Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes

Paraskeva Clark

Painting, MYSELF, by Paraskeva Clark

(1898-1986)
Painter

Myself, a self-portrait by Paraskeva Clark
Source

Painting, PETROUSHKA, by Paraskeva Clark

Petroushka
Painting
1937

Petroushka, by Paraskeva Clark, 1937
Source


Paraskeva Clark holds a unique place in the history of Canadian art. Considered one of the most accomplished Canadian painters of the 1930s and 1940s, she was one of few Canadian artists of the time who used her art to convey her passionate political convictions.

Paraskeva often proclaimed, proudly, that she was of Russian peasant stock. She was born Paraskeva Plistik, in 1898, in St. Petersburg, Russia. Her father, Avdey Plistik, worked in a factory and later owned a grocery store. He instilled in his daughter a love of books and learning. Her mother, Olga Fedorevna Plistik, was an expert in the old Russian folk art of artificial flower making, which supplemented the family's income. The money enabled Paraskeva to attend a secondary school and be educated beyond the basic primary training available to children of the Russian working class.

As a young girl, Paraskeva had her heart set on becoming an actress, but her father convinced her that there was no financial security in a stage career. After graduation in 1914, Paraskeva obtained a clerical job in a shoe factory; she took evening art classes at the Petrograd Academy of Fine Arts, hoping to eventually find employment in the commercial art world. By 1916, she had enrolled in private classes with the landscape painter, Savely Seidenberg.

After the Revolution of 1917, the Academy became the Free Studios, open to all persons interested in art. There was no tuition and students were paid a stipend to attend. Taking advantage of these developments, Paraskeva left her office job to join the Free Studios full time, working first under Vasily Shukhayev, who taught illustration. In 1920, she transferred to the group working with Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin, a follower of Cézanne. This teacher had a strong influence on her, and his techniques and theories about the humanist purpose of art would influence her work in the years to come.

By 1920, Russia was in the midst of an economic crisis and Paraskeva and her family, like other Russians, faced a daily struggle for survival. Paraskeva's fortune turned in 1922, when she was hired to paint sets for the Maly Theatre. There, she met Oreste Allegri Jr., a young scene painter whose father was in charge of set decoration. They were soon married and in March 1923, a son, Benedict, was born. The Allegri family made plans to move permanently to Paris. Almost on the eve of their departure, however, Oreste drowned and Parakseva, at age twenty-five, found herself a widow with a baby to raise.

In the fall of 1923, she moved with her young son to Paris, to join her in-laws who were living there. She cooked and cleaned for the family in return for wages, in order to maintain a measure of independence. For the next six years, Paraskeva had little time to devote to her art, for she was busy maintaining the Allegri household, learning English and raising her son. In 1929, when Ben was six years old, she sent him to boarding school during the week and took a job selling art glass in an interior design shop. It was there that she met her future husband, Philip Clark, a Canadian accountant. The two were married in June 1931 in London, England, and shortly after, Paraskeva immigrated to Canada with her new husband and settled in Toronto.

Philip Clark was well connected in the Toronto art community and Paraskeva soon met some of the major figures on the Canadian painting scene, including Lawren Harris, Bertram Brooker and A. Y. Jackson. Through them, she became acquainted with Elizabeth Wyn Wood and Emmanuel Hahn, Francis Loring and Florence Wyle, and Charles and Louise Comfort. Encouraged to take up painting again, Paraskeva took part in the first exhibition of her career in November 1932, when she contributed a small self-portrait to the annual exhibition of the Royal Canadian Academy at the Art Gallery of Toronto.

In the early months of 1933, while pregnant with her second child, Paraskeva Clark painted what is considered her masterpiece: the self-portrait entitled Myself. This dramatic painting is of a woman, elegantly dressed in black, with her arms folded across her waist and an air of supreme confidence. While Paraskeva is a petite woman, the woman in the painting is tall and imposing. Paraskeva stylized her strong facial features and, in the manner of her former teacher, Petrov-Vodkin, used the doorway in the background as a framing device. The dark, minimal colours in the painting draw the viewer's eye to the lighter tones of the skin and the noble bearing of the face.

Paraskeva Clark's second son, Clive, was born in June 1933 and the Clark family spent the summer at their cottage in Muskoka, where Paraskeva painted some landscapes. In November of that year, she was invited to participate in the first Canadian exhibition by the newly formed Canadian Group of Painters, held at the Art Gallery of Toronto. These eminent Canadian painters recognized Paraskeva's talent as an artist. She was welcomed into this important society, which had evolved from the Group of Seven and which would dominate the English Canadian art scene in the 1930s. Paraskeva was elected to full membership in the Canadian Group of Painters in 1936 and continued to exhibit with them until the 1960s.

Paraskeva Clark never took formal art instruction in Canada, yet her work continued to develop because she began a self-teaching process, guided by what she had learned from Petrov-Vodkin in Russia. Throughout the 1930s, she continued to paint both in oil and water colour, producing landscapes, still lifes and portraits. She received favourable attention from the press and from her peers.

The end of the 1930s marked the most significant period of Paraskeva Clark's career. Her work took on a new direction as she became increasingly involved in the political issues of the day. The Depression and the Spanish Civil War were forcing artists to re-examine their function in modern society. Clark developed a friendship with Dr. Norman Bethune, and became involved with the Committee to Aid Spanish Democracy. In an article entitled "Come Out From Behind the Pre-Cambrian Shield," published in the new leftist periodical New Frontier in 1937, she made her views on the role of the artist known:

Who is the artist? Is he not a human being like ourselves, with the added gifts of finer understanding and perception of the realities of life, and the ability to arouse emotions through the creation of forms and images? Surely. And this being so, those who give their lives, their knowledge and their time to social struggle have the right to expect great help from the artist. And I cannot imagine a more inspiring role than that which the artist is asked to play for the defence and advancement of civilization.

(New Frontier, Vol. 1, no. 12 (April 1937), p. 16)

Paraskeva Clark was as good as her word. She was virtually the only artist in Canada to combine her political with her artistic activities. In the late 1930s, she painted a number of works with political themes. Of these, Petroushka is her most famous and her most explicitly political. It was painted in 1937, in response to the killing of five striking steelworkers by Chicago police during the Republic Steel Corporation strike. Paraskeva reinforced her intent by attaching, to the back of the canvas, a newspaper clipping reporting the incident. The painting depicts a puppet show on a city street; a puppet policeman, encouraged by a top-hatted businessman waving bags of money, beats a fallen worker. The crowd in the foreground looks on with a mixture of amusement, despair and anger on their faces. One man in the crowd raises his clenched fist in a sign of defiance and worker's solidarity. The angular arrangement of the apartment buildings in the background heightens the atmosphere of oppression and resistance in the painting.

With the outbreak of the Second World War, in 1939, Paraskeva Clark became increasingly concerned about her Russian homeland. She worked, through her art and through charitable organizations, to support the Russians against the Nazi threat. During this period, she was appointed by the National Gallery of Canada to paint the Women's Division of the Armed Forces. She also was offered a full-time commission as an official war artist, but was unable to accept due to increasingly pressing family obligations. In 1943, her oldest son, Ben, suffered a nervous breakdown, eventually diagnosed as schizophrenia. Paraskeva's artistic career was put on hold. While she resumed painting a year later, her family responsibilities restricted her time for painting and her ability to travel in the years to come. While she resented this, she could see no alternative. Towards the end of her career, Paraskeva reflected on this essential dilemma of her artistic life:

It's a hell of a thing to be a painter. I would like to stop every woman from painting, for only men can truly succeed. The majority of women who have really succeeded have not married or had children, but I don't envy them. I believe that women, by their very nature, by their mental and emotional makeup are so absorbed by their natural duties and responsibilities that they cannot truly gather that great volume of creative effort needed for truly great works of art. But I cannot complain, I have had a very good career, considering a great deal of my time has been spent on being a wife and a mother.

(Cameron, Eclectic Eve, p. 9)

Indeed, she had a "very good career." Between 1951 and 1956, she held four large one-woman shows at the New Laing Gallery (1951); Victoria College, University of Toronto (1952); MacDonald College, McGill University (1956) and at Hart House, University of Toronto (1956). From these shows, she received favourable tributes in the press — one reviewer called her the leading Canadian woman painter since Emily Carr (Robertson, "CJBC views the show," in MacLachlan, Paraskeva Clark : Paintings and Drawings, p. 41). In 1954, she was elected to the Ontario Society of Artists. She became an Associate of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1956, becoming a full member in 1966.

In 1974, Paraskeva shared an exhibition with her son, Ben, at the Arts and Letters Club in Toronto. From this show, the National Gallery of Canada purchased Myself. The painting was featured in the gallery's 1975 exhibition "Canadian Painting in the Thirties" and graced the cover of the exhibition catalogue, thus recognizing Paraskeva Clark's place in the history of Canadian art. In 1976, the Gallery purchased her most cherished painting, Petroushka. In 1982, the Dalhousie Art Gallery in Halifax gave an exhibition of her paintings and drawings. Paraskeva Clark died in Toronto, in 1986, at the age of eighty-eight.

Vibrant, outspoken and controversial, Paraskeva Clark used her art to respond to the Canadian environment, reflect her personal and creative development and express her passionate views on social issues. For this, she holds a singular place in the history of Canadian art.

Resources

Bell, Andrew. — "The art of Paraskeva Clark". — Canadian art. — Vol. 7, no. 2 (Christmas 1949). — P. 42-46

Cameron, Janice et al. — Eclectic Eve. — [S.l. : s.n., 1974]. — P. 7-9

Clark, Paraskeva. — "Come out from behind the Pre-Cambrian shield". — New frontier. — Vol. 1, no. 12 (April 1937). — P. 16-17

____. — "Canadian artists : thoughts on Canadian painting". — World affairs. — Vol. 8, no. 6 (February 1943). — P. 17-18

____. — "The Artist speaks : a statement by Paraskeva Clark". — Canadian review of music and art. — Vol. 3, nos. 9 & 10 (1944). — P. 18-19

Freedman, Adele. — "In the shadow of the '30s : the winter of Paraskeva Clark". — Toronto life. — (February 1979). — P. 127-129

Hill, Charles C. — Canadian painting in the thirties. — Ottawa : National Gallery of Canada, 1975. — 223 p. — Also published in French, entitled Peinture canadienne des années trente

MacLachlan, Mary E. — Paraskeva Clark : paintings and drawings. — Halifax, N.S. : Dalhousie Art Gallery, Dalhousie University, 1982. — 80 p. — Also published in French, entitled Paraskeva Clark : peintures et dessins

McInnes, G. Campbell. — "Contemporary Canadian artists : Paraskeva Clark". — Canadian forum. — Vol. 17, no. 199 (August 1937). — P. 166-167

O'Rourke, Kathryn. — Labours and love : issues of domesticity and marginalization in the works of Paraskeva Clark. — 128 p. — M.A. thesis, Concordia University, 1995

Portrait of the artist - as an old lady [video recording]. — Produced by Margaret Pettigrew (et al.). — [Montreal] : National Film Board of Canada, 1982. — 1 cassette, 27 min. : sd., col.

Sabbath, Lawrence. — "Paraskeva Clark". — Canadian art. — Vol. 17, no. 5 (September 1960). — P. 291-293

Tippett, Maria. — By a Lady : celebrating three centuries of art by Canadian women. — Toronto : Viking, 1992. — 226 p.

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes - Beaux-arts

Paraskeva Clark

Tableau de Paraskeva Clark intitulé MYSELF

(1898-1986)
Peintre

Myself, auto-portrait de Paraskeva Clark
Source

Tableau de Paraskeva Clark intitulé PETROUSHKA

Petroushka
Tableau
1937

Petroushka de Paraskeva Clark, 1937
Source


Paraskeva Clark tient une place unique dans l'histoire de l'art canadien. Considérée comme l'une des peintres canadiennes les plus accomplies des années 1930 et 1940, elle se révèle l'une des rares artistes canadiennes de l'époque à utiliser son art pour transmettre ses convictions politiques passionnées.

Paraskeva a souvent proclamé fièrement qu'elle était d'origine paysanne russe. Elle est née en 1898 à Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie, sous le nom de Paraskeva Plistik. Son père, Avdey Plistik, travaille alors dans une usine et devient plus tard propriétaire d'une épicerie. Il instille à sa fille l'amour des livres et de l'étude. Sa mère, Olga Fedorevna Plistik, est une experte dans l'ancien art folklorique russe de fabrication de fleurs artificielles; son travail permet d'arrondir le revenu familial. L'argent ainsi gagné permet à Paraskeva de fréquenter une école secondaire et d'y recevoir une éducation supérieure à la formation primaire de base accessible aux enfants de la classe ouvrière russe.

Jeune fille, Paraskeva veut de tout cœur devenir actrice, mais son père la convainc qu'il n'y a aucune sécurité financière dans une carrière de scène. Après l'obtention de son diplôme en 1914, Paraskeva se trouve un emploi de bureau dans une usine de chaussures; elle suit des cours du soir en art à l'Académie des beaux-arts de Petrograd, espérant trouver, par la suite, un emploi dans le commerce de l'art. En 1916, elle s'inscrit aux cours privés du peintre paysagiste Savely Seidenberg.

Après la révolution de 1917, l'Académie devient les Free Studios, ouverts à toutes les personnes intéressées par l'art. Il n'y a aucuns frais de scolarité et les étudiants reçoivent une allocation pour assister aux cours. Tirant profit de ces améliorations, Paraskeva quitte son travail de bureau et s'inscrit aux Free Studios à plein temps. Elle travaille d'abord avec Vasily Shukhayev, qui enseigne l'illustration. En 1920, elle passe dans le groupe travaillant avec Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin, un élève de Cézanne. Ce professeur a une grande influence sur elle; ses techniques et ses théories sur la vocation humaniste de l'art influencera son travail dans les années qui suivront.

En 1920, la Russie est en pleine crise économique; Paraskeva et sa famille, comme d'autres Russes, doivent se battre quotidiennement pour survivre. La fortune de Paraskeva tourne en 1922, quand elle est choisie pour peindre des décors pour le théâtre de Maly. Là, elle rencontre Oreste Allegri fils, jeune peintre de scène dont le père est responsable des décors. Ils se marient peu de temps après et, en mars 1923, elle donne naissance à un fils, Benedict. La famille Allegri forme le projet de s'établir définitivement à Paris. Pourtant, presque à la veille de leur départ, Oreste se noie et Parakseva se retrouve veuve, à l'âge de vingt-cinq ans, avec un bébé à élever.

À l'automne 1923, elle s'installe avec son jeune fils à Paris, où elle rejoint ses beaux-parents qui y vivaient. Elle fait la cuisine et le ménage pour la famille en échange d'un salaire, afin de garder une certaine indépendance. Pendant les six années suivantes, Paraskeva a peu de temps à consacrer à son art; elle s'occupe à tenir la maison des Allegri, étudie l'anglais et élève son fils. En 1929, quand Ben a six ans, elle l'envoie à l'internat pendant la semaine et travaille comme vendeuse de verrerie d'art dans un magasin de décoration intérieure. C'est là qu'elle rencontre son futur mari, Philip Clark, comptable canadien. Ils se marient en juin 1931 à Londres, en Angleterre, et peu de temps après Paraskeva émigre au Canada avec son nouveau mari. Ils s'établissent à Toronto.

Philip Clark a de bonnes relations dans la communauté artistique de Toronto. Paraskeva rencontre bientôt quelques-unes des principales figures du monde canadien de la peinture, y compris Lawren Harris, Bertram Brooker et A.Y. Jackson. Par eux, elle fait la connaissance d'Elizabeth Wyn Wood et d'Emmanuel Hahn, de Francis Loring et de Florence Wyle ainsi que de Charles et de Louise Comfort. Encouragée à reprendre la peinture, Paraskeva participe à la première exposition de sa carrière en novembre 1932, en exposant un petit autoportrait à l'exposition annuelle de l'Académie royale (des arts) du Canada à l'Art Gallery of Toronto.

Au cours des premiers mois de 1933, alors qu'elle est enceinte de son deuxième enfant, Paraskeva Clark peint ce qui est considéré comme son chef-d'œuvre : son autoportrait intitulé Myself. Cette peinture spectaculaire représente une femme, élégamment vêtue de noir, les bras croisés à la taille et arborant un air de confiance suprême. Alors que Paraskeva est une femme de petite taille, la femme de la peinture est grande et imposante. Paraskeva a stylisé les traits prononcés de son visage et, à la manière de son ancien professeur Petrov-Vodkin, a utilisé la porte en arrière-plan comme encadrement. Les couleurs sombres et minimales dans la peinture attirent le regard vers les tons plus clairs de la peau et le noble maintien du visage.

Le second fils de Paraskeva Clark, Clive, naît en juin 1933 et la famille Clark passe l'été dans son chalet de Muskoka, où Paraskeva peint quelques paysages. En novembre de cette année-là, on l'invite à participer à la première exposition canadienne tenue à l'Art Gallery of Toronto par le Groupe des peintres canadiens nouvellement formé. Ces peintres canadiens éminents reconnaissent le talent d'artiste de Paraskeva. On l'accueille dans cette société importante, issue du Groupe des sept, qui allait dominer la scène artistique anglo-canadienne durant les années 1930. Paraskeva est élue membre à part entière du Groupe des peintres canadiens en 1936 et continue à exposer avec eux jusqu'aux années 1960.

Paraskeva Clark n'a jamais fait d'études artistiques au Canada et pourtant son art a continué de se développer parce qu'elle a entrepris de suivre un processus d'auto-formation, guidée par ce qu'elle avait appris de Petrov-Vodkin en Russie. Tout au long des années 1930, elle continue à peindre des huiles et des aquarelles, faisant des paysages, des natures mortes et des portraits. Elle attire favorablement l'attention de la presse et de ses pairs.

La fin des années 1930 marque la période la plus significative de la carrière de Paraskeva Clark. Son travail prend une nouvelle direction alors qu'elle s'engage de plus en plus dans les questions politiques du moment. La dépression et la guerre civile espagnole forcent les artistes à réexaminer leur rôle dans la société moderne. Clark se lie d'amitié avec le Dr Norman Bethune et participe au Comité d'aide à la démocratie espagnole. Dans un article intitulé « Come Out From Behind the Pre-Cambrian Shield », publié dans le nouveau périodique de gauche New Frontier en 1937, elle fait connaître ses vues sur le rôle de l'artiste connu :

Who is the artist? Is he not a human being like ourselves, with the added gifts of finer understanding and perception of the realities of life, and the ability to arouse emotions through the creation of forms and images? Surely. And this being so, those who give their lives, their knowledge and their time to social struggle have the right to expect great help from the artist. And I cannot imagine a more inspiring role than that which the artist is asked to play for the defence and advancement of civilization.

[Traduction libre : Qui est l'artiste? N'est-il pas un être humain comme nous-mêmes, avec les dons additionnels d'une compréhension et d'une perception plus fines des réalités de la vie et la capacité de pouvoir réveiller des émotions par la création de formes et d'images? Sûrement. Et puisqu'il en est ainsi, ceux qui donnent leur vie, leurs connaissances et leur temps à la lutte sociale ont le droit de s'attendre à une grande aide de la part de l'artiste. Et je ne puis pas imaginer un rôle plus inspirant que celui que l'artiste est invité à jouer pour la défense et le progrès de la civilisation.]

(New Frontier, vol. 1, no 12 (avril 1937), p. 16)

Paraskeva Clark met en pratique ce qu'elle a écrit. Elle est presque la seule artiste au Canada à combiner la politique et ses activités artistiques. Vers la fin des années 1930, elle peint un certain nombre de tableaux à thèmes politiques. Parmi eux, Petroushka est le plus célèbre et le plus explicitement politique. Elle l'a peint en 1937, en réaction à la mort de cinq travailleurs grévistes de l'industrie sidérurgique tués par la police de Chicago pendant la grève de la Republic Steel Corporation. Paraskeva renforce son propos en attachant au dos de la toile une coupure de presse rapportant l'incident. Le tableau dépeint un spectacle de marionnettes dans une rue de ville; une marionnette policier, encouragée par un homme d'affaires à chapeau haut de forme agitant des sacs d'argent, bat un ouvrier tombé par terre. La foule au premier plan regarde la scène, un mélange d'amusement, de désespoir et de colère apparaissant sur les visages. Un homme dans la foule lève son poing serré en signe de défi et de solidarité avec l'ouvrier. L'angle de vue des immeubles dans le fond intensifie l'atmosphère d'oppression et de résistance dans la peinture.

Avec la déclaration de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en 1939, Paraskeva Clark devient de plus en plus inquiète au sujet de sa patrie russe. Elle travaille, à travers son art et par des organismes de charité, à soutenir les Russes contre la menace nazie. Durant cette période, la Galerie nationale du Canada [maintenant le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada] lui demande de peindre la Division des femmes des Forces armées. On lui offre également une commission à plein temps comme peintre de guerre officiel, mais elle n'accepte pas en raison d'engagements familiaux de plus en plus pressants. En 1943, son fils aîné Ben souffre d'une dépression nerveuse, diagnostiquée par la suite comme de la schizophrénie. La carrière artistique de Paraskeva est alors mise en suspens. Elle reprend la peinture un an après, mais ses responsabilités familiales limitent le temps qu'elle peut consacrer à la peinture et à ses voyages pour les années à venir. Bien qu'elle en souffre, elle ne peut trouver d'autre solution. Vers la fin de sa carrière, Paraskeva réfléchit sur ce dilemme essentiel de sa vie d'artiste :

It's a hell of a thing to be a painter. I would like to stop every woman from painting, for only men can truly succeed. The majority of women who have really succeeded have not married or had children, but I don't envy them. I believe that women, by their very nature, by their mental and emotional makeup are so absorbed by their natural duties and responsibilities that they cannot truly gather that great volume of creative effort needed for truly great works of art. But I cannot complain, I have had a very good career, considering a great deal of my time has been spent on being a wife and a mother.

[Traduction libre : C'est un enfer d'être peintre. Je voudrais empêcher chaque femme de peindre, parce que seuls les hommes peuvent vraiment réussir. La majorité des femmes qui ont vraiment réussi ne se sont pas mariées ou n'ont pas eu d'enfants, mais je ne les envie pas. Je crois que les femmes, par leur nature même, par leur structure mentale et émotive sont tellement absorbées par leurs fonctions et leurs responsabilités habituelles qu'elles ne peuvent pas vraiment rassembler ce grand volume de force créatrice requis qu'exigent les véritables chefs-d'œuvre. Mais je ne puis pas me plaindre, j'ai eu une très bonne carrière, si l'on considère qu'une grande partie de mon temps a été consacrée à mon rôle d'épouse et de mère.]

(Cameron, Eclectic Eve, p. 9)

En effet, elle a eu « une très bonne carrière ». Entre 1951 et 1956, elle expose seule à quatre grandes expositions : à la New Laing Gallery (1951), au Victoria College de l'University of Toronto (1952), au MacDonald College de l'Université McGill (1956) et à la Hart House de l'University of Toronto (1956). De ces expositions, elle reçoit des échos favorables dans la presse  — un critique l'a appelée la principale femme peintre canadienne depuis Emily Carr (Robertson, « CJBC views the show » dans MacLachlan, Paraskeva Clark: Paintings and Drawings, p. 41). En 1954, elle est élue à l'Ontario Society of Artists. Elle devient associée de l'Académie royale (des arts) du Canada en 1956, et membre à part entière en 1966.

En 1974, Paraskeva partage une exposition avec son fils Ben à l'Arts and Letters Club de Toronto. Lors de cette exposition, la Galerie nationale du Canada achète la toile Myself. La peinture est mise en valeur lors de l'exposition que la Galerie tient en 1975, « Peintures canadiennes des années 1930 », et agrémente la couverture du catalogue de l'exposition; de ce fait, la place qu'occupe Paraskeva Clark dans l'histoire de l'art canadien se trouvait reconnue. En 1976, la Galerie achète sa peinture préférée, Petroushka. En 1982, la Dalhousie Art Gallery, à Halifax, organise une exposition de ses peintures et dessins. Paraskeva Clark décède à Toronto, en 1986, à l'âge de quatre-vingt-huit ans.

Vibrante, franche et controversée, Paraskeva Clark s'est servie de son art pour répondre à l'environnement canadien, pour refléter son développement personnel et créatif et aussi pour exprimer ses opinions passionnées sur les questions d'ordre social. Pour tout cela, elle tient une place particulière dans l'histoire de l'art au Canada.

Ressources

Bell, Andrew. — « The art of Paraskeva Clark ». — Canadian art. — Vol. 7, no. 2 (Christmas 1949). — P. 42-46

Cameron, Janice et al. — Eclectic Eve. — [S.l. : s.n., 1974]. — P. 7-9

Clark, Paraskeva. — « Come out from behind the Pre-Cambrian shield ». — New frontier. — Vol. 1, no. 12 (April 1937). — P. 16-17

____.  — « Canadian artists : thoughts on Canadian painting ». — World affairs. — Vol. 8, no. 6 (February 1943). — P. 17-18

____.  — « The Artist speaks : a statement by Paraskeva Clark ». — Canadian review of music and art. — Vol. 3, nos. 9 & 10 (1944). — P. 18-19

Freedman, Adele. — « In the shadow of the '30s : the winter of Paraskeva Clark ». — Toronto life. — (February 1979). — P. 127-129

Hill, Charles C.  — Peinture canadienne des années trente. — Ottawa : Galerie nationale du Canada, 1975. — 223 p. — Aussi publié en anglais sous le titre : Canadian painting in the thirties.

MacLachlan, Mary E. — Paraskeva Clark : peintures et dessins. — Halifax, N.S. : Dalhousie Art Gallery, Dalhousie University, 1982. — 84 p. — Publié aussi publié en anglais sous le titre : Paraskeva Clark : paintings and drawings.

McInnes, G. Campbell. — « Contemporary Canadian artists : Paraskeva Clark ». — Canadian forum. — Vol. 17, no. 199 (August 1937). — P. 166-167

O'Rourke, Kathryn. — Labours and love : issues of domesticity and marginalization in the works of Paraskeva Clark. — 128 p. — M.A. thesis, Concordia University, 1995.

Portrait of the artist — as an old lady [enregistrement vidéo]. — Producer, Margaret Pettigrew (et al.). — [Montreal] : National Film Board of Canada, 1982. — 1 cassette, 27 min : s.d., col.

Sabbath, Lawrence. — « Paraskeva Clark ». — Canadian art. — Vol. 17, no. 5 (September 1960). — P. 291-293

Tippett, Maria. — By a Lady : celebrating three centuries of art by Canadian women. — Toronto : Viking, 1992. — 226 p.

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources