Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Guidelines for transfer of records to the Regional Service Centres

Reference and Consultation

As owner of the records, the client institution chooses who will have access to the records they have stored at the Regional Service Centre, under what conditions reference and research can occur, and how the resulting information is to be used. Access restrictions are strictly adhered to; therefore, records and information are released only to those whose name appears as Records Custodian on the Client Accession Report and those who have authorization and the details of access from the Records Custodian. When records are mailed or delivered to a Client Institution, they are addressed to the Records Custodian of the records unless instructed to do otherwise by the Records Custodian. This helps to ensure better security for your records. For this reason, it is important that your local Regional Service Centre is informed immediately when a change in Records Custodian occurs.

Procedures for Requesting Records

Clients may request records by telephone, fax, mail, email (where available) or courier. Telephone requests should be restricted to requests that are of an urgent nature.

Records are requested by submitting a Regional Service Centre - Control and Request provided by the Regional Service Centre or any acceptable request form on your letterhead.

The following information must be provided for all record requests:

  1. File number or name;
  2. Volume number, if applicable, or any specific information which is pertinent for retrieval of the file (example BPC number, year, secret or classified, etc.);
  3. Accession number, location number (bay #), and box number. If location number is unknown, provide date of shipment and total boxes shipped;
  4. Name of the contact person requesting the file and the name of the Records Custodian;
  5. Name of the institution and branch and complete delivery or mailing address;
  6. Telephone numbers of both the contact person and the Records Custodian;
  7. Fax number;
  8. Client number provided by the Regional Office (optional - consult local Regional Service Centre);
  9. Date the file is requested; and
  10. Signature of the requestor (when sending request by fax, mail or courier).

Archival or Historical Records

To view archival or historical records held in the National Capital Region (NCR), departmental researchers should submit their letters of authorization to the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Division.

Outside the NCR (exception Vancouver and Winnipeg), to view archival or historical records held at the Regional Services Centre, departmental researchers should submit their letters of authorization to the Manager of the Regional Service Centre. For Vancouver and Winnipeg the letters should be sent to the archivist(s) in each centre.

If the User/Researcher is not an employee of the Client Institution, the request to view the record must be made through the Library and Archives Canada (LAC) ATIP Division or Reference Services. If the Archival or Historical accession number is known then please record it as a cross-reference to the original accession number.

Each Regional Service Centre has research facilities available to authorized researchers and clients. Archival and historical groups of records can be viewed and/or copied but are not to be removed from LAC premises, either in the NCR or in the Regional Service Centre.

If the User/Researcher is an employee of the Client Institution, an authorized letter from the Director level or above from the department involved must be submitted to the Regional Service Centre along with proper ID before access to the record is granted.

Note: A director may only authorize access to records for his/her own department. If there is a need to view files from another department, authorization must be sought from the other department.

To obtain photocopies of archival or historical records held at Regional Service Centre, departmental researchers have the responsibility to arrange and obtain authorization for some with the necessary security clearance to make the copies on LAC premises.

Electronic Records

Electronic records may be requested by telephone, fax, mail, email or courier. Telephone requests should be restricted to requests that are of an urgent nature. A completed Electronic Record Service Form must be submitted providing the following information:

  • Medium number or name;
  • Client number (if applicable);
  • Name of contact person requesting the tape and name of the records custodian;
  • Name of the Institution and Branch and complete delivery or mailing address; and
  • Telephone numbers of both Contact Person and Records Custodian.

Interfiles and Refiles

An interfile is a record or group of records, not previously held at the Regional Service Centre that is sent for insertion into an existing accession. It is necessary to write the accession number, location number and box number on the front of the file folder to ensure that the record is placed in its proper accession. If there is no file folder, write the location information directly on the documents.

A refile is a record previously requested, that is being returned to the Regional Service Centre for continued storage. Refiles are always returned to the original accession unless the retention period has changed. If the retention period has changed, the file should be sent in a new accession and the client should also notify the Regional Service Centre of the location of the charge-out card in order to have it removed from the box.

