Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes - Activism

Léa Roback

Photograph of Léa Roback

(1903-2000)

Union organizer, social activist

Source


Outspoken and spirited, Léa Roback spent her life dedicated to social action. Roback attributed this lifelong commitment to her family's strongly-held belief that in the face of injustice, one must act. Roback was born in Montreal in 1903, the second of nine children of Jewish immigrants from Poland. Roback spent her childhood in Beauport (just outside Quebec City), where her parents ran a general store. An independent thinker from an early age, Roback remembers rejecting the conventional aspirations of girls of the time. Instead, she dreamed of travel and studies.

In her 20s, Roback lived in New York, France, and in Germany (where her brother was studying medicine). She worked to support herself while studying literature, history and art. It was in Berlin that Roback had her first contact with the Communist Party and participated in the Party's efforts against the rising tide of Nazism. Roback returned to Montreal in 1932 and began her lifelong career of social action and grass-roots militancy again joining the Communist Party. She organized a Marxist study group and in 1935, managed the first Marxist bookstore in Montreal, where she dealt with constant harassment from the police. Also in 1935, Roback coordinated the first election campaign of Fred Rose who would become, in 1943, the first Communist member in the House of Commons. In 1936, Roback joined with Thérèse Casgrain in the fight for woman's suffrage in Quebec.

Roback began her long association with the labour movement in 1936, when she was hired by the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union. Roback was appalled by the working conditions in the garment industry where piece work, a 60-hour workweek, and pitiful wages were the norm for the unskilled workers, the large majority of whom were women. In 1937, Roback helped organize a strike of 5 000 workers in the garment industry, one of the first union struggles for women in Quebec. In 1941, Roback took an assembly-line job at a RCA Victor munitions plant and, in 1943, helped in securing the first union contract for the over 4 000 workers, nearly half of whom were women. Madeleine Parent, a prominent Quebec labour organizer, said that Léa Roback, more than anyone else, influenced the choice of her life's work. During these years of union activism, Roback also worked tirelessly in the community to improve living conditions for families and women.

In the early 60s, when Thérèse Casgrain founded the Quebec branch of the Voice of Women, a movement dedicated to world peace, Roback became a member. Over the following four decades, Roback continued to campaign actively for women's causes and social justice. In the 1991 documentary about her by Sophie Bissonnette, Des Lumières dans la Grande Noirceur (A Vision in the Darkness), she said, "there is nothing that I like better than to be standing on a street corner, passing out leaflets, because it is how you come to understand what people are about."

In 1985, Roback was made an honorary member of the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, in recognition of her contribution to the struggles for workers' rights, women's rights, human rights, and for peace. In 1993, on the occasion of her 90th birthday, Roback's friends established the Léa Roback Foundation "to promote education as a means of personal and collective fulfillment and emancipation, as well as to promote universal access to education for all, especially women."

Resources

Anonsen, Frances. — "Léa Roback, plus de cinquante ans de militantisme". — Canadian woman studies = Les cahiers de la femme. — Vol. 7, no. 3 (Autumn 1986). — P. 105

Bénesty-Sroka, Ghila. — "Entrevue avec Léa Roback : une femme engagée". — Canadian woman studies = Les cahiers de la femme. — Vol. 16, no. 4 (Autumn 1996). — P. 81-85

Leboeuf, Lucie. — "Léa Roback ou comment l'organisation syndicale est indissociable de la vie de quartier". — Dossiers "Vie ouvrière". — Vol. 28, no. 128 (October 1978). — P. 461-470

Des lumières dans la grande noirceur [video]. — Réalisation, Sophie Bissonnette. — Montréal : Productions Contre-Jour, 1992, p. 1991. — 1 videocassette, 90 min., ½ in. — Colour. — Title in English: A vision of darkness

Parent, Madeleine ; Roback, Léa ; Lacelle, Nicole. — Entretiens avec Nicole Lacelle. — Montréal : Éditions du remue-ménage, 1988. — P. 115-181

Pedneault, Hélène. — "Entrevue avec Léa Roback : propos d'une bataillleuse". — La vie en rose. — No. 10 (March 1983). — P. 50-52

Weisbord, Merrily. — The strangest dream : Canadian communists, the spy trials, and the Cold War. — 2nd ed. — Montreal : Véhicule, 1994. — 269 p. — Also published in French under the title: Le rêve d'une génération : les communistes canadiens, les procès d'espionage et la guerre froide. — Montréal : VLB, 1988. — 398 p.

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes - Militantisme

Léa Roback

Photo de Léa Roback

(1903-2000)

Organisatrice syndicale, militante

Source


Léa Roback est une personne directe et pleine d'entrain qui a consacré sa vie au militantisme. Elle attribue cet engagement de toute une vie à la conviction profonde, héritée de sa famille, que face à l'injustice, on se doit d'agir. Née à Montréal en 1903, Léa Roback est la deuxième d'une famille d'immigrants juifs polonais comprenant neuf enfants. Elle a passé son enfance à Beauport (près de Québec), au magasin général que possédaient ses parents. D'un esprit indépendant depuis son tout jeune âge, Mme Roback se souvient avoir rejeté les aspirations traditionnelles des filles de son âge. Elle rêvait plutôt de voyages et d'études.

Alors qu’elle était dans la vingtaine, Mme Roback a habité à New York, en France et en Allemagne. Elle a vécu en Allemagne à la même époque où son frère y étudiait la médecine. Elle a travaillé pour subvenir à ses propres besoins tout en étudiant la littérature, l'histoire et l'art. C'est à Berlin qu'elle a été, pour la première fois, en contact avec le Parti communiste. Elle a participé aux efforts du Parti pour contrer la vague déferlante du nazisme. En 1932, elle retourne à Montréal pour débuter une longue carrière de militantisme en se joignant à nouveau au Parti communiste. Elle y organise un groupe d'études marxiste et, en 1935, elle tient la première librairie marxiste de Montréal où elle doit subir le harcèlement constant de la police. En 1935, Mme Roback coordonne également la première campagne électorale de Fred Rose, qui deviendra en 1943 le premier député communiste de la Chambre des communes. Un an plus tard, elle se joint à Thérèse Casgrain dans la lutte pour l'obtention du droit de vote des femmes au Québec.

Léa Roback a amorcé sa longue association avec le mouvement ouvrier en 1936 lorsqu'elle a été embauchée par l'Union internationale des ouvriers du vêtement pour dames. Elle était consternée par les conditions de travail dans l'industrie du vêtement où le travail à la pièce, la semaine de 60 heures ainsi que les maigres salaires étaient la norme pour les ouvriers, dont la grande majorité étaient des femmes. En 1937, elle a participé à l'organisation de la grève de 5 000 ouvriers de l'industrie du vêtement qui a été, au Québec, une des premières batailles syndicales pour l'amélioration des conditions de travail des femmes. En 1941, Léa Roback a occupé un emploi sur une chaîne de montage d'une usine de fabrication de munitions appartenant à RCA Victor et, en 1943, elle a participé à l'obtention, pour plus de 4 000 travailleurs, dont la moitié étaient des femmes, du premier contrat syndical. Madeleine Parent, une organisatrice syndicale bien en vue, a dit que Léa Roback plus que quiconque avait influencé son choix de carrière. Pendant ces années de militantisme syndical, Mme Roback a aussi travaillé avec acharnement au sein de sa communauté à l'amélioration des conditions de vie des familles et des femmes.

Au début des années 1960, lorsque Thérèse Casgrain a fondé la filiale québécoise de la Voix des femmes, un mouvement consacré à la paix mondiale, Mme Roback en est devenue membre. Durant les quatre décennies suivantes, elle a continué à participer activement aux causes concernant les femmes et la justice sociale. Dans un documentaire à propos d’elle, préparé par Sophie Bissonnette en 1991, et qui s'intitule Des Lumières dans la grande Noirceur (A Vision in the Darkness), Léa Roback dit : «Il n'y a rien que j'aime plus que de me poster au coin d'une rue pour distribuer des tracts, parce que c'est comme ça qu'on arrive à comprendre les gens».

En 1985, Mme Roback est devenue membre honoraire de l'Institut canadien de recherche sur les femmes en remerciement des combats qu'elle a menés pour les droits des travailleurs, les droits des femmes, les droits de la personne et pour la paix. En 1993, à l'occasion de son 90e anniversaire, ses amis ont créé la fondation Léa Roback «pour promouvoir l'éducation comme moyen de réalisation et d'émancipation personnelle et collective, ainsi que pour promouvoir l'accès à l'éducation pour tous et en particulier pour les femmes».

Ressources

Anonsen, Frances. — "Léa Roback, plus de cinquante ans de militantisme". — Canadian woman studies = Les cahiers de la femme. — Vol. 7, no. 3 (automne 1986). — P. 105

Bénesty-Sroka, Ghila. — "Entrevue avec Léa Roback : une femme engagée". — Canadian woman studies = Les cahiers de la femme. — Vol. 16, no. 4 (automne 1996). — P. 81-85

Leboeuf, Lucie. — "Léa Roback ou comment l'organisation syndicale est indissociable de la vie de quartier". — Dossiers "Vie ouvrière". — Vol. 28, no. 128 (octobre 1978). — P. 461-470

Des lumières dans la grande noirceur [video] . — Réalisation, Sophie Bissonnette. — Montréal : Productions Contre-Jour, 1992, p. 1991. — 1 vidéocassette, 90 min., ½ pon. — Col. — Titre en anglais: A vision of darkness

Parent, Madeleine ; Roback, Léa ; Lacelle, Nicole. — Entretiens avec Nicole Lacelle. — Montréal : Éditions du remue-ménage, 1988. — P. 115-181

Pedneault, Hélène. — "Entrevue avec Léa Roback : propos d'une bataillleuse". — La vie en rose. — No. 10 (mars 1983). — P. 50-52

Weisbord, Merrily. — Le rêve d’une génération : les communistes canadiens, les procès d’espionage et la guerre froide. — Montréal : VLB, 1988. — 398 p. — Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre: The strangest dream : Canadian communists, the spy trials, and the Cold War. — 2nd ed. — Montreal : Véhicule, 1994. — 269 p.

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources