Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Previous | Table of contents | Next

Retention Guidelines for Common Administrative Records of the Government of Canada

How to Section

Version 1 - Task Style

How do I determine the retention period for a specific record?

Step 1 - Determine whether the record is covered under these guidelines.

If you answer yes to ANY of the following questions, then these guidelines do NOT apply to the record in question.

  • Does your department have an Institution-Specific Disposition Authority (ISDA)?

  • Are the records collected, created or received by an institution that directly supports the operational functions of federal institutions?

  • Do the records belong to an Office of Primary Interest (OPI) that is responsible for the administration of the Government of Canada, or an Office of Collateral Interest (OCI) that is implicated in or associated with the performance, management or delivery of a function, program or service for the Government of Canada?

  • Is the record an operational record?

  • Is the record of a mixed operational and administrative character?

  • Is the record otherwise excluded from the application of the MIDAs by virtue of the definitions and scope statement contained in the Appendix I for each of the functions contained in the MIDAs?

  • Is the record dated earlier than 1946?

If you answer no to the following question, then these guidelines do NOT apply to the record in question. Have all administrative actions been completed for the record?

If these guidelines do apply to the record, go to Step 2.

Step 2 - Determine the area that the record falls under.

Determine which of the following five areas the record falls under.

Real Property Management Function

The Real Property Management Function covers administrative records of sub-functions and activities related to: Assessing and Planning; Acquiring; Operating and Using; Maintaining; Replacing, Transferring and Disposing of real property assets.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3130.1-e.html

General Administration Function

The General Administration Function covers common administrative records of sub-functions and activities relating to the management of government information, management of technology, security and administrative support.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3120.1-e.html

Materiel Management Function

The Materiel Management Function covers common administrative records of sub-functions and activities related to the management of movable assets used or acquired by government institutions to facilitate the delivery of programmes and services. This includes the sub-functions and activities associated with: assessing and planning requirements; acquiring material assets and related services; operating, using and maintaining material; and replacing, transferring and disposing of materiel assets.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3140.1-e.html

Comptrollership Function

The Comptrollership Function encompasses the common administrative records of sub-functions and activities related to the management of financial resources conducted in and across all federal government institutions to facilitate the application of operational policies and the delivery of programmes and services. This includes the sub-functions and activities associated with: External Audit, Financial Management, and Program Management.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3150.1-e.html

Human Resources Management Function

The Human Resources Management Function encompasses common administrative records of sub-functions, processes, activities and transactions related to the management of human resources commonly conducted in and across all federal government institutions to facilitate the application of operational policies and the delivery of programmes and services. This includes the sub-functions and activities associated with: staffing, training and development, performance assessment, occupational safety and health, staff relations, compensation and benefits, human resources planning and utilization, classification, official languages, employment equity and special programmes.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/products-services/007002-3160.1-e.html

Once you have determined what function the record in question falls under go to Step 3.

Step 3 - Determine whether you are in a subject or function based system.

A function-based records classification system focuses on the activities and processes that result in the creation of records. These kinds of systems answer the questions, why do we have these records and how are they used?

A subject-based records classification system focuses on the information content of the records contained in the system. These kinds of systems answer the question, what are these records about?

If you are unable to determine this, go to Step 5, otherwise go to Step 4.

Step 4 - Determine the specific retention period.

If you are in a function based system, go to Step 4A.

If you are in a subject based system, go to Step 4B.

A - In Section 3 of the appropriate guide, determine the sub-function that the record falls under. Once you have identified the sub-function the retention period will be detailed in the Retention Guidance column.

If there is no retention period in the Retention Guidance column, use the retention period detailed in the Section 2 - General Retention Guideline section of the document.

B - In the appropriate guide, determine the subject group that the record falls under. Once you have identified the subject group the retention period will be detailed in the Retention Guidance column.

If there is no retention period in the Retention Guidance column, use the retention period detailed in the General Retention Guideline section of the document.

You have now determined the retention period for the record.

Step 5 - Find the record in the index.

1.  Determine the keyword(s) related to the record.

2.  Find the appropriate entry in the index.

3.  Go to the appropriate section of the documentation as defined in the index.

The retention period will be detailed in the Retention Guidance column.

You have now determined the retention period for the record.

FAQ

Do I have to use these guidelines?

These guidelines should not be seen as constituting an authority or requirement to dispose of records. The formal consent, by the Librarian and Archivist of Canada, to dispose of common administrative records of the government of Canada is contained in Multi-Institutional Disposition Authorities issued to all federal institution subject to the Library and Archives of Canada Act.
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/disposition/007007-1008-e.html
These guidelines can be "used as is" by government institutions. When the guidelines do not meet institutional records retention requirements, they can be adjusted to accommodate specific institutional needs with the exception of those records that covered by legislative requirements identified in the endnotes of the documents.

I'm still unsure about how to apply these guidelines

Where there is some doubt regarding retention, consultation should take place between representatives of the corporate records office, the information management office and/or the institution's ATIP coordinator. Where records clearly do not have a disposition authority or where there is some doubt regarding disposition, consultation should take place between representatives of the institution's ATIP coordinator, corporate records office and/or the information management office.

What do I do if personal information is contained in the record?

Consult the Privacy Act
(www.priv.gc.ca/legislation/02_07_01_e.cfm) for more information on this scenario.

Are there any other sources of information that I can reference?

The MIDA FAQs can be found at www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/government/002/007002-2010-e.html

Previous | Table of contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

Lignes directrices concernant la conservation des documents administratifs communs de l'administration fédérale - La section du « pratico-pratique »

Version 1 - Style des tâches

Comment déterminer le délai de conservation pour un document déterminé?

Étape 1 - Déterminer si le document est considéré dans ces lignes directrices?

Ces lignes directrices ne s'appliquent pas au document en question si vous répondez « oui » à une des questions suivantes :

  • Votre ministère a-t-il une autorisation spécifique de disposer des documents (ASDD)?

  • Les documents sont-ils colligés, créés ou reçus par une institution qui soutient directement les fonctions opérationnelles des institutions fédérales?

  • Les documents appartiennent-ils à un Bureau de premier intérêt (BPI) qui est responsable de l'administration du Gouvernement du Canada, ou à un Bureau d'intérêt secondaire (BIS) qui est impliqué ou associé à la représentation, la gestion ou la prestation d'une fonction, un programme ou un service pour l'administration fédérale?

  • Est-ce que votre document est foncièrement un document d'exploitation?

  • Est-ce que le document a un caractère de nature mixte, c'est-à-dire une partie documents administratifs et une partie documents d'exploitation?

  • Pour chacune des fonctions contenues dans les APDD, est-ce que le document est, autrement dit, soustrait à l'application des APDD en raison des définitions et de l'énoncé sur la portée de l'autorisation qui figure à l'Annexe I?
    www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/disposition/007007-1008-f.html#matieres

  • Est-ce que le document en question n'est pas antérieur à 1946?

Ces lignes directrices ne s'appliquent pas au document si vous répondez « non » à la question suivante : Est-ce que toutes les démarches administratives ont été exécutées pour le document?

Si ces lignes directrices s'appliquent au document, veuillez vous référer à l'étape 2.

Étape 2 - Déterminez sous quel domaine se rapporte votre document.

Déterminez sous quels des cinq domaines se rapporte votre document.

Fonction « gestion immobilière »

La fonction « gestion immobilière » porte sur les documents administratifs qui témoignent des fonctions et des activités ayant trait à : l'évaluation et la planification; l'acquisition; le fonctionnement et l'utilisation; le maintien; le remplacement, le transfert et la disposition de biens immobiliers.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3130.1-f.html

Fonction « administration générale »

La fonction « administration générale » porte sur les documents administratifs communs qui témoignent des fonctions et des activités ayant trait à : la gestion de l'information gouvernementale, la gestion de la technologie, la sécurité et le soutien administratif.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3120.1-f.html

Fonction « gestion du matériel »

La fonction « gestion du matériel » porte sur les documents administratifs communs qui témoignent des fonctions et des activités ayant trait à la gestion des biens meubles utilisés ou acquis par des institutions gouvernementales pour faciliter la prestation des programmes et des services. Cela inclut les fonctions et les activités associées à : l'évaluation et la planification des besoins; l'acquisition de matériel et des services liés; le fonctionnement, l'utilisation et le maintien du matériel et le remplacement, le transfert et la disposition du matériel.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3140.1-f.html

Fonction « contrôleur »

La fonction « contrôleur » porte sur les documents administratifs communs qui témoignent des sous-fonctions et des activités ayant trait à la gestion des ressources financières dirigée à travers toutes les institutions gouvernementales fédérales pour faciliter l'application des politiques opérationnelles et la prestation des programmes et des services. Cela inclut les sous-fonctions et les activités associées à: la vérification (financière) externe, la gestion financière et la gestion des programmes.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3150.1-f.html

Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines »

La fonction « gestion des ressources humaines » porte sur les documents administratifs qui témoignent des sous-fonctions, des processus, des activités et des transactions ayant trait à la gestion des ressources humaines généralement dirigée à travers toutes les institutions gouvernementales fédérales pour faciliter l'application des politiques opérationnelles et la prestation des programmes et des services. Cela inclut les sous-fonctions et les activités ayant trait à la dotation, à la formation et au perfectionnement, à l'appréciation du rendement, à la sécurité et santé au travail, aux relations de travail, à la rémunération et aux avantages sociaux, à la planification et à l'utilisation des ressources humaines, à la classification, aux langues officielles, de même qu'à l'équité en matière d'emploi des programmes spéciaux.

www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/produits-services/007002-3160.1-f.html

Lorsque la fonction du document en question a été déterminée, veuillez vous référer à l'étape 3.

Étape 3 - Déterminer si vous êtes dans un système de classification des documents selon les fonctions ou selon les sujets.

Un système de classification de documents selon les fonctions se concentre sur les activités et les processus de la création d'un document. Ces systèmes répondent habituellement aux questions, pourquoi avons-nous ces documents et de quelle façon sont-ils utilisés?

Un système de classification de documents selon les sujets se concentre sur le contenu de l'information des documents inclus dans le système. Ces systèmes répondent habituellement à la question, en quoi consistent ces documents?

Si vous êtes dans l'impossibilité de déterminer le système, veuillez vous référer à l'étape 5 ou l'étape 4.

Étape 4 - Déterminer le délai de conservation spécifique.

Veuillez vous référer à l'étape 4A, si vous êtes dans un système de classification des documents selon les fonctions.

Veuillez vous référer à l'étape 4B, si vous êtes dans un système de classification des documents selon les sujets.

A - Dans la section 3 du guide approprié, déterminer la sous-fonction de votre document. Aussitôt que vous avez identifié la sous-fonction, le délai de conservation sera détaillé dans la colonne du guide de conservation.

S'il n'y a aucun délai de conservation mentionné dans la colonne du guide de conservation, veuillez utiliser le délai de conservation détaillée dans la Section 2 - Guide général de la conservation des documents.

B - Dans le guide approprié, déterminer le sujet du groupe de votre document. Aussitôt que vous avez identifié le sujet du groupe, le délai de conservation sera détaillé dans la colonne du guide de conservation. S'il n'y a aucun délai de conservation mentionné dans la colonne du guide de conservation, veuillez utiliser le délai de conservation détaillé dans le guide général de la conservation des documents.

Vous avez maintenant déterminé le délai de conservation de votre document.

Étape 5 - Trouver le document dans votre index.

1. Déterminer le mot-clé qui se rapporte au document.

2. Trouver l'entrée appropriée dans l'index.

3. Veuillez-vous référer à la section appropriée de la documentation telle que mentionnée dans l'index.

Le délai de conservation sera détaillé dans la colonne du guide de conservation.

Vous avez maintenant déterminé le délai de conservation de votre document.

FAQ

Devez-vous suivre ces lignes directrices?

Ces lignes directrices de conservation des documents ne devraient pas être interprétés comme une autorisation ou une exigence pour disposer des documents. Le consentement formel, par le Bibliothécaire et Archiviste du Canada, de disposer des documents administratifs communs du gouvernement du Canada est inclus dans les Autorisations pluriinstitutionnelles de disposer de documents de l'administration fédérale distribués à toutes les institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/disposition/007007-1008-f.html
Ces lignes directrices peuvent être « utilisées telle quelles » par les institutions gouvernementales. Lorsque les lignes directrices ne rencontrent pas les exigences de conservation de documents institutionnelles, elles peuvent être adaptées pour accommoder les besoins institutionnels spécifiques, à l'exception des documents qui sont protégés par des besoins législatifs identifiés dans la note en fin de chapitre des documents.

Je demeure incertain sur l'application des lignes directrices

Lorsqu'il y a un doute sur la conservation, une consultation devrait avoir lieu entre les représentants du bureau des documents de l'institution, le bureau de la gestion de l'information et/ou le coordonnateur de l'Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de l'organisme. Lorsque les documents n'ont pas clairement l'autorisation pour disposer des documents ou lorsqu'il y a un doute sur l'élimination, une consultation devrait avoir lieu entre les représentants des organismes du coordonnateur de l'Accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels de l'institution, le bureau des documents de l'organisme et/ou le bureau de gestion de l'information.

Que dois-je faire si le document renferme des renseignements personnels?

Pour de plus amples informations à ce sujet, veuillez consulter la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (www.priv.gc.ca/legislation/02_07_01_f.cfm).

Existe-t-il d'autres sources d'information que je peux consulter?

La foire aux questions des autorisations de disposer des documents (ADD) se trouve à l'adresse suivante :
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/gouvernement/002/007002-2010-f.html

Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant