleurs.

En octobre 2009, pour commémorer le 80e anniversaire de l'affaire « personne », le Sénat du Canada a nommé à titre posthume Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Irene Parlby, Louise Crummy McKinney et Henrietta Muir Edwards, sénatrices honoraires.

Biographies

Journaliste, militante pour les droits de la femme
Directrice médicale de la première clinique de contrôle des naissances au Canada
Communicatrice, journaliste, sénatrice
Journaliste, militante sociale
Politicienne, militante sociale
Militante sociale et communautaire
Réformatrice et militante féministe
Enseignante, syndicaliste
Militante pour les droits des femmes autochtones
Militante, animatrice à la radio
Activiste écologique
Suffragette, politicienne
Politicienne, militante sociale
Féministe, journaliste, activiste
Militante, auteure
Syndicaliste, réformatrice
Pionnière du féminisme au Québec
Politicienne, leader des fermières
Organisatrice syndicale, militante
Chef inuite, activiste, candidate au prix Nobel de la paix pour 2007

Droits d'auteur/Sources