Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Rosario Bourdon, violoncellist, conductor, arranger and composer (1885-1961)

Photograph of Rosario Bourdon

Source
Rosario Bourdon

Rosario Bourdon was a multi-talented musician who had a significant influence on the formative years of the Victor Talking Machine Co. He was born into a musical family in Longueuil, Quebec, near Montréal on March 6, 1885. His father was an amateur singer and his mother, Caroline Derome, began to teach him the cello when he was seven. Later, Bourdon studied the instrument with Jean-Baptiste Dubois, a celebrated cellist in Montréal, whom Bourdon's mother later married. Bourdon also learned to play the piano. His half-brother, Louis-Honoré Bourdon, became a well-known impresario in Canada.

Rosario, a child prodigy, was admitted to the Gand (Ghent) Conservatory in Belgium in 1897, at age 12, where he studied cello with Joseph Jacob. After only eight months of study, Bourdon won a first prize "with great distinction". Shortly after this, 'Rosario', as he was known on stage, toured Europe and returned to Canada by 1899, where he enjoyed some popularity in Montréal and Québec City.

Seeking better career opportunities, Bourdon went to the United States where he played in the orchestras of Cincinatti (1902-1904), Philadelphia (1904-1908) and Saint Paul, Minnesota (1908-1911). He was also the assistant conductor in Saint Paul. During this period he studied conducting in Europe. He eventually became a naturalized American.

Rosario's first recordings for the Victor Talking Machine Co. were made in 1905 to replace some earlier cello recordings made by Victor Sorlin. By 1909 the company had retained him as house cellist and he rose to the position of musical co-director with Joseph Pasternak in 1920. Bourdon was kept very busy at Victor, serving in many additional capacities: arranging music, providing piano accompaniments for other Victor artists, and conducting the Victor Concert Orchestra, the Victor Symphony Orchestra, the Victor Salon Orchestra and, at times, Sousa's Band. He performed the cello on recordings of such Red Seal artists as Alma Gluck and Enrico Caruso (1917, Fauré's Sancta Maria). While Bourdon is known to have performed or conducted at least 141 titles for Victor, his role as an arranger for many recordings makes his contribution to Victor even greater. A partial discography can be found in Roll Back the Years.

The year 1931 marked the end of Bourdon's career at Victor. He subsequently worked in directorial capacities at NBC radio, Muzak, Brunswick Records, and Thesaurus Records, a label that transcribed broadcasts. His best-known credit at NBC was a series of programs called 'Cities Service Concerts' (1927-1938). In the latter years of his career Bourdon often conducted l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, beginning with their first concert in 1935.

Also of interest is Bourdon's role as a musical pioneer in the film industry. He directed the musical scores for some of Laurel and Hardy's films and for some of Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse cartoons.

Rosario Bourdon died in New York on April 24, 1961. In all of his work his greatest goal was not to achieve fame, but rather to "make the voices of the composers heard". Only compliments came from the musicians he worked with. The critic, Marcel Valois, said in praise of Bourdon that his principal quality lay in the relation, or balance, between the cultivation and the gift.

One of Bourdon's most noted works as a composer is his Poème élégiaque for cello and orchestra. Noted among his conducting credits are La Symphonie No 3 "avec orgue" (Saint-Säens), le Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (Debussy), and Tchaikovsky's Symphonies No. 4, 5, and 6. You may hear him performing the cello in Victor recording 4845 of Schumann's Träumerei, op. 15, No. 7.

For more information on Rosario Bourdon's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


References

"Bourdon, Rosario". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French, under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

Potvin, Gilles. -- "Rosario Bourdon, 1885-1961". -- Aria. -- (Printemps 1985). -- P. 13-14. -- AMICUS No. 2862457

"Rosario Bourdon" [vertical file]. -- National Library of Canada, Music Division

Thérien, Robert. -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Rosario Bourdon, violoncelliste, chef d'orchestre, arrangeur et compositeur (1885-1961)

Photo de Rosario Bourdon

Source
Rosario Bourdon

Rosario Bourdon était un musicien aux talents multiples qui a eu une influence considérable sur les années formatrices de la Victor Talking Machine Co. Il est né le 6 mars 1885 dans une famille musicale de Longueuil, au Québec, près de Montréal. Son père était un chanteur amateur et sa mère, Caroline Derome, a commencé à lui apprendre le violoncelle lorsqu'il avait sept ans. Plus tard, il étudie cet instrument avec Jean-Baptiste Dubois, violoncelliste célèbre de Montréal que sa mère a épousé par la suite. Il apprend aussi le piano. Son demi-frère, Louis-Honoré Bourdon, devient un imprésario bien connu au Canada.

Jeune prodige, Rosario est admis en 1897 au Conservatoire de Gand (Ghent) en Belgique à l'âge de douze ans où il étudie le violoncelle avec Joseph Jacob. Après huit mois d'études seulement, il remporte un premier prix « avec grande distinction ». Peu de temps après, « Rosario », comme on le connaissait sur scène, entreprend une tournée en Europe et retourne au Canada dès 1899, où il connaît une certaine popularité à Montréal et à Québec.

Cherchant de meilleures possibilités de carrière, Rosario se rend aux États-Unis où il joue dans les orchestres de Cincinnati (1902-1904), de Philadelphie (1904-1908) et de Saint Paul, au Minnesota (1908-1911). Il est aussi chef d'orchestre adjoint à Saint Paul. Au cours de cette période, il étudie la direction d'orchestre en Europe. Il est devient finalement citoyen américain naturalisé.

Il fait ses premiers enregistrements pour la Victor Talking Machine Co. en 1905 afin de remplacer certains enregistrements de violoncelle faits antérieurement par Victor Sorlin. Dès 1909, la maison de disques le retient comme violoncelliste interne et il parvient au poste de codirecteur musical avec Joseph Pasternak en 1920. Il est très occupé à la Victor, exerçant de nombreuses fonctions supplémentaires, dont les arrangements musicaux et les accompagnements au piano pour d'autres artistes de la Victor et la direction de l'orchestre de concert Victor, de l'orchestre symphonique Victor, de l'orchestre de chambre Victor et, parfois, de l'orchestre Sousa. Il joue du violoncelle pour des enregistrements d'artistes Sceau Rouge tels qu'Alma Gluck et Enrico Caruso (1917, Sancta Maria de Fauré). Bien qu'il ait exécuté ou dirigé au moins 141 titres pour la compagnie Victor, son rôle comme arrangeur de bien des enregistrements accroît sa contribution à Victor. En remontant les années contient une discographie partielle de Bourdon.

L'année 1931 marque la fin de sa carrière à la Victor. Par la suite, il travaille en qualité de chef d'orchestre à la radio de la NBC, chez Muzak, chez Brunswick Records et chez Thesaurus Records, étiquette de transcription d'émissions. À la NBC, sa collaboration la mieux connue est une série d'émissions appelée Cities Service Concerts (1927-1938). Il dirige souvent l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal au cours des dernières années de sa carrière, donnant son premier concert en 1935.

Il convient de noter aussi son rôle de pionnier musical dans l'industrie du film. Il dirige les partitions musicales de certains films de Laurel et Hardy et de certaines bandes dessinées de la souris Mickey de Walt Disney.

Il meurt à New York le 24 avril 1961. Dans tout son œuvre, son but le plus important ne consiste pas à atteindre la gloire, mais plutôt à faire « entendre la voix des compositeurs ». Les musiciens avec qui il travaillait n'ont que des compliments à lui adresser. Le critique Marcel Valois, en faisant son éloge, déclare que la qualité principale de ce chef d'orchestre réside dans la relation, c'est-à-dire dans l'équilibre entre la culture et le talent.

L'une de ses œuvres les plus remarquables en tant que compositeur est son Poème élégiaque pour violoncelle et orchestre. Parmi ses mérites comme chef d'orchestre, on note la Symphonie no 3 « avec orgue » (Saint-Säens), le Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (Debussy) et les Symphonies nos 4, 5 et 6 de Tchaïkovski. Vous pouvez l'entendre jouer du violoncelle dans l'enregistrement 4845 de la Victor, le Träumerei, op. 15, no 7 de Schumann.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Rosario Bourdon, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Références

« Bourdon, Rosario ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded round and its legacy: genesis to 1930

Potvin, Gilles. -- « Rosario Bourdon, 1885-1961 ». -- Aria. -- Printemps (1985) -- P.13-14. -- No AMICUS 2862457

« Rosario Bourdon » [documentation éphémère]. -- Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, Division de la musique

Thérien, Robert. -- Notes de recherche inédites