Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents

Disposition

4.8 APPENDIX I: Terms and Conditions for THE DISPOSAL OF RECORDS PROVIDED IN CONFIDENCE TO A GOVERNMENT INSTITUTION FOR THE PURPOSE OF PROSECUTING OR DEFENDING THE INTERESTS OF THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA IN DISPUTE RESOLUTION

A. SCOPE OF THE Records Disposition Authority

  • A.1 Coverage

    Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) 2009/001 applies to records received in confidence by a Government Institution from:

    1. an adverse party in the resolution of a dispute where the responsible tribunal has directed that such records be destroyed or returned to such adverse party once no longer required for the Dispute Resolution; or
    2. a third party, including a foreign or other government in Canada (whether provincial, territorial, regional, municipal or first nation including any public authority or agent of such government) for the purposes of prosecuting or defending the Government of Canada's interests in Dispute Resolution.

    More specifically, MIDA 2009/001 applies only to records, received in confidence by a government institution, or otherwise subject to privilege, the return or destruction of which, once no longer needed for the purposes of prosecuting or defending the interests of the Government of Canada in Dispute Resolution, is required by:

    • an order or direction of a court or tribunal of competent jurisdiction;
    • an express provision in any other federal or provincial enactment or regulation; or
    • an express written request from the Originating Party that the records be destroyed, returned or otherwise disposed of.
  • A.2 Exclusions
    1. MIDA 2009/001 does not apply to any records received by government institutions in support of national security functions.
    2. MIDA 2009/001 does not apply to records incorporated in whole or in part within records of a government institution unrelated to the Dispute Resolution at issue.
  • A.3
    This Records Disposition Authority has no impact upon any previous Institution Specific Disposition Authorities and is without prejudice to record retention obligations that may arise from legislation other than the Library and Archives of Canada Act.

  • A.4
    This Records Disposition Authority provides for on-going disposition of records as described in Section A.1; records may be returned to the Originating Party, destroyed or otherwise disposed of once they are no longer required for the purposes of prosecuting or defending the Government of Canada's interests in Dispute Resolution.

  • A.5
    Government Institutions, as a condition for using and applying this MIDA 2009/001 and at the moment of applying this Records Disposition Authority, shall thereby agree to all other terms and conditions of the Records Disposition Authority.

  • A.6
    This Records Disposition Authority applies to records in all media unless otherwise specified.

B. OBLIGATIONS FOR THE USE OF MIDA 2009/001

  • B.1
    Any Government Institution seeking to apply these Terms and Conditions to the records described in Section A (Scope of the Records Disposition Authority) shall ensure that:

    1. a copy of the order, a copy of the written request or a signed copy of a confidentiality undertaking is filed in the government institution's records;
    2. an appropriate notation in the government institution's records is made that the records provided in confidence were received;
    3. an appropriate notation in the Government Institution's records is made that the records provided in confidence were reviewed for purposes of the prosecution or defence of the interests of Canada in Dispute Resolution. The notation will indicate where and how the information was used; and
    4. an appropriate notation in the Government Institution records is made that the records received in confidence have been returned, destroyed otherwise disposed of pursuant to a confidentiality agreement, order or direction.
  • B.2
    Nothing in this MIDA shall be taken or deemed to authorize the retention, the transfer, destruction or other disposition of any government record in contravention of a rule or order of a court or tribunal or in contravention of an express provision in any other Act (e.g. Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, Federal Court Rules, Access to Information Act, Privacy Act).

  • B.3
    Government Institutions shall convey the provisions of this MIDA to all those responsible for its application in order to ensure the integrity of its application.

C. DEFINITIONS

"Arbitration" means any form of Dispute Resolution involving a mutually acceptable, neutral third party, other than a judge or other judicial official presiding in a court or tribunal, making a decision on the merits of the case, after an informal hearing. The process has four main variations (creating numerous permutations): binding or non-binding; voluntary or compulsory; private, statute authorized or court-annexed; one arbitrator or panel.

"Dispute Resolution" includes all possible processes for resolving a conflict, from consensual to adjudicative, from negotiation to litigation including mediation, arbitration and international dispute settlement.

"Mediation" means a process involving some degree of intervention in a dispute or negotiation by an impartial, neutral third party who has no decision-making power. The third party assists disputing parties in voluntarily reaching their own mutually acceptable settlement of issues in dispute by structuring the negotiation, maintaining the channels of communication, articulating the interests of each party, identifying the issues and, on occasion, if appropriate, making recommendations on disputed issues. It includes facilitation and conciliation. The process may be voluntary or mandatory, private or court-connected.

"Originating Party" means the adverse party or the third party who has provided the documentary materials to the Government of Canada.

"Record" as defined in section 2 of the Library and Archives of Canada Act, means any documentary material other than a publication, regardless of medium or form.

Main Table of Contents

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières

Disposition

4.8 ANNEXE I: Modalités de disposition des documents fournis, à TITRE CONFIDENTIEL, À UNE INSTITUTION FÉDÉRALE AUX FINS DE POURSUITE DU GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA OU DE DÉFENSE DE SES INTÉRÊTS DANS LE CADRE D'UN RÈGLEMENT DE CONFLITS

A. PORTÉE DE L'AUTORISATION DE DISPOSER DES DOCUMENTS

  • A.1 Champ d'application

    L'Autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposer des documents (APDD) 2009/001 s'applique aux documents reçus à titre confidentiel par une institution fédérale :

    1. d'une partie adverse lors d'un règlement de conflits dans le cadre duquel le tribunal responsable a ordonné que de tels documents soient détruits ou retournés à une telle partie adverse lorsqu'ils ne sont plus nécessaires pour le règlement de conflits; ou
    2. d'un tiers, y compris un gouvernement étranger ou un autre gouvernement au Canada (qu'il soit provincial, territorial, régional, municipal ou de la Première nation, y compris toute autorité publique ou agent d'un tel gouvernement) aux fins de poursuite du gouvernement du Canada ou de défense de ses intérêts dans le cadre d'un règlement de conflits.

    Plus précisément, l'APDD 2009/001 s'applique uniquement aux documents, reçus à titre confidentiel par une institution fédérale, ou autrement soumis au privilège de non-divulgation, dont le retour ou la destruction, lorsqu'ils ne sont plus nécessaires aux fins de poursuite du gouvernement du Canada ou de défense de ses intérêts dans le cadre d'un règlement de conflits, est exigé par :

    • une ordonnance ou une instruction de la cour ou d'un tribunal compétent;
    • une disposition expresse dans tout autre texte législatif ou règlement fédéral ou provincial; ou
    • une demande écrite expresse de la partie d'origine pour que les documents soient détruits, retournés ou aliénés d'une autre façon.
  • A.2 Exclusions
    1. L'APDD 2009/001 ne s'applique pas aux documents reçus par les institutions du gouvernement du Canada à l'appui des fonctions en matière de sécurité nationale.
    2. L'APDD 2009/001 ne s'applique pas aux documents ajoutés, en entier ou en partie, aux documents d'une institution fédérale qui sont sans rapport avec le règlement de conflits en cause.
  • A.3
    La présente autorisation de disposer des documents n'a pas de répercussions sur toute autorisation spécifique de disposer des documents (ASDD) antérieure et ne porte pas atteinte aux obligations portant sur la conservation des documents qui peuvent procéder de législations autres que la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.

  • A.4
    La présente autorisation de disposer des documents prévoit la disposition, de façon continue, des documents comme il est précisé à la Section A.1.; les documents peuvent être retournés à la partie d'origine, détruits ou disposés d'une autre façon lorsqu'ils ne sont plus nécessaires aux fins de poursuite du gouvernement du Canada ou de défense de ses intérêts dans le cadre d'un règlement de conflits.

