Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Celebrating Women's Achievements

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Themes

Chantal Petitclerc

Photograph of Chantal Petitclerc

(1969- )

Wheelchair Racing

Source


When Chantal Petitclerc was born in 1969 in Saint-Marc-des-Carrières, a small town in the Quebec region, no one knew that she would become an internationally renowned athlete. It was not until 1983, after the accident that left her with paraplegia, that she became interested in sports. In the beginning, she turned towards swimming simply with the goal of staying in shape. She renewed her confidence and discovered a taste for challenge. It was not until several years later, while training at the Centre de réadaptation François-Charron, that she met Pierre Pomerleau, a trainer of wheelchair athletes. He immediately noticed the determination that Chantal Petitclerc demonstrated and encouraged her to follow the path of wheelchair racing. Thus began the dazzling climb of this great Canadian athlete, specialist in wheelchair racing.

At age 18, Chantal Petitclerc participated in her first wheelchair race in Sherbrooke, and returned with the title of Most Promising and a "real" racing wheelchair. From competition to competition, Chantal has confirmed her talent and determination and reached the top of many Canadian podiums. It was in 1991 that she felt ready to conquer international tracks. To this end, she made the major decision to change trainers. "Pierre Pomerleau enabled [...] me to reach competition at the international level, but Peter Eriksson has much more drive than I, and I needed someone like him." (translation, L'actualité, May 1st, 1997, p. 78).

Her discipline, perseverance and determination led her to be part of the Canadian and international sports elite. An athlete affirmed by her successes, spirit for competition and versatility, Chantal Petitclerc has participated in competitions of all distances, in sprints as well as middle-distance and marathon events. She holds the Canadian record in all categories in the T4 class and holds the 100-metre world record as well. She has also won numerous medals for various world championships. She was a two-time bronze medallist in the 100-metre and 200-metre at the Paralympic Games in Barcelona in 1992 and won five medals (gold in the 100-metre and 200-metre and silver in the 400-metre, 800-metre and 1500-metre) at the Atlanta Games in 1996. Among her major performances, she placed first in the Winnipeg (1989), Toronto (1990, 1997), Montreal (1995) and Ottawa (2000) marathons. In 1999, Chantal Petitclerc was honoured for her contribution to the advancement of women in track and field by the International Amateur Athletic Federation (IAAF).

Chantal Petitclerc's success as an athlete did not stop there. Since 2000, she has continued to collect medals in major sporting events. She received four medals (gold in the 200-metre and 800-metre and silver in the 100-metre and 400- metre) at the 2000 Sydney Paralympics, beating her long-time rival, Australian Louise Sauvage. In 2002, she swept first place at the Commonwealth Games in England. But her most remarkable exploit was at the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Athens when she came back from Greece with five Paralympic gold medals (the 100-metre, 200-metre, 400-metre, 800-metre and 1500-metre wheelchair races), and a first place in the 800-metre at the Olympics, where the race was featured as a demonstration sport. She has continued to dazzle us in 2005 with two gold medals (200-metre and 1500-metre) at the Paralympic World Cup in England. And this is only a partial list of her accomplishments.

A loner by nature, Chantal Petitclerc trains alone and is not a member of any team, but sets a rigorous training program of four hours daily, six days weekly and 11 months yearly for herself. However, in spite of a very busy schedule, Chantal finds the time and energy to be involved in several sports or cultural events that are dear to her, and has a career as a television host in addition to her sports career. Since 1994, Petitclerc has been the host of Loto-Québec lotteries on the TVA network, hosted Pareil, pas pareil for two seasons on the same network and regularly gives conferences on her experiences as an athlete. She is also the spokesperson for the Défi sportif des athlètes handicapés and was invited, among others, to the 21st Salon du livre de Montréal. She was the guest of honour at the "Women's March Against Poverty" and was honorary co-chair of the second Semaine québécoise des personnes handicapées.

These achievements have led to her receiving honours that include a Meritorious Service Medal (Civil Division) from the Governor General of Canada in 2003 as well as being named Canadian of the Year by Maclean's in 2004 and Woman of the Year by Chatelaine in 2005.

Chantal Petitclerc still has a challenge to meet though. Her dream is to see wheelchair racing recognized as an official sport at the Olympic Games.

Resources

Barlow, Julie. "Chantal Petitclerc: This Elite Athlete is Wheeling to Victory." Abilities. No. 33 (winter 1997): pp. 13-14.

Barlow, Julie. "Chantal: sur les chapeaux de roues!" L'actualité, vol. 22, no. 7 (May 1, 1997): pp. 72-78.

Barlow, Julie. "Ready, Willing, and Able." Saturday Night, July-August 1998: pp. 63-65.

Bryant, Jill. Amazing Women Athletes. Toronto: Second Story Press, ©2001, pp. 40-44.

Chantal Petitclerc [on line]. Association québécoise des sports en fauteuil roulant/Quebec Wheelchair Sports Association, June 15, 2000.
www.aqsfr.qc.ca/profils/petitcle.html.

Chantal Petitclerc [on line]. Invacare Corporation, June 15, 2000.
www.invacare.com/top_end/racing_team.html#cha.

Chantal Peticlerc [on line]. Official Site, July 27, 2005.
www.chantalpetitclerc.com/

"Confessions: Chantal Petitclerc par elle-même." Châtelaine. Vol. 45, no. 8 (August 2004), pp. 71-73.

Desmarais, Marie-José, and Véronique Robert. "Les 10 femmes de mérite 1997." Châtelaine, vol. 38, no. 9 (September 1997): pp. 65-70.

"Devrait-on intégrer les épreuves paralympiques à part égale au programme olympique?" EntraînInfo. Vol. 11, no. 1 (Summer 2004), pp. 31-34.

Fiches sportives: Chantal Petitclerc [on line]. Les rendez-vous de la francophonie, June 15, 2000.
www.rendezvousfrancophonie.com/francais/petitclerc.html.

Gillis, Charlie. "Canadian of the Year: Chantal Petitclerc." Maclean's. Vol. 117, no. 52 (December 27, 2004/January 3, 2005), pp. 26-28.

Gregson, Ian. Irresistible Force: Disability Sport in Canada. Victoria: Polestar Book Publisher, 1999, pp. 66-67.

Girard, Jean-Yves. "Bravo les femmes! Chantal Peticlerc (Femme de l'année)." Châtelaine. Vol. 46, no. 4 (April 2005), pp. 68-69.

Latreille, Pierre. "Chantal Petitclerc: un exemple de courage." Vidéo-Presse, Vol. 22, no. 5 (January 1993): pp. 43-45.

Moreau Roulant, Nathalie. "Chantal Petitclerc: une gagnante!" Abilities, no. 27 (summer 1996): p. 20.

Normandin, Édith, and Sybil Murray-Denis. "Chantal la championne" [on line]. Disabled Women in Action/Action des femmes handicapées [June 15, 2000]. Available in English.
www.indie.ca/dawn/newslet.htm.

O'Connor, Edward. Chantal Petitclerc. Montréal: Chenelière éducation, 2005.

Séguin, Suzanne. "Portrait: Chantal Petitclerc." Capital Santé. Vol. 4, no. 6 (April 2002), pp. 48-50.

Vilagos, Vicky (editor) and Julie Payette (preface). Les chemins de l'excellence: souvenirs inédits de personnalités sportives québécoises. Outremont, Québec: Trécarré, 2004, pp. 110-111.

Previous | Next

Copyright/Sources

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Femmes à l‘honneur: Leurs réalisations

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Thèmes

Chantal Petitclerc

Photo de Chantal Petitclerc

(1969- )

Course en fauteuil roulant

Source


Chantal Petitclerc est née en 1969 à Saint-Marc-des-Carrières, petit village de la région de Québec. Rien ne prédestinait Chantal à devenir une sportive de renommée internationale. Ce n'est qu'en 1983, après l'accident qui la rend paraplégique, qu'elle s'intéresse aux sports. Elle se tourne tout d'abord vers la natation simplement dans le but de se maintenir en forme. Elle reprend confiance et découvre le goût du dépassement. Ce n'est que quelques années plus tard, en s'entraînant au centre de réadaptation François-Charron, qu'elle rencontre Pierre Pomerleau, entraîneur d'athlètes en fauteuil roulant. Il remarque immédiatement la détermination dont fait preuve Chantal Petitclerc et l'encourage sur la voie de la course en fauteuil roulant. Commence alors la fulgurante ascension de cette grande athlète canadienne, spécialiste de la course en fauteuil roulant.

C'est à l'âge de 18 ans que Chantal Petitclerc participe à sa première course en fauteuil roulant, à Sherbrooke, et en revient avec le titre du Meilleur espoir et un " vrai " fauteuil de course. De compétition en compétition, Chantal prouve son talent et sa détermination et termine au premier rang de plusieurs compétitions canadiennes. En 1991, elle se sent prête à conquérir les pistes internationales. À cette fin, elle prend la grande décision de changer d'entraîneur. « Pierre Pomerleau m'a [...] permis d'accéder à la compétition de niveau international, mais Peter Eriksson est beaucoup plus fonceur que moi, et j'avais besoin de quelqu'un comme lui. » (L'actualité, 1er mai 1997, p. 78).

Sa discipline, sa persévérance et sa détermination l'amènent à faire partie de l'élite sportive canadienne et internationale. Athlète confirmée grâce à ses réussites, son esprit de compétition et sa polyvalence, Chantal Petitclerc participe aux compétitions sur toutes les distances, autant au sprint qu'aux épreuves de demi-fond et au marathon. Elle détient les records canadiens dans toutes les catégories en classe T4 et le record du monde au 100 mètres. Elle a également remporté de nombreuses médailles à différents championnats du monde. Elle est double médaillée de bronze au 100 mètres et au 200 mètres des Jeux paralympiques de Barcelone en 1992 et a remporté cinq médailles ( l'or au 100 mètres et au 200 mètres et l'argent au 400 mètres, au 800 mètres et au 1500 mètres) aux Jeux d'Atlanta, en 1996. Parmi ses performances majeures, on note également des premières positions aux marathons de Winnipeg (1989), de Toronto (1990, 1997), de Montréal (1995) et d'Ottawa (2000). Chantal Petitclerc a également été honorée en 1999 pour sa contribution à l'avancement de la femme en athlétisme par la Fédération internationale d'athlétisme amateur.

Toutefois, les succès athlétiques de Chantal ne s'arrêtent pas là. Depuis 2000, elle accumule des médailles au cours d'événements sportifs d'envergure. Ainsi a-t-elle reçu quatre médailles (l'or au 200 mètres et 800 mètres, et l'argent au 100 mètres et 400 mètres) aux Jeux paralympiques de Sydney (2000), où elle a gagné contre sa rivale australienne de longue date, Louise Sauvage. En 2002, elle rafle la première place aux Jeux du Commonwealth en Angleterre. Toutefois, elle a accompli le plus remarquable de ses exploits aux Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'Athènes, d'où elle est revenue avec cinq médailles d'or (course en fauteuil roulant au 100 mètres, 200 mètres, 400 mètres, 800 mètres et 1500 mètres), et une première place au 800 mètres en sport de démonstration. En plus de toutes ces victoires, elle nous a encore impressionnés en 2005 en remportant deux médailles d'or à la Coupe du monde paralympique en Angleterre (au 200 mètres et au 1500 mètres). N'oublions pas que cette liste ne recense pas toutes ses prouesses!

Solitaire, Chantal Petitclerc s'entraîne seule et n'est membre d'aucune équipe, mais s'impose un entraînement rigoureux de quatre heures par jour, six jours par semaine, onze mois par année. Toutefois, en dépit d'un horaire très chargé, Chantal trouve le temps et l'énergie de s'engager dans plusieurs événements sportifs ou culturels qui lui tiennent à cœur et de mener une carrière d'animatrice parallèlement à sa carrière sportive. Depuis 1994, elle est hôtesse des tirages de Loto-Québec au réseau TVA, elle a animé pendant deux saisons l'émission Pareil pas pareil sur les ondes du même réseau et elle donne régulièrement des conférences sur son expérience d'athlète. Elle est également porte-parole du Défi sportif des athlètes handicapés et elle a été, entre autres, invitée au 21e Salon du livre de Montréal, invitée d'honneur au « Women's march against poverty » et coprésidente d'honneur de la seconde édition de la Semaine québécoise des personnes handicapées.

En plus d'avoir accompli autant d'exploits, Chantal a reçu maintes distinctions, telle la Médaille pour service méritoire (division civile) de la Gouverneure générale du Canada (2003); elle a été nommée personnalité canadienne de l'année par le magazine Maclean's (2004), et s'est vu décerner la mention Femme de l'année par le magazine Châtelaine (2005).

Mais Chantal Petitclerc a encore un défi à relever. Son rêve est de voir la course en fauteuil roulant reconnue comme discipline officielle aux Jeux Olympiques.

Ressources

Association québécoise des sports en fauteuil roulant / Quebec Wheelchair Sports Association. Chantal Petitclerc.
www.aqsfr.qc.ca/profils/petitcle.html [cité le 15 juin 2000].

Barlow, Julie. « Chantal Petitclerc: This Elite Athlete Is Wheeling to Victory », Abilities, no 33 (hiver 1997), p. 13-14.

Barlow, Julie. « Chantal : Sur les chapeaux de roues! », L'actualité, vol. 22, no 7 (1er mai 1997), p. 72-78.

Barlow, Julie. « Ready, Willing, and Able », Saturday Night (juillet-août 1998), p. 63-65.

Bryant, Jill. Amazing Women Athletes, Toronto, Second Story Press, © 2001, p. 40-44.

Chantal Peticlerc, site officiel (français et anglais).
www.chantalpetitclerc.com/ [cité le 27 juillet 2005].

« Confessions : Chantal Petitclerc par elle-même », Châtelaine, vol. 45, no 8 (août 2004), p. 71-73.

Desmarais, Marie-Josée et Véronique Robert. « Les 10 femmes de mérite 1997 », Châtelaine, vol. 38, no 9 (sept. 1997), p. 65-70.

« Devrait-on intégrer les épreuves paralympiques à part égale au programme olympique? », EntraînInfo, vol. 11, no 1 (été 2004), p. 31-34.

Gillis, Charlie. « Canadian of the Year: Chantal Petitclerc », Maclean's, vol. 117, no 52 (27 déc. 2004-3 janvier 2005), p. 26-28.

Girard, Jean-Yves. « Bravo les femmes! Chantal Petitclerc (Femme de l'année) », Châtelaine, vol. 46, no 4 (avril 2005), p. 68-69.

Gregson, Ian. Irresistible Force: Disability Sport in Canada, Victoria, Polestar Book Publisher, 1999, p. 66-67.

Invacare Corporation. Chantal Petitclerc.
www.invacare.com/top_end/racing_team.html#cha [cité le 15 juin 2000].

Latreille, Pierre. « Chantal Petitclerc : Un exemple de courage », Vidéo-Presse, vol. 22, no 5 (janvier 1993), p. 43-45.

Les rendez-vous de la francophonie. Fiches sportives : Chantal Petitclerc.
www.rendezvousfrancophonie.com/francais/petitclerc.html [cité le 15 juin 2000].

Moreau Roulant, Nathalie. « Chantal Petitclerc : Une gagnante! », Abilities, no 27 (été 1996), p. 20.

Normandin, Édith et Sybil Murray-Denis. « Chantal la championne », Disabled Women in Action/Action des femmes handicapées.
www.indie.ca/dawn/newslet.htm [cité le 15 juin 2000].

O'Connor, Edward. Chantal Petitclerc : Une histoire inspirante, Montréal, Chenelière Éducation, 2005. [Aussi disponible en anglais].

Séguin, Suzanne. « Portrait : Chantal Petitclerc », Capital Santé, vol. 4, no 6 (avril 2002), p. 48-50.

Vilagos, Vicky (sous la dir.). Les chemins de l'excellence : Souvenirs inédits de personnalités sportives québécoises, préface de Julie Payette, Outremont (Québec), Éditions du Trécarré, 2004, p. 110-111.

Précédent | Suivant

Droits d'auteur/Sources