Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes - Government

Edith MacTavish Rogers

Photograph of Edith MacTavish Rogers

First woman elected to the Manitoba Legislative Assembly.

Born in Norway House, Rupert's Land in 1876.
Died in Colborne, Ontario in 1947.

Source


Political Affiliation: Liberal

Legislative Career: First elected to the Manitoba Legislative Assembly in the 1920 provincial election as member for Winnipeg riding. Served until 1932.


Edith Rogers spent her early years in the north at Norway House and Rupert House as her father was an officer of the Hudson's Bay Company (as was her grandfather), but she was educated in Montreal. She settled in Winnipeg after marrying in 1898, raising her children and taking up social life as the wife of a prominent businessman, becoming involved in philanthropic work, including acting as a volunteer organizer of social events for charitable causes.

She advanced to social welfare work during World War I when she assumed a leadership role in Winnipeg's efforts to cope with the needs of families of soldiers. When the war ended she continued working with social agencies on the needs of the returning soldiers and their families. She progressed to active politics in 1920, winning the nomination to run in the 1920 provincial election and subsequently winning a seat. She won twice more, in the 1922 and 1927 provincial elections, before retiring from active politics in 1932. Another first achievement was serving as the only woman board member of the Winnipeg General Hospital.

In public service she mastered the legislative and committee process and achieved improved laws and benefits for the welfare of mothers, children and others, while continuing to help the many individuals who appealed to her for assistance. She sat as both a government and opposition member.

During World War II she became just as active as before, assisting with the Winnipeg war organization and effort. She then retired for the final time to a family residence in Colborne, Ontario prior to her death in 1947. Edith Rogers was remembered by individuals from all walks of life for her unwavering sense of fairness and her personal touch.

Resources

Kinnear, Mary and Fast, Vera. Planting the Garden: an annotated archival bibliography of the history of women in Manitoba. — Winnipeg: The University of Manitoba Press, 1987. — P.159.

Konantz, Gail. — Edith Rogers. — Winnipeg: Peguis Publishers Limited, 1981. — 52. p. — (Manitobans in profile).

Pioneers and prominent people of Manitoba. — Ed. Walter McRaye. — Winnipeg: Canadian Publicity Co., 1925. — P. 93.

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes

Edith MacTavish Rogers

Photo de Edith MacTavish Rogers

Première femme élue à l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba.

Née à Norway House, Terre de Rupert, en 1876.
Décédée à Colborne (Ontario) en 1947.

Source


Appartenance politique : Parti libéral

Carrière parlementaire : Élue pour la première fois à l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba au cours des élections provinciales de 1920, comme députée de la circonscription de Winnipeg. A siégé jusqu'en 1932.


Edith Rogers passe son enfance dans le Nord à Norway House et à Rupert House, car son père, comme son père avant lui, occupe un poste dans la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Elle reçoit toutefois son éducation à Montréal. Elle s'installe à Winnipeg après son mariage en 1898, élevant ses enfants et menant la vie sociale de la femme d'un important homme d'affaires. Elle s'occupe d'œuvres de bienfaisance, en se portant notamment bénévole pour organiser des activités mondaines au profit d'organismes de charité.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, elle entreprend de faire du travail social où elle assume un rôle de premier plan dans les efforts menés à Winnipeg pour soutenir les familles des soldats. À la fin de la guerre, elle continue de travailler avec des organismes de services sociaux pour répondre aux besoins des soldats rentrant de la guerre et de leurs familles. Elle accède à la politique active en 1920 après avoir remporté l'investiture pour se porter candidate au cours des élections provinciales de 1920; elle est élue députée. Elle remporte la victoire deux fois de plus, au cours des élections provinciales de 1922 et de 1927, avant de se retirer de la politique active en 1932. Une autre de ses «premières» a été de siéger comme seule femme administratrice au conseil d'administration du Winnipeg General Hospital.

Au cours de sa vie publique, Edith Rogers maîtrise les processus législatifs et le fonctionnement des comités et réussit à faire adopter de meilleurs avantages et lois pour le bien-être des mères, des enfants et autres, tout en continuant d'aider les nombreuses personnes qui sollicitent son aide. Elle siège comme députée du gouvernement et comme députée de l'opposition.

Au cours de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, elle reprend son rôle actif pour aider aux préparatifs de guerre à Winnipeg. Elle prend ensuite sa retraite définitive à une résidence familiale à Colborne (Ontario) avant sa mort en 1947. Des personnes de toutes les couches de la société se rappellent d'Edith Rogers pour son sens inébranlable de la droiture et pour sa chaleur humaine.

Ressources

Kinnear, Mary et Vera Fast. Planting the Garden: an annotated archival bibliography of the history of women in Manitoba, Winnipeg, The University of Manitoba Press.

Konantz, Gail. Edith Rogers, Winnipeg, Peguis Publishers Limited, 1981, 52. p., « Manitobans in Profile »

Pioneers and prominent people of Manitoba. Walter McRaye, éd., Winnipeg, Canadian Publicity Co., 1925, p. 93.

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources