Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Herbert L. Clarke, cornetist (1867-1945)

Photograph of Herbert L. Clarke holding a cornet

Source
Herbert L. Clarke

Herbert Lincoln Clarke, acknowledged to be the greatest cornetist of his time, was certainly the most celebrated. Not only was he a virtuoso cornet player, but "an excellent composer, an accomplished violinist, a prolific and highly talented arranger for band, and a most distinguished band conductor" (Johnston, Jan. 1972, p. 44). As well, he wrote several study books for the cornet that are still used today.

Clarke was born in Woburn, Massachusetts on September 12, 1867. He moved with his family to Toronto in 1880. Since his father was the organist at the Jarvis St. Baptist Church and his three older brothers played with the Regimental Band of the Queen's Own Rifles, it was not surprising that the young Clarke showed an interest in music. He himself said in his autobiography, How I Became a Cornetist, that it was growing up "in a musical environment that played a large part in turning me to the musically artistic as a life profession".

In the spring of 1881 he attended a concert of The American Band of Providence, Rhode Island, at the Horticultural Pavilion in Toronto and he heard Bowen R. Church play a cornet solo. Later, Clarke was to remember this event as the most significant of his childhood. He taught himself to play the cornet, using his brother Edwin's instrument. At about the same time, he joined the Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Dr. F. H. Torrington, as a violinist. The cornet had captured his heart, however. In 1882, he joined the Queen's Own Rifles band as the last chair of a 12-man cornet section in order to obtain a government-issue instrument on which to practise.

Between 1884, when he graduated from high school, and 1887, Clarke drifted between playing in the pit orchestra of English's Opera House in Indianapolis, where his family had moved; working (unhappily) at the John Kay store in Toronto, while playing second chair cornetist with the Queen's Own; and playing at the Ontario Beach lake resort in the summer. It was in 1887 that he joined the Citizen's Band of Toronto, under John Bayley, as the band's cornet soloist. He spent the next five years playing in and leading several bands around Toronto (the Taylor Safe Works Band, Heintzman Piano Company Band, Streetsville Ontario Band) and teaching at the Toronto Conservatory of Music (where he also played in the Toronto Conservatory String Quartet) and at Trinity College in Port Hope, Ontario. In September of 1889 he married Elizabeth (Lizzie) Loudon, with whom he had two children: Vivian (Grace) in 1890 and James (Edward James Watkin) in 1892. In the spring of 1892, he left Canada once again, after successfully auditioning for the Gilmore Band.

In 1893, he joined Sousa's Band as a cornet soloist. After playing at the Chicago Exposition in the same year, he left to play with various other bands, continuing to do so over the next five years. It was during this period that he divorced Lizzie Loudon and married Lillian Bell Hause, with whom he had two more children, Ruby Bell and Herbert L. Clarke, Jr. In 1898 he returned to Sousa's Band, with whom he toured extensively, and later became Sousa's assistant director, conducting the band in many recording sessions. He resigned from Sousa's band in September of 1917 and returned to Canada to lead the Anglo-Canadian Leather Company Band in Huntsville, Ontario from 1918 to 1923. Under Clarke's leadership, this band became one of the most celebrated commercial bands in North America.

In 1923, he moved to Long Beach, California due to his wife's health and conducted the Long Beach Municipal Band until 1943. In April of 1934, he was elected President of the American Bandmasters Association. He died in January 1945 and his ashes were interred at the Congressional Cemetery in Washington, D.C., near the gravesite of John Phillip Sousa. His papers and memorabilia are held at The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

In the course of his musical career, Clarke recorded most of his own solo cornet compositions, other cornet solos and conducted Sousa's Band in over 200 recordings. Among his recordings were "Bride of the Waves", "Sounds from the Hudson" and "Caprice Brilliante", as a soloist; "Hunting Scene", conducting the American Band of Providence; and "The Stars and Stripes Forever", "Semper Fidelis" and "Favourite Songs of Canada", conducting Sousa's Band. Several of his recordings were reissued on Crystal Records disc S450 around 1979. A discography can be found in Roll Back the Years.

For more information on Herbert L. Clarke's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

References

Bridges, Glenn D. -- Pioneers in brass. -- Foreword by Harold B. Bachman. -- 3rd ed. -- Detroit : Sherwood Publications, 1972. -- vi, 113 p. -- AMICUS No. 2546053

"Clarke, Herbert L.". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Johnston, Herbert N. -- "In and around Toronto with Herbert L. Clarke : Part 1". -- The school musician director and teacher. -- (January 1972). -- P. 44-46. -- AMICUS No. 654302

_____. -- "In and around Toronto with Herbert L. Clarke : Part 2". -- The school musician director and teacher. -- (February 1972). -- P. 42-43, 66. -- AMICUS No. 654302

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Herbert L. Clarke, cornettiste (1867-1945)

Photo d'Herbert L. Clarke tenant un cornet à pistons

Source
Herbert L. Clarke

Herbert Lincoln Clarke, reconnu comme le plus grand cornettiste de son époque, a certainement été le plus prisé. Il était non seulement virtuose du cornet, mais aussi « excellent compositeur, violoniste accompli, prolifique et très doué pour les orchestrations et un chef d'orchestre de grande classe » (Johnston, janv. 1972, p. 44). Il a également écrit plusieurs cahiers d'études pour cornet que l'on utilise encore aujourd'hui.

