Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents

Disposition

4.9 APPENDIX I: Term and Conditions for the disposal of Transitory Information Resources of government institutions

A. Scope of the Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA)

Eligibility

  • A.1
    Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) 2010/003 applies to all Government of Canada (GC) institutions subject to the Library and Archives of Canada Act as soon as they have fulfilled the following requirements under the Directive on Recordkeeping issued on June 1st, 2009 by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS):
    • Identification of information resources of business value, based on an analysis of departmental functions and activities (Directive on Recordkeeping (2009), Section 6.1.1); and
    • Establishment and implementation of repositories in which information resources of business value are stored or preserved in a physical or electronic storage space (Directive on Recordkeeping (2009), Section 6.1.3, item 1).
  • A.2
    GC institutions that are not subject to the TBS Directive on Recordkeeping are nonetheless required to fulfill the requirements outlined in Section A.1 in order to apply this MIDA.

Coverage

  • A.3

    The scope of MIDA 2010/003 covers all information resources, in all media and locations, that may not be disposed of without the written consent of the Librarian and Archivist of Canada according to section 12. (1) of the Library and Archives Canada Act.

    The scope of MIDA 2010/003 excludes:

    1. information resources that have been identified as having business value, either at present or at any time in the past, in the fulfilment of requirement 6.1.1 of the TBS Directive on Recordkeeping;
    2. information resources that have not been identified as having business value in the fulfilment of requirement 6.1.1 of the TBS Directive on Recordkeeping, but that have been identified as having archival value in an approved records disposition instrument (e.g. Records Disposition Authority) authorized by the Librarian and Archivist of Canada;
    3. information resources that have not been identified as having business value in the fulfilment of requirement 6.1.1 of the TBS Directive on Recordkeeping and that are not covered under the scope of an approved records disposition instrument (e.g. Records Disposition Authority) authorized by the Librarian and Archivist of Canada, but that fall under either or both of the following categories:
      • information resources created prior to 1946;
      • original proclamations, charters, and intergovernmental agreements or treaties.

Temporal status

  • A.4

    This MIDA provides for on-going disposition of information resources described in Section A.3.

Relationship to other authorities

  • A.5

    This MIDA fully supersedes the Authority for the Destruction of Transitory Records (90/000) for a government institution as soon as that institution becomes fully compliant with the requirements under the Directive on Recordkeeping outlined in Section A.1 above.

    In any case, the Authority for the Destruction of Transitory Records (90/000) will be fully revoked effective June 1st, 2014, in keeping with the timeframe for the implementation of the Directive; MIDA 90/000 may not be used by any government institution after that date.

  • A.6

    Apart from the exception described in Section A.5, this MIDA has no impact on other Records Disposition Authorities (RDAs). As a result, institutions shall continue to apply the Terms and Conditions of all applicable RDAs.

  • A.7

    Other Records Disposition Authorities (RDAs) may preclude the application of this MIDA, as outlined in Section C.1(2)

Relationship to rules, court or tribunal orders, or provisions in other Acts

  • A.8

    Nothing in this MIDA shall be taken or deemed to authorize the retention, the transfer, destruction or other disposition of any government information resource in contravention of a rule or order of a court or tribunal or in contravention of an express provision in any other Act (e.g. Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, Federal Court Rules, Access to Information Act, Privacy Act).

Definitions

  • A.9

    The following definitions shall apply within the context of this MIDA:

    "Information resources" (Ressources documentaires): Any documentary material produced in published and unpublished form regardless of communications source, information format, production mode or recording medium. Information resources include textual records (memos, reports, invoices, contracts, etc.), electronic records (e-mails, databases, internet, intranet, data, etc.), new communication media (instant messages, wikis, blogs, podcasts, etc.), publications (reports, books, magazines), films, sound recordings, photographs, documentary art, graphics, maps, and artefacts. (Source: TBS Directive on Recordkeeping, 2009)

    "Information resources of business value" (Ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle): Are published and unpublished materials, regardless of medium or form, that are created or acquired because they enable and document decision-making in support of programs, services and ongoing operations, and support departmental reporting, performance and accountability requirements. (Source: TBS Directive on Recordkeeping, 2009)

Disposal of information resources

  • A.10

    GC institutions may dispose of all transitory information resources described in the scope of this MIDA as defined in Section A.3, except those records of business and/or archival value identified through the process outlined in Section C, without further reference to Library and Archives Canada.

B. Obligations for the use of MIDA 2010/003

Obligation to agree to all terms and conditions of this MIDA

  • B.1

    Government institutions, as a condition for using and applying this MIDA, shall agree to all terms and conditions of the Authority.

Obligation to convey the provisions of this MIDA

  • B.2

    To ensure the integrity of its application, government institutions shall convey the provisions of this MIDA to all those responsible for its application.

C. Application of the MIDA

  • C.1

    Government institutions shall follow all steps outlined in the process below in order to apply this MIDA. The application of the MIDA occurs at the end of the process, in Section C.1(3)b.

    1. Determine if information resources of business value have been identified, and repositories established and fully implemented for information resources of business value, as stipulated in requirements 6.1.1 and 6.1.3 of the Directive on Recordkeeping.
      1. If information resources of business value have not been identified for the institution, or if repositories have not been established and implemented for information resources of business value, then the MIDA cannot be applied.
      2. If the information resources being considered for disposition under this MIDA have been identified as having business value, either at present or at any time in the past, then the MIDA cannot be applied.
      3. If information resources of business value have been identified for the institution, and if the information resources being considered for disposition under this MIDA have not been identified as having business value during that exercise, then proceed to step (2).
    2. Determine if the information resources being considered for disposition under this MIDA fall under the scope of any records disposition instrument (e.g. an RDA) authorized by the Librarian and Archivist of Canada.
      1. If the information resources fall under the scope of a records disposition instrument (e.g. RDA), then the MIDA cannot be applied; proceed with one of the two following steps:
        1. If the information resources have been identified as archival by LAC, then they must be transferred to LAC at the end of their retention periods according to the Terms and Conditions for the Transfer of Archival Records of the approved records disposition instrument (e.g. RDA).
        2. If the information resources have been identified as non-archival by LAC, then they may be disposed of under the Terms and Conditions of the approved records disposition instrument (e.g. RDA).
      2. If the information resources do not fall under the scope of a records disposition instrument (e.g. RDA), proceed to step (3).
    3. Determine if the information resources fall under any or all of the following categories:
      • Information resources created prior to 1946
      • original proclamations, charters, and intergovernmental agreements or treaties
      1. If the information resources fall under either or both of the above two categories, then the MIDA cannot be applied.

        In this situation, GC institutions must wait until the written consent of the Librarian and Archivist has been obtained through an authorized records disposition instrument (e.g. an RDA) in order to dispose of these information resources.

      2. If the information resources do not fall under either of the categories above, then this MIDA can be applied and the information resources may be disposed of without further reference to Library and Archives Canada.

Main Table of Contents

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières

Disposition

4.9 ANNEXE I : Modalités relatives à la disposition de ressources documentaires éphémères des institutions gouvernementales assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada

A. Portée de l'Autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposer de documents

Admissibilité

  • A.1
    L'Autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposer de documents (APDD) 2010/003 s'applique à toutes les institutions du gouvernement du Canada (GC) assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada dès qu'elles auront satisfait aux exigences de la Directive sur la tenue de documents publiée le 1er juin 2009 par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) :
    • le recensement des ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle, fondé sur l'analyse des fonctions et activités exécutées par le ministère (Directive sur la tenue de documents (2009), article 6.1.1);
    • l'établissement et la mise en œuvre de dépôts dans lesquels les ressources documentaires ayant une valeur opérationnelle sont stockées ou conservées, que ce soit dans un lieu physique ou dans un environnement électronique (Directive sur la tenue de documents (2009), article 6.1.3, point 1).
  • A.2
    Les institutions du GC qui ne sont pas assujetties à la Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT ont néanmoins l'obligation de satisfaire aux exigences décrites à la section A.1 en vue d'appliquer cette APDD.

Couverture

  • A.3

    La portée de l'APDD 2010/003 couvre toutes les ressources documentaires, quels que soient le support ou l'emplacement, qui ne peuvent être détruites sans le consentement écrit du bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada, conformément à l'article 12. (1) de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.

    La portée de l'APDD 2010/003 exclut :

    1. les ressources documentaires recensées comme ayant une valeur opérationnelle, actuellement ou à tout autre moment dans le passé, lors de l'exécution du processus de l'exigence 6.1.1 de la Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT;
    2. les ressources documentaires qui n'ont pas été recensées comme ayant une valeur opérationnelle lors de l'exécution du processus de l'exigence 6.1.1 de la Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT, mais qui ont été recensées comme ayant une valeur archivistique dans un instrument approuvé de disposition de documents (p. ex., une Autorisation de disposer de documents) autorisé par le bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada;
    3. les ressources documentaires qui n'ont pas été recensées comme ayant une valeur opérationnelle lors de l'exécution du processus de l'exigence 6.1.1 de la Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT et qui ne sont pas couvertes en vertu de la portée d'un instrument approuvé de disposition de documents (p. ex., une Autorisation de disposer de documents) autorisé par le bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada, mais entrent dans l'une des catégories suivantes, ou dans les deux :
      • ressources documentaires créées avant 1946;
      • originaux de proclamations, chartes et ententes ou traités intergouvernementaux.

Temporalité

  • A.4

    Cette APDD prévoit la disposition continue des ressources documentaires décrites dans la section A.3.

Rapports avec d'autres autorisations

  • A.5

    Cette APDD remplacera complètement l'Autorisation de détruire des documents éphémères (90/000) pour une institution fédérale dès que cette institution aura satisfait à toutes les exigences de la Directive sur la tenue de documents décrites dans la section A.1 ci-dessus.

    Quoi qu'il en soit, l'Autorisation de détruire des documents éphémères (90/000) sera complètement révoquée le 1er juin 2014, conformément au calendrier de mise en œuvre de la Directive; l'APDD 90/000 ne pourra être utilisée par les institutions fédérales après cette date.

  • A.6

    À part l'exception décrite dans la section A.5, cette APDD n'influe aucunement sur d'autres autorisations de disposer de documents (ADD). Par conséquent, les institutions continueront d'appliquer les conditions de toutes les ADD en vigueur.

  • A.7

    D'autres autorisations de disposer de documents (ADD) peuvent empêcher l'application de la présente APDD, comme il est précisé dans la section C.1(2).

Rapports avec des règlements, des ordonnances d'un tribunal, ou des dispositions d'autres lois

  • A.8

    La présente APDD n'a pas pour effet d'autoriser la conservation, le transfert, la destruction ou autre forme de disposition de ressources documentaires du gouvernement en violation d'un règlement ou d'une ordonnance d'un tribunal, ou d'une disposition expresse d'une autre loi, ni n'est réputée l'autoriser (p. ex., Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, Règles des Cours fédérales, Loi sur l'accès à l'information, Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).

Définitions

  • A.9

    Les définitions suivantes s'appliqueront dans le contexte de la présente APDD :

    « Ressources documentaires » (Information resources) : Production documentaire sous forme publiée ou non, quels que soient la source de communication, le format, le mode de production ou le support d'enregistrement. Les ressources documentaires comprennent les documents textuels (notes de service, rapports, factures, marchés, etc.), les documents électroniques (courriels, banques de données, données Intranet ou Internet, etc.), les nouveaux médias (messages instantanés, wikis, blogues, balados, etc.), les publications (rapports, livres, revues), les films, les enregistrements sonores, les photographies, l'art documentaire, les graphiques, les cartes et les artéfacts. (Source : Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT, 2009)

    « Ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle » (Information resources of business value) : Documents publiés ou non, quels que soient le support ou la forme, créés ou acquis parce qu'ils permettent et documentent la prise de décisions à l'égard de programmes, de services et d'opérations continues, et appuient les exigences des ministères en matière de rapports, de rendement et de responsabilisation. (Source : Directive sur la tenue de documents du SCT, 2009)

Disposition de ressources documentaires

  • A.10

    Les institutions du GC peuvent procéder à la disposition de toutes les ressources documentaires éphémères décrites dans la portée de la présente APDD comme il est défini dans la section A.3, à l'exception des documents à valeur opérationnelle et/ou à valeur archivistique recensés au moyen du processus présenté dans la section C, sans consulter Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

B. Obligations relatives à l'utilisation de l'APDD 2010/003

Obligation d'accepter toutes les conditions de cette APDD

  • B.1

    Les institutions fédérales, comme condition de l'utilisation et de l'application de cette APDD, conviendront de toutes les conditions de l'Autorisation.

Obligation de transmettre les dispositions de cette APDD

  • B.2

    Afin d'assurer l'intégrité de son application, les institutions fédérales feront connaître les dispositions de cette APDD à toutes les personnes responsables de son application.

C. Application de l'APDD

  • C.1

    Les institutions fédérales suivront toutes les étapes décrites dans le processus ci-dessous afin d'appliquer cette APDD. L'APDD s'applique à la fin du processus, à la section C.1(3)b.

    1. Déterminer si les ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle ont été recensées et si des dépôts ont été établis et complètement mis en œuvre pour les ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle, conformément aux prescriptions des exigences 6.1.1 et 6.1.3 de la Directive sur la tenue de documents..
      1. Si les ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle n'ont pas été recensées pour l'institution, ou si les dépôts n'ont pas été établis et mis en œuvre pour les ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle, l'APDD ne peut être appliquée.
      2. Si les ressources documentaires dont on envisage la disposition en vertu de cette APDD ont été recensées comme ayant une valeur opérationnelle, actuellement ou à tout autre moment dans le passé, l'APDD ne peut être appliquée.
      3. Si les ressources documentaires à valeur opérationnelle ont été recensées pour l'institution et s'il a été déterminé au cours de cet exercice que les ressources documentaires dont on envisage la disposition en vertu de cette APDD n'ont pas de valeur opérationnelle, il faut passer à l'étape (2).
    2. Déterminer si les ressources documentaires dont on envisage la disposition en vertu de cette APDD s'inscrivent dans la portée d'un instrument de disposition de documents (p. ex., une ADD) autorisé par le bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada.
      1. Si les ressources documentaires s'inscrivent dans la portée d'un instrument de disposition de documents (p. ex., une ADD), l'APDD ne peut être appliquée; l'on doit alors passer à l'une des deux étapes suivantes :
        1. Dans le cas où BAC aurait déterminé que les ressources documentaires ont une valeur archivistique, elles doivent être transférées à BAC à la fin de leur période de conservation, conformément aux modalités de transfert de documents archivistiques de l'instrument de disposition de documents approuvé (p. ex., une ADD).
        2. Si BAC a déterminé que les ressources documentaires n'ont pas de valeur archivistique, elles peuvent être détruites conformément aux conditions de l'instrument de disposition de documents approuvé (p. ex., une ADD).
      2. Si les ressources documentaires ne s'inscrivent pas dans la portée d'un instrument de disposition de documents approuvé (p. ex., une ADD), il faut passer à l'étape (3).
    3. Déterminer si les ressources documentaires entrent dans l'une ou dans toutes les catégories suivantes :
      • ressources documentaires créées avant 1946;
      • originaux de proclamations, chartes et ententes ou traités intergouvernementaux.
      1. Si les ressources documentaires entrent dans l'une ou dans les deux catégories susmentionnées, l'APDD ne peut être appliquée.

        Dans ce cas, les institutions fédérales doivent attendre d'obtenir le consentement écrit du bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada par l'intermédiaire d'un instrument de disposition de documents approuvé (p. ex., une ADD) pour pouvoir procéder à la destruction de ces ressources documentaires.

      2. Si les ressources documentaires n'entrent pas dans l'une des deux catégories susmentionnées, l'APDD peut être appliquée, et ces ressources peuvent être détruites sans qu'il y ait lieu d'obtenir une autorisation du bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada.

Table des matières