Note: If a file folder needs to be replaced for any reason, the file number, accession number, location and box numbers must be written on the front of the new folder.

For large numbers of refiles and interfiles, clients are instructed to sort the records in order by location and box number. The accession number should be indicated on the first file of each group for cross-reference purposes.

Disposition of Records

The word disposition is used to describe any of the following:

  1. The physical destruction of non-archival records;
  2. The transfer of archival and historical records to the Archival Operations Division of LAC;
  3. A transfer of ownership, outside of the Government of Canada, (e.g. to a provincial government); and
  4. The return of records to the originating institution.

Under the Library and Archives of Canada Act (Section 12 (1)), "no government or ministerial record, whether or not it is surplus property of a government institution, shall be disposed of, including by being destroyed, without the written consent of the Librarian and Archivist or of a person to whom the Librarian and Archivist has, in writing, delegated the power to give such consents." This approval is normally granted through the Institution's Records Disposition Authorities (RDA).

All records which are accessioned in a Regional Service Centre are supplied a disposition or bring-forward date (B.F.) by the transferring institution. The Regional Service Centre will initiate a disposal action for records in its care, by faxing, mailing or emailing the Concurrence Letter and Request for Consent to the Disposition of Records to the Records Custodian or individual who is authorized to sign off on the records. This usually occurs approximately 90 days before the official disposal date of the group of records.

It is the responsibility of the client institution to review all records eligible for disposal. This involves verifying the applicable RDA and identifying any files that have been requested through the Access to Information Act or Privacy Act for audit purposes. Under the terms of the Acts, personal information that has been used by a government institution for an administrative purpose shall be retained by that government institution for at least two years following the last use of the information. Please list these, and/or any other records which your institution would like to have transferred back, on the Request for Consent to the Disposition of Records.

Once your records have been verified, we ask that you sign and fax or mail your concurrence with disposition through the Request for Consent to the Disposition of Records to the respective Regional Service Centre, in a timely manner (usually within 30 days of receipt of documentation). The Regional Service Centre will proceed with the disposal action in accordance with established procedures and not before actual disposition date.

Note: If a client fails to respond to the concurrence letter and the retention period has expired, Regional Service Centre will return non-archival records at the expense of the client. Any definite or potential archival and historical records will be transferred to the LAC for preservation.

Disposal of Classified and Designated Documents (Non-Accessioned Disposal)

Please consult the Regional Service Centre in your region for safe, secure and efficient methods of disposing your classified record(s) and records designated as protected. (Request for Non-Accessioned Disposal [PDF 48 KB])

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Lignes directrices pour le transfert de documents aux Centres de services régionaux

Référence et consultation

En tant que propriétaire des documents qu'elle conserve au centre de services régional, l'institution cliente décide qui aura le droit de les consulter et détermine les conditions de consultation et d'utilisation. Le centre de services régional applique à la lettre les restrictions de consultation des clients. Par conséquent, l'information et les documents ne sont accessibles qu'aux personnes désignées comme responsables des documents sur le rapport d'acquisition à l'intention du client ou aux personnes qui détiennent l'autorisation d'un responsable des documents et qui connaissent les modalités de consultation. Les documents postés ou livrés à une institution cliente sont adressés à la personne qui en est responsable, à moins d'avis contraire de sa part. Ces mesures nous aident à protéger vos documents. C'est pour cette raison qu'il est très important d'avertir immédiatement votre centre de services régional lorsque le responsable des documents change.

Marche à suivre pour demander des documents

Les clients peuvent effectuer leurs demandes par téléphone, par télécopieur, par la poste, par courrier électronique (lorsque possible) ou par service de messagerie. Les demandes téléphoniques sont restreintes aux requêtes de nature urgente.

Les documents sont demandés en remplissant le formulaire Centre fédéral de documents  -  Contrôle et demande fourni par les centres de services régionaux ou tout formulaire de demande acceptable sur papier à correspondance officielle.

Chaque demande de documents doit comporter les renseignements suivants :

  1. le numéro ou le titre du dossier;
  2. le numéro de volume, s'il y a lieu, ou tout renseignement utile pour le repérage et la récupération du dossier (p. ex. le numéro de la politique sur la préservation des documents numériques, l'année, s'il s'agit d'un dossier secret ou ayant une cote de sécurité, etc.);
  3. le numéro d'acquisition, le numéro de localisation (numéro du rayon) et le numéro de la boîte. Si vous ne connaissez pas le numéro de localisation, inscrivez la date et le nombre de boîtes de l'envoi;
  4. le nom de la personne qui demande le dossier et le nom du responsable des documents;
  5. le nom de l'institution et de la direction ainsi que l'adresse de livraison ou de correspondance complète;
  6. le numéro de téléphone de la personne qui fait la demande et celui du responsable des documents;
  7. le numéro de télécopieur;
  8. le numéro de client fourni par le bureau régional (facultatif : consultez votre centre de services régional local);
  9. la date de demande du dossier; et
  10. la signature de la personne qui fait la demande (pour les envois par télécopieur, par la poste ou par service de messagerie).

Documents archivistiques ou historiques

Les chercheurs ministériels qui désirent consulter les documents archivistiques ou historiques entreposés dans la région de la capitale nationale (RCN) doivent transmettre leur lettre d'autorisation à la Division sur l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Pour consulter des documents archivistiques ou historiques conservés dans les Centres de services régionaux de l’extérieur de la RCN (à l'exception de Vancouver et de Winnipeg), les chercheurs ministériels doivent envoyer leur lettre d’autorisation au gestionnaire du centre de services régional. Pour Vancouver et Winnipeg, les lettres doivent être acheminées à l'archiviste de ces centres.

Si la personne qui désire consulter les documents n’est pas un employé de l’institution cliente, on doit faire la demande de consultation des documents auprès de la Division sur l’AIPRP ou des services de référence de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Si vous connaissez le numéro d’acquisition historique ou archivistique, veuillez l’indiquer en plus du numéro d’acquisition d’origine.

Tous les centres de services régionaux mettent des installations de recherche à la disposition des chercheurs et des clients autorisés. Il est possible de consulter et/ou de copier les documents archivistiques ou historiques, mais ils ne peuvent sortir des locaux de BAC de la RCN ou des centres de services régionaux.

Si la personne qui veut consulter les documents est un employé de l'institution cliente, il doit présenter au centre de services régional une lettre d'autorisation du ministère signée par un directeur ou une personne d'un échelon supérieur en plus d'une preuve d'identité. Ce n'est qu'à la suite de ces démarches qu'on autorisera l'accès aux documents.

Note : Les directeurs ne peuvent autoriser l'accès aux documents d'un autre ministère que le leur. Pour consulter les dossiers d'un autre ministère, il faut demander l'autorisation auprès des responsables de ce ministère.

Les chercheurs ministériels qui désirent obtenir des photocopies des documents archivistiques ou historiques conservés dans les centres de services régionaux sont responsables d'obtenir l'autorisation requise et d'effectuer les démarches pour qu'une personne autorisée effectue les copies dans les locaux de BAC.

Documents électroniques

Les documents électroniques sont demandés par téléphone, par télécopieur, par la poste, par courrier électronique ou par service de messagerie. L'usage téléphonique est réservé aux requêtes de nature urgente. Il faut soumettre un Formulaire de demande de documents électroniques contenant les renseignements suivants :

  • le numéro ou le nom du support;
  • le numéro de client (s'il y a lieu);
  • le nom de la personne qui demande le document et le nom du responsable des documents;
  • le nom de l'institution et de la direction ainsi que l'adresse de livraison ou de correspondance complète; et
  • le numéro de téléphone de la personne qui fait la demande et celui du responsable des documents.

Interclassement et reclassement

Un interclassement est effectué lorsqu'un document ou un groupe de documents est envoyé au centre de services régional pour être inséré dans une acquisition existante. Il faut inscrire le numéro d'acquisition, le numéro de localisation et le numéro de la boîte sur la chemise de dossier pour qu'on puisse placer le document au bon endroit. En l'absence de chemise, inscrivez l'information requise directement sur les documents.

Un reclassement est effectué lorsqu'un document dont on a fait la demande est retourné au centre de services régional. Ces documents sont toujours reclassés dans l'acquisition d'origine, à moins que le délai de conservation n'ait changé. Si le délai de conservation a changé, il faut placer le document dans une autre acquisition. Le client devrait aussi indiquer au centre de services régional où se trouve la fiche de prêt de façon à ce qu'on puisse la retirer de la boîte.

Note : Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, il faut remplacer une des chemises de dossier, veuillez indiquer le numéro du dossier, le numéro d'acquisition, le numéro de localisation et le numéro de la boîte sur la nouvelle chemise.

Lorsqu'il y a plusieurs interclassements et reclassements à faire, les clients sont priés de les trier par ordre de numéro de localisation et de numéro de boîte. Le numéro d'acquisition doit apparaître sur le premier dossier de chaque groupe à des fins de renvois.

Disposition des documents

Le terme disposition englobe les opérations suivantes :

  1. la destruction des documents non archivistiques;
  2. le transfert des documents archivistiques et historiques à la Division des opérations archivistiques de BAC;
  3. un transfert de propriété à l'extérieur du gouvernement fédéral (à un gouvernement provincial, par exemple); et
  4. le retour des documents à l'institution d'origine

Aux termes de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada (article 12[1]), « L'élimination ou l'aliénation des documents fédéraux ou ministériels, qu'il s'agisse ou non de biens de surplus, est subordonnée à l'autorisation écrite de l'administrateur général ou de la personne à qui il a délégué, par écrit, ce pouvoir. » Cette permission est ordinairement donnée au moyen des autorisations de disposer des documents (ADD).

L'institution fournit une date de rappel pour tous les documents qu'elle transfère dans un centre de services régional. Le centre de services régional amorce le processus de disposition des documents qui lui sont confiés en envoyant à l'institution cliente la Lettre  -  Demande de consentement (et la Demande de consentement pour disposer des documents par télécopieur, par la poste ou par courriel au responsable des documents ou à l'agent autorisé. Ces démarches sont effectuées environ 90 jours avant la date officielle pour disposer d'un groupe de documents.

La vérification des documents à disposer relève de la responsabilité de l'institution cliente. Pour ce faire, elle doit vérifier les ADD applicables et repérer les dossiers qui ont fait l'objet d'une demande à des fins de vérification en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. En vertu de ces deux lois, les renseignements personnels utilisés par un organisme gouvernemental à des fins administratives devront être conservés par cet organisme au moins deux ans suivant la dernière utilisation qui en est faite. Veuillez dresser la liste de ces documents et/ou de tout autre document que votre institution aimerait qu'on lui retourne. Inscrivez-les sur la Demande de consentement pour disposer des documents.

Lorsque vous aurez effectué la vérification de vos documents, veuillez signer la Demande de consentement pour disposer des documents et l'envoyer, par télécopieur ou par la poste, au centre de service régional concerné le plus tôt possible (habituellement avant le 30e jour suivant la réception de la documentation). Le centre de services régional disposera des documents selon les modalités établies, mais pas avant la date de disposition prévue.

Note : Si un client ne répond pas à la lettre de consentement et que le délai de conservation est dépassé, le centre de services régional retournera les documents non archivistiques aux frais du client. Tout document d'une importance archivistique ou historique réelle ou potentielle sera transféré à BAC à des fins de conservation.

Disposer des documents classifiés ou protégés (disposer de documents non enregistrés)

Veuillez consulter le centre de services régional de votre région pour connaître les méthodes sécuritaires, sûres et efficaces afin de disposer de vos documents ayant une cote de sécurité ou protégés (Demande d'élimination des documents non enregistrés [PDF 48 Ko]).

Précédent | Suivant