Herbert Clarke est né à Woburn, au Massachusetts, le 12 septembre 1867, et il est arrivé à Toronto avec sa famille en 1880. Puisque son père était organiste à la Jarvis St. Baptist Church et que ses trois frères aînés jouaient avec le Regimental Band of the Queen's Own Rifles, il n'est pas surprenant que le jeune Herbert Clarke se soit intéressé à la musique. Il a lui-même relaté dans son autobiographie, How I Became a Cornetist, que c'est le fait d'avoir grandi dans un environnement musical qui l'a incité à devenir musicien de carrière.

Au printemps 1881, il assiste à une représentation de l'American Band de Providence (Rhode Island) au Horticultural Pavilion de Toronto, où il entend un solo du cornettiste Bowen R. Church. Plus tard, Herbert Clarke se rappelle cet événement comme le plus marquant de son enfance. Il apprend à jouer du cornet par lui-même en utilisant l'instrument de son frère Edwin. Vers la même époque, il se joint au Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra, dirigé par F.H. Torrington, en tant que violoniste. Toutefois, il est envoûté par le cornet et, en 1882, il se joint à la fanfare Queen's Own Rifles en tant que le dernier des douze membres de la section des cornets afin obtenir un instrument fourni par le gouvernement et être en mesure de répéter.

Entre 1884, année où il reçoit son diplôme d'études secondaires, et 1887, il partage son temps entre l'orchestre maison de l'English Opera House à Indianapolis, où habite sa famille, tout en travaillant sans enthousiasme au magasin John Kay de Toronto tandis qu'il joue en tant que deuxième cornettiste avec la fanfare Queen's Own Rifles, et la station balnéaire d'Ontario Beach où il joue pendant l'été. En 1887, il se joint au Citizen's Band of Toronto dirigé par John Bayley, en qualité de cornettiste solo. Il passe les cinq années suivantes à jouer pour plusieurs harmonies importantes des environs de Toronto (Taylor Safe Works Band, Heintzman Piano Company Band, Streetsville Ontario Band) et à en diriger. De plus, il enseigne au Toronto Conservatory of Music (où il joue pour le Toronto Conservatory String Quartet) et au Trinity College à Port Hope, en Ontario. En septembre 1889, il épouse Elizabeth (Lizzie) Loudon, avec qui il a deux enfants : Vivian (Grace) en 1890 et James (Edward James Watkin) en 1892. Au printemps 1892, il quitte à nouveau le Canada, après avoir réussi une audition pour le Gilmore Band.

En 1893, il se joint au Sousa's Band en tant que cornettiste solo. Après avoir joué à l'Exposition de Chicago la même année, il part jouer pour différentes harmonies, ce qu'il fait pendant les cinq années suivantes. C'est à cette période qu'il divorce de Lizzy Loudon et qu'il épouse Lillian Bell Hause, avec qui il a deux autres enfants : Ruby Bell et Herbert L. Clarke, fils. En 1898, il retourne avec le Sousa's Band, groupe avec lequel il fait de nombreuses tournées. Plus tard, il devient chef adjoint de Sousa et dirige plusieurs de leurs séances d'enregistrement. En septembre 1917, il démissionne pour retourner au Canada diriger l'Anglo-Canadian Leather Company Band à Huntsville, en Ontario, de 1918 à 1923. Sous sa direction, cette harmonie commerciale devient un des orchestres qui a connu le plus de succès en Amérique du Nord.

En 1923, la santé de sa femme l'oblige à s'installer à Long Beach, en Californie, où il dirige le Long Beach Municipal Band jusqu'en 1943. Au mois d'avril 1934, il est élu président de l'American Bandmasters Association. Il décède en janvier 1945 et ses cendres sont enterrées au Congressional Cemetery de Washington (D. C.), près de la tombe de John Phillip Sousa. Tous ses documents et ses souvenirs personnels sont conservés à la The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music de l'University of Illinois, à Urbana-Champagne.

Tout au long de sa carrière musicale, Clarke a enregistré la plupart de ses propres compositions pour soliste de cornet, ainsi que d'autres morceaux du même genre. Il a dirigé la Sousa's Band pour plus de 200 enregistrements. Du nombre de ceux-ci, on retrouve « Bride of the Waves », « Sounds from the Hudson » et « Caprice Brilliante » en tant que soliste, « Hunting Scene » à la direction de l'American Band of Providence, et « The Stars and Stripes Forever », « Semper Fidelis » et « Favourite Songs of Canada » à la direction de la Sousa's Band. Plusieurs de ses enregistrements ont été réédités vers 1979 : disque Crystal Records S450. On peut trouver une discographie à son sujet dans En remontant les années.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Herbert L. Clarke, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

Bridges, Glenn D. -- Pioneers in brass. -- Foreword by Harold B. Bachman. -- 3rd ed. -- Detroit : Sherwood Publications, 1972. -- vi, 113 p. -- No AMICUS 2546053

« Clarke, Herbert L. ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Johnston, Herbert N. -- « In and around Toronto with Herbert L. Clarke : Part 1 ». -- The school musician director and teacher. -- (January 1972). -- P. 44-46. -- No AMICUS 654302

_____. -- « In and around Toronto with Herbert L. Clarke : Part 2 ». -- The school musician director and teacher. -- (February 1972). -- P. 42-43, 66. -- No AMICUS 654302

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930