Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Information Management - Information Matters

Outputs from Stage 2: Collection, Creation, Receipt and Capture

The outputs from this stage include:

Information Assets
Each record or information file is an important information asset for the Government of Canada. As soon as it is collected, created, received or captured, the record must be assessed as to whether it will be included or excluded from the concept of legal control by the department, and hence by the Government of Canada.

The Access to Information Act, Privacy Act and the Library and Archives Canada Act all speak about records "under the control of" government institutions. Control issues relate to both who is controlling the records, and how the control is being exercised. More can be learned within the Department of Justice's website.

Appraisal of Business Value
Each time a record is created, it needs to be appraised in terms of its business value that is to say its importance to the core mandate and running of the business of the department. Since this appraisal must be performed by the person creating the record, formal procedures and guidelines should be developed to guide each government employee, regardless of their role in the organization, about how to assess their records. These appraisals set the stage for how records will be stored, shared, and disposed of.

Information Inventory
Each record and piece of information contributes to your department's information inventory. This growing inventory is built record by record, each of which is added using basic or advanced tombstone data. The tombstone data varies according to the business of each department, and is used to catalog and retrieve information assets.

Publications
If any information is in the form of a publication, copies must be forwarded immediately for legal deposit to the department's library and to Library and Archives Canada. When publications become obsolete, surplus publications must also be forwarded to Library and Archives Canada.

This stage is an important precursor to all the other Stages of the Records and Information Life Cycle. Stage 3 will organize the information to make it easy to locate and retrieve information when needed.

Previous

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Gestion de l'information - L'information, ça compte

Résultats de l'étape 2: collecte, création, réception et saisie

Voici les résultats clés de cette étape :

Actifs d'information documentaire
Chaque document ou fichier d'information représente un important actif d'information documentaire pour l'administration fédérale. Dès que le document est collecté, créé, reçu ou saisi, le ministère, donc le gouvernement du Canada, doit l'évaluer afin de déterminer s'il sera inclus dans le concept de contrôle légal ou s'il en sera exclu.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada traitent des documents « relevant » des institutions fédérales. Les questions relatives au contrôle concernent qui contrôle les documents et comment s'exerce le contrôle. De plus amples détails sont disponibles sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice.

Évaluation de la valeur opérationnelle
Chaque fois qu'un document est créé, il faut en déterminer la valeur opérationnelle c'est-à-dire l'importance qu'il revêt en fonction du mandat de base et de l'exécution des activités du ministère. Étant donné que l'évaluation incombe à l'auteur du document, il faut établir une procédure et des lignes directrices officielles afin d'orienter les employés gouvernementaux, peu importe le poste qu'ils occupent au sein de l'organisme, sur la façon d'évaluer leurs documents. Ces évaluations tracent la voie quant à la façon dont les documents seront entreposés, partagés et éliminés.

Inventaire de l'information
Chaque document et pièce d'information s'ajoutent à l'inventaire de l'information de votre ministère. Cet inventaire sans cesse croissant est bâti un document à la fois, et chaque document est ajouté en ayant recours à des données d'identification de base ou avancées. Les données d'identification varient selon les activités propres à chaque ministère et servent au catalogage et à la récupération d'actifs d'information documentaire.

Publications
Si de l'information se présente sous la forme d'une publication, il est nécessaire de transmettre des exemplaires pour les besoins du dépôt légal à la bibliothèque du ministère et à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Lorsque les publications deviennent désuètes, les publications en surplus doivent également être transmises à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Cette étape est un important élément précurseur à toutes les autres étapes du cycle de vie des documents et de l'information. L'étape 3 structurera l'information de façon que l'on puisse la repérer et la récupérer facilement.

Précédent