Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Information Management - Information Matters

Resources for Stage 2: Collection, Creation, Receipt and Capture

Collection of Personal Information
Source: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Description: Guides government employees on policies and procedures related to the Government of Canada's collection of personal information.

Business Resumption Planning - Security
Source: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Description: Technical standards to provide for timely and cost-effective resumption of essential business operations in the event of a disruption.

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Canadian Archival Community: A Guide and Commentary
Source: Privacy and Information Policy Consultants
Description: A series of introductory points set the stage for the analysis that follows in this guide and commentary, which focuses on the relationship between the Canadian archival community and privacy or data protection legislation.

Understanding Electronic Records: The Basics
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Provides a basic introduction to electronic records, including basic information on the storage of semi-active and dormant information.

IM Forum Information: Imaging
Source: IM Forum
Description: Explores all the IM issues surrounding the lifecycle of image assets.

Guidelines for Microfilming Records of Archival Value
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Provides guidance to government institutions on microfilming records of archival value to achieve archival film and on the quality control and archival storage conditions necessary to achieve stable images and media permanence. Can also be adopted by organizations wishing to retain microfilm for lengthy periods of time.

Guidelines for Records Created under a Public Key Infrastructure Using Encryption and Digital Signatures
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Provides current input to the Information Strategy, Service Delivery Strategy, and Information and Application Architecture. Also provides guidance on the management of Information Assets, Long-Term Availability, Understandability and Usability of Records, and Transfer of Archival Records to the Library and Archives of Canada.

Managing cartographic, architectural and engineering records in the Government of Canada
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: A comprehensive guide that describes all the aspects of managing cartographic, architectural and engineering records.

Guidelines for Managing Recorded Information in a Minister's Office
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Guidelines for design and operation of systems for managing recorded information in a minister's office, according to legislative requirements and the needs of ministers and their staff. Refers to a suggested Information Classification System and Security of Information.

Records Tools
Source: Environmental Protection Agency, USA
Description: A good set of instructions and tools for managing and disposing of records, including specific guidance on emails.

Privacy Guidelines - General
Source: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Description: Guidelines for public servants in their day-to-day administration of the Privacy Act.

Privacy Impact Assessment Guidelines: A Framework to Manage Privacy Risks
Source: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Description: Presents a comprehensive framework to conduct a Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA). The PIA ensures that privacy principles and legislation are considered and adhered to throughout the lifecycle of a new program, service or initiative and where appropriate, for existing initiatives undergoing service transformation or redesign.

Year 2000 Initiatives: Record Keeping Guidelines for the Government of Canada
Source: IM Forum's Year 2000 Record Keeping and Archives Working Group
Description: Provides a model subject classification system for Year 2000 records that can be used as a guide for building new classifications systems.

Securing Publicly Available Information
Source: Office of Critical Infrastructure Protection and Emergency Preparedness (OCIPEP)
Description: Assists security professionals in identifying risk management strategies for sensitive information that, if in the public domain, could place critical infrastructure (CI) at greater risk. Owners and operators of CI are encouraged to consider these criteria when deciding whether information should be made available to the public via the Internet or through other means.

Networked Electronic Publications Policy and Guidelines
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Given Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) mandate to preserve the Canadian published heritage, simply acquiring the right to point or link to an electronic publication stored at the publisher's site is not sufficient to ensure the long-term accessibility and preservation of Canadiana items. LAC must obtain an electronic copy of any electronic publication selected for its permanent collections. By acquiring an electronic publication from the originator as soon as it becomes published, the LAC is assured of preserving the integrity of a publication as originally released. The LAC is also able to verify and ensure that the electronic publication is in a form that is readable by standard software and therefore accessible for current and future generations of readers and researchers.

Guidelines for reporting machine-readable accessions to the National Library's Union Catalogue
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Provides direction for the submission of MARA (Machine-Readable Accessions) records to the Library and Archives Canada's automated Union Catalogue.

Legal Deposit: Preserving Canada's Published Heritage
Source: Library and Archives Canada
Description: Legal Deposit is the means by which a comprehensive national collection is gathered together as a record of the nation's published heritage and development. Canadian publishers are required to send two copies of all books, pamphlets, serial publications, microforms, spoken word sound recordings, videorecordings, electronic publications issued in physical formats, such as CD-ROM, CD-I, computer diskette, etc, and one copy of musical sound recordings and multi-media kits they publish, to Library and Archives Canada.

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Canadian Archival Community: A Guide and Commentary
Source: Privacy and Information Policy Consultants
Description: A series of introductory points set the stage for the analysis that follows in this guide and commentary, which focuses on the relationship between the Canadian archival community and privacy or data protection legislation.

Managing Your Information: Justice Sector Information Management Policy Guidebook
Source: Ministry of Justice, New Zealand
Description: Provides good practice principles for the management of information throughout its lifecycle, a model policy for agencies to adapt and a memorandum of understanding for justice sector agencies sharing information.

Previous

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Gestion de l'information - L'information, ça compte

Ressources à l'appui de l'étape 2: collecte, création, réception et saisie

Collecte de renseignements personnels
Source : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Description : Guide les employés du gouvernement des politiques et procédures relatives à la collection d'information personnel du Gouvernement du Canada.

Planification de la reprise des opérations - Sécurité
Source : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Description : Renferme des normes et des lignes directrices en vue d'assurer la reprise rapide et rentable des opérations essentielles en cas d'interruption de service.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la communauté archivistique canadienne : Guide et commentaire
Source : Privacy and Information Policy Consultants
Description : Un certain nombre de points formulés sous forme télégraphique tiennent lieu d'exposé introductif de l'analyse présentée dans le présent guide et commentaire, qui porte sur le rapport entre la communauté archivistique canadienne et la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels/des données.

Comprendre les documents électroniques : Notions élémentaires
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Présente une introduction générale sur les documents électroniques, y compris de l'information de base sur l'entreposage de l'information semi-active et inactive.

Forum sur la gestion de l'information Information: Imagerie
Source : Forum sur la GI
Description : Explore toutes les questions relatives à la GI touchant le cycle de vie des images.

Lignes directrices sure le microfilmage des documents de valeur archivistique
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Propose aux institutions gouvernementales des conseils sur le microfilmage de documents de valeur archivistique selon des méthodes qui produiront un film de qualité archives, ainsi que sur la qualité et les conditions d'entreposage pour obtenir des images stables et la permanence du support.

Lignes directrices concernant les documents chiffrés et signés numériquement selon une Infrastructure à clé publique
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Formule des commentaires à l'égard de la stratégie d'information, la stratégie de prestation de services et l'architecture de l'information et des applications. Prodigue également des conseils au sujet de la gestion des actifs d'information documentaire, de la disponibilité à long terme, de l'intelligibilité et de la facilité d'utilisation des documents ainsi que du transfert des documents archivistiques à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

La gestion des documents cartographiques, architecturaux et techniques dans l'administration fédérale
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Guide complet décrivant en détail les aspects de la gestion des documents cartographiques, architecturaux et techniques

Lignes directrices sur la gestion de l'information consignée dans un cabinet de ministre
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Lignes directrices relatives à la conception et au fonctionnement des systèmes de gestion de l'information consignée dans un cabinet de ministre, conformément aux prescriptions des lois et aux besoins des ministres et de leur personnel. Fait référence à un système de classification de l'information et de sécurité de l'information.

Records Tools
Nota : Non disponible en version française
Source : Environmental Protection Agency, USA
Description : Bon ensemble de directives et d'outils concernant la gestion et l'élimination des documents, y compris des directives précises en ce qui a trait aux courriels.

Lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels - Généralités
Source : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Description : Lignes directrices pour les fonctionnaires concernant l'application quotidienne de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Lignes directrices sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée - Cadre de gestion des risques d'entrave à la vie privée
Source : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Description : Présente un cadre complet pour la réalisation d'une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFVP). L'ÉFVP permet de s'assurer qu'on tient compte des principes et des lois en matière de protection de la vie privée et qu'on les respecte tout au long du cycle de vie d'un nouveau programme, service ou projet et, s'il y a lieu, lorsqu'on envisage de renouveler ou de transformer des initiatives existantes.

Initiatives An 2000 : Lignes directrices sur la tenue des dossiers à l'intention du Gouvernement du Canada
Source : Groupe de travail (GT) sur la tenue des dossiers et les archives sur l'An 2000, Forum sur la gestion de l'information (GI)
Description : Présente un modèle de système de classification idéologique pour les documents de l'an 2000 pouvant servir de guide dans le cadre de la mise au point de nouveaux systèmes de classification.

Comment sécuriser l'information accessible au public
Source : Bureau de la protection des infrastructures essentielles et de la protection civile (BPIEPC)
Description : Aide les spécialistes de la sécurité à déterminer des stratégies de gestion du risque en ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate qui, s'ils étaient du domaine public, pourraient exposer davantage les infrastructures essentielles (IE) à un plus grand risque. On encourage les propriétaires et exploitants des IE à tenir compte de ces critères lorsqu'ils décident s'il y a lieu de permettre l'accès à des renseignements par l'entremise de l'Internet ou par d'autres moyens.

Politiques et directives relatives aux publications électroniques diffusées en réseau
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Le mandat de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada étant de préserver le patrimoine canadien de l'édition, le fait de seulement acquérir les droits afin de pouvoir orienter ou établir des liens avec une publication électronique stockée sur le site Web d'un éditeur ne suffit pas à assurer l'accessibilité à long terme et la conservation des publications canadiennes. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada doit obtenir un exemplaire électronique des publications électroniques qu'elle a sélectionnées pour conserver dans ses collections permanentes. En faisant l'acquisition de la publication électronique auprès de son auteur aussitôt qu'elle est publiée, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada s'assure de préserver intégralement la publication telle qu'elle a été diffusée à l'origine. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada peut aussi vérifier et s'assurer que la publication électronique est sous un format qui peut être lu au moyen d'un logiciel standard et, par conséquent, qu'elle est accessible pour les générations actuelles et futures de lecteurs et de chercheurs et qu'elle le demeurera.

Guide de signalement des notices lisibles par machine au Catalogue collectif de la Bibliothèque nationale
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Contient des directives pour le signalement des notices lisibles par machine (MARA) au Catalogue collectif automatisé de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Le dépôt légal : pour conserver les publications du patrimoine canadien
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Description : Le dépôt légal sert à rassembler une vaste collection nationale qui témoigne du patrimoine et du développement de l'édition canadienne. Les éditeurs canadiens sont tenus d'envoyer à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada deux exemplaires de tous les livres, brochures, publications en série, microformes, livres sonores, enregistrements vidéo, documents électroniques publiés sur support, tels que les disques compacts ROM, les disques compacts interactifs, les disquettes d'ordinateur, etc., et un exemplaire des enregistrements sonores musicaux et des trousses multimédias qu'ils publient.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la communauté archivistique canadienne : Guide et commentaire
Source : Privacy and Information Policy Consultants
Description : Un certain nombre de points formulés sous forme télégraphique tiennent lieu d'exposé introductif de l'analyse présentée dans le présent guide et commentaire, qui porte sur le rapport entre la communauté archivistique canadienne et la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels/des données.


Managing Your Information : Justice Sector Information Management Policy Guidebook

Nota : Non disponible en version française
Source : Ministry of Justice, New Zealand
Description : Fournit des principes en matière de bonne pratique relativement à la gestion de l'information tout au long de son cycle de vie, un modèle de politique à l'intention des organismes et un protocole d'entente pour les organismes du secteur de la justice qui partagent l'information.

Précédent