Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes

Evelyn de Mille

Photograph of Evelyn de Mille

(1919- )

Bookseller

Source


Calgary's bookselling legend and pioneer, Evelyn Orser de Mille, believes bookstores are cultural windows of our nation. Her work began in the book department at Eaton's in 1945 and eleven years later, leaving as its head, she opened Evelyn de Mille Books. She was the first woman bookseller in Calgary to own the first stand-alone bookstore. By 1974 she had become the first woman in Canada to found a bookstore chain. The chain had four branches in Calgary and one in Vancouver.

In 1972, Mrs. de Mille became the first female president of the Canadian Booksellers Association. During her term, she was instrumental in getting the book tax removed in British Columbia. She also initiated the Bookseller of the Year Awards and helped found the Book and Periodical Development Council of Canada. In addition, she was active in helping to create a publishing policy for the National Museums of Canada and served on the Board of Directors of the Alberta Historical Resources Foundation.

One of her concerns is for the survival of the individually owned bookstore. Holding the firm conviction that big discount sellers are crushing independent retailers, Mrs. de Mille personally felt the impact in 1974 after selling her business to the W.H. Smith bookstore chain. An out-of-court settlement finally ended the five-year dispute between Mrs. de Mille and W.H. Smith, only weeks before a jury trial was to start in the damage suit launched by de Mille, and a counter action taken by the chain.

"Bookselling is a disease from which there is no cure," Mrs. de Mille has said. Thus, five years later, she decided to specialize in a market which would not appeal to the giant chains and opened De Mille Technical Books. This store, specializing in technical and reference material, still flourishes today. Petroleum is the largest sector, but the word "technical" may in fact be a misnomer because the store sells just about everything except fiction.

In 1998, Evelyn de Mille was named Alberta's Woman Entrepreneur of the Year in the lifetime achievement category. She was also granted an honorary degree as a Doctor of Laws by the University of Calgary on June 9 of the same year. She attributes her success as a bookseller to "all the old basics: hard work, total dedication, honesty, ethics, caring about people, enjoying your work and enjoying the challenge."

Evelyn de Mille has donated her personal and business papers as well as many valuable gifts, including a leaf from the 1455 Gutenberg Bible, a chained Bible dated 1543, and various rare illustrated manuscripts, to the University of Calgary Library.

Resources

Crawford, Anne. — "De Mille savors 40 years as a bookselling pioneer". — Calgary herald. — (October 7, 1996). — P. C1

Cusipag, Marjo. — "Evelyn deMille : Calgary's first female bookseller". — Canadian bookseller. — Vol. 20, no. 5 (June/July 1998). — P. 61

De Mille, Evelyn. — "The bookseller's dilemma". — Library Association of Alberta bulletin.-- Vol. 4, no. 2 (April 1973). — P. 38 - 41

The Evelyn de Mille Collection on the Book and the Book Arts. — Calgary : Special Collections Division, University of Calgary Libraries, 1991. — 28 p. — (Occasional paper no. 9). see also: URL www.ucalgary.ca/library/SpecColl/OccPaper/ occ9.htm

"WHS settles with De Mille". — Quill & quire. — Vol. 46, no. 1 (January 1980). — P. 16-17

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes - Édition

Evelyn de Mille

Photo de Evelyn de Mille

(1919- )

Libraire

Source


Evelyn Orser de Mille, originaire Calgary, est à la fois une légende et une pionnière dans le domaine des librairies. Mme de Mille croit que les librairies sont les fenêtres culturelles de notre nation. Elle a débuté, en 1945, comme préposée à la section des livres chez Eaton et onze années plus tard, elle quitte son poste de directrice de la section et ouvre la librairie Evelyn de Mille Books, la première librairie indépendante à Calgary. Elle est aussi la première femme libraire de la région. En 1974, elle devient, au Canada, la première femme fondatrice d'une chaîne de librairies. La chaîne compte quatre succursales à Calgary et une à Vancouver.

En 1972, Mme de Mille devient la première femme à présider la Canadian Booksellers Association. Au cours de son mandat, elle contribue à faire abolir la taxe sur les livres en Colombie-Britannique. Elle lance aussi les Bookseller of the Year Awards et participe à la création du Book and Periodical Development Council of Canada. En outre, elle collabore à l'élaboration d'une politique d'édition à l'intention des Musées nationaux du Canada et siège au conseil d'administration de l'Alberta Historical Resources Foundation.

Elle se préoccupe de la survie des librairies indépendantes, car elle croit fermement que les magasins qui vendent à prix réduit écrasent les détaillants indépendants. Mme de Mille a elle-même vécu cette expérience en 1974 après avoir vendu son commerce à la chaîne de librairies W.H. Smith. Après cinq ans, le litige entre Mme de Mille et W.H. Smith s'est finalement terminé par un règlement à l'amiable quelques semaines seulement avant que ne débute un procès devant jury, à la suite d'une poursuite en dommages-intérêts intentée par Mme de Mille et d'une action reconventionnelle prise par la chaîne de librairies.

«Vendre des livres est une maladie incurable», de dire Mme de Mille. Ainsi, cinq ans plus tard, elle décide de se spécialiser dans un marché n'offrant aucun intérêt aux grandes chaînes et elle ouvre De Mille Technical Books. Cette librairie, spécialisée dans le matériel technique et le matériel de référence, réussit encore très bien de nos jours. Le pétrole est le domaine de spécialisation le plus important mais le mot «technique» peut porter à confusion, car la librairie vend à peu près de tout, sauf des ouvrages de fiction.

En 1998, Mme de Mille est nommée «Femme entrepreneur de l'année» en Alberta, dans la catégorie des accomplissements pour l'ensemble de sa carrière. Elle reçoit aussi un doctorat honorifique en droit de l'UNiversité de Calgary, le 9 juin de la même année. Elle attribue son succès comme libraire aux «valeurs fondamentales, au travail acharné, au dévouement total, à l'honnêteté, aux valeurs morales, à la prévenance envers les gens, à l'amour de son travail et au plaisir de relever les défis.»

Mme Evelyn de Mille a fait don de ses documents personnels et commerciaux et de plusieurs objets de valeur à la bibliothèque de l'Université de Calgary, y compris un feuillet extrait de la bible de Gutenberg, datant de 1455, une bible munie d'une chaîne datant de 1543, et divers rares manuscrits illustrés.

Ressources

C, Anne. «De Mille savors 40 years as a bookselling pioneer», Calgary Herald, 7 octobre 1996, p. C1.

Cusipag, Marjo. «Evelyn de Mille : Calgary's first female bookseller», Canadian bookseller, vol. 20, n° 5, juin-juillet 1998, p. 61.

De Mille, Evelyn. «The bookseller's dilemma», Library Association of Alberta bulletin, vol. 4, n° 2, avril 1973, p. 38-41.

The Evelyn de Mille Collection on the Book and the Book Arts, Calgary : Special Collections Division, University of Calgary Libraries, 1991, 28 p. document hors-série no 9. consulter aussi : URL www.ucalgary.ca/library/SpecColl/OccPaper/ occ9.htm

«WHS settles with De Mille», Quill & quire, vol. 46, n° 1, janvier 1980, p. 16-17.

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources