Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Genealogy and Family History

What to Search: Topics

Births, Marriages and Deaths


Divorce

An act for the relief of John Monteith. Statutes of Canada, 1887, chap. 129

Source

An act for the relief of
John Monteith.
Statutes of Canada,
1887, chap. 129.

From 1840 to 1968, divorces in Canada were granted by private acts of the Parliament of Canada. Before 1867, only five divorce acts were passed and published either in the Statutes of the Province of Canada or in the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada. The first divorce that occurred in Canada was between John Stuart and Elizabeth Van Reneselaer Powell in 1841.

From 1867 to 1968, a person wishing to obtain a divorce was first required to place a notice of intent to petition the government for an Act of Divorce in the Canada Gazette and in two newspapers in the district or county where the petitioner resided. It was to appear for a six-month period.

The petition would contain details such as the date and place of the marriage and events surrounding the demise of the marriage. In the case of adultery or bigamy, a co-respondent was often named. If, after consideration, the petition was allowed, Parliament would pass an Act of Divorce nullifying the marriage. Between 1867 and 1963, a transcript of the Act was published in the Statutes of Canada for the current year. Then, between 1964 and 1968, the transcript was published in the Journals of the Senate of Canada.

The transcripts include information from the petition:

  • the names of petitioner and spouse;
  • their place(s) of residence;
  • the date and place and marriage; and
  • the grounds under which the divorce is being sought.

Research at Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada holds copies of official publications of the Government of Canada in which the divorce acts were published.

Our Acts of Divorce, 1841-1968 database includes references to divorce acts published in:

  • Statutes of the Province of Canada
  • Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada
  • Statutes of Canada and
  • Journals of the Senate of Canada.

Research in Published Sources

Many libraries in Canada hold copies of these official publications. Use the AMICUS database to find references for these official publications and locations of libraries which hold copies of that publication as explained in the Online Help of the Divorce in Canada database.

Research in Other Institutions

For divorces granted by the Parliament of Canada or the Senate of Canada for the years 1867 to 1968, you can obtain a certified copy of a divorce act for legal purposes from the Senate of Canada. Write to:

Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Room 1310
13th Floor
40 Elgin Street
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0A4
Telephone: 613-992-2416

People who need information about where to obtain copies of their own divorce cases, from 1968 to the present, can contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings 613-957-4519. Please note that privacy legislation prevents the release of information to persons other that the two parties involved.

Research in Provincial Sources

Divorce records can also be found in Provincial archives or in provincial courts. Access restrictions apply for recent divorce records according to provincial privacy acts.

Alberta

The Provincial Archives holds divorce records from ca. 1918 to ca. 1975 for several judicial districts from around the Province. Indices are available for most of the records. Files less than about 30 years old will still be in the custody of the Court. To locate a particular file, it is necessary to know where in Alberta someone was divorced.
Court Locations and Addresses [www.justice.gov.ab.ca/courts/default.aspx?id=1262]

British Columbia

The first divorce in British Columbia was granted in 1877. Divorce records up to 1990 for the larger Supreme Court registries are in the custody of the British Columbia Archives. Divorce records not held by the British Columbia Archives are in the custody of the individual Supreme Court Registries [www.courts.gov.bc.ca/supreme_court/court_locations_and_contacts.aspx].

From 1935 to 1985 the Division of Vital Statistics collected final divorce orders. Those from 1935 to 1983 are available on microfilm at the British Columbia Archives as well as an index to these orders. The index also includes references to divorces from 1901 to 1935, providing date and court location. A guide to these records is available. [www.bcarchives.bc.ca/BC_Research_Guide/BC_Divorce_Rcrd.aspx].

Orders Issued in Divorce and Matrimonial Causes, 1877-1931 [www.rootsweb.com/~canbc/vic_divorce/vic_div.htm?o_xid=0039580444&o_lid =0039580444&o_xt=41383748] Online index for the district of Victoria

Manitoba

The Archives of Manitoba [www.gov.mb.ca/chc/archives/genealogy/gen_text/ court_rec_div.html] holds divorce records up to 1978 for the districts of Brandon, Portage and Winnipeg. Other files are still in the custody of regional courts.
Manitoba Courts [www.manitobacourts.mb.ca/]

New Brunswick

The Provincial Archives of New Brunswick holds divorces records from 1796 to 1987. An index by name is available for 1847 to 1979. Later divorce records are in the custody of the Justice and Attorney General department [http://app.infoaa.7700.gnb.ca/gnb/pub/DetailOrgEng1.asp?OrgID1=2104 &DeptID1=45].

Newfoundland and Labrador

Divorce records are in the custody of the different offices of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador (Trial Division) [www.justice.gov.nl.ca/just/LAWCOURT/trial.htm].

Northwest Territories

Divorce records created after July 1968 are in the custody of the:

Northwest Territories Courts
Box 550
Yellowknife NT
X1A 2N4

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management holds divorce records from 1759 to 1960. Consult the online database Court for Divorce and Matrimonial Causes case files, 1759-1960 [www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm/virtual/rg39/divorce/] to find references to divorce records.

Later divorce records are in the custody of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia.
Courts of Nova Scotia [www.courts.ns.ca/]

Nunavut

Divorce records from 1968 to 1999 are in the custody of the:

Northwest Territories Courts
Box 550
Yellowknife NT
X1A 2N4

Inquiries for later divorce records should be addressed to Nunavut Archives.

Ontario

The Archives of Ontario holds divorce files from 1931 to 1978. Records from 1979 to the present are in the custody of the local courthouse of the Superior Court of Justice where the divorce was filed. Consult Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario [www.archives.gov.on.ca/english/guides/rg_210_divorce-ontario.aspx] for more information.

Prince Edward Island

A Court of Divorce was established in 1835. The Public Archives and Records Office holds records from 1835 to 1976. Later records and finding aids fro the complete series are held at Sir Louis Henry Davies Law Courts [www.gov.pe.ca/infopei/index.php3?number=16623&PHPSESSID= f7510e2d8d36170d0173a305ffce3c05]

Quebec

Before 1968, the Quebec civil code made no provision for divorce. Divorce could be obtained only from a private act of the Parliament of the Government of Canada.

However, legal separations between spouses were made by notaries and are accessible through the same process as Notarial Records.

Starting in 1867, a judgement in Separation from bed and board could be obtained from the Cour supérieure du Québec. A notice of action was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec. This notice includes:

  • the names of petitioner and spouse;
  • the name of the court and district;
  • the cause number.

Divorce records created after 1968 are in the custody of the greffe des divorces in each district of the Cour supérieure du Québec.

Addresses of Courthouses and Judicial Service Centres [www.justice.gouv.qc.ca/francais/joindre/palais/palais.htm]

Saskatchewan

Divorce records from 1920 to 1950 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library. Use their online catalogue to identify microfilm reel numbers. Later divorce records are in the custody of the Court of Queen's Bench.
Courts of Saskatchewan [www.saskjustice.gov.sk.ca/courts/default.shtml]

Yukon

Yukon Archives holds divorce records prior to 1950. Consult the Inventory to the Records of the Yukon Government, YRG1, Series 11, Territorial Court Records, 1897-1950 held at the Yukon Archives [www.btc.gov.yk.ca/archives/findingaids/YRG_1_Series_11.pdf]. Later records are still in the custody of the Court Services [www.justice.gov.yk.ca/prog/cs/index.html].

Research Online

An Introduction To Canadian Parliamentary Divorces, 1826-1946 [www.afhs.ab.ca/data/divorces/index.html]

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Généalogie et histoire familiale

Quoi chercher : Sujets

Naissances, mariages et décès


Divorce

Acte pour faire droit à John Monteith. Statuts du Canada, 1887, chap. 129

Source

Acte pour faire droit
à John Monteith.
Statuts du Canada,
1887, chap. 129.

De 1840 à 1968, au Canada, on ne pouvait obtenir un divorce que par une loi d'intérêt privé du Parlement. Avant 1867, seulement cinq actes de divorce ont été accordés et publiés dans les Statuts de la province du Canada ou dans les Journaux de l'Assemblée législative de la Province du Canada. Le premier divorce au Canada a eu lieu en 1841 entre John Stuart et Elizabeth Van Reneselaer Powell.

Entre 1867 et 1968, quiconque désirait obtenir un divorce devait tout d'abord faire imprimer un avis d'intention de demande en divorce auprès du gouvernement dans La Gazette du Canada et dans deux autres journaux de son district ou de son comté de résidence et ce, pendant six mois.

La demande elle-même devait donner des détails, notamment la date et le lieu du mariage et les circonstances entourant la fin du mariage. En cas d'adultère ou de bigamie, on donnait souvent le nom du codéfendeur ou de la codéfenderesse. Le Parlement étudiait la demande soumise et, s'il décidait d'y répondre favorablement, une loi d'intérêt privé annulait le mariage. Entre 1867 et 1963, une transcription de l'acte était publiée dans les Statuts du Canada de la même année. Après, entre 1964 et 1968, la transcription était publiée dans les Journaux du Sénat du Canada.

La transcription contient l'information provenant de la demande :

  • les noms des deux parties en cause
  • leur lieu de résidence respectif
  • la date et le lieu du mariage
  • les motifs de la demande en divorce.

Recherche à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada possède des copies des publications officielles du gouvernement du Canada dans lesquelles les transcriptions des actes de divorce étaient publiées.

Notre base de données Actes de divorce, 1841-1968 comprend des références aux transcriptions des actes de divorce publiées dans :

  • Statuts de la province du Canada
  • Journaux de l'Assemblée législative de la Province du Canada
  • Statuts du Canada
  • Journaux du Sénat du Canada.

Recherche dans des sources publiées

Plusieurs bibliothèques au Canada possèdent des copies de ces publications officielles. Utilisez la base de données AMICUS pour trouver des références pour ces publications officielles tel qu'expliqué dans l'Aide en direct de la base de données Le divorce au Canada.

Recherche dans d'autres institutions

Vous pouvez obtenir une copie certifiée d'un acte de divorce pour des fins légales pour les divorces ayant été accordés par le gouvernement du Canada ou le Sénat du Canada entre 1867 et 1968. Communiquez avec le Sénat du Canada à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau du légiste et conseiller parlementaire
Bureau 1310, 13e étage
40, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A4
Téléphone : 613-992-2416

Les personnes désirant obtenir des renseignements sur comment obtenir une copie de l'acte de leur propre divorce, de 1968 jusqu'à nos jours, peuvent aussi communiquer avec le Bureau d'enregistrement des actions en divorce en composant le 613-957-4519. Veuillez prendre note que les lois sur la protection de la vie privée empêchent la divulgation d'information à toutes autres personnes, à l'exception des deux parties impliquées dans la cause de divorce.

Recherche dans les provinces

Vous pouvez aussi trouver des documents de divorce dans des archives et des cours de justice provinciales. Des restrictions d'accès sont en vigueur pour les documents de divorce produits récemment en vertu des lois provinciales de protection de la vie privée.

Alberta

Les Provincial Archives conservent les documents de divorce de 1918 à 1975 de plusieurs districts judiciaires. Des index sont accessibles pour la plupart des documents. Les documents datant de moins de 30 ans sont encore en possession de la cour. Pour trouver un document particulier, il faut connaître la localité où la personne a fait une demande de divorce.
Court Locations and Addresses [www.justice.gov.ab.ca/courts/default.aspx?id=1262]

Colombie-Britannique

Le premier divorce en Colombie-Britannique a été accordé en 1877. Les documents de divorce produits par les plus grands districts judiciaires de la Cour Suprême jusqu'en 1990 sont conservés aux British Columbia Archives. Les documents de divorce qui ne sont pas conservés par les British Columbia Archives sont encore en la possession d'un des bureaux des districts judiciaires de la Cour Suprême [www.courts.gov.bc.ca/supreme_court/court_locations_and_contacts.aspx] (disponible en anglais seulement).

De 1935 à 1985, le département des Vital Statistics a recueilli les décrets de divorce. Ceux-ci de 1935 à 1983, ainsi qu'un index, sont accessibles sur microfilm aux British Columbia Archives. Lindex comprend aussi des références pour les divorces de 1901 à 1935, indiquant la date et le nom de cour qui a rendu le jugement. Un guide pour ces documents est disponible. [www.bcarchives.bc.ca/BC_Research_Guide/BC_Divorce_Rcrd.aspx] (disponible en anglais seulement).

Orders Issued in Divorce and Matrimonial Causes, 1877-1931 [www.rootsweb.com/~canbc/vic_divorce/vic_div.htm?o_xid=0039580444&o_lid =0039580444&o_xt=41383748]. Index en ligne pour le district de Victoria

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Une Court of Divorce a été créée en 1835. Le Public Archives and Records Office conserve des documents allant de 1835 à 1976. Les documents produits après cette date et les instruments de recherche pour tous les documents de divorce sont conservés à Sir Louis Henry Davies Law Courts [www.gov.pe.ca/infopei/index.php3?number=16623&PHPSESSID= f7510e2d8d36170d0173a305ffce3c05].

Manitoba

Les Archives du Manitoba [www.gov.mb.ca/chc/archives/genealogie/gen_text/court_rec_div.html] conservent les documents de divorce produits jusqu'en 1978 pour les districts de Brandon, Portage et Winnipeg. Les autres documents sont conservés par les cours locales.
Manitoba Courts [www.manitobacourts.mb.ca/]

Nouveau-Brunswick

Les Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick conservent les documents de divorce produits entre 1796 et 1987. Un index par nom est accessible pour les années 1847 à 1979. Les documents produits après cette date sont conservés par le ministère de la Justice et procureur général [http://app.infoaa.7700.gnb.ca/gnb/pub/DetailOrgFre1.asp?OrgID1=2104&DeptID1=45].

Nouvelle-Écosse

Le Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management conserve les documents de divorce pour les années 1759 à 1960. Consultez la base de données en ligne Court for Divorce and Matrimonial Causes case files, 1759-1960 [www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm/virtual/rg39/divorce/] (disponible en anglais seulement) pour trouver des références pour les documents de divorce.

Les documents de divorce plus récents sont conservés par la Supreme Court of Nova Scotia.
Courts of Nova Scotia [www.courts.ns.ca/]

Nunavut

Les documents de divorce de 1968 à 1999 sont conservés par :

Northwest Territories Courts
Box 550
Yellowknife NT
X1A 2N4

Les demandes pour les documents de divorce produits après cette date doivent être adressées à Nunavut Archives.

Ontario

Les Archives de l'Ontario possèdent les dossiers de divorce de 1931 à 1978. Les documents produits à compter de 1979 sont conservés par les greffes de tribunaux locaux de la Cour supérieure de justice où le divorce a été enregistré. Consultez le guide Comment trouver un dossier de divorce en Ontario [www.archives.gov.on.ca/french/guides/rg_210_divorce-ontario.aspx] pour plus de renseignements.

Québec

Avant 1968, le code civil du Québec ne permettait pas le divorce. Le divorce ne pouvait être obtenu que par une loi privée du parlement du gouvernement du Canada.

Toutefois, des séparations légales entre époux pouvaient être passés devant notaire. Ces documents sont accessibles de la même manière que les actes notariés.

À compter de 1867, un jugement en Séparation de corps et de biens pouvait être obtenu de la Cour supérieure du Québec. Un avis d'action était publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec. Cet avis comprend :

  • les noms des deux parties en cause
  • le nom de la cour et du district
  • le numéro de cause.

Les documents de divorce produits après 1968 sont conservés dans le greffe des divorces de chaque district de la Cour supérieure du Québec.

Coordonnées des palais de justice et des points de service de justice, au Québec [www.justice.gouv.qc.ca/francais/joindre/palais/palais.htm]

Saskatchewan

Les documents de divorce allant de 1920 à 1950 ont été microfilmés et sont accessibles à la Family History Library. Utilisez leur catalogue en ligne pour identifier les numéros de bobines de microfilms. Les documents de divorce produits après 1950 sont conservés par la Court of Queen's Bench.
Courts of Saskatchewan [www.saskjustice.gov.sk.ca/courts/default.shtml]

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Les documents de divorce sont conservés dans les différents bureaux de la Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador (Trial Division) [www.justice.gov.nl.ca/just/LAWCOURT/trial.htm].

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Les documents de divorce produits après juillet 1968 sont conservés par :

Northwest Territories Courts
Box 550
Yellowknife NT
X1A 2N4

Yukon

Les Yukon Archives conservent les documents de divorce produits avant 1950. Consultez le Inventory to the Records of the Yukon Government, YRG1, Series 11, Territorial Court Records, 1897-1950 held at the Yukon Archives [www.btc.gov.yk.ca/archives/findingaids/YRG_1_Series_11.pdf]. Les documents produits après 1950 sont encore conservés par les Court Services [www.justice.gov.yk.ca/prog/cs/index.html].

Recherche en ligne

An Introduction To Canadian Parliamentary Divorces, 1826-1946 [www.afhs.ab.ca/data/divorces/index.html]