Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of contents

Retention Guidelines for Common Administrative Records of the Government of Canada

Section 1, Part 2

Real Property Management Function
(Function-based arrangement)

Section 3 - Exceptions to the General Retention Guideline - Real Property Management Function:

Function/Description

Retention Guidance
Always apply the General Retention Guideline unless specified otherwise

Assessing and Planning Real Property Requirements

 

This sub-function generally encompasses the business processes and activities which produce records created by government institutions while evaluating existing assets and resources, and assessing current and future organizational needs; developing short-term to maximum long-term strategic planning and life-cycle costing of acquisition alternatives; coordinating the development of real property objectives based on requirements for institutional programs and plans that are consistent with corporate goals, including environmental objectives, policy and legislation; keeping inventories and maintaining records of real property administered by departments and Crown corporations, including recording information in the Directory of Federal Real Property (DFRP) containing the central records of the real property holdings of the Government of Canada; seeking the administration of real property, through acquisition or transfer only when the property is required for the purposes of the departments programs; conducting regular reviews of the real property administered, linking it to program requirements, and confirming that the current use of it is appropriate; ascertaining the environmental condition of the property before acquisition and determining whether it is or can be made environmentally compatible with its intended use; and systematically examining and assessing the condition of the real property in inventory and using this information to determine when and how to acquire, maintain, preserve, and renew its value based on the full life-cycle costs of the property involved.

 

Current and Future Planning and Requirements, Plans for Expansion, Space Allocation, etc.

 

Construction - General requirements, preliminary discussions and investigations

5 years after completion of structure

Reports and Statistics

3 years

Acquiring Real Property Assets and Related Services

 

This sub-function generally encompasses the business processes and activities which produce records created by government institutions that add new real property to the federal inventory by purchase, lease, exchange, gift, easement, expropriation, or any other means, such as the acceptance of the surrender of a lease or the acceptance of the relinquishment of a license or easement; transfer of administration of real property from a department or an agent Crown corporation to a department; or a transfer of administration and control of real property to the federal government. It also includes the contracting for or provision of services supporting the acquisition, use and maintenance of real property; for example, cleaning, utilities maintenance and repair, office design, fire-protection or investigating and reporting, snow removal, surveying, etc… Note: Whereas this sub-function includes the management of the Real Property Management common administrative activities and processes involved in contracting for or procuring of related services, it does not include the financial management of Comptrollership activities related to acquisitions. These records are covered by the MIDA 1999/004 Comptrollership Function. As well, all records documenting activities related to any real property, or about the property itself, which has a recognized or classified heritage designation from the Department of Canadian Heritage are operational in nature, and are therefore, excluded from the scope of MIDA 2001/002.

 

Construction

 

- Arrangements and Consultant Services (tenders, discussions with architects, contractors and suppliers about costs, building materials, subcontractors, completion dates, progress reports, inspection and takeover, etc…).

3 years after takeover

- Cancelled projects

2 years after cancellation

Plans, Drawings and Specifications

Until superseded or obsolete

- Government owned

Until superseded or obsolete

- Leased

2 years after obsolete or expiry/cancellation of lease3

- Routine correspondence

3 years after completion or cancellation4

Signage (includes records associated with identifying government real property - advance signs, primary identification signs, directory boards, common-use etc…)

 

Utility Systems (Air conditioning and ventilation, refrigeration, gas, hydro power, lighting, plumbing and heating, telecommunication, water and sewer, disposal of hazardous waste)

 

- Installation

2 years after installation

Operating and Using Real Property Assets

 

This sub-function generally encompasses the business processes and activities which produce records created by government institutions while operating and using real property assets such as, buildings, works, lands, communications systems, hydro-electric structures, utility infrastructures, sewers and drainage, or other fixed structures on, above or below the surface of the land; ensuring that real property is used for its intended purpose; using real property in a manner consistent with the principle of sustainable development contributing to protecting and preserving the environment, and in a manner that protects their heritage character; providing a safe, healthy and productive environment in facilities; ensuring barrier-free access to, and use of, real property owned or leased; ensuring the real property conforms to physical and fire standards and policies on occupational health and safety; and ensuring that the appropriate program department administers real property, and the total real property a department administers (referring to the stewardship between a department and the real property it uses for its program purposes and for which it is accountable) is limited to that required to directly support its program.

 

Addresses and Locations

Until superseded or obsolete

Elevator Services

 

- Routine correspondence

1 year

Protection (From fall-out, nuclear blast, warning devices (sirens) etc… Includes preventive measures)

3 years

Trespassing

 

Maintaining Real Property Assets

 

This sub-function generally encompasses the business processes and activities which produce records created by government institutions while ensuring real property assets are properly maintained to extend the service life of the asset for as long as the property is required for the purposes of the institutions programs; repairing, refurbishing, altering, improving, and reusing assets when economically feasible; submitting annual reports to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat reflecting changes made to accessibility plans and implementation progress on accessibility improvements completed to real property. Real Property must be managed and maintained to the maximum long-term economic advantage of the government, to honour environmental objectives, and to provide safe and adequate facilities.

 

Alterations and Repairs

3 years after completion or cancellation5

Damages - Reports of Investigations into the Damage

3 years after investigation completed6

Development

 

- Ditching and drainage

2 years

- Excavation

2 years

- Landscaping and Gardening

2 years

Fencing

2 years

Fires - Reports

 

- Major

5 years

- Minor

2 years following completing report to Dominion Fire Commissioner

Note: It is incumbent upon the institution to determine the difference between major and minor. Generally, however, the value of the asset determines whether it is considered minor or major.

 

Flood Control (Preventive measures and control of minor floods)

3 years

Maintenance (cleaning and janitorial services, re-decorating, garbage removal, recycling etc…)

1 year

Parking Areas; Recreation Areas; Roads, Streets, and Sidewalks (including snow removal)7

2 years

Replacing, Transferring and Disposing of Real Property Assets

 

This sub-function generally encompasses the business processes and activities which produce records created by government institutions while replacing, exchanging, transferring, disposing, or selling-off real property when these assets are beyond cost-effective repair or are no longer required for the purposes of an institutions programs, including custody transfer of administration of real property that supports an adjustment to or transfer of program accountability, such as transfers to support the government's reassignment of program responsibility, transfers to support government restructuring, and transfers to recognize a more appropriate custodian; disposing of real property which includes alienating real property by sale, lease, exchange, gift, easement, or any other means, such as the surrender of a lease or the relinquishment of a real property from one department to another department or an agent Crown corporation, or a transfer of administration and control of real property from the federal government; and disposing of real property in a manner consistent with the principle of sustainable development contributing to protecting and preserving the environment, and in a manner that protects their heritage character.

 

Legal Documents

 

- Lease, rental, rights of way, easements and concessions

3 years after termination or expiry of lease, concession, right of way etc…

- Purchase, transfer, sale, etc.

Original documents are transferred to new owner. Institutions must retain copies until all operational and legal requirements have expired.

Lettings and Concessions, Rights of Way, Easements, Leases, etc., for Crown-owned Lands by Private Corporations or Persons or Privately-owned Lands by the Crown (excluding legal documents)

3 years after expiry of lease, concession, right of way etc. involved.

Sale, Transfer, Expiry of Lease, etc… (excluding legal documents)

3 years after sale, transfer, expiry of lease, etc.

3. Original retention guidance stated "Until obsolete." With amalgamation of all "Plans, drawings and specifications" for Buildings and Utilities this was changed to "2 years after obsolete or expiry/cancellation of lease" in keeping with retention guidance originally provided in Real Property Function for Utilities/Actual construction plans and specifications/leased - 2 years after obsolete or expiry/cancellation of lease.

4. Originally, this was broken down to "for minor structure worth less than $5,000 - 1 year" and "for structures others worth more than $5,000 - 3 years." LAC team decided to amalgamate and adopt higher retention to reflect today's current dollar value. As we have referenced users to the Comptrollership function for financial records and have identified this as "Routine Correspondence" original query to roll-up retention to 6 years can be removed.

5. Originally broken down into "Major (over $1000) - 3 years after completion or cancellation" and "Minor (under $1000) - 1 year after completion or cancellation." As these dollar values are outdated the LAC team decided to amalgamate and adopt the greater retention period for all. That said, currently, the Comptrollership Function suggests a standard retention period of 6 fiscal years for financial transaction records such as vouchers, invoices, claims etc... This retention is applied after all administrative actions have been completed. What LAC is questioning is whether there are any legislative or policies in place which bolster the need to apply the same retention period to common administrative records that support or document a financial action. References: the 1996 Treasury Board "Policy on Electronic Authorization and Authentication" Appendix A, Guidelines, iii Audit states that "The electronic authorization and authentication system and processes should be designed to ensure complete auditability. The audit trail should include delegation matrices, user profiles and all the electronic authorization and authentication data and files required to reconstruct the sequence of events and the transactions processed" and the Treasury Board "Policy on Internal Audit" (takes effect on April 1, 2006 and will replace the 2001 Policy on Internal Audit) under section 5. Policy Requirements, 5.5 states that "Deputy heads of all departments are responsible for:" under 5.5.3 "Ensuring that the audit committee receives all of the information and documentation needed or requested to fulfill its responsibilities, subject to applicable legislation."

6. Previously divided into: Major: over $1000 - 3 years after investigation complete and Minor: under $1000 - 1 year after investigation complete. These dollar value are not conducive to today's market… Team members thought it best to remove the "major" and "minor" categories and go with the higher retention period for all damage correspondence/reports.

7. Previously, "Highways" also identified under this activity. LAC team recommends removal of "highways" as the maintenance of highways is not a common administrative activity shared by GoC institutions.

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of contents

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières

Lignes directrices concernant la conservation des documents administratifs communs de l'administration fédérale

Section 1, Partie 2

Fonction « gestion immobilière »
(arrangement selon les fonctions)

Section 3 - Exceptions aux Lignes directrices générales concernant la conservation - Fonction « gestion immobilière »

Fonction/description

Orientation en matière de conservation
Sauf indication contraire, toujours appliquez les Lignes directrices générales concernant la conservation

Exigences en matière d'évaluation et de planification immobilière

 

En général, cette sous-fonction comprend les activités et les processus opérationnels qui produisent des documents créés par les institutions fédérales dans le cadre de leur évaluation des ressources et des biens existants et leur évaluation des besoins organisationnels actuels et futurs; leur élaboration de la planification stratégique optimale à court et à long terme et leur établissement des coûts de cycle de vie des autres solutions d'acquisition; leur coordination de l'harmonisation de la préparation des objectifs immobiliers pour les programmes et les plans opérationnels avec les objectifs institutionnels, y compris les objectifs environnementaux, les politiques et les législations et la conservation des stocks et des documents d'inventaire immobilier administré par les ministères et les sociétés d'État, y compris la consignation de l'information dans le Répertoire des biens immobiliers fédéraux (RBIF) qui contient les archives centrales des fonds immobiliers du gouvernement du Canada; leur recherche sur l'administration immobilière, par acquisition ou transfert, seulement si le bien est nécessaire aux fins des programmes des ministères; leur réalisation d'examens réguliers des biens immobiliers administrés, en les reliant aux exigences des programmes et en confirmant que leur utilisation actuelle est convenable; leur détermination de la condition environnementale du bien avant l'acquisition et de la question à savoir si le bien est (ou peut-être rendu) écologiquement compatible pour le but visé; et leur examen et évaluation systématique de la condition du bien dans l'inventaire et leur utilisation de cette information pour déterminer quand et comment l'acquérir, l'entretenir, le préserver et renouveler sa valeur en fonction des coûts complets du cycle de vie du bien en question.

 

Planification et exigences actuelles et à venir, plans d'expansion, attribution de l'espace, etc.

 

Construction - Exigences générales, discussions et enquêtes Préliminaires

5 après l'achèvement des travaux

Rapport et statistiques

3 ans

Acquisition de biens immobiliers et des services connexes

 

En général, cette sous-fonction comprend les activités et les processus opérationnels qui produisent des documents créés par les institutions fédérales qui ajoutent de nouveaux biens immobiliers à l'inventaire fédéral par achat, location, échange, cadeau, servitude, expropriation, ou par tout autre moyen, y compris l'acceptation de l'abandon d'un bail ou l'acceptation du délaissement d'une licence ou d'une servitude; leur transfert d'administration du bien immobilier entre ministères ou d'un ministère à une société d'État mandante, ou un transfert d'administration et de contrôle d'un bien immobilier du gouvernement fédéral. En plus, cette sous-fonction comprend la passation de marchés ou la prestation de services en soutien à l'acquisition, l'utilisation et l'entretien du bien immobilier (p. ex. le nettoyage, l'entretien et les réparations des services publics, la conception des bureaux, la protection contre l'incendie ou l'enquête et la production de rapports, le déneigement, l'arpentage, etc.). NOTA : Bien que cette sous-fonction comprenne la gestion des activités et des processus communs de la fonction « gestion immobilière » concernée par la passation de marchés et la prestation des services connexes, elle ne comprend pas la gestion financière des activités de la fonction « contrôleur » liées aux acquisitions. Ces documents sont couverts par l'APDD 1999/004 - fonction « contrôleur ». En outre, tous les documents qui soutiennent les activités liées à un bien immobilier ou à l'égard d'un bien immobilier particulier qui possède une désignation patrimoniale reconnue et classifiée du ministère du Patrimoine canadien sont de nature opérationnelle; par conséquent, ils sont exclus de la portée de l'APDD 2001/002.

 

Construction

 

- Arrangements et services d'expert-conseil (soumissions, discussions avec les architectes, les entrepreneurs et les fournisseurs sur les coûts, les matériaux de construction, les sous-traitants, les dates d'achèvement des travaux, les rapports d'étape, etc., les inspections et la prise de contrôle, etc.).

3 ans après la prise de contrôle

- Projets annulés

2 ans après l'annulation

Plans, dessins et devis

Jusqu'au remplacement ou à la désuétude

- Immeubles qui appartiennent au gouvernement

Jusqu'au remplacement ou à la désuétude

- Immeubles loués

2 ans après la désuétude ou la fin ou l'expiration/ l'annulation du bai3

- Affaires courantes

3 ans après l'achèvement ou l'annulation des travaux4

Signalisation (comprend les documents associés à l'identification des biens immobiliers du gouvernement - panneau de signalisation avancée, panneaux d'identification principaux, tableaux répertoires, panneaux d'usage courant, etc.)

 

Services publics (air climatisé et ventilation, réfrigération, gaz naturel, électricité, éclairage, plomberie et chauffage, télécommunications, eau potable et eaux usées, élimination des déchets dangereux)

 

- Installation

2 ans après l'installation

Exploitation et utilisation des biens immobiliers

 

En général, cette sous-fonction comprend les activités et les processus opérationnels qui produisent des documents créés par les institutions fédérales dans le cadre de leur exploitation et utilisation des biens immobiliers, notamment les bâtiments, les travaux de construction, les terrains, les systèmes de communication, les structures hydroélectriques, les infrastructures de services publics, les égouts et le drainage ou toute autre structure fixe sur, au-dessus de ou sous la surface du terrain; leur utilisation du bien immobilier aux fins visées; leur utilisation du bien immobilier conformément au principe de développement durable pour contribuer à la protection et à la préservation de l'environnement et de façon à protéger son caractère patrimonial; leur prestation d'un milieu sûr, sain et productif dans les installations; leur assurance d'un accès sans obstacle au bien immobilier acheté ou loué et leur utilisation dudit bien; leur conformité du bien immobilier aux normes de protection contre l'incendie et aux politiques sur l'hygiène et la santé au travail; et leur garantie que le bon ministère chargé des programmes administre le bien immobilier et que le bien immobilier total administré par un ministère (en matière de gérance entre un ministère et le bien immobilier utilisé aux fins de ses programmes et pour lequel il est responsable) est limité aux exigences qui soutiennent directement son programme.

 

Adresses et emplacements

Jusqu'au remplacement ou à la désuétude

Services d'ascenseur

 

- Affaires courantes

1 an

Protection (dépôt radioactif, soufflé thermique nucléaire, dispositifs d'avertissement (sirènes), etc.; comprend les mesures préventives

3 ans

Entrée non autorisée

 

Entretien des biens immobiliers

 

En général, cette sous-fonction comprend les activités et les processus opérationnels qui produisent des documents créés par les institutions fédérales dans le cadre de leur entretien convenable des biens immobiliers pour prolonger la durée de service du bien, aussi longtemps que le bien est requis pour les buts visés par les programmes des institutions; leur réparation, remise à neuf, altération, amélioration et réutilisation des biens, lorsqu'économiquement rentables; leur production de rapports annuels au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor qui reflètent les modifications apportées aux plans d'accessibilité et à l'évolution de la mise en œuvre des améliorations d'accessibilité complétées sur le bien immobilier. Les biens immobiliers doivent être gérés et entretenus pour maximiser l'avantage économique à long terme du gouvernement, pour respecter les objectifs environnementaux et pour fournir des installations sûres et adéquates.

 

Altérations et réparations

3 ans après l'achèvement des travaux ou l'annulation5

Dommages - rapports et enquêtes sur les dommages

3 ans après la fin de l'enquête6

Développement

 

- Creusement de fossés et drainage

2 ans

- Excavation

2 ans

- Aménagement paysager et jardinage

2 ans

Clôture

2 ans

Incendies - rapports

 

- Incendies majeurs

5 ans

- Petits incendies

2 ans après la présentation du rapport au Commissaire fédéral des incendies

NOTA : Il incombe à l'institution de déterminer la différence entre un incendie majeur et un petit incendie. En général, la valeur du bien détermine cependant s'il s'agit d'un incendie majeur ou d'un petit incendie.

 

Contrôle des inondations (mesures préventives et contrôle des inondations mineures)

3 ans

Entretien (services de nettoyage et de concierge, décoration, collecte des ordures ménagères, récupération, etc.)

1 an

Aires de stationnement; aires de loisir, routes, rues et trottoirs (y compris le déneigement)7

2 ans

Remplacement, transfert et disposition des biens immobiliers

 

En général, cette sous-fonction comprend les activités et les processus opérationnels qui produisent des documents créés par les institutions fédérales dans le cadre de leur remplacement, échange, transfert, disposition ou vente d'un bien immobilier, s'il n'est pas rentable de réparer ces biens ou si ces biens ne sont plus requis aux fins des programmes d'une institution, y compris le transfert de la garde de l'administration d'un bien immobilier qui soutient un rajustement ou un transfert de responsabilité de programme, notamment les transferts à l'appui d'une réaffectation gouvernementale de la responsabilité d'un programme, les transferts à l'appui d'une restructuration gouvernementale et les transferts à l'appui d'une reconnaissance d'un responsable plus approprié; leur disposition d'un bien immobilier qui comprend l'aliénation du bien en question par vente, location, échange, cadeau, servitude ou par tout autre moyen, notamment l'abandon d'un bail ou le délaissement d'une bien immobilier entre ministères ou d'un ministère à une société d'État mandante ou un transfert d'administration et de contrôle d'un bien immobilier du gouvernement fédéral; et leur disposition d'un bien immobilier, conformément au principe de développement durable pour contribuer à la protection et à la préservation de l'environnement et de façon à protéger son caractère patrimonial.

 

Documents juridiques

 

- Bail, location, droit de passage, servitude et concessions

3 ans après la fin ou l'expiration du bail, de la concession, du droit de passage, etc. en question.

- Achat, vente, transfert, etc.

Les documents originaux sont transférés au nouveau propriétaire. Les institutions doivent conserver des exemplaires jusqu'à l'expiration de toutes les exigences opérationnelles et juridiques.

Locations et concessions, droit de passage, servitude, concessions, etc., pour les terrains de l'État par les sociétés privées ou les particuliers ou pour les terrains qui appartiennent au privé par l'État, excluant les documents juridiques

3 ans après la fin ou l'expiration du bail, de la concession, du droit de passage, etc. en question.

Vente, transfert, expiration de bail, etc. (excluant les documents juridiques)

3 ans après la vente, le transfert ou l'expiration du bail, etc.

3. L'orientation originale relative à la conservation précisait « Jusqu'à désuet ». La fusion de tous les « plans, dessins et devis » de bâtiment et de services publics a produit la modification à « 2 ans après la désuétude ou l'expiration/l'annulation du bail » pour l'harmoniser avec l'orientation originale relative à la conservation présentée dans la fonction « gestion immobilière»  pour les Plans et devis réels de construction/services publics/locations - « 2 ans après la désuétude ou l'expiration/l'annulation du bail ».

4. L'expression « affaires courantes » pour les plans et les devis était auparavant décomposée en « … structures mineures d'une valeur inférieure à 5 000 $  -  1 an » et en « … autres structures d'une valeur supérieure à 5 000 $  -  3 ans ». L'équipe de BAC (BAC) a décidé de les fusionner et d'adopter le plus long délai de conservation pour tenir compte de la valeur actuelle en dollars.

5. Originalement décomposé en « projets majeurs (plus de 1 000 $)  -  3 ans après l'achèvement ou l'annulation des travaux » et en « projets mineurs (moins de 1 000 $)  -  1 an après l'achèvement ou l'annulation des travaux ». Étant donné que ces montants sont périmés, l'équipe de BAC a décidé de les fusionner et d'adopter le plus long délai de conservation pour tous les projets. Ceci étant dit, la fonction « contrôleur » suggère un délai standard de conservation de 6 exercices financiers pour les documents de transactions financières comme les pièces justificatives, les factures, les demandes de réclamation, etc. Ce délai de conservation s'applique après que toutes les mesures administratives ont été complétées. En outre, le BAC s'interroge à savoir s'il existe des politiques législatives ou institutionnelles qui justifient le besoin d'appliquer le même délai de conservation que celle des documents originaux des transactions financières (6 exercices financiers) à tout document administratif commun qui soutient ou documente une mesure financière. Références : la politique du Conseil du Trésor (1996) intitulée « Politique sur l'autorisation et l'authentification électronique », appendice A, Lignes directrices - iii Vérification, prévoit que « Le système et les processus d'autorisation et d'authentification électronique devraient pouvoir faire l'objet d'une vérification complète. La piste de vérification devrait comprendre les matrices de délégation, les profils d'utilisateur et l'ensemble des données et des fichiers d'autorisation et d'authentification électroniques nécessaires pour reconstituer dans l'ordre les événements et les opérations traitées», et la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne qui précise, au point 5.5.3 de la section 5, Exigences de la politique, que les " administrateurs généraux des ministères doivent veiller à ce que le comité de vérification reçoive toute l'information et la documentation requise ou demandée pour lui permettre de remplir ses responsabilités, aux termes de la législation applicable ».

6. Auparavant divisé en « projets majeurs (plus de 1 000 $)  -  3 ans après la fin de l'enquête » et en « projets mineurs (moins de 1 000 $)  -  1 an après la fin de l'enquête ». Ces montants ne sont pas réalistes pour le marché d'aujourd'hui. Les membres de l'équipe suggèrent de retirer les catégories « majeures » et « mineures » et d'adopter le plus long délai de conservation pour toute affaire courante et tout rapport sur les dommages.

7. Auparavant, le terme « Routes » était aussi précisé sous cette activité. Les membres de l'équipe de BAC recommandent de supprimer le mot « routes », car l'entretien des routes n'est pas une activité administrative commune partagée par les institutions fédérales.

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières