Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Willie Eckstein, pianist and composer (1888-1963)

"The Boy Paderewski"; "Mr. Fingers"

Photograph of Willie Eckstein, circa 1929

Source
Willie Eckstein, circa 1929

Although so slight in stature that he could not serve in the army, Willie Eckstein stood as a giant among Montréal's popular-music pianists from the very earliest days of ragtime and jazz in Canada. This highly talented musician was on the cutting edge of popular piano and dance music during the 1920s and 1930s, and was among the first Canadians to perform on live radio and to record ragtime music.

William Eckstein was born in Montréal on December 6, 1888. He received classical training in piano as a very young child, including lessons from a teacher at McGill University from the age of six. As his talent manifested itself, the boy quickly became recognized as a child prodigy. A career as a concert pianist seemed to be in the works and Willie was, in fact, at age 12, awarded a piano scholarship to McGill. However, because his family was not well off, he gave up this opportunity in favour of becoming a paid performer on the vaudeville circuit.

As a vaudeville star, Willie played the piano on Broadway and on tour in Canada and the U.S., for six years, billed as "The Boy Paderewski". His engagements were varied: the Canadian National Exhibition; Montréal's Karn Hall; and the U.S. White House, where he played for President Theodore Roosevelt. After 1905, while still in his teens, Eckstein made a successful European concert tour that included further piano study in Sweden and Germany.

As Eckstein reached the age of 18, he was obviously too old for the boy prodigy act and he had to leave the vaudeville stage. In 1906 he returned to Montréal and re-established himself as a talented accompanist for silent movies. By 1912, he was demonstrating pianos for J. W. Shaw, a local instrument maker and retailer, and starring as the Strand Theatre's pianist, where he became known by the nickname "Mr. Fingers". Officially, the theatre billed Eckstein as "The World's Foremost Motion Picture Interpreter", since his playing was often more popular than the film itself. Legend has it that even Sergei Rachmaninoff, who saw Eckstein perform at the Strand, commented about his playing: "I don't believe it".

Within a few years Eckstein was also making a name for himself as a songwriter. Ragtime music was at its peak of popularity and Eckstein contributed to the genre by co-writing the piano rags "Delirious Rag" and "Perpetual Rag" with his protégé, Harry Thomas (1890-1941). Thomas recorded these rags as piano rolls in New York in 1916. (Eckstein and Thomas had anticipated the Jazz Age, which had not yet fully arrived in Canada. It was not until the following year that the Original Dixieland Jazz Band's "Livery Stable Blues" became the first jazz recording released in Canada.) Harry Thomas has been described in the Canadian Jazz Discography as Canada's first real jazz musician; his playing on "A Classical Spasm" demonstrates the skills he learned from Eckstein.

Photograph of Harry Thomas, Eckstein's protégé and co-writer, circa 1920

Source
Harry Thomas, Eckstein's protégé and co-writer, circa 1920

Ragtime was a natural genre for Eckstein to turn to, since it is a composed form of music whose roots are partly in the European classical tradition in which he had been coached. Ragtime's other roots are in the music of African-Americans; indeed it started as music for and by African-Americans. Caucasian Americans and, later, Canadians such as Eckstein, saw possibilities in the new music and borrowed from it. Eckstein specialized in a form known as "novelty rag", which featured flashy virtuoso passages and a high degree of technical difficulty. It should be noted, however, that Eckstein's playing did not fit the strict definition of jazz, largely because he did not improvise, as jazz musicians do.

Eckstein wrote songs in addition to his ragtime pieces. Among these were several patriotic songs, which he was spurred to write when he was refused the opportunity to serve in the armed forces because of his height, which was under five feet (around 150 centimeters). Music became Eckstein's contribution to the war effort; he composed songs such as "Goodbye Soldier Boy" (1917), and performed at war rallies. He enjoyed some success with popular songs, too, such as his "You Are My All In All" (co-written with Thomas; lyrics by Walter Bruce), which was published by Montréal's Delmar Company around 1917.

Cover of sheet music of YOU ARE MY ALL IN ALL, by Eckstein and Thomas, 1917

Source
Cover of sheet music of "You Are My All In All", by Eckstein and Thomas, 1917

Another Eckstein song, "Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon" (lyrics by Gene Buck), was featured as part of the Ziegfeld Follies 1919 revue.

Cover of sheet music of Eckstein's GOODBYE SUNSHINE, HELLO MOON, from the 1919 Ziegfeld Follie

Source
Cover of sheet music of Eckstein's "Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon", from the 1919 Ziegfeld Follies

Eckstein established himself at the forefront of popular music in Montréal and in Canada. In 1919, he made broadcasting history by giving the first-ever live radio performance in North America. This was on Montréal radio station XWA (later known as CFCF); Eckstein provided the piano accompaniment for singer Gus Hill.

Around this time, Eckstein was performing with one of the first jazz bands in Montréal; this was Eckstein's Jazz Band, led by his brother Jack. Willie also played and recorded with his own instrumental band called, variously, The William Eckstein Trio, or the Willie Eckstein Trio. They made many recordings, including one of "Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon" for His Master's Voice, featuring a ragtime piano solo by Eckstein. This band also recorded various popular songs and sentimental ballads, such as "That Tumble-Down Shack in Athlone" and Lieutenant Gitz Rice's "Burmah Moon." Typically, the trio employed piano, violin and xylophone. Eckstein's energetic, accomplished playing can also be heard in the ragtime-style solo on "Eyes That Say I Love You", composed by Fred Fisher.

Additionally, Eckstein made recordings as a piano soloist for the Apex and Okeh labels, among others, including a few under the pseudonym "Vi Palmer". He was also a featured performer from 1929 to 1932 with the Victor label. It is also possible that Eckstein backed up the Dumbells Overseas Orchestra on one of their recordings (Such Melodious Racket, p. 97). A recording among Eckstein's most noteworthy was made in 1923: this was the first solo-piano 78-rpm recording of "Maple Leaf Rag," written by Scott Joplin, the foremost composer of ragtime, who had died five years earlier.

Advertisement for Eckstein's recording of Lt. Gitz Rice's BURMAH MOON

Source
Advertisement for Eckstein's recording of Lt. Gitz Rice's "Burmah Moon"; Toronto Daily Star, Aug. 15, 1919, p. 4

Other notable Eckstein recordings include "Music (Makes the World Go Round)", which he co-wrote with Billy Munro. Eckstein recorded this song in 1922 with the Montréal "hot dance band" Melody Kings, of which Munro was a member. The recording showcases a jazz-style improvisatory piano solo by Eckstein. The Melody Kings were one of the few bands making "jazz" recordings in the 1920s in Canada. (Hot dance music, usually played by bands that had piano, saxophone, and cornet or trombone, was then thought of as jazz; but in fact several characteristics distinguished it -- and Eckstein's piano style -- from true jazz. These included arranged solos and a more restrained swing rhythm.)

Advertisement for another of Eckstein's popular recordings, TORONTO DAILY STAR, Sept. 12, 1919, page 4

Source
Advertisement for another of Eckstein's popular recordings, Toronto Daily Star, Sept. 12, 1919, p. 4

In 1930, the multifaceted musician left the Strand Theatre when the demise of silent films brought the end of live piano accompaniment in those venues. Eckstein moved instead to cabaret, radio and early television shows. He entertained audiences at many Montréal clubs, eventually settling at the Château Ste. Rose nightspot, where he starred in the late 1930s and early 1940s. His act included improvised two-piano duets with Robert Langlois and others.

In 1959, Eckstein again came to prominence for a patriotic song when he wrote "Queen of Canada", in honour of Queen Elizabeth II's royal tour of Canada. Eckstein received letters of thanks for the song from Buckingham Palace, Governor General Vincent Massey and Prime Minister John Diefenbaker.

By that time, Eckstein had been entertaining audiences for well over a half-century. He wielded considerable influence on his fellow Montréal pianists, as well as his protégés and collaborators, such as Harry Thomas and Bob Langlois. Another noteworthy protégé was Vera Guilaroff (1902-1976), a fellow Montréaler and novelty ragtime pianist who collaborated with Eckstein in radio and nightclub performances under the name "The Piano Ramblers", and who was one of his co-writers on "Lonesome Rose". Willie Eckstein led the way for a generation of Canadian jazz pianists, among whom was Oscar Peterson.

Cover of sheet music for the Eckstein song UPTOWN 6303, with an illustration of the Strand Theatre. In the illustration, the poster outside the theatre reads SPECIAL, WILLIE ECKSTEIN AT THE PIANO

Source
Cover of sheet music for the Eckstein song "Uptown 6303", with an illustration of the Strand Theatre. In the illustration, the poster outside the theatre reads "Special, Willie Eckstein at the piano"

In May 1963, Eckstein's many friends and fans held an appreciation night to commemorate his long career. It was his last public performance; later that night he succumbed to a stroke, from which he died four months later, on September 23.

The music of Willie Eckstein has been kept alive by recording artists, including the well-known jazz singer Sarah Vaughan; and as recently as 1999, the French-Canadian ragtime pianist Mimi Blais recorded Eckstein's "A Musical Massacre", based on a Frederick Chopin composition.

Eckstein was the type of pianist who is often envied by both classical and jazz musicians: he was skilled in classical piano technique, while able to perform convincingly in popular styles. A multi-genre musician, he left a legacy of achievements as a performer, songwriter and recording star.

For more information on Willie Eckstein's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"Eckstein, Willie". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. 1-- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Gilmore, John. -- Who's who of jazz in Montréal : ragtime to 1970. -- Montréal : Véhicule Press, 1989. -- 318 p. -- AMICUS No. 19065160

Gracyk, Tim. -- Early recordings of African Americans / early Ragtime [online]. -- [Cited July 2, 2003]. -- Access: www.gracyk.com/

"The great Canadian big bands". -- Big Bands database homepage [online]. -- [Cited July 12, 2003]. -- Access: http://nfo.net/can/cl.html

Hardie, Tom. -- "Mr. Fingers" [Willie Eckstein]. -- Jazz vine. -- Vol. 3, no. 10 (1995). -- P. 3. -- AMICUS No. 114710827

Litchfield, Jack. -- The Canadian jazz discography : 1916 - 1980. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982. -- 945 p. -- AMICUS No. 13401671

Miller, Mark. -- Such melodious racket : the lost history of jazz in Canada, 1914-1949. -- Toronto : Mercury Press, 1997. -- 288 p. -- AMICUS No. 116922705

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 180154. -- Also published in French under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

"Willie Eckstein" [vertical file]. -- National Library of Canada, Music Division

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Willie Eckstein, pianiste et compositeur (1888-1963)

« The Boy Paderewski »; « Mr. Fingers »

Photo de Willie Eckstein, vers 1929

Source
Willie Eckstein, vers 1929

Bien qu'il ait été de si petite taille qu'il ne pouvait pas servir dans les rangs, Willie Eckstein est considéré comme un géant parmi les pianistes de musique populaire de Montréal dès les débuts du ragtime et du jazz au Canada. Ce musicien des plus talentueux jouait de la musique populaire à la mode pour piano et de la musique de danse au cours des années 1920 et 1930 et figure parmi les premiers Canadiens à interpréter de la musique en direct à la radio et à enregistrer des pièces de ragtime.

William Eckstein naît à Montréal le 6 décembre 1888. Il bénéficie d'une formation musicale classique pour piano dès son très jeune âge, y compris de leçons d'un professeur de l'Université McGill dès l'âge de 6 ans. À mesure que son talent s'épanouit, le garçon acquiert la réputation d'enfant prodige. Une carrière comme pianiste de concert semble se dessiner devant lui. Willie obtient en effet à l'âge de 12 ans une bourse d'études en piano à McGill. Toutefois, parce qu'il vient d'une famille à faible revenu, il abandonne cette chance pour devenir un artiste rémunéré dans des spectacles de variétés.

Willie joue du piano comme artiste de variétés durant six ans sur Broadway et dans une tournée au Canada et aux États-Unis sous le nom de « The Boy Paderewski ». Ses engagements varient : l'Exposition nationale canadienne, Karn Hall de Montréal et la Maison-Blanche aux États-Unis, où il joue une pièce pour le président Theodore Roosevelt. Après 1905, alors qu'il est toujours adolescent, Eckstein réalise avec succès une tournée de concerts en Europe qui le mène à poursuivre ses études de piano en Suède et en Allemagne.

À 18 ans, Eckstein est visiblement trop vieux pour continuer à se présenter comme un enfant prodige et il abandonne les spectacles de variétés. En 1906, il revient à Montréal et se fait une réputation d'accompagnateur talentueux pour les films muets. En 1912, il fait la démonstration de pianos pour J.W. Shaw, fabricant d'instruments de musique et commerçant de la région, et est pianiste au Strand Theatre, où on lui donne le pseudonyme de « Mr. Fingers ». Officiellement, le théâtre décrit Eckstein comme « le meilleur interprète de films de cinéma du monde », car son interprétation est bien souvent plus populaire que le film même. Selon une légende, même Sergei Rachmaninoff, qui a vu Eckstein jouer au Strand, commente ainsi son interprétation : « C'est incroyable. »

En quelques années, Eckstein établit également sa réputation d'auteur-compositeur. Le ragtime est à son niveau le plus populaire et Eckstein contribue à ce style musical en composant les pièces pour piano « Delirious Rag » et « Perpetual Rag » avec son protégé Harry Thomas (1890-1941). Thomas enregistre ces pièces sur des rouleaux perforés à New York, en 1916. (Eckstein et Thomas avaient prévu l'ère du jazz, qui n'était pas encore arrivée au Canada. Ce n'est que l'année suivante que la pièce « Livery Stable Blues » de l'orchestre Original Dixieland Jazz Band est devenue le premier enregistrement de jazz vendu au Canada.) On décrit Harry Thomas dans le Canadian Jazz Discography comme le premier véritable musicien de jazz du Canada. Son interprétation de la pièce « A Classical Spasm » démontre la technique qu'il a apprise d'Eckstein.

Photo d'Harry Thomas, protégé d'Eckstein et coauteur, vers 1920

Source
Harry Thomas, protégé d'Eckstein et coauteur, vers 1920

Le ragtime est un style de musique tout naturel pour Eckstein, puisque cette musique tire ses racines en partie de la musique classique traditionnelle d'Europe qu'on lui avait apprise, et ses autres racines sont ancrées dans la musique afro-américaine; en effet, cette musique a été créée pour et par les Afro-Américains. Des Américains de race blanche et, plus tard, des Canadiens tels qu'Eckstein voient les possibilités de cette nouvelle musique et s'en inspirent. Eckstein se spécialise dans une forme connue sous le nom de « novelty rag », caractérisée par des passages de virtuose tape-à-l'œil et un degré de difficulté technique très élevé. Il faut noter toutefois que l'interprétation d'Eckstein ne cadre pas avec la définition stricte du jazz, en grande partie parce qu'il n'improvise rien, comme le font les musiciens de jazz.

Eckstein, pendant ces années, écrit des chansons en plus de ses pièces de ragtime. Parmi ses créations, on compte plusieurs chansons patriotiques dont l'inspiration lui est venue lorsqu'on lui a refusé la chance de servir dans les forces armées à cause de sa taille de moins de cinq pieds (environ 150 centimètres). La musique est devenue la contribution d'Eckstein à l'effort de guerre; il a composé des chansons telles que « Goodbye Soldier Boy » (1917) et s'est produit lors de rassemblements. Il connaît également du succès avec des chansons populaires, notamment « You Are My All In All » (composée en collaboration avec Thomas; paroles de Walter Bruce), qui est publiée par l'entreprise Delmar de Montréal vers 1917.

Couverture de la feuille de musique de YOU ARE MY ALL IN ALL, pièce composée par Eckstein et Thomas en 1917

Source
Couverture de la musique en feuille de « You Are My All In All », pièce composée par Eckstein et Thomas en 1917

Une autre chanson dont il est l'auteur,« Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon » (paroles de Gene Buck), fait partie de la revue de 1919 des Ziegfeld Follies.

Couverture de la musique en feuille de la pièce d'Eckstein GOODBYE SUNSHINE, HELLO MOON, jouée dans les Ziegfeld Follies de 1919

Source
Couverture de la musique en feuille de la pièce d'Eckstein « Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon », jouée dans les Ziegfeld Follies de 1919

Eckstein se taille une place de choix dans le monde de la musique populaire à Montréal et au Canada. En 1919, il donne la toute première interprétation en direct à la radio en Amérique du Nord à la station de radio montréalaise XWA (qui deviendra CFCF); Eckstein accompagne au piano le chanteur Gus Hill.

À peu près à la même époque, Eckstein joue dans un des premiers groupes de jazz de Montréal; il s'agit de l'Eckstein's Jazz Band dirigé par son frère Jack. Willie joue et enregistre également avec son propre orchestre instrumental appelé The William Eckstein Trio, connu aussi sous le nom de Willie Eckstein Trio. Le groupe fait de nombreux enregistrements, y compris la pièce « Goodbye Sunshine, Hello Moon » pour His Master's Voice, où Eckstein joue un solo ragtime au piano. Ce groupe enregistre également diverses chansons populaires et ballades sentimentales telles que « That Tumble-Down Shack in Athlone » et « Burmah Moon » du lieutenant Gitz Rice. Le trio utilise ordinairement le piano, le violon et le xylophone. On peut également entendre l'interprétation dynamique et accomplie d'Eckstein dans le solo de style ragtime de la pièce « Eyes That Say I Love You » composée par Fred Fisher.

Qui plus est, Eckstein fait des enregistrements comme pianiste solo sous les étiquettes Apex et Okeh, entre autres, y compris des enregistrements sous le pseudonyme de « Vi Palmer ». Il est également l'artiste principal de l'étiquette Victor de 1929 à 1932. Il est également possible qu'Eckstein ait accompagné l'orchestre Dumbells Overseas lors d'un enregistrement (Such Melodious Racket, p. 97). Un des enregistrements les plus impressionnants d'Eckstein a lieu en 1923 : il s'agit du premier enregistrement solo au piano sur disque 78 tours de la pièce « Maple Leaf Rag », écrite par Scott Joplin, le plus illustre compositeur de musique ragtime, qui est décédé cinq ans auparavant.

Publicité annonçant l'enregistrement réalisé par Eckstein de BURMAH MOON du lieutenant Gitz Rice

Source
Publicité annonçant l'enregistrement réalisé par Eckstein de « Burmah Moon » du lieutenant Gitz Rice; parue dans le Toronto Daily Star, le 15 août 1919, p. 4

Citons, comme autre exemple d'enregistrement remarquable d'Eckstein, « Music (Makes the World Go Round) », pièce qu'il compose en collaboration avec Billy Munro. Eckstein enregistre cette chanson en 1922 avec l'orchestre de danse hot Melody Kings de Montréal, dont Munro est membre. L'enregistrement comporte un solo de piano improvisé de style jazz joué par Eckstein. Les Melody Kings sont l'un des rares groupes à enregistrer du jazz dans les années 1920 au Canada. (La musique de danse hot, habituellement jouée par des orchestres composés d'un piano, d'un saxophone et d'un cornet ou d'un trombone, est alors perçue comme du jazz. En réalité, plusieurs caractéristiques différencient ce style de musique -- et le style d'Eckstein au piano -- du vrai jazz, notamment des solos adaptés et un rythme swing plus contraignant.)

Publicité annonçant d'autres enregistrements populaires d'Eckstein; parue dans le TORONTO DAILY STAR, le 12 septembre 1919, page 4

Source
« Publicité annonçant d'autres enregistrements populaires d'Eckstein; parue dans le Toronto Daily Star, le 12 septembre 1919, p. 4 »

En 1930, le musicien polyvalent quitte le Strand Theatre lorsque la disparition des films muets sonne le glas des accompagnements au piano en direct dans les salles de cinéma. Eckstein se met à jouer dans des cabarets, à la radio et dans les premières émissions de télévision. Il divertit des auditoires dans de nombreux clubs de Montréal avant de s'établir au Château Sainte-Rose, où il est l'artiste principal à la fin des années 1930 et au début des années 1940. Son numéro comprend des duos improvisés à deux pianos avec Robert Langlois et d'autres musiciens.

En 1959, Eckstein connaît de nouveau une grande popularité dans le domaine de la chanson patriotique quand il écrit « Queen of Canada » en l'honneur de la visite royale de la reine Elizabeth II au Canada. Eckstein reçoit des lettres de remerciement pour sa chanson du palais de Buckingham, du gouverneur général Vincent Massey et du premier ministre John Diefenbaker.

À cette époque, Eckstein a diverti le public pendant plus d'un demi-siècle. Il a une influence importante sur ses collègues pianistes montréalais, de même que sur ses protégés et collaborateurs, notamment Harry Thomas et Bob Langlois. Une autre protégée digne de mention est Vera Guilaroff (1902-1976), Montréalaise et pianiste ragtime nouveau genre qui travaille de concert avec Eckstein à la radio et dans les boîtes de nuit sous le nom de « The Piano Ramblers » et qui participe à la composition de la pièce « Lonesome Rose ». Willie Eckstein ouvre la voie à une génération de pianistes de jazz canadiens, dont Oscar Peterson.

Couverture de la musique en feuille de la chanson d'Eckstein UPTOWN 6303 sur laquelle on peut voir une illustration du Strand Theatre. L'affiche à l'extérieur du cinéma porte la mention SPECIAL, WILLIE ECKSTEIN AT THE PIANO

Source
Couverture de la musique en feuille de la chanson d'Eckstein « Uptown 6303 » sur laquelle on peut voir une illustration du Strand Theatre. L'affiche à l'extérieur du cinéma porte la mention « Special, Willie Eckstein at the piano »

Au mois de mai 1963, les nombreux amis et admirateurs d'Eckstein organisent une soirée d'appréciation en vue de commémorer sa longue carrière. Ce sera sa dernière interprétation publique; plus tard, cette même soirée, Eckstein est victime d'un accident cérébrovasculaire qui l'emporte quatre mois plus tard, le 23 septembre.

La musique de Willie Eckstein est toujours vivante grâce à des artistes exécutants, y compris la chanteuse de jazz bien connue Sarah Vaughan. Il y a à peine un an, la pianiste de ragtime canadienne-française Mimi Blais a enregistré la pièce « A Musical Massacre » d'Eckstein, inspirée d'une composition de Frederick Chopin.

Eckstein était un de ces pianistes bien souvent enviés tant par des musiciens classiques que par des musiciens de jazz : il connaissait la technique classique du piano, mais pouvait donner une interprétation convaincante dans des styles populaires. Musicien polyvalent, il a laissé un legs de réalisations comme artiste, auteur-compositeur et vedette du disque.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Willie Eckstein, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

« Eckstein, Willie ou Billy ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Gilmore, John. -- Who's who of jazz in Montréal : ragtime to 1970. -- Montréal : Véhicule Press, 1989. -- 318 p. -- No AMICUS 9065160

Gracyk, Tim. -- Early recordings of African Americans / early Ragtime [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 11 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.gracyk.com/

« The great Canadian big bands ». -- Big Bands database homepage [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 11 juin 2003]. -- Accès : http://nfo.net/can/cl.html

Hardie, Tom. -- « Mr. Fingers » [Willie Eckstein]. -- Jazz vine. -- Vol. 3, no. 10 (1995). -- P. 3. -- No AMICUS 14710827

Litchfield, Jack. -- The Canadian jazz discography : 1916-1980. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1982. -- 945 p. -- No AMICUS 3401671

Miller, Mark. -- Such melodious racket : the lost history of jazz in Canada, 1914-1949. -- Toronto : Mercury Press, 1997. -- 288 p. -- No AMICUS 16922705

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930

« Willie Eckstein » [documentation éphémère]. -- Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, Division de la musique

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale