Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of Contents | Next

PART 3: Section B of the Terms and Conditions

3.1 Basic Obligations Relating to Archival Records

MIDA No. 2005/006 allows for the destruction of non-archival operational case file records and for the transfer of archival operational case file records to LAC.


As a condition for using and applying this MIDA to an institution's records, the institution must agree to adhere to all Terms and Conditions of the Authority, including the identification and transfer of archival records to the care and control of LAC. By applying this MIDA to its records, the institution confirms its agreement with the Terms and Conditions.


Government institutions must protect records deemed to have archival value from damage, deterioration, or loss prior to their transfer to the care and control of LAC.

Government institutions must convey the provisions of this MIDA to all those responsible for its application in order to ensure the integrity of its application. This ensures that headquarters will inform all regional offices of how to apply the Terms and Conditions of this MIDA.

Government institutions must establish retention periods for their operational case file records based on their operational and legal requirements prior to applying MIDA No. 2005/006.

LAC does not approve retention periods and only requires them to be assigned for archival records, so that the transfer of archival records will occur in a timely manner. However institutions wishing to use Regional Service Centres must set retention periods for their records before sending them for dormant storage.

Government institutions must inform LAC of any changes in the records retention periods for archival records. Government institutions should also notify other agencies with whom they share records of changes in retention periods for archival records.

Government institutions must contact the portfolio archivist at LAC to confirm the archival selection and transfer arrangements of records prior to segregating all archival records from the non-archival records.

Government institutions must physically segregate all archival records from the non-archival records and prepare them for transfer according to media specific requirements established by LAC, prior to their transfer to the care and control of LAC or to their placement in dormant storage in a Regional Service Centre.

Good recordkeeping, including segregation and accurate listing of archival and non-archival records, is fundamental to archival disposition and application of the Authority. This must be done by the institution before transfer of the archival records to the care and control of LAC.

Segregation should occur before transferring the records to dormant storage either at an RSC or a private storage facility. If segregation has not occurred prior to sending the records to an RSC or another storage facility, the institution is still obliged to ensure segregation before transferring archival records to the care and control of LAC. Segregation ensures that archival and non-archival records are not mixed in the same container. For guidance on preparing archival records for transfer to LAC, see www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/.

Government institutions must transfer all archival records selected according to the archival criteria in Section C to LAC, and may dispose of all other operational case files covered by this MIDA No. 2005/006, after their records retention periods have expired.

Government institutions with archival records duplicated in more than one medium must inform LAC of the most complete record and identify the medium of the record before transfer to LAC.

Government institutions must consult with their portfolio archivist prior to applying this MIDA No. 2005/006 if their archival records are shared with other government institutions. In instances where archival records are shared by more than one institution, the portfolio archivist will determine the source of the best archival record.

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of Contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

PARTIE 3 : Section B des modalités

3.1 Obligations élémentaires afférentes aux documents archivistiques

L'APDD no 2005/006 permet la destruction des documents des dossiers cas d'exploitation sans valeur archivistique et exige le transfert des documents des dossiers cas d'exploitation de valeur archivistique à BAC.


Comme préalable à l'utilisation et à l'application de cette APDD aux documents de votre institution, l'institution doit consentir à s'en tenir aux modalités de l'autorisation, y compris l'identification et le transfert des documents archivistiques sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC. En appliquant cette APDD à ses documents, l'institution entérine l'accord avec les modalités.


Les institutions fédérales protégeront les documents considérés comme ayant une valeur archivistique de tout dommage, détérioration ou perte avant leur transfert sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC.

Les institutions fédérales transmettront les dispositions de cette APDD à toutes personnes responsables de son application afin d'assurer l'intégrité de son application. Par exemple, l'administration centrale avisera tous ses bureaux régionaux de l'application des modalités de cette APDD.

Les institutions fédérales établiront des délais de conservation des documents pour les documents fondés sur leurs besoins opérationnels et juridiques avant d'appliquer l'APDD no 2005/006.

BAC n'approuve pas les délais de conservation. Néanmoins, ceux-ci sont exigés pour les documents archivistiques afin qu'ils puissent être transférés dans un temps opportun. Cependant, les institutions qui utiliseront les Centres fédéraux des documents doivent établir des délais de conservation à leurs documents avant de les envoyer dans les aires d'entreposage inactives.

Les institutions fédérales aviseront BAC de tout changement aux délais de conservation des documents archivistiques. De plus, celles-ci doivent prévenir les organismes avec lesquels elles partagent les changements de ces délais de conservation pour les documents archivistiques.

Les institutions fédérales communiqueront avec l'archiviste responsable de leur portefeuille à BAC pour confirmer les dispositions relatives à la sélection et au transfert des documents avant de séparer tous les documents archivistiques des documents non archivistiques.

Les institutions fédérales sépareront physiquement tous les documents archivistiques des documents non archivistiques et les prépareront pour le transfert selon les exigences particulières au support établi par BAC, avant leur transfert sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC ou pour les classer dans un entreposage inactif au Centre fédéral des documents.

Une bonne tenue des documents y comprit l'identification et le tri des documents archivistiques ou non archivistiques et les listes exactes des documents archivistiques sont les composantes fondamentales pour disposer et appliquer l'autorisation. L'institution doit exécuter cette tâche avant de transférer les documents archivistiques sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC.

Le tri s'effectuera avant le transfert des documents dans les aires d'entreposage inactives soit à un CSR ou à des installations d'entreposage privées. Si le tri n'est pas effectué avant le transfert des documents à un CSR ou autre, l'institution est tout de même obligée de s'assurer que le tri sera effectué avant le transfert des documents archivistiques sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC. Le tri garantit que les documents ayant une valeur archivistique et les documents sans valeur archivistique ne se retrouveront pas dans la même boîte. Pour la préparation des documents archivistiques, veuillez consulter www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/.

Les institutions fédérales transféreront tous les documents archivistiques sélectionnés selon les critères archivistiques énoncés à la section C sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC, et peuvent disposer de tous les autres documents de dossiers cas d'exploitation visés par cette APDD no 2005/006, lorsque les délais de conservation des documents sont expirés.

Les institutions fédérales, qui contrôlent des documents archivistiques qui sont reproduits sur plus d'un support dans une même institution, aviseront BAC du document le plus complet. Et, elles détermineront le support du document avant qu'il soit transféré sous la garde et le contrôle de BAC.

Les institutions fédérales aviseront BAC avant d'appliquer cette APDD no 2005/006 si leurs documents archivistiques sont partagés avec d'autres institutions fédérales. Lorsque les documents archivistiques sont partagés par plus d'une institution, l'archiviste responsable du portefeuille analysera l'origine du meilleur document archivistique.

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant