Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents

Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities (MIDA)

Application of generic MIDA 2001/004

In the past, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has developed generic records disposition authorities that apply to records under the control of more than one institution and that share one or more characteristics, such as records created at the same hierarchical level in a number of institutions or records created in the same medium. These Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities (MIDAs) of a generic nature are distributed to all institutions subject to the Library and Archives of Canada Act.

The generic MIDA (2001/004) covers Audio-Visual Records Stored on Behalf of Client Departments by Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC). This MIDA was developed in partnership by LAC and PWGSC. Institutions which use the PWGSC film and audio-visual storage facilities as Client Departments will receive a signed Authority which is applied according to the attached Terms and Conditions and file list for the transfer of archival audio-visual records.

Institutions which do not use the audio-visual storage services provided by PWGSC cannot use MIDA 2001/004, but will receive or can view an unsigned example of this Authority on our corporate web-site (www.collectionscanada.gc.ca) under the Services to Government web-page. Non Client Departments must have their audio-visual records covered by Institution-Specific Records Disposition Authorities (ISDAs).

Institutions that choose to become future Client Departments of PWGSC for the storage of their audio-visual records should contact their respective archivist at LAC in order to plan for (without the need of a disposition submission) the archival appraisal and transfer to LAC of archival audio-visual records of their specific institution. After these preliminary steps are completed a signed MIDA 2001/004 will be issued and the institution can then apply it according to the Terms and Condition and attached file list for archival audio-visual records.

For any questions or advice about the applicability of MIDA 2001/004, please contact the Government Archives Business Centre by telephone at 819-934-7305, or by e-mail (GABC@bac-lac.gc.ca).

Main Table of Contents

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières principale

Autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposer de documents

Application de l'APDD générique nº 2001/004

Par le passé, Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada (BAC) ont développé des autorisations génériques de disposer de documents qui s'appliquent aux documents sous le contrôle d'une ou de plusieurs institutions et qui partagent une ou plusieurs caractéristiques tels que les documents créés au même niveau hiérarchique d'un certain nombre d'institutions ou de documents créés sur un même support. Ces autorisations pluri-institutionnelles de disposer des documents (APDD) de nature générique sont distribuées à toutes les institutions assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.

L'APDD générique nº 2001/004 s'applique aux documents audio-visuels entreposés au nom be ministères clients de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Cette APDD est élaborée en partenariat avec BAC et le TPSGC. Les institutions qui utilisent les installations d'entreposage de films et d'audio-visuels de TPSGC en tant que ministère client recevront une Autorisation signée qui s'assortira aux modalités et à la liste des dossiers pour le transfert des documents archivistiques audio-visuels.

Les institutions qui n'utilisent pas les installations pour les services d'entreposage audio-visuels de TPSGC ne peuvent pas utiliser l'APDD nº 2001/004, mais recevront ou pourront visionner un modèle de cette Autorisation non-signée sur notre site Web (www.collectionscanada.gc.ca) à la page Web des Services au gouvernement. Les institutions qui ne sont pas des ministères clients doivent se procurer une authorisation spécifique de deposer de documents (ASDD) pour les documents audio-visuels de leur institution.

Les institutions qui deviendront des ministères clients de TPSGC pour l'entreposage de leurs documents audio-visuels doivent communiquer avec leur archiviste respectif pour planifier (sans le besoin d'une autorisation de disposition) l'évaluation archivistique et le transfert des documents audio-visuels de leur institution particulière à BAC. Lorsque les étapes préliminaires seront complétées, l'APDD nº 2001/004 signée sera émise et alors l'institution pourra appliquer les modalités et la liste des dossiers assorties aux documents archivistiques audio-visuels.

Pour vos questions et avis face à l'applicabilité de l'APDD nº 2001/004, communiquez avec le Centre des activités des archives gouvernementales au numéro de téléphone 819-934-7305 ou par courriel (GABC@bac-lac.gc.ca).

Table des matières principale