  • A.5
    Les institutions fédérales, à titre de condition d'utilisation et d'application de la présente APDD 2009/001 et au moment d'appliquer la présente autorisation de disposer de documents, accepteront toutes les modalités de l'autorisation de disposer de documents.

  • A.6
    La présente autorisation de disposer des documents s'applique aux documents sur tous les supports, à moins d'indication contraire.

B. Obligations AFFÉRENTES À L'UTILISATION DE L'APDD 2009/001

  • B.1
    Toute institution fédérale qui cherche à appliquer les présentes modalités aux documents décrits à la Section A (Portée de l'autorisation de disposer des documents) doit s'assurer que :

    1. une copie de l'ordonnance, une copie de la demande écrite ou une copie signée d'un engagement de non-divulgation est déposée dans les documents de l'institution fédérale;
    2. une note appropriée, indiquant que les documents fournis à titre confidentiel ont été reçus, est ajoutée aux documents de l'institution fédérale;
    3. une note appropriée, indiquant que les documents fournis à titre confidentiel, ont été révisés aux fins de poursuite du gouvernement du Canada ou de défense de ses intérêts dans le cadre d'un règlement de conflits, est ajoutée aux documents de l'institution fédérale. La note indiquera où et comment les renseignements ont été utilisés;
    4. une note appropriée, indiquant que les documents fournis à titre confidentiel ont été retournés, détruits ou disposés d'une autre façon conformément à une entente de confidentialité, une ordonnance ou une instruction, est ajoutée aux documents de l'institution fédérale.
  • B.2
    Aucun énoncé dans la présente APDD ne doit être pris ou considéré afin d'autoriser la conservation, le transfert, la destruction ou toute autre aliénation de documents gouvernementaux en contravention à une règle ou une ordonnance de la cour ou d'un tribunal ou en contravention à une disposition expresse dans toute autre Loi (p. ex. la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, les Règles de la Cour fédérale, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).

  • B.3
    Les institutions fédérales doivent communiquer les dispositions de la présente APDD à toutes les parties chargées de son application en vue d'assurer l'intégrité de son application.

C. DÉFINITIONS

« L'arbitrage » signifie toute forme de règlement de conflits auquel participe un tiers neutre, acceptable de part et d'autre, autre qu'un juge ou un fonctionnaire judiciaire qui préside une cour ou un tribunal, rendant une décision concernant le fond du litige, à la suite d'une audience sans formalité. Le processus comporte quatre variations principales (ce qui donne lieu à de nombreuses permutations) : obligatoire ou non-obligatoire; à l'amiable ou forcé; privé, autorisé en vertu d'une loi ou judiciable d'un tribunal; un arbitre ou un groupe d'arbitrage.

Le « règlement de conflits » comprend tous les mécanismes qui permettent de régler un conflit, soit des mécanismes allant du consensuel au judiciaire, soit allant de la négociation au litige, y compris la médiation, l'arbitrage et la résolution de différends internationaux.

La « médiation » signifie un processus comprenant notamment un certain degré d'intervention dans le cadre d'un règlement ou d'une négociation par un tiers neutre et impartial, qui n'a pas de pouvoir décisionnel. Le tiers aide les parties du différend à conclure volontairement leur propre entente acceptable de part et d'autre, relativement aux questions faisant l'objet du litige en structurant la négociation, en entretenant les voies de communication, en exprimant clairement les intérêts de chaque partie, en déterminant les enjeux et, à l'occasion, le cas échéant, en faisant des recommandations au sujet des questions faisant l'objet du litige. Cela comprend la facilitation et la conciliation. Le processus peut être volontaire ou obligatoire, privé ou judiciaire.

La « partie d'origine » signifie la partie adverse ou le tiers qui a fourni du matériel documentaire au gouvernement du Canada.

Les « documents », tels qu'ils sont définis dans l'article 2 de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada, sont les éléments d'information, quel qu'en soit le support; la présente définition ne vise pas les publications.

Table des matières