Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes - Science

Dr. Frances Gertrude McGill

Photograph of Dr. Frances Gertrude McGill

(1877-1959)
Pathologist, criminologist

Source


Forensic Pathologist, Criminologist and First Honorary Surgeon to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Sometimes called the "Sherlock Holmes of Saskatchewan," Frances Gertrude McGill was a pioneer in many respects. After earning a medical degree at a time when few women ventured into that discipline, she devoted most of her career to forensic pathology, a field that was beginning to emerge in Canada. Dr. McGill began working for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) in an official capacity in 1943 and was considered the force's "first woman Mountie." Recognized for her unfailing professionalism and her unwavering availability, Dr. McGill built a solid reputation in a man's world. Her success is undoubtedly rooted in the motto that she took for her own: "Think like a man, act like a lady and work like a dog."

Frances G. McGill was born in 1877 in Minnedosa, Manitoba, and was raised on the family farm. Her family's roots were Irish, and the medical profession was a pervasive part of the family culture: one of her two brothers was a doctor, and her sister was a nurse. Dr. McGill upheld the tradition, graduating in medicine from the University of Manitoba in 1915. She had attended teachers' college in Winnipeg and worked briefly as a teacher to finance her university studies. A gifted student, she distinguished herself in university, receiving such honours as the Hutchison Gold Medal for highest academic average.

After interning for a year at the Winnipeg General Hospital, Dr. McGill pursued graduate training at the Manitoba provincial laboratory under the supervision of its renowned director, Gordon Bell, PhD. In 1918, she was appointed provincial bacteriologist with the Saskatchewan Department of Health. Dr. McGill was a diligent worker, particularly during the serious Spanish influenza epidemic. In 1920, she accepted the position of provincial pathologist and, two years later, became director of the provincial laboratory, where she primarily handled cases involving suspicious death. She worked closely with various police forces, including the RCMP, and earned their respect as an outstanding criminologist. She became renowned for her court testimony, and her meticulous work was as useful in convicting the guilty as exonerating the innocent. Through her investigations, Dr. McGill travelled extensively throughout the province under difficult conditions, in all types of weather and by all means of transportation, including dogsled, snowmobile and float plane.

When the RCMP opened its own forensic laboratory in Regina in 1937, Dr. McGill's workload decreased considerably. However, she continued to work with the municipal police force until retiring as provincial pathologist in 1942. Retirement, however, didn't mean inactivity for Dr. McGill. In addition to her private practice, she pursued many leisure activities, including hunting, fishing, horseback riding and bridge. She even found time to support the war effort by knitting woollen socks for soldiers and participating in various associations, such as the Business and Professional Women's Club and the Regina Women's Canadian Club.

In 1943, Dr. McGill replaced the director of the RCMPs forensic laboratory, who had died suddenly in an airplane crash. She found herself once again conducting investigations across the province. In addition, she trained the country's future police officers and detectives in medical jurisprudence, pathology and toxicology. A gifted communicator with a keen sense of humour - she said that humour stopped her from being depressed by her gruesome work - Dr. McGill passed along her invaluable expertise to these students. She taught them such skills as how to collect and preserve evidence, study a crime scene, and distinguish between animal and human blood.

After formally stepping down from her duties with the RCMP, Dr. McGill was appointed its Honorary Surgeon on January 16, 1946, and continued to serve as a consultant to the force. She remained active until her death on January 21, 1959. In particular, Dr. McGill pursued a private practice specializing in allergies and skin diseases. She summed up her career by saying that it was a lot of hard work and a lot of fun, but when work is fun, it is never really that hard. Lake McGill, located north of Lake Athabasca in Saskatchewan, is named for Dr. McGill.

Resources

Royal Canadian Mounted Police Archives / Press clippings from the personal file of Frances McGill / RG18-G, file G455-198, volume 3573.

Bannerman, Jean MacKay. Leading Ladies Canada. Belleville, Ont.: Mika Publishing, 1977.

Churchman, Jim. "Initio." RCMP Quarterly. Vol. 38, No. 3 (July 1972), pp. 20-25.

Hacker, Carlotta. The Indomitable Lady Doctors. Halifax: Formac Publishing Company Limited, 2001.

Holmlund, Mona and Gail Youngberg, eds. Inspiring Women: A Celebration of Her Story. Regina: Coteau Books, 2003.

Petersen, Myrna. "McGill, Frances (1882-1959)." The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. http://esask.uregina.ca/entry/mcgill_frances_1882-1959.html.
(accessed June 3, 2008)

Salterio, Joe L. "McGill, Frances G., MD." RCMP Quarterly. Vol. 12, No. 1 (January 1946), pp. 25-32.

"Dr. Frances Gertrude McGill, (1877-1959)." University of Manitoba. www.umanitoba.ca/libraries/units/health/resources/womhist/fgmcgill.html.
(accessed June 3, 2008)

"Frances Gertrude McGill, 1877-1959." Canada Science and Technology Museum. www.sciencetech.technomuses.ca/english/about/hallfame/u_i23_e.cfm.
(accessed June 3, 2008)

"Historical Notes - Women in the RCMP." Royal Canadian Mounted Police. http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/hist/hnud-nhut/women-femmes-eng.htm .
(accessed March 26, 2009)

Burgun, Isabelle. "Frances McGill, au service de la justice." Débrouillards. No. 219 (December 2002), pp. 27-30.

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes - Sciences

Dr Frances Gertrude McGill

Photo de Dr. Frances Gertrude McGill

(1877-1959)
Pathologiste judiciaire, criminologue

Source


Pathologiste judiciaire, criminologue et première chirurgienne honoraire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Parfois surnommée le « Sherlock Holmes de la Saskatchewan », le Dr Frances Gertrude McGill, est une pionnière à bien des égards. Diplômée en médecine à une époque où peu de femmes s'aventurent dans ce domaine, elle consacre l'essentiel de sa carrière à la pathologie judiciaire, une discipline alors en émergence au Canada. Elle travaille officiellement pour la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) à partir de 1943 et on la considère comme la « première policière à cheval » de cette force de l'ordre. Reconnue pour son professionnalisme sans faille et pour sa disponibilité indéfectible, elle se bâtit une réputation solide dans un monde d'hommes. Son succès s'incarne sans doute dans la devise qu'elle a fait sienne : « Penser comme un homme, agir comme une dame et travailler comme un chien ».

Frances G. McGill est née en 1877 à Minnedosa, au Manitoba. Elle grandit sur une ferme et dans une famille d'origine irlandaise où la vocation médicale est omniprésente : un de ses deux frères est médecin et sa sœur est infirmière. Frances G. McGill ne fait pas exception : elle obtient son diplôme en médecine en 1915 de l'Université du Manitoba. Elle délaisse sa courte carrière d'enseignante qu'elle avait débutée après sa formation à l'école normale de Winnipeg pour payer ses études universitaires. Étudiante douée, elle réussit haut la main ses études et reçoit, notamment, la médaille d'or Hutchison pour l'excellence de ses résultats scolaires.

Après un an d'internat à l'Hôpital général de Winnipeg, elle entame un stage de troisième cycle aux laboratoires provinciaux du Manitoba, sous la tutelle du directeur de l'institution, le réputé Gordon Bell, Ph.D. En 1918, le Dr McGill est nommée bactériologiste provinciale par le ministère de la Santé de la Saskatchewan. Elle travaille de façon assidue, surtout lors de la grave épidémie de grippe espagnole. En 1920, elle accepte le poste de pathologiste provinciale et, deux ans plus tard, celui de directrice du laboratoire de la province où elle s'affaire principalement à résoudre les cas de morts suspectes. Elle collabore de près avec les différents corps policiers, dont la GRC et se fait une réputation de grande criminologue. Ses témoignages en justice sont réputés et par son travail minutieux elle contribue à condamner les coupables et à disculper les innocents. Ses enquêtes l'amènent à sillonner la province dans des conditions difficiles; les voyages sont nombreux, dans toutes sortes de climats et par tout moyen de transport : traîneau à chiens, motoneige, hydravion...

Lorsqu'en 1937, la GRC ouvre son propre laboratoire judiciaire à Regina, la charge de travail de la docteure McGill décroît considérablement. Elle continue néanmoins son travail avec la police municipale jusqu'à sa retraite du poste de pathologiste provinciale, en 1942. Pour Madame McGill, cette retraite ne signifie toutefois pas inaction. En plus de sa pratique privée, elle s'adonne en effet à de nombreux loisirs dont la chasse, la pêche, l'équitation et le bridge. Elle trouve même le temps de soutenir l'effort de guerre en tricotant des bas de laines destinés aux soldats et s'implique dans diverses associations dont le Business and Professional Women's Club et le Regina Women's Canadian Club.

En 1943, Dr McGill devient directrice du laboratoire judiciaire de la GRC, son prédécesseur ayant décédé subitement dans un accident d'avion. Elle recommence alors ses enquêtes à travers la province. Parallèlement à ce travail, elle donne aux futurs policiers et détectives du pays des cours de jurisprudence médicale, de pathologie et de toxicologie. Communicative et dotée d'un sens de l'humour proverbial, elle disait que l'humour empêchait que son travail morbide ne la déprime, elle sait bien leur transmettre sa précieuse expertise. Elle leur enseigne comment recueillir les preuves et les conserver, comment étudier une scène de crime, comment distinguer le sang humain du sang animal, etc.

Après avoir cessé officiellement son travail auprès de la GRC, Dr McGill demeure consultante auprès de la Gendarmerie comme chirurgien honoraire, titre qu'elle reçoit le 16 janvier 1946. Entre cette nomination et son décès, survenu le 21 janvier 1959, la docteure McGill demeure active. Elle poursuit notamment sa pratique privée spécialisée dans le traitement des allergies et des maladies de peau. On peut résumer sa carrière à ce qu'elle en dit un jour : « Ce fut beaucoup de travail ardu et beaucoup de plaisir... et quand le travail est plaisant, il n'est jamais vraiment ardu » (traduction libre). Le lac McGill situé au nord du lac Athabasca, en Saskatchewan, porte son nom.

Ressources

Fonds de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, coupures de presse tirées du dossier personnel de Frances McGill, RG18-G, dossier G455-198, volume 3573.

Bannerman, Jean MacKay. Leading ladies Canada, Belleville, Mika Pub, 1977.

Churchman, Jim. « Initio », R.C.M.P. Quarterly, vol. 38, no 3 (juillet 1972), pp. 20-25.

Hacker, Carlotta. The Indomitable Lady Doctors, Halifax : Formac Publishing Company Limited, 2001.

Holmlund, Mona et GAIL Youngberg, éd. Inspiring Women: A Celebration of Her Story, Regina, Coteau Books, 2003.

Petersen, Myrna. « McGill, Frances (1882-1959) ». The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan : http://esask.uregina.ca/entry/mcgill_frances_1882-1959.html
(consulté le 3 juin 2008, lien en anglais seulement).

Salterio, Joe L. « McGill, Frances G., M.D. ». R.C.M.P. Quarterly, vol. 12, no 1 (janvier 1946), pp. 25-32.

« Mme Frances Gertrude McGill, (1877-1959) ». University of Manitoba : www.umanitoba.ca/bibliotheques/units/health/ressources/womhist/fgmcgillf.html
(consulté le 3 juin 2008).

« Frances Gertrude McGill 1877-1959 ». Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada : www.sciencetech.technomuses.ca/francais/about/hallfame/u_i23_f.cfm
(consulté le 3 juin 2008).

« Notes historiques - les femmes à la GRC », site de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada : http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/hist/hnud-nhut/women-femmes-fra.htm
(consulté le 26 mars 2009).

Burgun, Isabelle. « Frances McGill, au service de la justice »,

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources