Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes

Government

Intro

Long before they had the right to vote or to stand in federal and provincial elections, Canadian women were participating in organizations devoted to developing education, particularly in rural areas, promoting stricter liquor laws, supporting their churches and fighting for women's rights, among other worthy causes. They were dedicated to improving social conditions and the quality of life for their fellow Canadians. So, when they became eligible to participate in the electoral process, it did not take long for them to have an impact.

On March 14, 1916, most women in Manitoba became eligible to vote in provincial elections, with women in other provinces soon following suit. Federally, women became able to vote on May 24, 1918, and in 1929 Canadian women were legally declared "persons" and were granted the right to become members of the Senate. Since then, hundreds of Canadian women have moved forward with perseverance and conviction to participate in affairs of state and some have become head of state.

Canada is a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy. In practical terms this means that Canadians recognize The Queen as our head of state. As The Queen's representative, the Governor General carries out Her Majesty's duties in Canada on a daily basis and is Canada's de facto head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the Canadian Forces. The first woman to hold this office was the Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé in 1984.

At the provincial level, the Crown is represented by the Lieutenant Governor. In 1934, the Department of Justice decided that women could hold this position but the first such appointment did not come until 1974 when the Honourable Pauline McGibbon became Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. Since then, over a dozen women have held the office in all provinces except for Newfoundland and Labrador.

In all three territories, the Canadian federal government is represented by the Territorial Commissioner and several women have served in this office since Ione Christensen became the first woman Territorial Commissioner of the Yukon Territory in 1979.

The positions of Governor General, Lieutenant Governor and Territorial Commissioner, are, to a large extent, ceremonial in nature but there are real and symbolic powers attached to the offices and it is important that women have the opportunity to contribute to these positions.

In order to select representatives from this growing group, Library and Archives Canada has chosen to focus on "First Women" such as the first woman Governor General, the first women Lieutenant Governors, the first women Territorial Commissioners, the first woman member of Parliament, the first women elected to Provincial and Territorial Legislatures and selected provincial firsts.

Biographies

First Women Lieutenant Governors and Territorial Commissioners



First Women in Federal Government

First woman Governor General
First woman Speaker of the House of Commons
First woman Member of Parliament from Quebec to be a Cabinet
Minister
First Woman from the North Elected to the House of Commons
First woman Prime Minister
First woman Minister of Justice and Attorney General
First woman Minister of National Defence
First woman elected leader of Progressive Conservative Party
First woman Speaker of the Senate
First woman Cabinet Minister
First woman Senator
First woman appointed Chair of a Senate Standing Committee
First woman Member of Parliament
One of the first two women elected to Ontario Legislature
First woman Deputy Prime Minister
First woman Deputy Speaker of the House
First woman to serve as head of a federal political party in Canada
First woman Leader of the Government in the Senate
First woman appointed Official Opposition House Leader



First Women in Provincial and Territorial Government

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes

Gouvernement

Intro

Bien avant de pouvoir voter et d'avoir le droit de se présenter à des élections fédérales et provinciales, les Canadiennes participaient activement aux organisations vouées à l'avancement de l'éducation, particulièrement dans les zones rurales, s'employant à faire adopter des lois plus strictes contre la consommation d'alcool, appuyant leurs églises et militant pour les droits des femmes, notamment. Elles étaient déterminées à améliorer la situation sociale et la qualité de vie de leurs concitoyens. Leur influence s'est donc rapidement faite ressentir quand elles ont acquis le droit de participer au processus électoral.

Le 14 mars 1916, la plupart des femmes du Manitoba acquièrent le droit de voter aux élections provinciales. Bientôt, les femmes des autres provinces leur emboîtent le pas. À l'échelle fédérale, les femmes obtiennent le droit de vote le 24 mai 1918 et, en 1929, les Canadiennes, légalement déclarées des « personnes » à part entière, obtiennent le droit de devenir membres du Sénat. Depuis, des centaines de Canadiennes ont participé avec persévérance et conviction aux affaires gouvernementales, certaines sont même devenues chefs d'État.

Le Canada est à la fois une démocratie parlementaire et une monarchie constitutionnelle. Cela signifie que les Canadiens reconnaissent la Reine comme leur chef d'État. En tant que représentant de la Reine, le gouverneur général exerce les fonctions de Sa Majesté au Canada au jour le jour; il est en fait le chef d'État du Canada et le commandant en chef des Forces canadiennes. En 1984, la très honorable Jeanne Sauvé a été la première femme à obtenir la charge de gouverneur général.

Le lieutenant-gouverneur représente la Couronne au niveau provincial. En 1934, le ministère de la Justice décidait que les femmes pouvaient obtenir cette charge, mais la première nomination féminine, celle de l'honorable Pauline McGibbon, qui devient lieutenante gouverneure de l'Ontario, n'a lieu qu'en 1974. Depuis, plus d'une douzaine de femmes ont obtenu cette charge, et toutes les provinces, sauf Terre-Neuve et le Labrador, comptent une femme lieutenante gouverneure.

Dans les trois territoires, un commissaire territorial représente le gouvernement fédéral canadien; plusieurs femmes ont exercé cette charge. C'est dans le territoire du Yukon, en 1979, que Ione Christensen devient la première femme nommée commissaire territoriale.

Les charges de gouverneur général, de lieutenant-gouverneur et de commissaire territorial sont en grande partie cérémonielles, mais des pouvoirs réels et symboliques se rattachent à ces fonctions, et il est important que les femmes aient la chance d'y apporter leur contribution.

Pour sélectionner des représentantes du groupe de plus en plus important des Canadiennes en politique, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a décidé de mettre l'accent sur les « premières femmes », telles que la première gouverneure générale, la première députée, les premières femmes élues aux législatures provinciales et territoriales et, enfin, quelques-unes des premières femmes à devenir premières ministres de provinces.

Biographies

Premières femmes à être nommées au poste de lieutenant-gouverneur et au poste de commissaire

Alberta
Colombie-Britannique
Manitoba
Nouveau-Brunswick
Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Nouvelle-Écosse
Nunavut (territoire)
Ontario
Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Québec
Saskatchewan
Yukon (territoire)



Premières femmes au gouvernement fédéral

Première femme gouverneur général
Première femme Présidente de la Chambre des communes
Exploratrice, députée
Première femme premier ministre
Première femme ministre de la Justice et Procureur général du Canada
Première femme ministre de la Défense nationale
Première femme élue chef du Parti progressiste-conservateur
Première femme Présidente du Sénat
Première femme ministre du Cabinet
Première femme Sénateure
Première femme députée
Une des premières femmes élues à l'Assemblée législative de L'Ontario
Première vice-première ministre
Première Présidente suppléante de la Chambre des communes
Première femme à diriger un parti politique fédéral au Canada
Première femme leader du gouvernement au Sénat
Première femme nommée Leader parlementaire de l'Opposition officielle à la Chambre des communes le 17 mars 1997



Premières femmes aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux

Droits d'auteur/Sources