Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

Government

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of contents | Next

Retention Guidelines for Common Administrative Records of the Government of Canada

Section 2, Part 5

Human Resources Management Function
(Subject-based arrangement)

Section 1 - Introduction

1.1 Coverage

The Human Resources Management Function encompasses common administrative records of sub-functions, processes, activities and transactions related to the management of human resources commonly conducted in and across all federal government institutions to facilitate the application of operational policies and the delivery of programmes and services. This includes the sub-functions and activities associated with: staffing, training and development, performance assessment, occupational safety and health, staff relations, compensation and benefits, human resources planning and utilization, classification, official languages, employment equity and special programmes.

1.2 Exclusions

See the Human Resources Management Function(in Section 1) under / Introduction/ Scope. Where specific subjects and activities are not listed in the retention table, institutions should refer to the alphabetical index located at the end of the guidelines for guidance.

1.3 Personal Information

The retention of personal information contained in records that has been used by a federal institution in the course of its business is governed by Section 6 of the Privacy Act, and Sections 4 and 7 of the Privacy Act Regulations.

Section 4. (1) of the Privacy Act Regulations states that personal information that is used for an administrative purpose (i.e. the use of the information in a decision making process that directly affects that individual) must be retained for a minimum of two (2) years unless the individual consents to its earlier disposal:

4. (1) Personal information concerning an individual that has been used by a government institution for an administrative purpose shall be retained by the institution
(a) for at least two years following the last time the personal information was used for an administrative purpose unless the individual consents to its disposal; and
(b) where a request for access to the information has been received, until such time as the individual has had the opportunity to exercise all his rights under the Act.

Guidance on the retention for records that contain personal information and have been subject to an "Access to Information" request is provided in Section 7 of the Privacy Act Regulations, which states;

7. The head of a government institution shall retain for a period of at least two years following the date on which a request for access to personal information is received by the institution under paragraph 8(2)(e) of the Act (requests made by an investigative body specified in the regulations)

(a) a copy of every request received; and

(b) a record of any information disclosed pursuant to such a request.

In establishing retention periods for records containing personal information that are generated in support of the Human Resources Management Function, federal institutions should ensure that the Privacy Act and Privacy Act Regulations are applied.

1.4 Offices of Primary Interest (OPI) and Offices of Collateral Interest (OCI)

See the Human Resources Management Function (in Section 1) / Introduction / Offices of Primary Interest and Offices of Collateral Interest, for examples of those institutions for which the retention guidelines only apply to their common administrative records.

1.5 Use

Note that nothing in these guidelines should be seen as constituting an authority or requirement to dispose of records. Use of the Retention Guidelines should be in accordance with the proposals contained in the main Introduction. For direction regarding the disposition of common administrative records related to the Human Resources Management Function, institutions should consult Library and Archives Canada's Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) No. 98/005.

1.6 Retention Period Guidelines

When records are covered by an existing MIDA the retention information offered takes the form of retention guidelines expressed in months, calendar years and fiscal years. In the absence of specific retention guidance and unless specified otherwise, the five year retention period for policy and procedures, the two year retention period for routine records, and the retention periods associated with Personnel (employee) files should be applied to similar records related to each sub-heading/activity listed in this function. Please refer to the "General Retention Guideline" provided at the beginning of the "Human Resources Management Function" table for additional information.

1.7 Guidance

For advice and assistance regarding the retention guidelines, please contact the Recordkeeping Liaison Centre.

Main Table of Contents
Previous | Table of contents | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le gouvernement

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant

Lignes directrices concernant la conservation des documents administratifs communs de l'administration fédérale

Section 2, Partie 5

Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines »
(arrangement selon les sujets)

1.1 Portée

La fonction « gestion des ressources humaines » vise les documents administratifs communs qui traitent des sous-fonctions, processus, activités et transactions relativement à la gestion des ressources humaines exécutés dans l'ensemble des institutions gouvernementales pour faciliter l'application des politiques opérationnelles et l'exécution des programmes et des services, y compris les sous-fonctions et les activités associées à la dotation, à la formation et au perfectionnement professionnel, à l'évaluation du rendement, à la santé et la sécurité au travail, aux relations de travail, à la rémunération et aux avantages sociaux, à la planification et l'utilisation des ressources humaines, à la classification, aux langues officielles, à l'équité en matière d'emploi et aux programmes spéciaux.

1.2 Exclusions

Voir la Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines » (section 1 - Introduction/Portée). Lorsque des activités et des sujets particuliers ne figurent pas au tableau de conservation, les institutions sont invitées, aux fins d'orientation, à consulter l'index alphabétique présenté à la fin des Lignes directrices.

1.3 Renseignements personnels

L'article 6 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les articles 4 et 7 du Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels régissent la conservation des renseignements personnels présents dans les documents utilisés par une institution fédérale dans l'exercice de ses fonctions.

Le paragraphe 4(1) du Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit que les renseignements personnels utilisés par une institution fédérale à des fins administratives (l'utilisation des données dans un processus de prise de décision qui touche l'individu) doivent être conservés par cette institution pendant au moins deux ans, à moins que l'individu qu'ils concernent ne consente à leur retrait du fichier.

4. (1) Les renseignements personnels utilisés par une institution fédérale à des fins administratives doivent être conservés par cette institution :
a) pendant au moins deux ans après la dernière fois où ces renseignements ont été utilisés à des fins administratives, à moins que l'individu qu'ils concernent ne consente à leur retrait du fichier;
b) dans les cas où une demande d'accès à ces renseignements a été reçue, jusqu'à ce que son auteur ait eu la possibilité d'exercer tous ses droits en vertu de la Loi.

L'orientation relative à la conservation des documents qui renferment des renseignements personnels et qui ont été assujettis à une demande « d'accès à des renseignements personnels » est présentée à l'article 7 du Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui prévoit que :

7. Le responsable d'une institution fédérale doit conserver pendant au moins deux ans après la réception d'une demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels (faite par un organisme d'enquête précisé dans le Règlement) à une institution en vertu de l'alinéa 8(2)e) de la Loi,

a) une copie de la demande;

b) un relevé des renseignements communiqués en réponse à la demande.

Lors de la détermination des délais de conservation des documents qui renferment des renseignements personnels, les institutions fédérales doivent veiller à l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de son Règlement. Les exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de son Règlement sont obligatoires et elles doivent être observées.

1.4 Bureaux de premier intérêt (BPI) et Bureaux d'intérêt secondaire (BIS)

Voir la Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines » (Section 1 - Introduction/Bureaux de premier intérêt et Bureaux d'intérêt secondaire), laquelle présente des exemples d'institutions pour lesquelles les Lignes directrices concernant la conservation ne s'appliquent qu'à leurs documents administratifs communs.

1.5 Utilisation

Il est important de préciser qu'aucun élément des présentes Lignes directrices ne doit être interprété comme une autorisation ou une exigence pour disposer des documents. Ces Lignes directrices concernant la conservation doivent être utilisées conformément aux propositions présentées dans la section Introduction. Pour obtenir une orientation relative à la disposition des documents administratifs communs liés à la fonction « gestion des ressources humaines », les institutions doivent consulter l'Autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposer de documents (APDD) no 98/005 de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

1.6 Lignes directrices concernant le délai de conservation

Lorsque des documents sont régis par une autorisation pluriinstitutionnelle de disposer des documents en vigueur, les renseignements de conservation sont présentés sous forme de Lignes directrices concernant la conservation qui sont exprimées en mois, en années civiles et en exercices financiers. En l'absence d'orientation particulière relative à la conservation et sauf indication contraire, le délai de conservation de cinq (5) ans pour les politiques et les procédures et le délai de conservation de deux (2) ans pour les affaires courantes doivent être appliqués aux documents semblables relatifs à chaque sous-activité énumérée dans la présente fonction. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière de consulter les « Lignes directrices générales concernant la conservation » présentées au début du tableau de la Fonction « gestion des ressources humaines ».

1.6 Orientation

Pour obtenir des avis et des conseils sur l'application des présentes Lignes directrices, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de liaison en tenue de documents.

Table des matières principale
Précédent | Table des matières | Suivant