Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Guidelines for transfer of records to the Regional Service Centres

Personnel Records

The Manitoba Regional Service Centre in Winnipeg manages the records of former federal public servants. Refer to the Manitoba Regional Service Centre Guidelines for Transfer of Civilian Personnel Files for more information.

Essential Records Storage

A Regional Service Centre provides storage for essential records. The Management of Government Information Policy requires government institutions to identify and protect essential information holdings. After essential records have been selected, reproduced as required and described, they must be stored and protected in a secure, properly equipped and environmentally controlled site. Protecting essential records - whether in electronic, paper or other formats - will help ensure that institutions of the Government of Canada continue meeting their operational and legal responsibilities during and after emergency conditions.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has issued a guide Protecting Essential Records which offers direction, advice and assistance to government institutions on a variety of records and information management topics. See also Treasury Board's Information Management Basics www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=16557&section=text

Electronic Records Libraries Services

Electronic Records Libraries (ERLs) exist in the Regional Service Centre primarily to provide safe, economical storage and management for back up security copies of electronic records on behalf of eligible federal government institutions. Because electronic records containing original data require the same environmental conditions as do back-up copies, both must be physically stored in the ERL. However, electronic records containing original data must be accessioned and NOT registered into the ERL database.

Please follow the guidelines below:

  1. All electronic records must be labelled with the institution's name, client number and address.
  2. All electronic records must be labelled with a unique number. Use a maximum of 11 alpha and/or numeric characters exclusive of any special characters (e.g. spaces, commas, periods, hyphens, @, #, $, etc.).
  3. Records should have a fixed return date. The retention period for back-up security copies should be no longer than 6 years.
  4. All records stored must be recorded on an Electronic Record Service Form. The numbers that appear on the records must be recorded exactly the same on the form.
  5. Records should be shipped in a Regional Service Centre - approved shipping container to avoid damage or loss. For health and safety reasons, containers should not weigh more than 11 kgs (25 lbs). Never ship electronic records in the same container as paper records. This can lead to records being routed to the wrong area.

Note: Before sending any electronic media for storage, please contact your Regional Service Centre for information regarding filling out forms, labelling records, purchasing cases, shipping instructions, and services available. Instructions may vary for each Regional Service Centre.

Archival or Historical Records - Direct Transfers

Direct transfers of records with archival or historical importance occur when records which are still held in government offices and which, although scheduled for archival or historical selective retention, are past their allotted retention period and have not been stored for a dormant period in the Regional Service Centre. When this occurs, it is the responsibility of the client institution to contact the archivist responsible for those records to make arrangements for transferring them into the local Regional Service Centre. In some locations, there is an archivist onsite to assist you with the appraisal and transfer of these records. Please consult the Regional Service Centre in your area for advice and assistance.

Note: In most instances, the records to be transferred will be covered by an approved Records Disposition Authority. In exceptional cases, records at risk that meet the criteria for a direct transfer may be transferred without an approved authority in place. In the latter case, the archivist should be consulted first.

For procedures on how to prepare records for transfer to the custody of the LAC Archival Operations Division, refer to Guidelines for the transfer of textual archival records [PDF 76 KB].

Delivery of Records

LAC does not provide pick-up or delivery services. It is the transferring institution's responsibility to make all the arrangements for the transfer of records into the Regional Service Centre. Please ensure that all shipments are prepaid and consult the Regional Service Centre in your region to schedule your transfer.

Please call your local Regional Service Centres to find out the correct loading sequence of the boxes on the pallets or truck. Each Centre handles shipments differently and will have different loading requirements. In some Regional Service Centres, drivers must be requested to unload the shipment.

  1. Shipments greater than 50 boxes must be shipped on pallets and shrink wrapped to secure the boxes. Generally, there should be no more than 5 rows of boxes on a pallet. There are some exceptions to this requirement (Consult the Regional Service Centre for exceptions). (See Figures 5A and 5B)
  2. When shipping more than two pallets, please number the pallets in order on a 21.6 cm X 27.9 cm (8 ½" X 11") piece of paper and tape it to the front of the pallet where the box numbers are facing. (See Figures 5A and 5B)
  3. Shipments less than 50 boxes must be in sequence to facilitate unpacking and confirmation of amount of delivery.
Image of shipment boxes

Figure 5A

Image of shipment boxes

Figure 5B

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Lignes directrices pour le transfert de documents aux Centres de services régionaux

Documents du personnel

Le Centre de services régional du Manitoba gère les dossiers des anciens fonctionnaires fédéraux. Veuillez vous référer aux lignes directrices pour le transfert des dossiers du personnel civil pour de plus amples renseignements.

Entreposage des documents essentiels

Les centres de services régionaux fournissent l'entreposage des documents essentiels. La Politique de gestion de l'information gouvernementale exige de toutes les institutions fédérales d'identifier et de protéger leurs fonds de renseignements essentiels. Une fois les documents correctement sélectionnés, reproduits et décrits, il faut les entreposer dans un endroit sûr, adéquatement aménagé et dont les conditions ambiantes sont régularisées. La protection des documents essentiels, qu'ils se présentent sous forme électronique, papier ou autre, a pour but d'aider les institutions fédérales à respecter leurs responsabilités opérationnelles et juridiques pendant ou après une situation d'urgence.

Le guide intitulé La protection des documents essentiels, produit par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC), fournit aide, orientation et conseils aux institutions fédérales sur toute une gamme de sujets relatifs à la gestion de l'information et des documents. Voir aussi Rudiments de la gestion de l'information www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=16557&section=text par le Conseil du Trésor.

Services des bibliothèques de documents électroniques

Les bibliothèques de documents électroniques des centres de services régionaux servent avant tout à entreposer de manière sécuritaire et économique les copies de sécurité des documents électroniques, ainsi que gérer celles-ci pour le compte des institutions fédérales autorisées. Or, comme les exigences d'entreposage des documents électroniques contenant des données originales sont les mêmes que pour les copies de sécurité, les deux types de documents doivent être entreposés physiquement dans les bibliothèques de documents électroniques. Cependant, les documents électroniques contenant des données originales doivent faire l'objet d'un enregistrement. On ne doit PAS les intégrer directement dans la base de données de la bibliothèque de documents électroniques.

Veuillez suivre les directives suivantes :

  1. Tous les documents électroniques doivent avoir une étiquette portant le nom de l'institution, le numéro et l'adresse du client.
  2. Tous les documents électroniques doivent être dotés d'un numéro unique. Utilisez un maximum de 11 caractères alphabétiques et/ou numériques, mais pas de caractère spécial (p. ex. espaces, virgules, points, traits d'union, @, #, $, etc.).
  3. Les documents doivent avoir une date de retour prédéterminée. Le délai de conservation pour les copies de sécurité ne doit pas dépasser six ans.
  4. Tous les documents entreposés doivent être inscrits sur un formulaire de documents électroniques. Les numéros des documents doivent être retranscrits exactement de la même façon sur le formulaire.
  5. Les documents doivent être expédiés dans un contenant approuvé par les centres de services régionaux pour éviter les dommages et les pertes. Pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité, le poids des contenants ne doit pas excéder 11 kg (25 livres). N'envoyez jamais des documents électroniques dans le même contenant que des documents papier, car cela pourrait entraîner des erreurs d'entreposage

Note : Avant d'envoyer des documents électroniques à des fins d'entreposage, veuillez communiquer avec votre centre de services régional pour obtenir conseils et information sur la façon de remplir les formulaires et d'étiqueter les documents, sur l'achat de contenants, sur les instructions d'envoi et les services offerts. Ces renseignements peuvent varier d'un centre de services régional à l'autre.

Documents archivistiques ou historiques  -  Transferts directs

On effectue des transferts directs lorsque des documents qui ont une importance historique ou archivistique ont dépassé leur délai de conservation et n'ont toujours pas été envoyés dans un centre de services régional pour une période d'inactivité sur les rayons, même si on avait prévu un délai de conservation sélectif. Lors d'une telle situation, il incombe à l'institution cliente de communiquer avec l'archiviste responsable de ces documents et d'effectuer les démarches appropriées pour transférer ces documents au centre de services régional local. Un archiviste est parfois disponible sur place pour vous aider à évaluer et à transférer ces documents. Veuillez communiquer avec le centre de services régional de votre région pour de l'aide et des conseils.

Note : Dans la plupart des cas, les documents à transférer feront l'objet d'une autorisation de disposer des documents approuvée. Dans certains cas exceptionnels, les documents en péril qui répondent aux critères d'un transfert direct peuvent être transférés sans qu'on dispose d'une autorisation approuvée. Dans une telle situation, il faut d'abord consulter l'archiviste.

Pour des instructions sur la façon de préparer les documents en vue d'en transférer la garde à la Division des opérations archivistiques de BAC, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices pour le transfert de documents d'archives textuelles[PDF 96 Ko].

Livraison des documents

BAC n'offre pas les services de collecte et de livraison. L'institution cliente doit elle-même effectuer toutes les démarches appropriées pour transférer les documents au centre de services régional. Veuillez vous assurer que tous les envois sont prépayés. Consultez le centre de services régional de votre région pour fixer la date du transfert.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre centre de services régional local pour connaître le bon ordre de chargement des boîtes sur les palettes ou dans le camion. Chaque centre de services régional a son propre processus de réception et donc ses propres exigences relatives au chargement. Dans certains centres, il sera exigé du chauffeur qu'il décharge lui-même son camion.

  1. Les envois de plus de 50 boîtes doivent être expédiés sur des palettes dans un emballage moulant pour empêcher tout mouvement. En règle générale, une palette ne devrait pas contenir plus de cinq rangées de boîtes. (Consultez le centre de services régional concerné pour les exceptions) (voir les figures 5A et 5B).
  2. Lorsque vous envoyez plus de deux palettes, veuillez les numéroter dans l'ordre sur une feuille de papier de 21,6 cm sur 27,9 cm (8 ½ po x 11 po) et fixer cette feuille sur le devant de la palette, c'est-à-dire sur le côté où le numéro des boîtes apparaît (voir les figures 5A et 5B).
  3. Les envois de moins de 50 boîtes doivent être ordonnés pour faciliter le déchargement et la confirmation du nombre de boîtes reçues.
Image de contenant de livraison.

Figure 5A

Image de contenant de livraison.

Figure 5B

Précédent | Suivant