Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents

Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities (MIDA)

3.3 Appendix I - Terms and Conditions
for the Disposition of Common Administrative Records in support of the
Materiel Management Function of the Government of Canada

A. Key Definitions

Common Administrative Records
Records created, collected, or received by a federal government institution to support and document broad internal administrative functions and activities common to or shared by all institutions (for example, finances and the management of human resources).

Operational Records
Records created, collected, or received by a federal government institution to support and document business functions, programmes, processes, transactions, services, and all other activities uniquely or specifically assigned to that particular institution by legislation, regulation, or policy.

Office of Primary Interest
The federal government institution - department, agency, board, office, or commission - to which the authority, responsibility, and accountability to perform a particular function on behalf of the Government of Canada has been specifically assigned by legislation, regulation, policy, or mandate.

Materiel Management Function (of the Government of Canada)
Encompasses the functions, sub-functions, processes, activities, and transactions of administrative business concerning the management of movable assets, such as furniture, furnishings, equipment, supplies, vehicles, and other materiel used or acquired by an institution, commonly conducted in and across all government institutions to facilitate the delivery of programmes and services. The main legislation underpinning the Materiel Management Function includes the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act, Defence Production Act, Surplus Crown Assets Act, and the Financial Administration Act. For the purpose of identifying and explaining records disposition requirements, the Materiel Management Function, as set out in the Treasury Board Secretariat's Materiel Management Policy, can be applied conceptually to any government institution and is divided into four phases of the life-cycle management of movable assets within which are listed eight sub-functions (in bold type) as follows:

Phase 1. assessing and planning requirements,
Phase 2. acquiring materiel assets and related services,
Phase 3. operating, using and maintaining materiel, and
Phase 4. replacing and disposing of materiel assets.

(For a more complete description of each sub-function, see The Functional Profile in Appendix II ).

B. Scope of the Authority

  • Authority No. 99/003 applies to all common administrative records in support of the Materiel Management Function of institutions subject to Library and Archives Canada (i.e., records documenting common administrative business Functions, sub-functions, programmes, transactions, and activities) regardless of how the records are organized or internally controlled within each institution. It entirely supersedes Schedule 3 (Equipment and Supplies) of the GRDS (PAC 86/001).
  • Authority No. 99/003 applies to all institutions subject to Library and Archives Canada, whether or not their Materiel Management functional activities follow Treasury Board or other central agency policies and guidelines. For example, some institutions, like Crown corporations, may not be required to follow central agency policies concerning the Materiel Management Function, yet these institutions are subject to the Act.
  • Authority No. 99/003 applies to electronic records, databases, and office systems - and any related technical documentation or contextual metadata information - created in support of the Materiel Management Function in all government institutions. This Authority does not apply, however, to electronic records, databases, or office systems - or any related technical or contextual metadata information - created by government institutions in support of any function uniquely or specifically assigned to them by legislation, policy, or mandate within their operational context or as an Office of Primary Interest.
  • The scope of Authority No. 99/003 has been reduced from the coverage under Schedule 3 (Equipment and Supplies) of the GRDS (PAC 86/001). A number of elements and categories of subjects, record types, and records which may have formerly been covered (under the "Consult the Public Archives" clause) have now been excluded because they potentially involve disposition decisions for records which are created, collected or received by the institution to support and document policies, programmes, and services related to its operations. Specifically excluded in this Authority from the former Schedule 3 are the four subject record groups: Aircraft; Clothing - Dress regulations and change of uniforms, etc.; and Ships - Large; Ships - Ocean-going and ice breakers, etc., including drydocks. The subjects and records descriptions contained in Schedule 3 of the GRDS (PAC 86/001) under the "Consult the Public Archives" clause, and excluded from Authority No. 99/003, will be appraised separately within their specific common administrative or operational functional context.
  • Institutions with specific operational mandates as Offices of Primary Interest for aspects of the Materiel Management Function shall not apply Authority No. 99/003 to their operational records regarding those aspects of the Materiel Management Function. If, for any reason, an institution subject to Library and Archives Canada creates, collects, or receives Materiel Management functional records that are not common or administrative, the institution must seek a separate authority (for operational records) to dispose of such records. All government functions, subjects, record types, and records excluded from the scope of Authority No. 99/003 or any other Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority must be covered by Authorities granted to individual institutions in the course of the Multi Year [Records] Disposition Plan. For example, Authority No. 99/003 does not apply to the operational records of institutions which have specifically assigned legislative mandates in the function of Materiel Management (for instance, the Treasury Board Secretariat, the Department of Public Works and Government Services Canada, Common Service Organizations, and the Department of National Defence for military missions) nor does it apply to the materiel assets acquired and used for Major Crown Projects.
  • Authority No. 99/003 does not apply to records series or groupings or collections which mix common administrative and operational records.
  • Authority No. 99/003 does not supersede other Records Disposition Authorities requiring the preservation of archival records. It should be applied after the Transitory Records Authority, any operational Records Disposition Authority (also referred to as an Institution-Specific Disposition Authority or ISDA), and any Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) for generic groups of records such as posters, records from a minister's or deputy head's office, and records generated by imaging systems. Some operational records Authorities (for example, ISDAs) also include the disposition of some common administrative records. The Terms and Conditions for the application of these SDAs remain in effect.
  • It is incumbent upon each government institution to understand and apply generally any legislation regarding the retention and disclosure of information and more specifically its own extant legislation. Each government institution is therefore required to determine the appropriate retention periods for its records, including those common administrative records covered by Authority No. 99/003.

C. Authorization to Destroy Records

All records created, collected, or maintained in any medium by a federal institution in support of the Materiel Management Function of the Government of Canada may be destroyed provided that:

  • the records are not operational in nature;
  • the records are not of a mixed operational and administrative character;
  • the records do not support an administrative function in an Office of Primary Interest;
  • the records are not otherwise excluded from the application of Authority No. 99/003 by virtue of the definitions and scope statement contained in this Appendix;
  • the records are not anterior to 1946; and
  • the retention periods of the records - established by the institution according to its legal and operational requirements - have expired.

A strict application of the above definitions and exclusions, and the prioritized use of the various Records Disposition Authorities will ensure that there are no records of archival value amongst the remaining common administrative records in support of the Materiel Management Function in institutions subject to Library and Archives Canada.

Main Table of Contents

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières principale

Autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposer de documents

3.3 Annexe I  --  Modalités pour disposer des documents administratifs communs créés au soutien de la fonction « gestion du matériel » de l'administration fédérale

A. Définitions clés

Documents administratifs communs
Documents qu'une institution de l'administration fédérale a créés, recueillis ou reçus afin d'étayer et de témoigner des vastes fonctions ou activités administratives internes que toutes les institutions exercent ensemble ou dont elles se partagent l'exercice (par exemple, les finances et la gestion des ressources humaines).

Documents d'exploitation
Documents qu'une institution de l'administration fédérale a créés, recueillis ou reçus afin d'étayer et de témoigner des fonctions, programmes, processus, transactions, services et toutes autres activités assignés à cette institution spécifiquement ou uniquement aux termes d'une loi, d'un règlement ou d'une politique.

Bureau de premier intérêt
L'institution fédérale - qu'il s'agisse d'un ministère, d'une agence, d'une commission, d'un bureau ou d'un autre organisme - qui tient son autorité et sa responsabilité pour exécuter une fonction particulière au nom de l'administration fédérale spécifiquement d'une loi, d'un règlement, d'une politique ou d'un mandat.

Fonction « gestion du matériel » (de l'administration fédérale)
Réunit les fonctions, sous-fonctions, processus, activités et transactions de nature administrative ayant trait à la gestion des biens mobiliers tels que le mobilier, les ameublements, l'équipement, les fournitures, les véhicules et autres biens matériels utilisés ou acquis par une institution à l'interne ou dans ses tractations avec d'autres institutions afin de faciliter l'exécution de programmes et la prestation de services. La Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, la Loi sur la production de défense, la Loi sur les biens de surplus de la Couronne et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques comptent parmi les principales lois qui sous-tendent la fonction « gestion du matériel ». Afin d'identifier et d'expliquer les exigences en matière d'élimination des documents, il est possible d'imaginer l'application de la fonction « gestion du matériel », telle qu'elle est énoncée dans la politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion du matériel, à n'importe quelle institution de l'administration et on peut la diviser en quatre phases de la gestion du cycle de vie des biens mobiliers, et ces phases regroupent huit sous-fonctions (indiquées en caractères gras) réparties comme suit :

Phase 1. évaluation et planification des besoins,
Phase 2. acquisition de biens matériels et de services connexes,
Phase 3. fonctionnement, utilisation et entretien du matériel et
Phase 4. remplacement et aliénation du matériel.

Pour une description plus détaillée de ces sous-fonctions, se reporter au Profil fonctionnel (Annexe II).

B. Portée de l'autorisation

  • L'Autorisation nº 99/003 s'applique aux documents administratifs communs qui viennent étayer la fonction « gestion du matériel » des institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada (c'est-à-dire ceux qui témoignent des fonctions administratives communes, sous-fonctions, programmes et activités) sans égard à l'arrangement des documents ou au contrôle interne de ceux-ci au sein de chacune des institutions; l'autorisation remplace totalement le Plan nº 3 (Équipement et fournitures) des Plans généraux d'élimination des documents (PAC 86/001).
  • L'Autorisation nº 99/003 s'applique à toutes les institutions assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada, que leurs activités relatives à la fonction « gestion du matériel » respectent ou non les politiques et les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor ou d'autres organismes centraux. Ainsi, il se peut que des institutions (comme les sociétés d'État) ne soient pas obligées de respecter les politiques des organismes centraux pour ce qui est de la fonction « gestion du matériel », pourtant ces institutions sont assujetties à la Loi.
  • L'Autorisation nº 99/003 s'applique aux documents électroniques, aux bases de données et aux systèmes de bureautique - ainsi qu'à la documentation technique ou aux renseignements contextuels sur les métadonnées qui s'y rapportent - créés au soutien de la fonction « gestion du matériel » au sein de toutes les institutions de l'administration fédérale. Cette autorisation ne s'applique toutefois pas aux documents électroniques, aux bases de données ou aux systèmes de bureautique - non plus qu'à la documentation technique ou aux renseignements contextuels sur les métadonnées qui s'y rapportent - créés par les institutions fédérales au soutien d'une fonction qui leur a été assignée exclusivement ou spécifiquement aux termes d'une loi, d'une politique ou de leur mandat dans le cadre de leurs opérations ou à titre de bureau de premier intérêt.
  • La portée de l'Autorisation nº 99/003 a été sensiblement réduite par rapport à celle du Plan nº 3 (Équipement et fournitures) des PGÉD (PAC 86/001). Plusieurs des éléments et catégories de sujets, fonctions, types de documents et documents anciennement visés en vertu de la prescription « Consulter les Archives nationales » ont été exclus parce qu'ils sont susceptibles de mettre en cause des décisions relatives à l'élimination de documents créés, recueillis ou reçus par l'institution afin d'étayer ou de documenter des politiques, des programmes et des services reliés aux opérations de l'institution. Sont tout particulièrement exclus de cette Autorisation et figurant dans l'ancien Plan nº 3 les quatre groupes de sujet de document suivants : Aéronef; Habillement - Règlements relatifs à la tenue et changement d'uniformes, etc.; et Navires - grands; Navires - océanique et brise-glace, etc., y compris cales sèches. Les sujets et les descriptions de documents qui figuraient au Plan nº 3 des PGÉD (PAC 86/001) et qui ont été exclus de l'Autorisation nº 99/003 feront l'objet d'une évaluation distincte dans le cadre de leur contexte administratif commun spécifique ou de leur contexte fonctionnel opérationnel.
  • Les institutions qui ont des mandats opérationnels spécifiques à titre de bureaux de premier intérêt à l'égard de certains aspects de la fonction « gestion du matériel » ne doivent pas appliquer l'Autorisation nº 99/003 à ceux de leurs documents d'exploitation qui ont trait à ces mêmes aspects de l'administration générale. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, une institution assujettie à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada crée, recueille ou reçoit des documents qui portent sur la fonction « gestion du matériel » bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas de documents communs ou administratifs, l'institution doit demander une autorisation distincte (qui vise des documents d'exploitation) pour pouvoir disposer de ces documents. Les fonctions, sujets, types de documents et documents de l'administration fédérale exclus de la portée de l'Autorisation nº 99/003 ou de toute autre autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle doivent être visés par des autorisations accordées en particulier à des institutions fédérales dans le cadre d'un Plan pluriannuel d'élimination des documents. Ainsi, l'Autorisation nº 99/003 ne s'applique pas aux documents d'exploitation des institutions dont le mandat législatif spécifique a trait à la fonction « gestion du matériel » (comme, par exemple, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, les organismes de services communs et le ministère de la Défense nationale à l'égard de missions militaires) ni aux biens matériels acquis ou utilisés à l'égard de grands projets de l'État.
  • L'Autorisation nº 99/003 ne s'applique pas à des séries, à des groupes ou à des collections qui réunissent à la fois des documents administratifs communs et des documents d'exploitation.
  • L'Autorisation nº 99/003 ne remplace pas d'autres autorisations qui exigent la préservation de documents dotés d'une valeur archivistique. On devrait l'appliquer après avoir appliqué l'Autorisation de détruire des documents éphémères, les autorisations de disposer de documents d'exploitation (aussi appelées « autorisations spécifiques de disposer des documents ou ASDD ») et les autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles qui visent des groupes de documents de même nature (ou génériques) tels que les affiches, les documents d'un cabinet de ministre ou du responsable d'une institution et les documents générés par des systèmes d'imagerie électronique. Il y a également des autorisations de disposer des documents d'exploitation (à savoir les autorisations spécifiques) qui visent aussi l'élimination de documents administratifs communs. Les modalités afférentes à ces autorisations spécifiques demeurent en vigueur.
  • Il incombe à chacune des institutions de l'administration fédérale de comprendre et d'appliquer les dispositions législatives qui ont trait à la conservation et à la communication de l'information et, tout particulièrement, les dispositions législatives qui les concernent directement. Chaque institution a par conséquent le devoir de fixer les délais de conservation qui conviennent à ses documents, y compris les documents administratifs communs visés par l'Autorisation nº 99/003.

C. Autorisation de détruire des documents

Tous les documents créés, recueillis ou conservés sur quelque support que ce soit par une institution fédérale au soutien de la fonction « gestion du matériel » de l'administration fédérale peuvent être détruits pourvu que les conditions suivantes se trouvent réunies :

  • les documents ne sont pas foncièrement des documents d'exploitation;
  • les documents ne sont pas de nature mixte, c'est-à-dire en partie documents administratifs et en partie documents d'exploitation;
  • les documents ne servent pas à étayer une fonction administrative dans un bureau de premier intérêt;
  • les documents ne se trouvent pas soustraits à l'application de l'Autorisation nº 99/003 en raison des définitions et de l'énoncé sur la portée de l'autorisation qui figurent à la présente annexe;
  • les documents ne sont pas antérieurs à 1946;
  • les délais de conservation - que l'institution a assignés aux documents en fonction des exigences juridiques et opérationnelles - sont expirés.

Une application stricte des définitions et des exclusions que l'on vient d'énoncer ainsi que l'application des diverses autorisations de disposer des documents selon l'ordre de priorité indiqué feront en sorte qu'il ne se trouve pas de document doté d'une valeur archivistique parmi le reste des documents administratifs communs qui étayent la fonction « gestion du matériel » des institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.

Table des matières principale