Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Éva Gauthier - New York and Celebrity

Upon arriving in New York, Gauthier followed in the footsteps of Canadian singer Pauline Donalda and briefly tried vaudeville. Gauthier's act, entitled "Songmotion", featured one of her Javanese songs illustrated by dancers. Gauthier had not yet, however, found her niche. The New York music scene was crowded with American performers and European expatriates, making it necessary to find a specialty that would make her noticed. She wisely chose to concentrate on exotic Javanese songs and modernist Western vocal repertoire. Although some composers, such as Claude Debussy, had been experimenting with musical exoticism for a few years, Gauthier's performances of Javanese songs were ahead of their time. Not until the 1930s did Asian music become better known in North America.

Éva Gauthier in Javanese-style dress, before a concert

Source
Éva Gauthier in Javanese-style dress, before a concert

Gauthier began giving annual recitals at Aeolian Hall in New York City and at that location, in November 1917, she sang three songs by the pre-eminent French composer Maurice Ravel, as well as the American premieres of Stravinsky's "Three Japanese Lyrics" and of "Five Poems of Ancient China and Japan," by the American contemporary composer Charles Tomlinson Griffes www.wnet.org/ihas/
composer/griffes.html
.

The singer's flair for negotiating dissonant modern harmonies and austere neoclassical melodies led to invitations to sing the premieres of hundreds of new works by contemporary composers. After the 1917 concert, Stravinsky chose Gauthier to premiere all of his concert vocal compositions. Her reputation earned her the nickname "The High Priestess of Modern Song".

Letter from Erik Satie to Éva Gauthier postponing their meeting

Source
Letter from Erik Satie to Éva Gauthier postponing their meeting. Note the caricature of Satie, by caricaturist Alfred Frueh, in the corner of the paper

In 1920, the Music League of America sent Gauthier to Paris to offer Ravel a concert tour of the U.S. She and Ravel began a long friendship, and she also established valuable contacts with such luminaries in the French music world as Erik Satie and Les Six (a group of modern French composers).

These composers and many others sent Gauthier new compositions in the hope that she would perform them in concert, which she usually did despite opposition from hidebound critics. She habitually accepted all requests by composers' guilds to sing contemporary compositions (the only piece she refused to sing was Arnold Schoenberg's atonal expressionist work Pierrot Lunaire).

Gauthier was satisfyingly busy in the 1920s. She performed with many recognized conductors in America and with many orchestras. Her regular accompanists included Celius Dougherty and Ned Rorem. Gauthier promoted French music in the U.S., but she also made a point of including American compositions in her concerts. Her annual New York recitals were events, because they always contained the unexpected. As well as visiting Europe, Gauthier toured the U.S.; the Canadian composer and oriental music expert Colin McPhee was engaged for one West Coast tour as her pianist.

Gauthier returned to Europe in 1922, and again in 1923, to continue studying voice and seek out new works to perform, but it was the blues elements and innovative rhythms of American jazz that attracted her attention next. Many concert musicians were interested in the new phenomenon of jazz. However, many music critics and large segments of the public were opposed; jazz was considered a "low" form of popular music suitable for dancing, but not sufficiently serious to be presented in concert. Hence, when on November 1, 1923, Éva Gauthier became the first classical musician to present songs of George Gershwin in concert, she upset the musical establishment.

Concert programme for Gauthier's RECITAL OF ANCIENT AND MODERN MUSIC FOR VOICE

Source
Concert programme for Gauthier's "Recital of Ancient and Modern Music for Voice", at which George Gershwin was introduced, November 1, 1923

Gauthier's concert, which was entitled a "Recital of Ancient and Modern Music for Voice", is now recognized as a historic moment. In attendance at Aeolian Hall were many notable musicians, including contralto Ernestine Schumann-Heink, composer Virgil Thomson and jazz band leader Paul Whiteman. Gauthier's program featured "serious" music in the first half, including traditional opera selections by Vincenzo Bellini and art songs by Henry Purcell, juxtaposed against songs by twentieth-century modernist and neoclassical composers Arnold Schoenberg, Darius Milhaud, Béla Bartók and Paul Hindemith. If the first half was not already interesting enough, the second half of the recital broke protocol by featuring American popular songs, beginning with Irving Berlin's "Alexander's Ragtime Band". Gauthier continued with music by Jerome Kern and Walter Donaldson, and wound up with three George Gershwin compositions: "I'll Build a Stairway to Paradise", "Innocent Ingénue Baby" and "Swanee". The young George Gershwin, in his first appearance in such a venue, accompanied Gauthier at the piano.

Together, Gauthier and Gershwin showed conservative audiences that jazz-influenced music could be a serious artistic experience. Indeed, Gauthier's innovation led directly to the equally famous concert "An Experiment In Modern Music", in February 1924, at which Gershwin and Paul Whiteman introduced Gershwin's blues-tinged piano concerto, Rhapsody in Blue. This work quickly became a staple in the repertoire of American orchestras, and a favourite with the public.

Gauthier and Gershwin repeated their Aeolian Hall success in Boston, in January 1924, and London, England in May 1925. On the latter occasion, Gauthier was quoted as saying, "Most concerts bore people. Mine, I hope, is going to entertain as well as educate" (London Daily Express, May 13, 1925).

A further highlight in Gauthier's career took place a few months later, when she performed songs by the Brazilian Heitor Villa-Lobos, at the Festival of the International Society of Contemporary Music in Venice, Italy. Here, Gauthier courageously finished her performance despite opposition from the traditionalist audience, which booed the Villa-Lobos composition. Sixteen years later she remembered that ". . . the audience on the whole much preferred the music of the old Venetians to the masters of today" (The Musical Record, June 1941).

Gauthier had become a celebrity by this point and circulated among the brightest coteries of New York society. She corresponded, performed and socialized with the luminaries of early twentieth-century music, art and letters (Debussy, Gershwin, Manuel de Falla, Francis Poulenc, Satie, Stravinsky, John Alden Carpenter, John Singer Sargent and Amy Lowell, among others), and she enjoyed a close association with Ravel. She was instrumental in bringing Ravel and Gershwin together at a party she hosted for Ravel's birthday on March 7, 1928. The same year, she was presented at Buckingham Palace.

Photograph of Éva Gauthier and Maurice Ravel seated at a piano, with several people standing behind them, at a party hosted by Gauthier for Ravel's birthday, March 7, 1928

Source
The party hosted by Gauthier for Ravel's birthday, March 7, 1928. Éva Gauthier and Maurice Ravel are seated at the piano; George Gershwin is standing on the far right

Although Éva Gauthier's musical career was centred mainly in the U.S., she occasionally returned to perform in her homeland. Her Canadian performances include concerts in December 1918 in Montréal; in 1921 in Lachine, Quebec; and in January 1924 in Ottawa and Montréal. She sang in 1926 at the invitation of the Women's Musical Club of Toronto, receiving an excellent review from the Globe and Mail: "Even more remarkable than her vocal gifts, however, is her brilliant originality in choosing her program. . . . nothing trite, hackneyed, banal, but everything fresh, alive, intensely interesting and immensely worth while -- a typical Gauthier program" (Globe and Mail, Nov. 26, 1926).

Gauthier was also extended the honour of singing in Ottawa on July 1, 1927, for the 60th anniversary of Canada's Confederation. (This event was also broadcast coast to coast, the first Canadian transcontinental radio broadcast.) She made other visits to Canada to see her family, such as in 1940 on the death of her mother. Although she did attend concerts of Canadian music in New York, she had a negative opinion of her homeland's treatment of its musicians: "Canadians . . . would rather listen to foreigners than their own people" (Globe and Mail, October 15, 1937).

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Éva Gauthier - New York et célébrité

Dès son arrivée à New York, Éva Gauthier suit les traces de la chanteuse canadienne Pauline Donalda et essaie brièvement le vaudeville. Son numéro, intitulé Songmotion, présente une de ses chansons javanaises illustrée par des danseurs. Elle n'a cependant pas encore trouvé son créneau. La scène musicale new-yorkaise est encombrée d'artistes américains et d'expatriés européens, ce qui l'oblige à trouver une spécialité qui la ferait remarquer. Elle choisit avec raison de se concentrer sur les chansons javanaises ainsi que sur le répertoire vocal occidental moderne. Même si quelques compositeurs comme Claude Debussy expérimentaient déjà l'exotisme musical depuis quelques années, les chansons javanaises de Gauthier sont en avance sur leur temps. L'Amérique du Nord ne découvre vraiment la musique asiatique qu'après 1930.

Éva Gauthier en robe de style javanais, avant un concert

Source
Éva Gauthier en robe de style javanais, avant un concert

Éva Gauthier commence à donner des récitals annuels à l'Aeolian Hall de New York; c'est aussi à cet endroit qu'en novembre 1917 elle chante trois chansons écrites par le prééminent compositeur français Maurice Ravel ainsi que, en premières américaines, « Trois poèmes lyriques japonais » de Stravinsky et « Cinq poèmes de la Chine ancienne et du Japon » du compositeur américain contemporain Charles Tomlinson Griffes www.wnet.org/ihas/
composer/griffes.html
.

Le talent de la chanteuse pour traiter les harmonies modernes dissonantes et les austères mélodies néoclassiques lui valent d'être invitée à chanter les premières de centaines de nouvelles œuvres de compositeurs contemporains. À la suite du concert de 1917, Stravinsky choisit Éva Gauthier pour chanter les premières de toutes ses compositions vocales pour concert. Sa réputation lui vaut d'être appelée la « grande prêtresse de la chanson moderne ».

Lettre d'Erik Satie à Éva Gauthier pour remettre leur rencontre

Source
Lettre d'Erik Satie à Éva Gauthier pour remettre leur rencontre. À remarquer dans le coin de la feuille la caricature de Satie réalisée par Alfred Frueh

En 1920, la Music League of America envoie Éva Gauthier à Paris pour proposer à Ravel une tournée de concerts aux États-Unis. C'est le début d'une longue amitié entre elle et Ravel et cela lui permet aussi d'établir de précieuses relations avec des étoiles du monde musical en France comme Erik Satie et les Six (groupe de compositeurs modernes français).

Ces compositeurs et beaucoup d'autres envoient leurs nouvelles œuvres à Éva Gauthier dans l'espoir qu'elle les chanterait en concert, ce qu'elle fait le plus souvent, en dépit de l'opposition de critiques aux vues étroites. Elle accepte généralement toutes les demandes qu'elle reçoit de la part des guildes de compositeurs de chanter des œuvres contemporaines (la seule qu'elle refuse de chanter est l'œuvre expressionniste atonale d'Arnold Schoenberg, « Pierrot Lunaire »).

La vie d'Éva Gauthier, dans les années 1920, est à la fois occupée et motivante. Elle se produit avec plusieurs chefs d'orchestre connus en Amérique et avec nombre d'orchestres. Parmi ses accompagnateurs réguliers, on trouve Celius Dougherty et Ned Rorem. La cantatrice favorise la musique française aux États-Unis, mais elle se fait aussi un devoir d'inclure des œuvres américaines dans ses concerts. Ses récitals annuels à New York sont des événements, car il y a toujours de l'imprévu. Tout comme elle avait visité l'Europe, Gauthier fait le tour des États-Unis; elle engage comme pianiste le compositeur canadien Colin McPhee, expert en musique orientale, pour une tournée sur la côte ouest.

Éva Gauthier retourne en Europe en 1922, puis de nouveau en 1923 pour continuer d'étudier l'art vocal et chercher de nouvelles œuvres à interpréter, mais ce sont les éléments de blues et les rythmes innovateurs du jazz américain qui attirent son attention. Le nouveau phénomène du jazz intéresse bon nombre de musiciens de concert. Cependant, de nombreux critiques musicaux et de larges segments du public y sont opposés; le jazz est considéré comme une forme rudimentaire de musique populaire bonne pour la danse, mais pas suffisamment sérieuse pour être jouée en concert. C'est ainsi qu'Éva Gauthier contrarie l'ordre musical établi lorsque, le 1er novembre 1923, elle devient la première musicienne classique à interpréter en concert des chansons de George Gershwin.

Programme du récital de musique ancienne et moderne pour la voix d'Éva Gauthier

Source
Programme du récital de musique ancienne et moderne pour la voix qu'a donné Éva Gauthier le 1er novembre 1923, récital au cours duquel elle a présenté George Gershwin

Ce concert d'Éva Gauthier, intitulé Recital of Ancient and Modern Music for Voice, est reconnu aujourd'hui comme un moment historique. De nombreux musiciens de renom sont présents à l'Aeolian Hall, dont la contralto Ernestine Schumann-Heink, le compositeur Virgil Thomson et le chef d'orchestre de jazz Paul Whiteman. Le programme d'Éva Gauthier présente, en première partie, de la musique « sérieuse » comprenant des sélections d'opéra traditionnel de Vincenzo Bellini et des mélodies de Henry Purcell, juxtaposées à des chansons de compositeurs du vingtième siècle, néoclassiques et modernistes comme Arnold Schoenberg, Darius Milhaud, Béla Bartók et Paul Hindemith. Si la première partie n'était pas déjà suffisamment digne d'intérêt, la deuxième partie du récital enfreint les règles en présentant des chansons populaires américaines commençant par « Alexander's Ragtime Band » d'Irving Berlin. Éva Gauthier continue avec de la musique de Jerome Kern et de Walter Donaldson, puis termine par trois compositions de George Gershwin : « I'll Build a Stairway to Paradise », « Innocent Ingénue Baby » et « Swanee ». Pour sa première apparition en un tel lieu, le jeune George Gershwin accompagne la cantatrice au piano.

Ensemble, Éva Gauthier et Gershwin montrent à des auditoires conservateurs que la musique inspirée par le jazz pouvait être une expérience artistique sérieuse. À vrai dire, l'innovation de Gauthier mène tout droit à cet autre concert aussi fameux de février 1924, intitulé An Experiment in Modern Music, au cours duquel Gershwin et Paul Whiteman introduisent le concerto pour piano teinté de blues de Gershwin, « Rhapsody in Blue ». Cette œuvre devient rapidement un morceau essentiel du répertoire des orchestres américains en même temps qu'un favori du public

Éva Gauthier et Gershwin répètent leur succès de l'Aeolian Hall à Boston, en janvier 1924, et à Londres, en Angleterre, en mai 1925. À l'occasion de ce dernier concert, Éva Gauthier aurait déclaré : « Most concerts bore people. Mine, I hope, is going to entertain as well as educate. » [traduction libre : La plupart des concerts ennuient les gens. J'espère que le mien les divertira en même temps qu'il les éduquera.] (London Daily Express, 13 mai 1925)

Un autre point saillant de la carrière d'Éva Gauthier a lieu quelques mois plus tard, lorsqu'elle interprète des chansons du Brésilien Heitor Villa-Lobos au festival de la Société internationale de musique contemporaine à Venise, en Italie. À cette occasion, elle termine courageusement son interprétation malgré l'opposition de l'auditoire traditionaliste, qui hue l'œuvre de Villa-Lobos. Seize ans plus tard, elle se souvient que « the audience on the whole much preferred the music of the old Venetians to the masters of today » [traduction libre : dans l'ensemble, l'auditoire préféra de beaucoup la musique des vieux Vénitiens à celle des maîtres actuels] (The Musical Record, juin 1941).

À ce moment-là, Gauthier est devenue célèbre et elle fréquente les cercles les plus brillants de la société new-yorkaise. Elle correspond, se produit et socialise avec les étoiles de la musique, des arts et des lettres du début du vingtième siècle (notamment, Debussy, Gershwin, Manuel de Falla, Francis Poulenc, Satie, Stravinsky, John Alden Carpenter, John Singer Sargent et Amy Lowell) et elle entretient des liens étroits avec Ravel. Elle fait se rencontrer Ravel et Gershwin lors d'une soirée qu'elle donne pour l'anniversaire de Ravel, le 7 mars 1928. Cette même année, elle est présentée au palais de Buckingham.

Photo montrant Éva Gauthier et Maurice Ravel assis au piano, et plusieurs personnes derrière eux, au cours d'une soirée donnée par Éva Gauthier pour l'anniversaire de Ravel, le 7 mars 1928.

Source
Soirée donnée par Éva Gauthier pour l'anniversaire de Maurice Ravel, le 7 mars 1928. Assis au piano : Éva Gauthier et Ravel; debout, à l'extrême droite : Gershwin

Bien que la carrière musicale d'Éva Gauthier se déroule principalement aux États-Unis, la chanteuse revient à l'occasion se produire dans son pays natal. Parmi les représentations qu'elle donne au Canada, on compte des concerts à Montréal en décembre 1918, à Lachine, au Québec, en 1921, ainsi qu'à Ottawa et à Montréal en janvier 1924. En 1926, elle chante à l'invitation du Women's Musical Club de Toronto et a droit à une excellente critique du Globe and Mail : « Even more remarkable than her vocal gifts, however, is her brilliant originality in choosing her program… nothing trite, hackneyed, banal, but everything fresh, alive, intensely interesting and immensely worth while -- a typical Gauthier program. » [traduction libre : Plus remarquable encore que ses dons vocaux, toutefois, est l'originalité brillante que l'on retrouve dans le choix de son programme […] rien n'est stéréotypé, rebattu ou banal, mais tout est frais, vivant, du plus haut intérêt et vaut très largement la peine -- un programme typique à la Gauthier.] (Globe and Mail, 26 novembre 1926)

Éva Gauthier a aussi l'honneur de chanter à Ottawa le 1er juillet 1927 pour le 60e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne. (L'événement est diffusé d'un océan à l'autre et constitue la première diffusion radio transcontinentale au Canada.) Elle fait d'autres visites au Canada pour voir sa famille, comme en 1940 pour la mort de sa mère. Bien qu'elle assiste à des concerts de musique canadienne à New York, elle a une opinion négative de la façon dont son pays natal traite ses propres musiciens : « Canadians… would rather listen to foreigners than their own people. » [traduction libre : Les Canadiens […] préfèrent écouter des artistes étrangers plutôt que les leurs. » (Globe and Mail, 15 octobre 1937)