Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

1.4 Retention Guidelines for Common Administrative Records of the Government of Canada

National Archives of Canada
June 2000

You are viewing a document archived by Library and Archives Canada. For the most recent version, please visit Retention Guidelines for Common Administrative Records of the Government of Canada.

Next


Table of Contents

Overview

Introduction

Part 1 General Administration Function

Part 2 Real Property Management Function

Part 3 Materiel Management Function

Part 4 Comptrollership Function

Part 5 Human Resources Management Function

Index


Overview

These interim guidelines are issued to address the retention of common administrative records of the Government of Canada until such time as new guidelines are developed in accordance with the functional arrangement of the National Archives of Canada Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities (MIDAs). They replace the General Records Disposal Schedules of the Government of Canada (GRDS), Fourth Edition 1986, PAC 86/001 in their entirety for all matters dealing with the retention of common administrative records of the Government of Canada.

Disposition authority for the disposal of records covered by these guidelines is documented in MIDAs covering common administrative records. Schedule 2 of the GRDS, however, continues to serve as the disposition authority for Buildings and Properties until superceded by the release of a new MIDA for Buildings and Real Property.

The guidelines apply to records of institutions subject to the National Archives of Canada Act when those records are collected, created or received to support internal administrative functions. The guidelines do not apply, however, to records which are collected, created or received by an institution in carrying out a government-wide administrative function on behalf of the Government of Canada.


Introduction

Purpose and content of these Guidelines

This instrument presents retention periods for common administrative records based on best practices established over the last thirty years, and as well, contains Treasury Board policy direction on the retention and disposal of records containing personal information. Where destruction of records is not authorized, this instrument provides information which helps an institution identify the appropriate disposition authority or as required secure a new disposition authority. Although these guidelines include essential information to facilitate the disposition of common administrative records, National Archives of Canada Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities (MIDAs) will need to be consulted when records are excluded.

For each of the five administrative functions contained in this instrument, the subject groups and subjects of the records are intentionally arranged in alphabetic order to circumvent the variety of information classification structures and retrieval systems in government institutions thereby simplifying the retrieval of retention information.

Use, interpretation and review

Records retention information is presented in the document under the heading of Retention Guidelines and/or Remarks.

Recommended retention

When records are governed by an existing MIDA the retention information offered in this instrument takes the form of retention guidelines expressed in months, calendar years and fiscal years.

Exclusions - not authorized for disposition

The guidelines also contain an extensive number of exclusions, that is records which are not specifically authorized for disposition by a MIDA and as such are not allocated a specific retention period within these retention guidelines.

This primarily occurs because, either:

  • the records can be more logically connected to the institution's operational mandate and should therefore be included in an Institution-Specific Disposition Authority (ISDA) governing the records of that institution; or
  • because the records can be more logically grouped under another administrative activity and should therefore inherit the retention period of that new activity.

A list of the type of records which would normally be excluded under each of the administrative functions is contained in the introduction to parts 1 through 5.

Ultimately, institutional representatives are accountable for determining whether the disposition of records is authorized either in a Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) or in an Institution-Specific Disposition Authority (ISDA).

Where records clearly do not have a disposition authority or where there is some doubt regarding disposition, consultation should take place between representatives of the institution's corporate records and/or information management office located at the Headquarters, and representatives of the National Archives, Government Archives and Records Disposition Division (GARDD). A Records Disposition Business Centre point of contact is provided for these purposes.

These guidelines can be used "as is" by government institutions. When the guidelines do not meet institutional records retention requirements, they can be adjusted to accommodate specific institutional needs. Both the retention and disposition of records containing personal information about federal employees, however, are non-discretionary and are addressed under the heading of Personal information.

Assistance

When it is determined that records are not authorized for disposition or when disposition authority cannot be determined, institutional representatives should consult the appropriate Information Systems Analyst of the Government Archives and Records Disposition Division (GARDD) of the National Archives.

Federal Records Centres

When institutions use Federal Records Centres (FRCs) to manage records on their behalf, representatives of FRCs will agree to accept the records only when they are covered by valid disposition authorities or where there is a plan in place which will result in a valid authority in a reasonable time. If these conditions are not met, FRC representatives will refer institutional representatives to GARDD and alert the appropriate Information Systems Analyst in GARDD.

This approach will assist client institutions in determining proper disposition authority for records and facilitate the application of Federal Records Centre policy on the management of records on behalf of client institutions.

Review

Institutional representatives are invited to share with the National Archives any retention requirements not currently addressed by this guidance.

In addition, the National Archives has established the following review mechanisms. When government institutions request FRCs to manage common administrative records on their behalf, and institutional retention requirements for common administrative records exceed the retention time frames offered as guidelines in this instrument, representatives of FRCs will request from institutional representatives justification for deviating from the guidelines.

Personal information

The retention and the disposition of records containing personal information are governed by the Privacy Act and regulated by the Treasury Board which publishes descriptions and retention and disposal standards for such records.

These guidelines include Treasury Board's retention and disposal standards for records described in Standard Banks and published in its publication entitled Info Source: Sources of Federal Employee Information. The retention and disposal information from standard Banks is compulsory and must be adhered to. The authority for retention and disposal standards for records containing personal information about federal employees is the Treasury Board of Canada.

Application

Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities for common administrative records apply to the administrative records of institutions subject to the National Archives of Canada Act, provided that such records, collected, created or received in the conduct of business, are not used to support a government-wide administrative function carried-out on behalf of the Government of Canada.

Institutions mandated to perform a government-wide function on behalf of the Government of Canada, are referred to as Offices of Primary Interest (OPIs). They are defined as government institutions to which the authority, responsibility, and accountability to perform a particular function - for the purpose of this instrument, an administrative function - on behalf of the Government of Canada have been specifically assigned by legislation, regulation, policy, or mandate.

Offices of Primary Interest create two sets of administrative records. The first set of records consists of those records which relate to their role in the Government of Canada as a leading government body or central agency in a given field, for example, Public Works and Government Services Canada in the area of real property management. For such records, the guidelines contained in this instrument do not apply. OPIs must therefore seek separate disposition authorities for the records they create which are not common and therefore not authorized for disposition in MIDAs covering common administrative records.

The second set of records OPIs create is their internal administrative records which can be classified as common administrative records. These guidelines apply to such records. For example, the Department of Finance cannot apply these retention guidelines to its financial management records which relate to its mandate as a central agency on behalf of the Government of Canada, but can apply the retention guidelines to its internal financial management and other administrative records.

The covering page of each of the five functions in this instrument provides examples of those institutions for which the retention guidelines only apply to their internal administrative records.

Implementation advice and assistance

Ultimately, individual institutions are accountable for the establishment and implementation of retention periods, and for applying records disposition authorities. Advice and assistance, however, can be obtained from the National Archives.

Use of these Guidelines

For advice and assistance on the use of these guidelines and any other matter related to the management of government records, contact the Office of Government Records.

Application and interpretation of MIDAs

For any matter concerning the application and interpretation of MIDAs, the appropriate Information Systems Analyst, Government Archives and Records Disposition Division, can be contacted directly or when the person's name is unknown, through the following Centre:

Records Disposition Business Centre
Telephone: 613-947-1483
Email: IMGI@bac-lac.gc.ca

Regional contacts

In the regions, institutional representatives can contact the nearest Federal Records Centre.

Pacific Region
Mr. Terry Kirk
Head, Accessions and Disposal
Pacific Region Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
2751 Production Way
Burnaby, British Columbia V5A 3G7
Telephone: 604-666-1661
Fax: 604-666-4963
Email: Pacificfrc@bac-lac.gc.ca

Prairies-Northwest Region
Mr. John Perry
Head, Records Management
Prairies-Northwest Region Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
8707-51 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T6E 5H1
Telephone: 780-495-6691
Fax: 780-495-2259
Email: john.perry@bac-lac.gc.ca

Manitoba Region
Mr. Todd Panas
Accession and Disposal Coordinator
Manitoba Regional Service Centre
National Archives of Canada
1700 Inkster Blvd
Winnipeg, Manitoba R2X 2T1
Telephone: 204-983-4496
Fax: 204-983-4649
Email: AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

Ontario Region
Ms. May Fischetti
Head, Accessions and Disposal
Ontario Region Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
190 Carrier Drive
Rexdale, Ontario M9W 5R1
Telephone: 416-675-2557
Fax: 416-675-2862

National Capital Region
Ms. Susan Clarke
Head, Reference and Disposal
National Capital Region Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
Building #15
Tunney's Pasture
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N3
Telephone: 613-954-5906
Fax: 613-952-3973
Email: AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

Quebec Region - Montreal
Mr. Serge Charland
Unit Head, Accession and Disposal
Quebec Region - Montreal Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
645/655/665 Montée de Liesse
Ville St. Laurent, Quebec H4T 1P5
Telephone: 514-283-2273
Fax: 514-283-7347

Quebec Region - Quebec City
Mr. Guy Ricard
Chief, Reference and Accessions
Quebec Region - Quebec City Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
75 de Hambourg
Quebec, Quebec G3A 1S6
Telephone: 418-878-2825
Fax: 418-878-3123

Atlantic Region
Mr. Robert Graham
Head, Accession and Disposal
Atlantic Region Federal Records Centre
National Archives of Canada
270 Bluewater Road
Bedford, Nova Scotia B4B 1J6
Telephone: 902-426-4982
Fax: 902-426-8970
Email: AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

MIDA Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

1.4 Lignes directrices concernant la conservation des documents administratifs communs du gouvernement du Canada

Archives nationales du Canada - Juin 2000

Vous visualisez un document archivé par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Pour consulter la version la plus récente, veuillez vous rendre au Lignes directrices concernant la conservation des documents administratifs communs du gouvernement du Canada.

Précédent


Table des matières

Vue d'ensemble

Introduction

Partie 1 Fonction « administration générale »

Partie 2 Fonction « gestion immobilière »

Partie 3 Fonction « gestion du matériel »

Partie 4 Fonction « contrôleur »

Partie 5 Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines »

Index


Vue d'ensemble

Les présentes lignes directrices provisoires visent la conservation des documents administratifs communs du gouvernement du Canada et sont émises en attendant que de nouvelles lignes directrices soient élaborées conformément aux modalités fonctionnelles des Autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposition (APD) des Archives nationales du Canada. Elles remplacent entièrement les Plans généraux d'élimination des documents du gouvernement du Canada (PDÉDGC), Quatrième édition 1986, PAC 86/001, pour toute question relative à la conservation des documents administratifs communs de l'État.

L'autorisation de disposer des documents visés par les présentes lignes directrices est documentée dans les APD régissant les documents administratifs communs. Le Plan 2 des PGÉDGC demeure toutefois valable à titre d'autorisation de disposition pour les bâtiments et les propriétés jusqu'à ce qu'il soit remplacé par l'émission d'une nouvelle APD touchant les bâtiments et l'immobilier.

Les Lignes directrices s'appliquent aux documents des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur les Archives nationales du Canada lorsque les documents cueillis, créés ou reçus par ces institutions témoignent des fonctions administratives internes. Les Lignes directrices, par contre, ne s'appliquent pas aux documents cueillis, créés ou reçus par une institution lorsqu'ils témoignent d'une fonction administrative exercée par cette institution pour l'ensemble du gouvernement du Canada.

Introduction

But et contenu des Lignes directrices

Cet instrument de travail présente des périodes de conservation pour les documents administratifs communs qui sont fondées sur les meilleures pratiques des trente dernières années. Il contient aussi la politique du Conseil du Trésor en ce qui concerne la conservation et la destruction des documents qui contiennent des renseignements personnels. Lorsque la destruction des documents n'est pas autorisée, cet instrument offre aux institutions des informations qui serviront à identifier l'autorisation de disposition appropriée ou, au besoin, à obtenir une nouvelle autorisation de disposition. Même si cet instrument regroupe les informations essentielles pour faciliter la disposition des documents administratifs communs, on devra consulter les autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposition des Archives nationales du Canada lorsque des documents sont exclus de ces dernières.

Pour chacune des cinq fonctions administratives contenues dans cet ouvrage, les catégories et les sujets des documents sont intentionnellement présentés en ordre alphabétique afin de contourner les multiples structures des systèmes de classification et d'extraction des informations des institutions gouvernementales. Ce format de présentation devrait simplifier l'extraction des informations concernant la conservation des documents.

Utilisation, interprétation et révision

Les informations concernant la conservation sont présentées sous la rubrique Lignes directrices et/ou remarques.

Conservation recommandée

Lorsque les documents sont régis par une autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposition en vigueur, les informations de conservation sont présentées sous forme de lignes directrices concernant la conservation qui sont exprimées en mois, années civiles et années financières.

Exclusions - Disposition non autorisée

Les lignes directrices contiennent également un grand nombre d'exclusions, c.-à-d. des documents dont la disposition n'est pas expressément visée par une autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposition et qui ne sont donc pas accompagnés d'une mention de période de conservation spécifique dans ces lignes directrices.

Cette situation est principalement attribuable à ce qui suit :

  • les documents peuvent être reliés de façon plus logique au mandat opérationnel des institutions et devraient donc relever d'une autorisation spécifique régissant les documents de l'institution visée; ou
  • les documents peuvent être regroupés de façon plus logique sous une autre activité administrative et devraient donc se voir attribuer la même période de conservation que cette nouvelle activité.

Une liste des types de documents qui seraient habituellement exclus de chacune des fonctions administratives se trouve dans l'introduction des parties 1 à 5.

En bout de ligne, les représentants des institutions sont responsables de déterminer si la disposition des documents est autorisée en vertu d'une autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle ou d'une autorisation spécifique.

En l'absence d'une autorisation de disposition des documents ou en cas de doute quant à la disposition, les représentants du service central de gestion des documents et/ou de l'information des institutions devraient consulter les représentants de la Division des archives gouvernementales et de la disposition des documents (DAGDD). Le nom d'une personne-ressource du Centre de coordination des activités des documents est fourni à ces fins.

Ces lignes directrices peuvent être « utilisées telles quelles » par les institutions gouvernementales et, lorsque les lignes directrices ne satisfont pas aux exigences des institutions, elles peuvent être adaptées aux besoins spécifiques des institutions. Cependant, la conservation et la disposition des documents contenant des renseignements personnels au sujet des fonctionnaires fédéraux sont obligatoires et sont traitées sous la rubrique Renseignements personnels.

Aide

Lorsqu'il est déterminé que la disposition des documents n'est pas autorisée ou lorsque l'autorisation de disposition ne peut être déterminée, les représentants des institutions devraient consulter l'analyste des systèmes d'informations approprié à la DAGDD des Archives nationales.

Centres fédéraux de documents

Lorsque les institutions gouvernementales demandent aux Centres fédéraux de documents (CFD) de gérer leurs documents, les représentants des CFD accepteront les documents seulement lorsque la disposition des documents est autorisée dans des autorisations de disposition courantes ou lorsqu'un plan est en place pour la préparation d'une autorisation dans un laps de temps raisonnable. Si ces conditions ne sont pas satisfaites, les représentants des CFD aiguilleront les représentants des institutions vers la DAGDD et aviseront l'analyste des systèmes d'informations de la DAGDD.

Cette approche aidera les institutions desservies à déterminer les autorisations de disposition des documents adéquates et facilitera l'application de la politique des CFD sur la gestion des documents au nom des institutions pertinentes.

Révision

Les représentants des institutions sont invités à partager avec les Archives nationales tout besoin de conservation qui n'est pas actuellement traité dans les présentes lignes directrices.

De plus, les Archives nationales ont établi les mécanismes de révision suivants. Lorsque les institutions gouvernementales demandent aux CFD de gérer leurs documents administratifs communs et que les besoins de conservation des institutions excèdent les délais de conservation offerts à titre de lignes directrices dans cet instrument, les représentants des CFD demanderont aux représentants des institutions une justification pour dévier des Lignes directrices.

Renseignements personnels

La conservation et la disposition des documents qui contiennent des renseignements personnels sont régies par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Elles sont également réglementées par le Conseil du Trésor qui publie des descriptions et des normes de conservation et de destruction pour de tels documents.

Les présentes lignes directrices incluent les normes de conservation et de destruction du Conseil du Trésor pour les documents décrits dans des fichiers ordinaires et mentionnés dans sa publication Info Source : Sources de renseignements sur les employés fédéraux. Les informations sur les normes de conservation et de destruction contenues dans les fichiers ordinaires sont obligatoires et doivent donc être observées. Les normes de conservation et de destruction rattachées à des documents qui contiennent des renseignements personnels concernant les employés fédéraux relèvent du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Mise en application

Les autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposition qui visent les documents administratifs communs s'appliquent aux documents administratifs des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur les Archives nationales du Canada pourvu que de tels documents cueillis, créés ou reçus durant l'exercice des affaires ne sont pas utilisés pour témoigner d'une fonction administrative exercée au nom de l'État à l'échelle du gouvernement du Canada.

Les institutions qui accomplissent une fonction pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada sont appelées « bureaux de première responsabilité » (BPR). Ces institutions gouvernementales tiennent leur autorité et leur responsabilité d'une loi, d'un règlement, d'une politique ou d'un mandat dans l'exercice d'une fonction particulière - pour les fins du présent instrument de travail, une fonction administrative - pour l'ensemble du gouvernement du Canada.

Les BPR génèrent deux catégories de documents administratifs. La première catégorie vise les documents qui témoignent de leur rôle au sein du gouvernement du Canada à titre d'organismes officiels ou centraux dans un champ d'activité particulier, par exemple, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada dans le domaine de la gestion des biens immobiliers. Les lignes directrices contenues dans cet instrument de travail ne s'appliquent pas à de tels documents. Les BPR doivent plutôt demander des autorisations de disposition distinctes pour les documents créés qui ne sont pas communs et dont la disposition n'est pas autorisée par les autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles visant les documents administratifs communs.

La seconde catégorie de documents créés par les BPR regroupe les documents administratifs internes, qui peuvent être classés parmi les documents administratifs communs. De tels documents relèvent des présentes lignes directrices. Par exemple, le ministère des Finances ne peut appliquer ces lignes directrices à ses documents qui traitent de la gestion des finances lorsque ces derniers témoignent de son mandat à titre d'organisme central au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Par contre, le ministère peut appliquer les Lignes directrices à ses documents concernant la gestion des finances internes et autres documents de nature administrative.

La première page de chacune des cinq fonctions des Lignes directrices offre, à titre d'exemple, le nom d'institutions auxquelles les Lignes directrices s'appliquent, pour ce qui est des documents administratifs internes de ces institutions.

Avis et conseils sur la mise en œuvre

En fin de compte, il appartient à chaque institution d'établir et de mettre en œuvre les périodes de conservation et de faire respecter les autorisations de disposition des documents. Pour tout avis ou conseil, s'adresser aux Archives nationales.

Utilisation des Lignes directrices

Pour des avis et conseils concernant l'utilisation des présentes lignes directrices et tout autre aspect de la gestion des documents gouvernementaux, contactez le Bureau des documents gouvernementaux.

Application et interprétation des autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposition

Pour toute question concernant l'application et l'interprétation des autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposition, on peut s'adresser à l'analyste des systèmes d'informations approprié à la Division des archives gouvernementales et de la disposition des documents ou, si le nom de la personne est inconnu, au bureau suivant :

Centre de coordination des activités de disposition des documents
Téléphone : 613-947-1483
Courriel : IMGI@bac-lac.gc.ca

Personnes-ressources régionales

Au niveau régional, les représentants des institutions pourront s'adresser au CFD le plus près.

Région du Pacifique
M. Terry Kirk
Chef, Acquisitions et élimination
Centre fédéral de documents de la région du Pacifique
Archives nationales du Canada
2751, Production Way
Burnaby (Colombie-Britanique) V5A 3G7
Téléphone : 604-666-1661
Télécopieur : 604-666-4963
Courriel : Pacificfrc@bac-lac.gc.ca

Région des Prairies - Nord-Ouest
M. John Perry
Chef, Gestion des documents
Centre fédéral de documents de la région des Prairies - Nord-Ouest
Archives nationales du Canada
8707, 51e Avenue
Edmonton (Alberta) T6E 5H1
Téléphone : 780-495-6691
Télécopieur : 780-495-2259
Courriel : john.perry@bac-lac.gc.ca

Région du Manitoba
M. Todd Panas
Coordonnateur, Acquisitions et élimination
Centre de services régional du Manitoba
Archives nationales du Canada
1700, boul. Inkster
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2X 2T1
Téléphone : 204-983-4496
Télécopieur : 204-983-4649
Courriel : AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

Région de l'Ontario
Mme May Fischetti
Chef, Acquisitions et élimination
Centre fédéral de documents de la région de l'Ontario
Archives nationales du Canada
190, prom. Carrier
Rexdale (Ontario) M9W 5R1
Téléphone : 416-675-2557
Télécopieur : 416-675-2862charls

Région de la Capitale nationale
Mme. Susan Clarke
Chef, Références et élimination
Centre fédéral de documents de la région de la Capitale nationale
Archives nationales du Canada
Édifice nº 15
Parc Tunney
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N3
Téléphone : 613-954-5906
Télécopieur : 613-952-3973
Courriel : AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

Région du Québec - Montréal
M. Serge Charland
Chef, Services des acquisitions et de l'élimination
Centre fédéral de documents de la région du Québec - Montréal
Archives nationales du Canada
645/655/665, Montée de Liesse
Ville-St-Laurent (Québec) H4T 1P5
Téléphone : 514-283-2273
Télécopieur : 514-283-7347

Région du Québec - Ville de Québec
M. Guy Ricard
Chef, Références et acquisitions
Centre fédéral de documents de la région du Québec - Ville de Québec
Archives nationales du Canada
75, de Hambourg
Québec (Québec) G3A 1S6
Téléphone : 418-878-2825
Télécopieur : 418-878-3123

Région de l'Atlantique
M. Robert Graham
Chef, Acquisitions et élimination
Centre fédéral de documents de la région de l'Atlantique
Archives nationales du Canada
270, ch. Bluewater
Bedford (Nouvelle-Écosse) B4B 1J6
Téléphone : 902-426-4982
Télécopieur : 902-426-8970
Courriel : AtlanticFRC@bac-lac.gc.ca

Table des matières - ADP | Précédent